IDOLiSH7

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: IDOLiSH7
Synonyms: Idolish Seven
Japanese: アイドリッシュセブン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 17
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2018 to May 19, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: TROYCA
Source: Game
Genres: MusicMusic, DramaDrama
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 1470414,704 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2512
Members: 47,078
Favorites: 940

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 22, 2018
Minster122 (All reviews)
When I tell people to watch this show, they tend to brush it off because it's an idol anime. Because they think it's going to be typical reverse harem show. Then I get them to watch just the first two episodes and then they're addicted.

Story: 9/10
It's not the usual "I have talent, I'm going to be an idol" plotline. Rather, nothing actually goes smoothly for these precious boys. The story likes to throw a lot of stuff at you and then only solve a few of the questions you have. It's kind of frustrating since there are plot lines that you would like to see read more
Sep 13, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Well, that was certainly better than expected. While I can't say that the first impression of many was wrong - another anime for female audience with focus on bishounens, it's better than most of similar titles. There isn't too much focus on a fanservice and as a pleasant surprise it does actually have a story. Not a story I would call great, but certainly not a story I would call bad either.

The characters indeed have personalities beyond just being a pretty face, so right from the start there's one of the biggest flaws of bishounen-focused anime gone. Considering that even I who's not even close read more
Mar 3, 2018
alysael (All reviews)
Preliminary
IDOLiSH7 on the surface seems like your run of the mill idol anime, and it opens in that way in the first episode for sure. But one of the reasons why I rate this so highly, is due to the fact that this show is actually both unique and enjoyable within it's genre.

(Note: At the writing of this review, I have seen 10 episodes - hopefully will get a chance to update this once the series finish airing).

Story: 8/10
Having played the mobile game for over a year and have dabbled into English translations of the game - this story is incredibly faithful to read more
Nov 24, 2018
axel360 (All reviews)
IDOLiSH7: More than just some pretty faces

I'm going to start off by saying I am absolutely not this show's intended audience. Not only am I a guy, but I have never watched an idol anime. I do realize the good-looking anime boys are at least the initial draw for a lot of its fans, but I wanted to try to answer the question: is it worth watching even if you have no such interest in the show's eye candy? The short answer? Yes. The long answer? Well, I'll get to it.

Story: 8
The premise is relatively straight-forward. You have 7, for the most part, strangers thrown read more
Jan 11, 2019
wakame-sama (All reviews)
So as a person who has been evading idol related series all her life, I was convinced that I wouldn't enjoy this one. A friend recommended it to me a while ago, so I told myself why not? At least there are hot guys! But how wrong I was. Idolish7 is a lot more than that.

Story: 8/10
The story isn't anything complex. Basically a group of 7 guys reunite to form an idol group from scratch. But don't think that things will come easy for these guys, actually it's all the opposite. We get to see a quite realistic story in which fame doesn't come as read more
Sep 27, 2018
maria-sakurauchi (All reviews)
I started watching this anime on a tiresome day when I badly needed something to cheer me up. At first I assumed this would be one of those cringy, badly-written idol animes with perfect , bland characters ,created solely for fanservice and I wanted to watch this for the laughs.
But it ended up being something completely different and by the end.. I was in love.

Now I shall tell everyone, what did I like about this anime so much that I ended up rewatching it twice?

*very slight spoilers ahead*

So first of all , the story. (9/10)
It starts by introducing us to the characters and giving read more
Jun 3, 2020
YukiCMM (All reviews)
I don't even know why I started watching that anime. I am not into idols, boy-bands at all. I read a few reviews from trusted people and I needed a break from the action-packed stuff I've been watching lately.
Idolish7 really surprised me as a good anime, with a solid plot and an overall "feel good" element that I think was very welcome in dark times of quarantine and such.
Idolish7 is good primarily because the depiction of these 7 very different characters is well done and articulated in a way that blends in together as a genuinely good story about a bunch of boys read more
May 17, 2018
Maineya (All reviews)
Preliminary
I honestly thought that IDOLiSH7 was very good for a idol anime as someone who has watched many of them. Instead of your typical idol anime where the main characters have overwhelming talent right off the bat, IDOLiSH7 tends to focus more on the growth and development on the characters which makes the hard-work of the main characters stand out. Just seeing everyone working so hard makes me want to support them (cheesy I know). Going towards the music aspect of the show, there is a wide variety of different themes such as fun and energetic to cool and sexy which makes the songs appealing read more
May 28, 2021
kainyani (All reviews)
Went into this anime thinking it would be a harem based anime and oh my was I wrong. This anime has an amazing plot and the character development is extraordinary. I love how well they throw in plot twists. This is truly one of the best animes I have watched!

Also, the cliffhangers are superb and the art style is magnificent. Every episode is addicting, they truly have no bad episodes in this series.

Oh and for all of my BL lovers. This anime is not classified as a BL but if you let your imagination run a little wild I'm pretty sure you can have read more
May 17, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
This may be the most pleasantly surprising anime I've ever seen. I was honestly and thoroughly satisfied while watching this, and I don't know if I'm going to be able to explain why, but just know that whatever low expectations you have for IDOLiSH7, it's better than that.

