Isekai Shokudou


Restaurant to Another World

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Restaurant to Another World
Japanese: 異世界食堂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2017 to Sep 19, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, MysteryMystery
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 6097160,971 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #21322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #971
Members: 141,095
Favorites: 422
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 18, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
The isekai genre is really becoming a hot new trend of recent years. From RPG game settings to being reborn into a fantasy world, it’s a genre that has attracted a lot of attention. One of the biggest shows from last year, Re:Zero really took that to a darker side. It seems these days, isekai focuses too much on fantasy adventures – the typical story involving survival, battling monsters, or forming guilds. Any fan of open world and MMORPG games knows these formulas as they make up a good deal of the gaming market as well. Then, there’s Isekai Shokudou, a show that takes on read more
Jul 24, 2017
Rizrak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why you need to watch this one? let me explain what makes me interested by this series.

It's not all about the food dudes, its life.

When you need something to eat in very difficult situation, foods becomes a hope.

When you find new food that make you warm, foods takes you back to that place.

When you think you don't want to live anymore, foods will give you a reason to live.

No foodgasm within, but the history before you eat make it interesting.

Is there any cute girls in this series? Yes, blonde haired cute girls named Aletta with horns in her head.
Energetic girl with sad read more
Mar 4, 2019
Timmytimtam (All reviews)
2017 was a terrible year for mlondi dlamini, a south african football player who died in a car accident at 20 years old. however it was a good year for food based anime involving magical doors to other worlds.

i watched this show dubbed on the recommendation of a friend and also because i like english more than japanese, the english voices are fabulous and i second that recommendation. if you're the type of person who refuses to watch dubs then i invite you to get the fuck away from my review because i don't want you reading my blessed words.

since this show has isekai in read more
Sep 18, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
"When a strange door appears in front us, we should enter it with curious expectations, but I bet you, it won't be a restaurant."

The restaurant "Youshoku no Nekoya" is known for the different dishes from the menu, but in this case, it is also known by the irregular persons that visit it on the Satur day.

A magical door appears every seven days in different fantasy worlds allowing dragons, elf, dwarfs, human heroes and a select diverse group of lucky creatures to vist a restaurant from other world and taste all flavors that can not be found in their lands.

Your first impression could be read more
Sep 18, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Isekai is a very tiresome genre.  Quite honestly with all of the new 'transporting to a new world' adding only one or two arbitrary things in order to make it unique, the concept just appears...lazy.  So, now we're gonna transport a restaurant to another world.  And...it's actually pretty good.  Huh.

Story: There are legends of a strange door that appears all over the world on the day of Satur known as "Western Restaurant Nekoya".  Within the door lies an establishment that takes in gold and silver coins in exchange for food not seen or known to others.  Marvels like curry, parfaits, and natto that people have read more
Sep 18, 2017
AdolZeppeli (All reviews)
Isekai Shokudou is a special anime, is not an anime you would expect to have an epic story or something like that. It is just relaxing, like any other Slice of Life should be... Well, it doesn't exactly have the tag of Slice of Life, but pretty much feels like its meant to be taken as such. So if you are here expecting an epic story or a really meaningful anime, you will only get dissapointed. Now, if what you want is something different than your usual Harem, Ecchi, Generic Anime, or something not as lewd as Shokugeki no Souma, this anime will be read more
Jul 26, 2017
2dWasAMistake (All reviews)
Preliminary
Isekai Shokudou is shockingly, relentlessly boring. There's a mundane, quiet restaurant; it has a magic portal that's branches out to a bunch of corresponding portals in a sword and sorcery fantasy world. A rotating cast of fantasy guest characters come through the door. They eat food and then leave. Back in fantasy isekai land, they do have stuff going on; this is explained through direct narration or maybe some clumsy expository dialogue. But it's just back story. The restaurant visit does nothing at all to resolve the off-screen tension (except in one case where the guy's big problem was... he hadn't eaten in a while.) read more
Jul 26, 2017
Akan3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for an anime to watch after a hard day (or in any other situation where you want to take it easy and relax), look no further than Isekai Shokudou.

This anime is extremely relaxing and easy to digest. The message here is simple - food brings people (and other anime creatures) together. Food that looks and tastes like an exquisite piece of art can be appreciated by all, no matter their race, background, views and etc.

The show has nice, clean animation, the soundtrack fits the show well and the vibes are warm and cozy.

If that sounds like your thing - definitely check read more
Sep 18, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
Do you like short stories that don't have much of a point but may serve as a nice lighthearted vignette? Do you like watching people gush loudly about how much they enjoy the various types of food that they are eating? Well if so Restaurant To Another World might be for you! If you don't it most certainly won't be.

While Restaurant To Another World has a nice atmosphere and does well to protray a comfy setting, it's only purpose are the two things I mentioned: short meaningless vignettes that can sometimes be heartwarming, and watching people gush over the food that they love eating so read more
Aug 7, 2017
skimmel (All reviews)
Preliminary
Apparently there is a subculture of Anime fans who love descriptions of food. This series is fine if that's what you like. If you want characters or story-line, you should probably look elsewhere. I've made it through five episodes of this series and I'm bored purple by it. Each of the last three episodes has been exactly the same.

