Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsugumomo


Alternative Titles

English: Tsugumomo
Japanese: つぐもも

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2017 to Jun 18, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Zero-G
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 31,242 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1273
Members: 79,740
Favorites: 196

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 17, 2017
UtterSpartan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show really balances on mediocrity. I know people who enjoy this but I'm just not feeling it, let me explain. Or try.

Meet male character. Male is easily flustered. Male accidentally gropes woman. Male has tons of women who find interest in him. Male wakes up with VIOLENT MAGIC FEMALE #7281 in bed. Male freaks out. VIOLENT MAGIC FEMALE #7281 attacks male. I'd call her a tsundere but she hasn't said the standard legal amount of "baka" for her to count so I guess she's a revolution in character design. She doesn't wear panties. There's a plot by the way. Blah, blah blah. Ghosts. Done. read more
Jun 18, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
I don't usually make reviews for generic anime... like yeah, usually generic anime are quite bad, but this is quite different for some reason. there are generic anime that for some reason ends being quite better than your average generic anime. but why Tsugumomo? what does tsugumomo do better than others? at least SLIGHTLY better?

Story 6/10:

Aside from the generic setting of school and your typical beta male of harems, I dare to say that the "power source" of this anime is quite unique, or at least I haven't seen overpowered blankets of cleansing as something you could fight with. I don't know how to read more
Jun 20, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
Tsugumomo which is adapted from the manga of the same name is an interesting anime that has a rather unique premise and story behind it. Very few anime these days actually have names that relate to the subject matter of the anime itself and in this case Tsugumomo is probably the first example I actually seen. Tsugumomo which is something that actually exists within Japanese traditional legend are essentially objects that after long years of use and cherishment by its owners have gained sentience and their own bodies and through the use of magic spiritual abilities. Tsugumomo combines this premise with a traditional exorcist storyline read more
May 10, 2017
grazr (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I was watching this anime something was really bugging me about the tone and vibe of the show. Then about 4 episodes in it hit me. The show is not bad, but the show is not great either, in fact, what was bugging me was the peculiar sensation that the show was so run-of-the-mill, so median, so perfectly average that I couldn't honestly bring myself to complain without feeling a sense of guilt about the fact I was ragging on a show that really hasn't done anything wrong.

The "story" actually begins to become somewhat interesting 4-5 episodes in, which is a good thing for read more
Apr 21, 2017
Isle352 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far into the show, I'm getting vibes similar to that of Omamori Himari and other animes that reference mystical/domestic being living together, the show dance on cliches and takes the dialogue a bit further.

Some scenes where you expect a cliche to happen, the show will disarm you by self deprecating and rewarding you with a little bit of fanservice, it looks interesting and it's pretty funny so far, the main character is a bit of a dense one but the scenes between the main duo are hilarious, give this show a try.

It's not over the top, it's funny and down to earth and it's read more
Jun 25, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Koko ni itai
Doko ni itai
kotae wa kikanakute mo shitteta
doko ni itai
 koko ni itai!
minna ga omotteru kara  seeno de
kotae wa onaji  kotae wa onaji
tsunagari wa keshitakunainda
uketotte?  uketotta!

Man, that opening them alone was funny, never mind if it's in Nippongo, as long as I like it, ok, so going back to business, this anime may not be much, but it did fine by my ratings.........:

Fair 6, story:

Ok, so it was a usual supernatural themed story, with something naughty, where it leaves us audience in such imaginative conclusion of some of the things that were being hinted by writer Ryōichi Kuraya, but the plot itself rely heavily on the main character getting his ass kicked by a cute yokai where at read more
Jun 19, 2017
AwesomeAlfie27 (All reviews)
Real Score:6.5\10

Tsugumomo, an adaptation from the homonymous Manga, which got a discrete amount of success. A simple story seasoned with basic yet entertaining characters, some clever ideas and a fun variety of situations. No Breakout whatsoever, but a fun experience overall

Story 6\10
The Story is generic and it doesn't have anything interesting to offer, but it has some really clever ideas and good episodes, especially during the parts of the Malison Cleansiment, with interesting twists and ,just a little bit though, a serious tone and sense of resentment of the main character, who questions if he's really the good guy, but it's not explored enough though, read more
Jun 12, 2017
Takros_Knonnar (All reviews)
Preliminary
What would be the reason behind a good anime, is it its uniqueness, the funny moment to enjoy, the wonderful character that makes up the anime or the philosophy behind. Well, those are what Tsugumomo has, or will have in the future. Its story of a guy meets up with a supernatural girl is old and classic, but being classic and also enjoyable is a tough challenge. However, it has fulfilled the role quite good with its own combination of everything, bringing funny moments and the unique set of action to captivate our mind. I would not say the story is good for just 12 read more
Dec 26, 2017
SLZR (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yeah its your generic anime. But doES YOUR MC TURN INTO A LOLI 4 EPISODES IN?

You can't one up this.

Granted, many people want to divide themselves of what is supposedly good versus what is relatively good INSIDE the story or anime itself.

This one takes place in a universe where yokai or 'tsugumomo' come to actual life and the story branches on their objectives and what not. But what really takes the cake is the size of each tsugumomo. Larger significantly means more powerful. Lords at shrines are small because not many worshipers.

You don't understand that whenever you're watching someone protecc and get smaller read more
Apr 21, 2019
ArcFloof (All reviews)
Tsugumomo is a funny, entertaining anime with a unique premise and pleasant characters that will keep you watching all the way to the end. Overall, there isn't too much to say about it. If you are looking for something that isn't too heavy of a watch with a bit of a lewd chuckle here and there, look no further.

