Gabriel DropOut
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Gabriel DropOut
Japanese: ガヴリールドロップアウト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to Mar 27, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 137489137,489 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #376
Members: 272,864
Favorites: 2,386

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
If I learned something from watching Gabriel DropOut, is that going to hell is definitely the superior option. Get ready for this hilarious comedy that reverses the roles of angels and demons!

The story is simple but interesting due to the comedic setting it creates: our protagonist, Gabriel, was a kind, top tier angel who always helped others. However, after coming to Earth she developed an addiction to online videogames and became incredibly lazy. From there we meet other angels and demon with personalities that don't fit the standards we give to them, creating lots of great comedic situations playing around that. Going back to Gabriel, read more
Mar 27, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
At first glance, Gabriel Dropout seems nothing special and definitely does not stand out but it is actually a hilarious show that had me laughing till my stomach hurt.
Quality wise Gabriel Dropout is not very good, it has a simple generic plot with some of the most stereotypical characters I have seen but that did not stop the show from being so damn entertaining.
I’ve decided to write this review in a more lively manner that better suits the show, doing so was fun.

Story: 6/10
Upon passing a school in heaven, graduating angels are sent down to Earth with the duty to learn about and guide read more
Mar 27, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every now and then, I often go through a bucket list of things when deciding to pick up a new anime. Make no mistake, Gabriel Dropout’s list consists of some of the most generic tropes you’ll discover in anime. Does that automatically make the show unwatchable? Absolutely not. I mean, the show is like a soup with all sort of generic ingredients in it to bring out the flavor. However, it’s a show that can also be a delight for fans who wants to see some colorful entertainment.

On the surface, the series doesn’t really stand out much. It’s essentially about angels and demons who have read more
Mar 27, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Doga Kobo might not be the absolute biggest name in the anime industry but if there is one thing they have truly made a name for themselves for, then it is their aptitude at making moe comedies. With an repertoire including the likes of Himouto Umaru-chan, New Game and of course the legendary Yuru Yuri among others, this is truly the studio's specialty. Adding to this lineup, this season we now have Gabriel DropOut, which once again showcases just how to make this genre shine at its very brightest.

Gabriel DropOut can briefly be described as role-reversed angels and demons turned moe. The story mainly follows read more
Mar 27, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
There are two ways I look at Gabriel DropOut. One is as a CGDCT anime and the other is as a comedy. While the two usually go very well together I separate the two of them for a reason. As a CGDCT anime Gabriel DropOut is alright. Vinge and Satania are cute, and at least Gabriel has a cute design, even if her personality is annoying. However, as a comedy anime it is painful.

The biggest issue I have with Gabriel DropOut is that it's not funny. Many of the jokes all boil down to the same thing: "The angels act like demons and the demons read more
Jan 30, 2017
lolipopsicle (All reviews)
Preliminary
An angel and demon comedy, I've definitely seen something similar to this before... *eyes hataraku maou-sama*

Let me start by saying that this anime was a lot better than I thought it would be. Normally, I like to wait for anime to finish airing before I watch them, but this season I wanted to try something different - so I chose something I thought would be average. So far, this anime seems to be pure comedy with no plot to be seen - just four cute girls living their lives on Earth, doing cute things.

However, even without a plot, it's not at all boring nor average read more
Jan 31, 2017
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
-PREVIEW-

Starting of the year 2017, we have Gabriel DropOut! A slice of life and comedy series about the everyday lives of 4 cute girls [Heaven and Hell] living in human world after graduating from their respective 'schools'. There's a lot more SOL, CGDCT anime aired this season.

Gabriel DropOut to me is quite interesting to watch. The core is much formulated, it can play off anime cliché as they use many frills moments to as the comedy theme, not by throwing it unnecessarily. Of course, it has a pretty standard set up of Slice Of Life genre such as the school setting and bunch of girls read more
Mar 27, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout was genuninly a nice surprise for me. Coming into this show with hardly any expectations whatsoever, I left feeling satisfied with a fun show with good comedy and a cast of characters that I actually liked by the end. This show doesn't do anything remarkable in terms of its narrative or characters but it remains a fun ride throughout, and the characters are both enjoyable enough, and their chemistry between each other feels natural enough to carry the weight of the show.

Gabriel Dropout is about a fallen angel named Gabriel, who visits Earth originally as a means of learning more about Earth culture read more
Jun 5, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout is a moe comedy that executes its jokes quite well. I'd say it's certainly earned its position as one of the best in this genre.

The general premise is that demons and angels are sent to earth to go to school. This anime creates plenty of comedy by role reversing the characters. Gabriel starts out as one of the best angels but discovers MMOs and becomes a shut-in. Vigne is a devil but she is so well behaved and preppy that everyone's always commenting on how she's not a very good demon. And so-on.

The characters are quite memorable. I liked Satania's gimmick of being read more
Jun 2, 2019
moe_sama (All reviews)
Gabriel DropOut is a series you will hear praises sung for due to its take on comedy and unabashedly moe characters as the angels and demons enter the human world and interact with each other with their role reversed personalities.
It starts out fun but once it settles into a rhythm it refuses to let up to show even the slightest development in either story nor character.

