Ao Oni The Animation


Aooni The Blue Monster

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Aooni The Blue Monster
Japanese: あおおに ~じ・あにめぇしょん~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2016 to Jan 9, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 02:05 (JST)
Producers: DAX Production
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Game
Genres: ComedyComedy, HorrorHorror
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.131 (scored by 81588,158 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #106382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4017
Members: 17,290
Favorites: 14
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 23, 2016
NinjaMushi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm kinda disheartened by the overall low scores for this otherwise genius masterwork of comedic fiction. Now I do an extent of ignorance towards the sorce material but from the sounds of it, they made the right choice in making Ao Oni the Animation such a classic comedy anime. Along with the likes of Corpse Party, the amount of thoughtful shock value is exceedingly high. Personally, I laugh at every episode with a huge grin on my face.

Many of the characters reminded me of my wonderful friends, so seeing them get brutally murdered by Ao Oni every week is slightly heart wrenching, but nonetheless a read more
Jan 4, 2019
ErTraffik (All reviews)
This opera is really underrated because of itscomplex structure. It looks like a dumb chibi funny anime, with no interest in developing the characters or making them progress like happened with the game. So you are probably wondering why I gave it a 10.
That's pretty simple, this opera contains one other anime, really deep and conscious. You have to analyze what happens and you will understand what I say. For eaxmple in every episode they die, but in the next episode there is no sign of change in their acting, but if you know stoics's philosophy it will gain one other layer. It represents read more
Oct 24, 2016
kah0922 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, if you are coming into this show thinking it's going to be a direct adaptation of the game, you're going to be sorely disappointed. Ao Oni The Animation is certainly a unique show from the same studio that brought us the horror classic Higurashi... and also Pupa. Instead of a direct adaptation, Deen decided to do a black comedy short series.

Story: Since this is a short episode comedy series, there really is no overarching plot to speak of, and the actual plot of each episode ends in the characters dying in some fashion or another. To be fair, there's only so much read more
Jul 19, 2020
JackTH (All reviews)
Ao Oni...

few shows manage to impact my life in a meaningful way, and yet this masterpiece not only did that but it managed to change my life completely.

It's truly an emotional rollercoaster of ups and downs, filled to the brim with comedy, tension, drama, horror, romance, and characters who evolve and adapt throughout the narrative. By the end of the series you've seen every character grow, to a point where looking back to the start they're almost unrecognisable. I would best describe them each, as a block of marble who are masterfully sculpted into perfect pieces of art.

My personal favourite episodes are the 4th and read more
Feb 12, 2017
MerlinSam123 (All reviews)
Episodes 4, 12, and 13 are the only ones worth watching. At my least critical, I might include episodes 5 and 11 with those on the account that they mildly amused me, though I will still likely forget them a week after I've written this review. If you've stumbled upon this series of comedy shorts because of the following the original freeware Ao Oni game has gained, that's really all you need to know. Those are the only episodes of this show that I might consider clever, and even then, not by much. Most of the humor in these shorts is very stale and predictable, read more
Jul 28, 2020
bagel_bred (All reviews)
I was pleasently surprised and disappointed by this series. It's kind of like a "Pop Team Epic" for horror. The characters seem to look and act like how they do in the game (even though Takuro is protrayed nicer than in the game) and are pretty spot on. Story-wise the shorts aren't always the best in quality. While some are genuinely funny, some are really bland and unfunny. The ending was surprisingly scary, and really came out of left field. It was a welcome surprise. The animation was well-done and super cute. It's not the best short "comedy" one-shot series out there, and I read more
Nov 5, 2016
TFO1013 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you are a fan of the game and are here because you wanted to watch an anime adaptation of it, forget it. If you just randomly happened to come across this anime and see that it has a horror genre tag, disregard it. This is a short, nonsensical comedy.