This series took me by surprise. While not the greatest anime ever made, Tsugumomo has its own special charm that will keep you watching until the final episode. It isn't for everyone but fans of light hearted comedies will be pleasantly surprised. Watching the characters grow read more
Mar 6, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
One of the major reasons LA even looked into Tsugumomo is because Naomi Oozora was voicing a character with a Satanichia Kurumizawa McDowell cadence.......no seriously.

Tsugumomo is if anything a fanserviced-up harem anime with a dense main male protagonist with some sprinklings of Shinto and Japanese folklore to go along with, however it's VERY scattershot.

Tsugumomo's characters are stock at best from our bland main male protagonist Kazuya Kagami voiced by Yuuko Sanpei being the owner of the obi tsukumogami Kiriha voiced by Naomi Ozoora, where she's the extremely abrasive type and that's saying it lightly. Kazuya also has an older sister who's has a crush on read more
Oct 18, 2017
BriefEd (All reviews)
If you find grossly under aged girls in sexual situations objectionable you're gonna have a bad time.

I had a great time.

For a veteran anime watcher there will be almost nothing in the entire season that hasn't been seen in other animes: a typical weak teen guy protagonist that mostly coincidentally ends up surrounded by females and the accidental nudity scenes just keep raining all over, there is also of course a great threat that forces the weak teen guy to step up and try to become less weak. This is such a stereotypical ecchi harem setup that it's practically a classic.

While the charactes are a read more
Aug 30, 2017
Harizak (All reviews)
What can I say beyond it is kind of perverted if your into that thing, I probably would have given this a 7, but I liked dubbed anime's so I can listen in the background in some parts when I am working on something else. Needless to say starts off pretty shit if you ask me but then gets better and better. At first I was like what are these fight scenes, plot and all the rest. Eventually it kind of grew on me and I could see the humor in it. I would probably never watch this again but read more
Aug 29, 2017
Yukikaze_sama (All reviews)
Quite a surprise here. I didn't have high hopes for this anime, but Tsugumomo actually turned out quite well.

Let's start with genres. There are 3 things worth pointing out: it's seinen, there is no harem tag and there is no drama tag.
While Tsugumomo not being harem didn't really save this anime from feeling like one, it gives protagonist a bit more freedom and doesn't need to show us how dense he is every episode.
This anime being seinen is a wonderful thing for any ecchi fan. No, we don't get anything special. It just means that instead of boobfest and nosebleeds without doing anything we read more
Aug 22, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

Going into Tsugumomo I was just expecting another two misfit characters doing random stuff like fighting monsters or other stuff which is what I got yet it somehow surprised in more ways than I was expecting.

The story begins with Kazuya Kagami who doesn't go anywhere without his Sakura Obi that his mother gave him until one day a Tsugumomo spirit called Kiriha saved him from an evil spirit and that point on Kazuya's days would never be normal again.
Now the story isn't really spectacular, but it is enjoyable because at least the characters do go around trying to stop evil spirits attacking people read more
Jun 18, 2017
BluePikmin11 (All reviews)
Tsugumomo is one of those anime I feel is underlooked in this season of anime.

I first got interested in this anime personally because of its Japanese culture. Kiriha in particular really interested me with her bossy but confident personality and her unique fighting abilities as a tsugumomo. This anime surprisingly has a pretty interesting story as well as an intriguing cast of cast of characters.

I really liked how the anime shamelessly uses lewd elements to conduct its story, it did not feel really alienating and each lewd element felt purposeful. It crosses a line of storytelling I thought wasn't possible. There's also a good read more
Jun 11, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A build up to a battle anime with a very interesting spark of humor and personality.

This anime composed of a lot of really common aspects, but it takes them from a large number of places and puts them together in ways they aren't usually done and executes them pretty solidly, so it actually comes out really well. In terms of the overarching story, there isn't much beyond setting up the characters and systems, and though there are some plot threads that I am interested in seeing where they lead, there largely isn't something at a grand scale that they're working towards, with it largely read more
Aug 17, 2018
HajimeAmamori (All reviews)
Tsugumomo looks like a typical generic shounen action harem show, at least at first sight.
You've got Kazuya, our weak and average male MC who has to get stronger to fight some supernatural creatures, Kiriha, the supernatural and strong female lead who helps him, some more harem cast, and some ecchi of course.

But right after the first episode, I knew this would be different, and I would like it.
And after finishing, I knew that I was right.
Yes it uses generic elements, but many of them in a rather unusual way.
But there is more to it than just generics.

Tsugumomo has plenty of ecchi scenes, but more in read more
Mar 11, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
This is an unusual one.

First, it can be quite perverted. Characters end up in very weird/awkward situations. It is something half-way between comedy jokes of To Love Ru, and blunt humor of something like prison school... actually it is quite hard to describe it properly. It is as if it tried to use bluntest lewd jokes without making situation look "sexy". I'd say it is quite clsoe to the kind of humor used in "Kyou no 5 no 2".

Second, for some strange reason it has very high quality animation in fight scenes and fairly amazing music. The fights- and there are fights - can read more
Jul 29, 2017
AnimeFan48 (All reviews)
Story: so Kazuya is basically having a normal school day until a evil spirit comes after him and well wanting him until his Sakura Obi appears before him a girl and she defends him from the spirit not long after that battle she tells him she is the master and hes the servant which he agrees too so now Kazuya and Kiriha have to battle these spirit's that manifest from the people of the school awhile also dealing with the girls (ill get to that in the character part) Kazuya life just got a lot crazier.

Art: art is very good nothing wrong with the art read more