Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gabriel DropOut


Alternative Titles

English: Gabriel DropOut
Japanese: ガヴリールドロップアウト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to Mar 27, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.581 (scored by 56,548 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #573
Members: 118,196
Favorites: 910

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
If I learned something from watching Gabriel DropOut, is that going to hell is definitely the superior option. Get ready for this hilarious comedy that reverses the roles of angels and demons!

The story is simple but interesting due to the comedic setting it creates: our protagonist, Gabriel, was a kind, top tier angel who always helped others. However, after coming to Earth she developed an addiction to online videogames and became incredibly lazy. From there we meet other angels and demon with personalities that don't fit the standards we give to them, creating lots of great comedic situations playing around that. Going back to Gabriel, read more
Mar 27, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
At first glance, Gabriel Dropout seems nothing special and definitely does not stand out but it is actually a hilarious show that had me laughing till my stomach hurt.
Quality wise Gabriel Dropout is not very good, it has a simple generic plot with some of the most stereotypical characters I have seen but that did not stop the show from being so damn entertaining.
I’ve decided to write this review in a more lively manner that better suits the show, doing so was fun.

Story: 6/10
Upon passing a school in heaven, graduating angels are sent down to Earth with the duty to learn about and guide read more
Mar 27, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every now and then, I often go through a bucket list of things when deciding to pick up a new anime. Make no mistake, Gabriel Dropout’s list consists of some of the most generic tropes you’ll discover in anime. Does that automatically make the show unwatchable? Absolutely not. I mean, the show is like a soup with all sort of generic ingredients in it to bring out the flavor. However, it’s a show that can also be a delight for fans who wants to see some colorful entertainment.

On the surface, the series doesn’t really stand out much. It’s essentially about angels and demons who have read more
Mar 27, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Doga Kobo might not be the absolute biggest name in the anime industry but if there is one thing they have truly made a name for themselves for, then it is their aptitude at making moe comedies. With an repertoire including the likes of Himouto Umaru-chan, New Game and of course the legendary Yuru Yuri among others, this is truly the studio's specialty. Adding to this lineup, this season we now have Gabriel DropOut, which once again showcases just how to make this genre shine at its very brightest.

Gabriel DropOut can briefly be described as role-reversed angels and demons turned moe. The story mainly follows read more
Jan 30, 2017
lolipopsicle (All reviews)
Preliminary
An angel and demon comedy, I've definitely seen something similar to this before... *eyes hataraku maou-sama*

Let me start by saying that this anime was a lot better than I thought it would be. Normally, I like to wait for anime to finish airing before I watch them, but this season I wanted to try something different - so I chose something I thought would be average. So far, this anime seems to be pure comedy with no plot to be seen - just four cute girls living their lives on Earth, doing cute things.

However, even without a plot, it's not at all boring nor average read more
Mar 27, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout is a disappointment. A show with a semi-unique premise sounding incredibly fun and interesting, have the ability to put whatever they want in it due to the nature of the show. They do somewhat absorb this, creating unique premises that would not have places in other shows such as a godlike shopping channel which does lead to a few laughs [You’ll get this joke if you have watched it.]

The premise falls apart when it comes to the story, basically having no overall arch, providing no stability to a somewhat disjointed show. This mixed with incredibly basic characters that feel thrown in just for read more
Jan 31, 2017
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
-PREVIEW-

Starting of the year 2017, we have Gabriel DropOut! A slice of life and comedy series about the everyday lives of 4 cute girls [Heaven and Hell] living in human world after graduating from their respective 'schools'. There's a lot more SOL, CGDCT anime aired this season.

Gabriel DropOut to me is quite interesting to watch. The core is much formulated, it can play off anime cliché as they use many frills moments to as the comedy theme, not by throwing it unnecessarily. Of course, it has a pretty standard set up of Slice Of Life genre such as the school setting and bunch of girls read more
Mar 27, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Gabriel Dropout was genuninly a nice surprise for me. Coming into this show with hardly any expectations whatsoever, I left feeling satisfied with a fun show with good comedy and a cast of characters that I actually liked by the end. This show doesn't do anything remarkable in terms of its narrative or characters but it remains a fun ride throughout, and the characters are both enjoyable enough, and their chemistry between each other feels natural enough to carry the weight of the show.

Gabriel Dropout is about a fallen angel named Gabriel, who visits Earth originally as a means of learning more about Earth culture read more
Mar 1, 2017
enjoylras (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hot garbage.

Yes, I am salty.

A bunch of people recommended this, and it was.... sub-par.

The premise was super promising, but everything interesting happens behind the scenes in the first episode, and from that point foreward it is little more than a generic high school ""comedy"" (it's just.... not funny......) with some angel and demon jokes, which also aren't funny.

The art, character design, etc, are... okay! They're pleasing enough to look at, but in terms of story, characters, and writing, this show either A) fails horribly or B) has received the worst translation in the history of anime, and I'm inclined to believe it's the former.

I read more
Mar 1, 2017
Jawker (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm sure lots of people really like the CGDCT ( Cute girls doing cute things ) Genre, i personally really love it as it's always there to make you smile and get a Cuteness overload, it's a very great sub-genre, i thought i could give my opinion on a currently airing Anime that can be classified as one, it's called 'Gabriel dropout' this show is simply CGDCT but with angels and demons, That doesn't make it any less cute though.this is my impressions/review on the first 5 episodes of the show.