Part 1: Strange Creature/Fantasy Being/Whatever discovers the restaurant door in some expected location and, having nothing better to do, goes through the door. Cute waitress with horns that could easily be mistaken for different colored hair, seats them, gives them a menu and a glass of read more
Mar 25, 2018
Werty800 (All reviews)
Everyone wants to get the most out of their moment. In an attempt to create new opportunities for their pursuit of bliss, humans seek out numerous things in order to avoid duties. After all, effort leads to fatigue, which is nothing else than a detriment for one's enjoyment, right?

In Restaurant to Another World the viewer follows beings from a typical fantastical setting. It's a world where dangerous foes, social inequalities, and incurable diseases are issues its inhabitants face on a daily basis. Weeks pass, but their demanding lives don't get easier. Be that a life of a gladiator, squaring off against countless enemies to earn read more
Jul 24, 2017
Aman_Bhaskar (All reviews)
Preliminary
What is the strangest ,most unsettling and one of the strongest desires in this entire world. It is the feeling of hunger.... hunger for good food. It is interesting to see how this feeling of hunger can change people's mind drastically. This hunger can make people do any and everything...no matter who it is.. a salaryman or a beast .

The anime "Isekai Shokudou" is a bout a western cuisine restaurant , Nekoya , which seems to be a regular restaurant , serving normal food to people all day, six days a week. But there is a secret. During a weekend, the restaurant read more
Sep 22, 2017
kai_2_tatsuya (All reviews)
This anime is a secret gem and if you find it by yourself, considered it as an invitation to one of the greatest show this year.

Forget the "isekai" genre for a second. This is by far one of the most underrated anime this year and I'm gonna tell you guys why you should watch it.

Firstly, It has a similar vibe to another show this year called "Demi-chan wa Kataritai" and if you love that show, you're going to love this.

The story is nothing special and that is a good thing, just because it's an "isekai" genre, that does not mean it should be read more
May 7, 2020
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
In a genre that is exploited to every last drop, "Creativity" is a word I would never associate with any Isekai show to a point that it sounds awfully oxymoronic. But even so, once in awhile, there will be an anime that defiles the odds. And I believe the 2017 summer little gem Isekai Shokudou is one of those anime that creatively blends isekai elements to its merit.

One special day a week, every races in all kind of world will have a chance to enter Nekoya, a special restaurant run by a masterful chef. There they can all enjoy a good evening with wonderful foods read more
Oct 18, 2018
DoomRanger (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just from watching a few episodes, I’m already in love with this anime.

For the first time in a Long time, an anime that doesn’t give off the same generic vibe.

There are many things different, the anime has a very calm and soothing feel to it unlike all the other anime, this anime has unexpected character personalities.

Almost everyone is a nice person an example would be the Dragon Queen. I mean which anime has a badass looking Dragon Queen that actually isn’t bad?

And the MC, wandering into private property and isn’t exaggeratedly flustered (every anime ever) when the owner finds out?

I’d say this anime isn’t really read more
Apr 2, 2018
Alca (All reviews)
Isekai Shokudou was so much better than I expected. At first it does not look really appealing, however I enjoyed it a lot. This anime is perfect for those who want a relaxing time to just enjoy a new world where each episode is filled with new characters to get to know better.

Story: 9/10.
The story is about a restaurant known as the "Restaurant to Another World". A normal restaurant on earth that is connected to another world via a door. This door appears on the day of Satur: aka on Saturday. The door appears in random locations to the other world where people from read more
Sep 18, 2017
EnZanity (All reviews)
Spoiler Free Review

Everyone loves food, it's something we can't survive without. Instead of being a necessary chore that keeps us alive, it's an opportunity for innovation as many chefs around the world are experimenting with ingredients, trying to create the next great dish. Food is made to be eaten and enjoyed, and these culinary artists are the ones allowing us to take joy in our food. Now, Isekai Shokudou is not a show about creating new recipes. All the food showcased in this show are stuff we've seen or heard of before. You won't be seeing much deviation from these dishes, but that isn't technically read more
Jan 22, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
While it may not seem like much as you start watching, it's actually quite a relaxing anime to watch. Though I will admit, after a couple of episodes in, it did make me get invested in the characters in general, which made me just to want to watch it more.

It also gave me the want to watch more animes where the main plot is about or somewhat about food in general. I'd love to watch more food animes, and it's all because of this.

Not to mention the food as always looks stunning, and the opening is just lovely. Lovely as in I would more than read more
Jun 9, 2019
TheMainReject (All reviews)
I just personally got with it not that long ago, even though, I'm very late for this review with IRL and personal stuff going. However, the character designs, the backstories of the characters, the soundtrack, the setting through out the whole anime, and the whole environment is all top notch.

I haven't personally binge-watched a good anime like this for a few years. This is one my new favorite animes. Being a complete foodie, Isekai Shokudou has definitely made me hungry. All in seriousness though, don't watch this anime when you're hungry. It does have some amazing ideas for making dinner.

10/10 would watch the read more
Sep 1, 2018
TheRedGojo (All reviews)
Preliminary
completely lack basic story elements. has no purpose except to give fan service to food lovers. each episode follows the exact same formula with no hint of deviation. person finds door person eats food at restaurant and has their mind blown person leaves restaurant. this anime does not have an over arching story, it does not have character development, it lacks plot development its boring as sin, all it is is a repeat of literally exactly the same scene with slightly different characters with slightly different back stories but none of it builds anything within the world. watch one episode and enjoy the general format read more