Gabriel DropOut

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ガヴリールドロップアウト
English: Gabriel DropOut
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to Mar 27, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Themes: DemonsDemons, SchoolSchool
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 198842198,842 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #17272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #426
Members: 393,495
Favorites: 2,886

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
If I learned something from watching Gabriel DropOut, is that going to hell is definitely the superior option. Get ready for this hilarious comedy that reverses the roles of angels and demons!

The story is simple but interesting due to the comedic setting it creates: our protagonist, Gabriel, was a kind, top tier angel who always helped others. However, after coming to Earth she developed an addiction to online videogames and became incredibly lazy. From there we meet other angels and demon with personalities that don't fit the standards we give to them, creating lots of great comedic situations playing around that. Going back to Gabriel, read more
Mar 27, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
At first glance, Gabriel Dropout seems nothing special and definitely does not stand out but it is actually a hilarious show that had me laughing till my stomach hurt.
Quality wise Gabriel Dropout is not very good, it has a simple generic plot with some of the most stereotypical characters I have seen but that did not stop the show from being so damn entertaining.
I’ve decided to write this review in a more lively manner that better suits the show, doing so was fun.

Story: 6/10
Upon passing a school in heaven, graduating angels are sent down to Earth with the duty to learn about and guide read more
Mar 27, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every now and then, I often go through a bucket list of things when deciding to pick up a new anime. Make no mistake, Gabriel Dropout’s list consists of some of the most generic tropes you’ll discover in anime. Does that automatically make the show unwatchable? Absolutely not. I mean, the show is like a soup with all sort of generic ingredients in it to bring out the flavor. However, it’s a show that can also be a delight for fans who wants to see some colorful entertainment.

On the surface, the series doesn’t really stand out much. It’s essentially about angels and demons who have read more
Mar 27, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Doga Kobo might not be the absolute biggest name in the anime industry but if there is one thing they have truly made a name for themselves for, then it is their aptitude at making moe comedies. With an repertoire including the likes of Himouto Umaru-chan, New Game and of course the legendary Yuru Yuri among others, this is truly the studio's specialty. Adding to this lineup, this season we now have Gabriel DropOut, which once again showcases just how to make this genre shine at its very brightest.

Gabriel DropOut can briefly be described as role-reversed angels and demons turned moe. The story mainly follows read more
Mar 27, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
There are two ways I look at Gabriel DropOut. One is as a CGDCT anime and the other is as a comedy. While the two usually go very well together I separate the two of them for a reason. As a CGDCT anime Gabriel DropOut is alright. Vinge and Satania are cute, and at least Gabriel has a cute design, even if her personality is annoying. However, as a comedy anime it is painful.

The biggest issue I have with Gabriel DropOut is that it's not funny. Many of the jokes all boil down to the same thing: "The angels act like demons and the demons read more
Jan 30, 2017
lolipopsicle (All reviews)
Preliminary
An angel and demon comedy, I've definitely seen something similar to this before... *eyes hataraku maou-sama*

Let me start by saying that this anime was a lot better than I thought it would be. Normally, I like to wait for anime to finish airing before I watch them, but this season I wanted to try something different - so I chose something I thought would be average. So far, this anime seems to be pure comedy with no plot to be seen - just four cute girls living their lives on Earth, doing cute things.

However, even without a plot, it's not at all boring nor average read more
Mar 27, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout was genuninly a nice surprise for me. Coming into this show with hardly any expectations whatsoever, I left feeling satisfied with a fun show with good comedy and a cast of characters that I actually liked by the end. This show doesn't do anything remarkable in terms of its narrative or characters but it remains a fun ride throughout, and the characters are both enjoyable enough, and their chemistry between each other feels natural enough to carry the weight of the show.

Gabriel Dropout is about a fallen angel named Gabriel, who visits Earth originally as a means of learning more about Earth culture read more
Jan 31, 2017
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
-PREVIEW-

Starting of the year 2017, we have Gabriel DropOut! A slice of life and comedy series about the everyday lives of 4 cute girls [Heaven and Hell] living in human world after graduating from their respective 'schools'. There's a lot more SOL, CGDCT anime aired this season.

Gabriel DropOut to me is quite interesting to watch. The core is much formulated, it can play off anime cliché as they use many frills moments to as the comedy theme, not by throwing it unnecessarily. Of course, it has a pretty standard set up of Slice Of Life genre such as the school setting and bunch of girls read more
Mar 30, 2017
RPWPA (All reviews)
This anime is a waste of time . it is pretty much a rip-off of Himouto! Umaru-chan but with more annoying characters with bad personalities and cringy jokes.
I won't lie, first it was enjoyable but then the repeated jokes every episode whether it's about the bullying satania joke, the dog stealing the bread, vigne acting like an angel or gab doing nothing other than playing video games. it got boring after a while.
Even good characters (like vigne) turn into really annoying characters half-way through the series and I would say that Satania and Tapris were the only reasons I watched this series till the read more
Nov 12, 2021
kids11111009 (All reviews)
Im not a huge fan of this anime. All of the episodes are just repeat recycle.
This anime just only about Angels are threats and Devils are peaceful.
The only character i considered being the best is Vignette. Gabriel is basically Umaru without chibi transformation, Satania is honestly trying to be the intimidating one, but becomes boring if you look at her in a different perspective point of view, Raphiel is the same as Gabriel when it comes to making fun of Satania, but does better in academics than a lazy angel like Gabriel. I lonly like the anime’s art style, on-par with other animes. It read more
Apr 13, 2021
Csiposfosas (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout at first caught my attention due to me delving deeper into comedy and CGDCT (Cute girls doing cute things) animes. Having seen New Game! which is another offspring of the studio Doga Kobo, gave me the feeling that this anime might also be promising, so I gave it a try. I am sorry to say I felt utterly let down even while not having many expectations.