Story:
There isn't much of a story. It's three minutes long and is episodic. Four friends find themselves trapped in a haunted mansion with Ao Oni. Wacky, ridiculous goings on occur as we watch the friends get hanged, beheaded, eaten, etc., etc., etc..

Characters:
There's Mika, Takurou, Takeshi, and Ao Oni. All the human characters are in chibi form. read more
Nov 14, 2016
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anime Happy-Tree Friends. Literally all you need to know. Take the familiar formula of cute chibi 2 dimensional characters on a flat background that may very well have been drawn in Microsoft Paint, inject it with ultra-violence with no consequences or permanence, and then thrown in a handful of anime tropes and bingo-bango you've got Ao Oni. They are a quick watch but fairly entertaining in a Ebaum's World or Newgrounds kind of way. You probably won't be declaring it a masterpiece, but it may elicit a chuckle from sheer absurdity.

Also it is tagged as "horror." This seems inaccurate. The original medium was a read more
Jan 30, 2021
jadyjads (All reviews)
The team behind Ao Oni The Animation knows Ao Oni has this burlesque quality to it, loves it, and it shows. Do you like Ao Oni? Do you like sh*tposts? Then you'll enjoy this very short, silly anime.

It features the game's characters with more sterotypical personalities, but in the sense that it makes them easier to grasp in a short amount of time. There is no overarching story - this a series of jokes taking place in the Oni's mansion.

The ending theme is surprisingly catchy and the monsters are funny. Only downside was the intro, which was a little too long for something that is read more
Dec 29, 2016
Shinado-Akimu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start off by saying that this is my first review and that it's by no means a troll one.
So Ao Oni, even if you're not an Horror RPG fan you probably have heard of it, but what about the anime ? is it any good ? is it scary ?
well, it's a parody, and actually a very good one, they actually did it pretty well considering the length of the episodes (around a Minute and half if we don't count the opening and ending), they were seriously funny, so don't come here expecting something actually scary since I don't think it'd work at all read more
Dec 12, 2016
s3rlrules (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't even know where to begin on how bad and how bad this is. Way back when I watched the Pewdiepie play the original game but I don't know how to even start with this terrible animation. This is LITERALLY THE WORST GAME TO ANIMATION I HAVE EVER SEEN! I couldn't even get by the first 2 minutes, and I felt absolutely no love for the original source material. If i didn't know that there was a horror game called the same thing, and you said that this was based off of the game, i would have said "There is absolutely no way that read more
Dec 9, 2016
SeidouTZ (All reviews)
Preliminary
- Ao Oni The Animation review -

For those who don't know, this animation series is base of the so popular horror RPG Ao Oni, which is a surprisingly good game filled with jumpscares and a creppy atmosphere. So when i first heard Studio Deen was planning on doing a anime adaptation of it i was pretty exited considering their track record with horror shows like Higurashi. That was until the first episode came out...

First of, if you are a fan of the game you will be very disappointed since this is more of a "comedy" than anything else. And i say the word "comedy" very read more
Apr 20, 2018
witchyedgelord (All reviews)
So, I knew about the original game this anime was based off for years, having watched multiple let's plays of it and planning to do my own series on the game in the future. It's a pretty basic story, four friends going to try to solve an old mystery of their town in a way that basically makes it feel like a Scooby-Doo episode that has an ACTUAL monster rather than a disguised person, but has it's scary moments and has always been rememberable to me.

This anime, however, takes it in a more comedic route. And honestly, I'm perfectly okay with that, but I don't read more
Dec 5, 2016
Dorkave (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ao-Oni is one of the most well-known of RPG Maker games, as if you were to go and talk to someone about the best and the worst, you'll hear mixed reactions about Ao-Oni somewhere in that conversation, or maybe not. Some people consider Ao-Oni a great game, spawning other fan games to accompany that one, while some may argue how memorable and scary it really is. No matter your thoughts on the classic--the game had a large following with its fanbase and became very popular. Now, the main problem with the anime is not that the story structure is read more