Story: 7/10,The story is pretty unique itself, a top-class angel Graduates and goes to earth read more
Mar 27, 2017
Drachen (All reviews)
What happens when you mix Himouto! Umaru-chan with angels and demons? Tenshi! Gabriel-chan. Witness main character Gabriel Tenma White’s fall from grace towards the clutches of one of humanity’s greatest evils: massively multiplayer online games! Gabriel DropOut is a fun, charming Slice of Life that follows the lives of two angels and two demons as they engage themselves in the bizarre world of mortal delights.

Will you like it?

You may enjoy series title if you…
-- generally enjoy Slice of Life anime with a medium sized group of main characters
-- consider yourself interested by the implementation of “angels” and “demons”
-- enjoyed the concept and progression of its read more
Jul 24, 2017
shirahane (All reviews)
While I was looking for anime to binge watch for my summer break, I stumbled upon this show. When I first read the synopsis, I didn't expect much at all. It only looked like a comedy anime that revolved around cute girls doing cute things. However, I ended up watching Gabriel Dropout anyway since I had nothing else to do. That was a decision I don't regret making.

Story - 6
Well, the thing is, there is no actual story.
In the first episode, we are to introduced to the main character, Gabriel, who is graduating to become a full-fledged angel, and is apparently the top angel read more
Mar 27, 2017
PipeBoss (All reviews)
This show was the surprise of Winters Season. Before watching it I was a bit undecided about the animation, I thought it could fail, but finally, I gave it an opportunity.

The story is very simple; an angel gets corrupt with the human entertain methods in this case video games. The angel change of mind and become a fallen angel that doesn't care about anything, is lazy, sometimes annoying but is fun to watch. The angel meets certain demons that become her friends.

This simple story has some holes. There are parts unconcluded, unexplained but is the same with the manga. The idea of a read more
Mar 27, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
There are two ways I look at Gabriel DropOut. One is as a CGDCT anime and the other is as a comedy. While the two usually go very well together I separate the two of them for a reason. As a CGDCT anime Gabriel DropOut is alright. Vinge and Satania are cute, and at least Gabriel has a cute design, even if her personality is annoying. However, as a comedy anime it is painful.

The biggest issue I have with Gabriel DropOut is that it's not funny. Many of the jokes all boil down to the same thing: "The angels act like demons and the demons read more
Feb 2, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
If an angel came down to earth to live like a human being, what would they act like. What kind of lifestyle will they pursue? Well in this anime. It can go in many directions. Ladies and Gentlemen one of my personal favourite comedies, Gabriel DropOut.

I will be reviewing the episodes as an anime-only watcher.

Story (9)
Meet Gabriel, the oh so perfect angel that will solve all the problems. By the first couple of minutes we get to see what type of person Gabriel is. She is clean, calm, kind hearted, and "perfect," She'll live a perfect and healthy life when she enters Earth. She read more
Jul 18, 2017
Crack-san (All reviews)
What happens if someone who is new to the internet and video games? They will become very addictive like using drugs. They also will not know the time and life as a result of video games. But, what would happen if an angel who was very kind and very beautiful would like that too? If you think like that, then this anime will answer it.

“Gabriel DropOut,” tells about a kind, friendly, not arrogant, angel named Gabriel Tenma White (Miyu Tomita) has graduated from the angel’s Academy and is revealed to the human world. In the human world, she has a friend from the devil Academy read more
Apr 9, 2017
Red-Screen (All reviews)
I don't mind simplistic comedy series. But if you are going to do that, at least make it little interesting. Put something at least slightly different. Make it funny... Anything...

In my first attempt to watch this series, i only managed to bear 2 episodes and i just wanted to drop it instantly. This is my general routine on every series i watch.. I always watch the first two episodes and analize the sample. If i get bored of it, i simply drop it. But for the first time i thought, maybe i was being way too harsh with this procedure.
I have no clue how did read more
Mar 27, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Angels and Demons living together...MASS HYSTERIA!...hysteria indeed.

For a concept of angels being utter hellion demons to demons being the most angelic (or chunni) beings, put both of them together and see how they interact is a great premise and sure this comedy anime has it's share of problems but what makes this comedy anime stand out is it's characters...especially one that makes this anime all worth while.

With Gabriel DropOut characters, we have...Gabriel Tenma White the titular character voiced by Miyu Tomita who was the best angel in heaven until MMORPG's corrupted her and she became a lazy NEET angel. Next is Vignette Tsukinose April voiced read more
Mar 27, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Angels have been known as servants of God, creatures who reside in the heavens and watch over those in earth to help pass judgment of those created in God's eye. Demons are those who live in Hell, and attempt to make people fall to temptation, and subsequently bring them down into the fiery pits of Damnation. Despite having both of those creatures as its main four characters, Gabriel Dropout has nothing to do with what I described.

Story: Gabriel Tenma White was a model student back at heaven, being given praise for her many accomplishments, and became the top graduate in her class. read more
Mar 27, 2017
Keksisieppo (All reviews)
This really looked at first like a some kind of weird concept with a generic premise but it surprised me. Although it has some i don't say boring but slower moments but when it's funny it is funny. Expressions and reactions of the chars. really make this way funnier. Running jokes are simple but with each time they variate them slightly so they are don't became a bore. Even though the cast is filled with tropes we get to know them better and thus making them more 3 dimensional. Especially Gab who is hilarious. She really is a fallen angel but is deep down caring. read more