So the art. Not to brag on this anime and then immediately bring up a complaint, but the backgrounds weren't the most enticing thing in the world. Most of them, even if they had a lot of color, were a bit bland looking. I say that, though, so I can bring up the fact that I seriously loved read more
Jul 14, 2020
Blue_Maroon (All reviews)
First off, let me say that this kind of show isn’t really up my alley. I watched this based off of a personal recommendation and was expecting a 17 episode slog, but to my surprise, I actually found myself enjoying it at times (for better or worse).

It starts off pretty slow, following the standard idol anime beats while introducing a cast of standard shoujo pretty boys as idols. And, oh my god, do they ever put them to use. There is a LOT of shameless yaoi bait throughout this anime.

In my opinion, yaoi bait (as with any other form of fanservice) is acceptable if read more
Mar 8, 2019
Craneface (All reviews)
Like many other reviews for IDOLiSH7, they often state that this anime is very different from your regular Idol anime.
I thought I'd check it out myself just to make sure that it really is different from the Idol anime genre we know of.

All I can say is: Yes, that's true.

The anime shows us how difficult it really is, starting out small and trying to overcome the odds. There's no miracle, you only get through this if you're tough, and that can be very difficult to handle if you're a group of seven young and beautiful men.

These guys all have their own unique personalities and read more
May 13, 2021
Weebyotaku (All reviews)
"Shaking your heart" (A pharse from their songs) (No spoilers)
Okay so this is my second review and guess what this is one of the most underrated anime which I've ever seen
Also there is this thing stuck in people's minds that idols are for girls...! Nope!
This anime really caught my attention although I am not at all interested in idols and I am dead serious about this
Idolish7 or I7 in short really is much more than your typically reverse harem show......its all about the struggles of a group of idols that wants to reach the skies ! Simple right?
Well it's simplicity is read more
Oct 24, 2019
HeroVladimir93 (All reviews)
I watched a few shows about boy bands and idols like The iDOLM@STER SideM and Big Time Rush a few years, so I did know what to expect from a show like IDOLiSH7. After finding out that this show would have a second season in 2020, I decided now would be as good a time as any to watch it. So, is IDOLiSH7 any good? Well, let's hop on and find out!

Warning! Spoiler alert!

Story
This show features the basic premise of a rookie idol band trying to make a name for itself in the music industry while facing off against more powerful and famous rivals. In read more
Oct 9, 2019
KaixMaxi (All reviews)
If you come into IDOLiSH7 thinking this is going to be a happy, gentle, soft, fluffy anime, you're in for the ride of your life. Although it does have those aspects... what you're about to enter is a world full of flaws, imperfection, angst, hurt and inferiority. If that sounds like what you're into, step right up and enjoy because before you know it, you'll end up finishing the series and be eagerly awaiting for season 2 in 2020, just like the rest of us. Rest assured, this review is completely spoiler-free!

Story= 10/10
The story is really good! It starts with seven boys coming together with read more
Nov 29, 2020
CurryxSake (All reviews)
Idolish7 is definitely a modern take on idol anime and here's why.

The members of Idolish7 are seven unique personalities who each possess decent backstories that make sense while not too melodramatic. While the characters seem to follow a certain archetype/trope, they nonetheless add more to the table which makes them three-dimensional. Furthermore, the show isn't a harem which means that the writers don't need to add unnecessary shipping scenes. Besides, the show clearly has a specific ship planned. The show's antagonists are also well rounded and not simply villains out for the destruction of Idolish7. Trigger is a decent rival group with compelling characters.

Speaking read more
Dec 13, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
so this anime just popped out out of no where for me tbh...i watched a video about 2018's anime introduction & stuff like that and i saw gorgeous characters in this one then decided to watch it :D thats it really lol :D
i just wanted to watch gorgeous characters sing and dance which i got what i wanted exactly the way i wanted it so this anime is just a FUN anime to watch....if your looking for some deep dark story or drama which some of the music based anime series do have then you are in the wrong place :)

story 8/10 :the only thing read more
Jun 28, 2020
tt5 (All reviews)
Preliminary
My review is from the 3 first episodes until I dropped this show.

It was a mediocre experience. I admit that the character have potential but what was done in the first 3 episodes? Nothing, I almost know nothing about them, they don't really interact with each other or if they do it feels like staged.

I see no training, I see no group dynamics, everyone is nice. And its slow and boring. I know shows they would have fit these 3 episodes in one and would have added even more. Its just boring
Why should I watch this? What is the special thing of this read more
Nov 16, 2019
Kuroe791 (All reviews)
As a person who didn't like male idol group because from what I watched before I stumbled across IDOLiSH7, I was sceptical about it thinking it'll be another happy-go-lucky, fun, cliche, and very predictable idol anime but I was very wrong indeed. IDOLiSH7 is one of the best idol anime in my opinion but would still need a little more work until it's perfect. I had tried to get my two friends to watch it but they only said no because of it being an idol anime and guessing it'll be just cutesy and happy all the time like I did however, when they finally read more
Dec 19, 2018
FujoshiLyfe (All reviews)
IDOLiSH7 isn't one of those boring idol anime everyone avoids. I honestly think that this anime is underrated. Everyone who hears of this anime pass it as they think "Another idol anime? It is the same as the rest." They assume that this series will be boring as it isn't "original". If you are reading this, check it out! But if you aren't a huge fan of Idols, please no hate! Although, I feel that they left quite a lot of information unanswered, *SPOILER ALERT* such as who Yamato wants revenge on. Also, for those who can't access the game, it makes it quite confusing. read more