Story: 5/10

Gabriel is an angel that graduated at the top of her class in heaven and she and her classmates enter the human world to learn more about humans, while there she discovers MMO games and quickly becomes a lazy read more
May 6, 2019
Kirby8000Rox (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout is a hilarious anime that didn't disappoint my expectations at all. [Minor Spoilers]

STORY: 8/10
The story follows Gabriel as she settles on Earth and each transforms in her own unique way. She becomes sentient to her own angelic kind and fully indulges in the guilty pleasures of human life (and laziness). Her friends aren't much better despite differing from each other. Their escapades are hilarious to watch and their interactions even more so. Their friendships click without the viewer even noticing and before they know it the characters are already heavily invested in each other.

The comedy is golden with its fair share of running read more
Mar 30, 2017
RPWPA (All reviews)
This anime is a waste of time . it is pretty much a rip-off of Himouto! Umaru-chan but with more annoying characters with bad personalities and cringy jokes.
I won't lie, first it was enjoyable but then the repeated jokes every episode whether it's about the bullying satania joke, the dog stealing the bread, vigne acting like an angel or gab doing nothing other than playing video games. it got boring after a while.
Even good characters (like vigne) turn into really annoying characters half-way through the series and I would say that Satania and Tapris were the only reasons I watched this series till the read more
Dec 24, 2018
rma2002 (All reviews)
I honestly have no clue why the rating for this anime is so low. Guess ratings really don't matter, I've seen an anime rated around 8.7 and I enjoyed Gabriel Dropout way more than said anime. I spent a lot of time deciding whether or not I would even watch this anime, and I'm glad I eventually decided to. One factor as to why I eventually watched was because I wanted to understand memes with Satania in it- later on that in the Character section of my review...

Story: 8/10

This I would give an 8, simply because in a lot of these 12-episode series there isn't read more
Dec 3, 2018
Tringapore_98 (All reviews)
I wish I watched Gabriel Dropout sooner, because it was basically a comedy show. Each episode was full of laughs and although it got a bit more serious in the last few episodes, there were still scenes that were worthy of laughing at.

In terms of story there wasn't much in the way of story development the anime is more for the shits and giggles than the story IMO. In summary, the story revolves around Gabriel, Raphiel, Vignette and Satania and their interactions+struggles with the people around them and each other.

Animation wise is nothing too special. It's decent especially the animation of heaven and the character read more
Oct 31, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 7
ART - 8
SOUND - 7
CHARACTER - 9
ENJOYMENT - 8

In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. Then he created the sky and the land and all these other things we have now. And God saw that we became creatures of sheer laziness who get bored easily so he said, Let there be Gabriel DropOut: and there was Gabriel DropOut. And all's right in the world.

Oh, but during the process, clumsy God accidentally reversed the biblical archetype when the angels turned demonic and the demons turned angelic. Yes, you heard that right. He somehow stuffed up! The angels are now in need read more
Sep 16, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Gabriel DropOut: a moe anime in which the supporting characters outshine (and outcute) the primary protagonist.

The premise is exactly what one would expect from something titled "Gabriel DropOut": about an angel named Gabriel who decided to become a total bum on Earth thanks to serious addiction for MMORPG. Splashed with moe tones and lots of colors, the audience soon finds a hilarious setting where angels and demons being all cute and funny while at the same time, poking serious topics on morality and comformity. Nonetheless, it is still a moe anime which also means that being entertaining must be Gabriel DropOut's number one priority. Unfortunately, read more
Jul 5, 2019
tuudug (All reviews)
A friend recommended me this anime a while back and I thought it's just one of these generic 'cute-girl-doing-cute-things' show that we get a million of them every season. And after watching it, I'd say that it's one of the most hilarious comedy shows I have ever seen!

Story 8/10:
The story is about 2 angels and 2 demons trying to live a normal life in the human world, which results in a lot of hilarity.
The episodes aren't really connected with each other just like any other shows of this type. Each episode is has 2-3 sections, each with good set-up, pacing and jokes.

Art 9/10:
The animation read more
May 20, 2018
Soapy2k (All reviews)
This review is just my input. It's not full fledged or anything, you already got the other ones going in depth and such. Now I'm not a very good reviewer so...

This is the type of anime that was focused on entertainment more than the story. If you're the more of the story guy, well uh, this might not be for you. Gabriel DropOut got me laughing and put a smile on face throughout each episode. I've finished this anime in about 4 days, and I would've finished it sooner but roadblocks, so you can tell how interested in Gabriel DropOut I was. The characters were read more
Jul 24, 2017
shirahane (All reviews)
While I was looking for anime to binge watch for my summer break, I stumbled upon this show. When I first read the synopsis, I didn't expect much at all. It only looked like a comedy anime that revolved around cute girls doing cute things. However, I ended up watching Gabriel Dropout anyway since I had nothing else to do. That was a decision I don't regret making.

Story - 6
Well, the thing is, there is no actual story.
In the first episode, we are to introduced to the main character, Gabriel, who is graduating to become a full-fledged angel, and is apparently the top angel read more
Oct 18, 2017
Syrene_Windsor (All reviews)
Pros
- The story is simple, relatable, and fun
- A lot of funny facial expression that will make you laugh
- Each character is unique in their own way, but they can befriend each other, which is fun
- Character's voice match their personality very well. U know, like how silly character got silly voice
- Good to watch after long day of school or work to refresh your mind
- Creative way of handling censorship
- Funny Religion jokes that I really appreciate because it's hard to make a joke about Religion. This one is funny and inoffensive (In my opinion)

Cons
- Need more character explanation since I think it's good read more