Art & Sound:
The peculiar and noticable art of Doga Kobo is something I personally like due to the cutesy characters, its vividity and it doing a good job at conveying the emotions it wishes, so read more
Jun 2, 2019
moe_sama (All reviews)
Gabriel DropOut is a series you will hear praises sung for due to its take on comedy and unabashedly moe characters as the angels and demons enter the human world and interact with each other with their role reversed personalities.
It starts out fun but once it settles into a rhythm it refuses to let up to show even the slightest development in either story nor character.

Story: 5/10

Gabriel is an angel that graduated at the top of her class in heaven and she and her classmates enter the human world to learn more about humans, while there she discovers MMO games and quickly becomes a lazy read more
Mar 1, 2017
Jawker (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm sure lots of people really like the CGDCT ( Cute girls doing cute things ) Genre, i personally really love it as it's always there to make you smile and get a Cuteness overload, it's a very great sub-genre, i thought i could give my opinion on a currently airing Anime that can be classified as one, it's called 'Gabriel dropout' this show is simply CGDCT but with angels and demons, That doesn't make it any less cute though.this is my impressions/review on the first 5 episodes of the show.

Story: 7/10,The story is pretty unique itself, a top-class angel Graduates and goes to earth read more
Feb 2, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
If an angel came down to earth to live like a human being, what would they act like. What kind of lifestyle will they pursue? Well in this anime. It can go in many directions. Ladies and Gentlemen one of my personal favourite comedies, Gabriel DropOut.

I will be reviewing the episodes as an anime-only watcher.

Story (9)
Meet Gabriel, the oh so perfect angel that will solve all the problems. By the first couple of minutes we get to see what type of person Gabriel is. She is clean, calm, kind hearted, and "perfect," She'll live a perfect and healthy life when she enters Earth. She read more
Mar 27, 2017
Valenthyne (All reviews)
What happens when you mix Himouto! Umaru-chan with angels and demons? Tenshi! Gabriel-chan. Witness main character Gabriel Tenma White’s fall from grace towards the clutches of one of humanity’s greatest evils: massively multiplayer online games! Gabriel DropOut is a fun, charming Slice of Life that follows the lives of two angels and two demons as they engage themselves in the bizarre world of mortal delights.

Will you like it?

You may enjoy series title if you…
-- generally enjoy Slice of Life anime with a medium sized group of main characters
-- consider yourself interested by the implementation of “angels” and “demons”
-- enjoyed the concept and progression of its read more
Apr 21, 2017
DMZMarshall (All reviews)
Gabriel DropOut has an interesting premise and does an ok job to compete on the moe comedy genre. However the noteworth good observations stops there.

Story 4/10
The peak of the comedic value is around ep.4, while the first 3 will either infuriate you or just be boring, and the rest of the series continues in a spiral of increasing levels of boring.

Characters 3/10
Opening plot introduces Gabriel, a once righteous angel who turns into a lazy slob after discovering video games on Earth where she is attending high school. Then we are slowly introduced to the rest of the cast. Oh the rest of the cast... probably read more
Mar 27, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Angels and Demons living together...MASS HYSTERIA!...hysteria indeed.

For a concept of angels being utter hellion demons to demons being the most angelic (or chunni) beings, put both of them together and see how they interact is a great premise and sure this comedy anime has it's share of problems but what makes this comedy anime stand out is it's characters...especially one that makes this anime all worth while.

With Gabriel DropOut characters, we have...Gabriel Tenma White the titular character voiced by Miyu Tomita who was the best angel in heaven until MMORPG's corrupted her and she became a lazy NEET angel. Next is Vignette Tsukinose April voiced read more
Jul 24, 2017
shirahane (All reviews)
While I was looking for anime to binge watch for my summer break, I stumbled upon this show. When I first read the synopsis, I didn't expect much at all. It only looked like a comedy anime that revolved around cute girls doing cute things. However, I ended up watching Gabriel Dropout anyway since I had nothing else to do. That was a decision I don't regret making.

Story - 6
Well, the thing is, there is no actual story.
In the first episode, we are to introduced to the main character, Gabriel, who is graduating to become a full-fledged angel, and is apparently the top angel read more
Jun 5, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout is a moe comedy that executes its jokes quite well. I'd say it's certainly earned its position as one of the best in this genre.

The general premise is that demons and angels are sent to earth to go to school. This anime creates plenty of comedy by role reversing the characters. Gabriel starts out as one of the best angels but discovers MMOs and becomes a shut-in. Vigne is a devil but she is so well behaved and preppy that everyone's always commenting on how she's not a very good demon. And so-on.

The characters are quite memorable. I liked Satania's gimmick of being read more
May 6, 2019
fussy_puckr (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout is a hilarious anime that didn't disappoint my expectations at all. [Minor Spoilers]

STORY: 8/10
The story follows Gabriel as she settles on Earth and each transforms in her own unique way. She becomes sentient to her own angelic kind and fully indulges in the guilty pleasures of human life (and laziness). Her friends aren't much better despite differing from each other. Their escapades are hilarious to watch and their interactions even more so. Their friendships click without the viewer even noticing and before they know it the characters are already heavily invested in each other.

The comedy is golden with its fair share of running read more