Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

No Game No Life: Zero


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: NGNL Zero, NGNL the Movie
Japanese: ノーゲーム・ノーライフ ゼロ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2017
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 10,059 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #534
Members: 135,628
Favorites: 840

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 20, 2017
Inorichi (All reviews)
I literally flew to Japan to see this movie and I have to say it was pretty amazing. Artistically speaking, definitely the best anime or anime movie ever made. However, the story felt a bit rushed. A set of movies or even a 12 episode alternate series would have worked better and you`ll understand why if you see it.

Story 8/10
Great story but it definitely feels rushed even with almost 2 hours. Tet recalls the story of 6000 years ago before he becomes the one true god and it pretty much explains who everyone is and the survival of imanity, however, they just go over way read more
Sep 19, 2017
MaelStorm16 (All reviews)
Story : 10/10
The story is well written for both anime and Light Novel; Volume 6, content delivery is very good and easy to understand. However, it is important to watch the TV anime before proceed to the movie since not everything explain from scratch.

Art : 10/10
If you like colorful anime you know NGNL have it but dark-themed of NGNL surprisingly went along with the story theme. It's the great war after all. Well drawn background and coloring, expected nothing less.

Character : 10/10
This part might containing a spoiler however reading this will not spoiling your experience.
Author, or rather Tet, made Riku and Shuvi similar to Sora read more
Oct 4, 2017
SimplyLoli (All reviews)
Having read the light novel, No Game No Life Zero was everything i expected it to be. You shouldn't be watching this movie with similar expectations to the series in mind mainly because the setting of both stories in the anime and the movie are worlds apart (hah see what I did there). One important thing to keep in mind is despite the movie's main purpose being to explain the origins of the world of Disboard(current NGNL world), the story is focused on the development of a romance between the two MCs and their efforts to change the world.

Story:9
The story for No Game No Life read more
Jul 24, 2017
MayDay_77 (All reviews)
As someone who loves anime, spending my summer in japan to visit my japanese cousins was pretty lucky. No Game No Life:Zero is a must watch for anyone who has watched the original television series.

The production value of this movie is one of the best out there in anime so far.
The artwork is amazing (as it also is in the television series) and the sound to match.
The world within No Game No Life is fully present, and the atmosphere through it all was great.

However, While it was very entertaining to watch, the story itself seemed a bit lackluster, as the plot seems to be rather read more
Oct 14, 2017
etuprikara (All reviews)
We often remember No Game No Life as that one anime with pink gradients and excessively bright color-schemes. When this district art-style suddenly changes, the atmosphere and our expectations for what’s to come change along with it. I’m sure you all remember how impactful the first 9 minutes of episode 9 were, with its complete grayscale with lack of context. No Game No Life: Zero, in short, gives you a similar feel through a ninety-minute emotional roller-coaster, completely remaking its original Gaming/Comedy genre into something more touching, but none the less still very entertaining.

The premise of the story makes itself very clear: there are no read more
Oct 13, 2017
Aidan (All reviews)
No Game No Life (TV) is, to me, a flashier version of the detested Sword Art Online as both anime share many similar strengths and faults. These similarities include poor pacing, overpowered characters and an outstanding soundtrack. However, unlike Sword Art Online which, aside from the gradual deterioration of its concepts, has relatively consistent quality, No Game No Life throws many of its strengths out in No Game No Life: Zero, the prequel to the TV series.

One of the most noticeable changes is the shift from a vivid palette to a duller one which helped enforce the movies more serious and dismal tone. Unfortunately, read more
Sep 17, 2017
RingoStarr1991 (All reviews)
***EDIT!!! I've now seen the film twice. In my second viewing I was able to pretty much assure what I put down in this review originally was pretty close to my feelings towards the film. However there is a change to the “characters” category. My new thoughts will be listed under the original paragraph.***

I'm going to put spoilers at the end/bottom of the review. They will have a number associated with them that I will use throughout the review so that you will not be spoiled but can at least see what I am referencing at the end/bottom if you wish to learn more about read more
Sep 16, 2017
2Matt (All reviews)
No Game No Life Zero is a prequel to the events to the anime, focusing on Riku and his robotic companion Shuvi. And... I can't really talk more about it without getting into the spoiler zone.

The story can feel kind of light novel-ey at times, but it's still good. Unlike the anime, which has a light-hearted and fun plot, this movie has a more gritty and tragic one. If you're prone to the feels, you might even cry at some parts. However, it still does a wonderful job of capturing the spirit of NGNL. Comedic interjections are often put to ease up tense moments, and read more
Nov 6, 2017
ShrimpCherngFun (All reviews)
First review here. I don't tend write long elegant reviews but here's just a dump of information.

So NGNL: Zero is a prequel of NGNL, explaining how thousands of year ago the rules of the world were established.

I absolutely adored the movie. To be honest, I was a little skeptical, being a prequel. I thought that I wouldn't like it because it didn't have my favorite characters. Or because the trailers made it look like more of an action drama than the comedic game anime that the series was.

In any case, I loved the movie. This is mainly due to the two main protagonist. I read more
Sep 17, 2017
TheItsSean (All reviews)
----~No Game No Life: Zero (ノーゲーム・ノーライフ ゼロ)~----

Now as one of the people who got to see this premier at the Los Angeles Anime Film Festival
back in September, I feel obligated to review this anime movie. Mostly cause I met Scott and Caitlyn and delayed the movie showing by 10 minutes.. Yeah

Story~
The story is amazing and one of the most original stories I have ever seen.Thought I feel it would have been better if it was its own series like a "NGNL Season Zero" That would have been cool! But even when the movie is 2 hours long it feels like you have been read more
Dec 2, 2017
captainhelium (All reviews)
I managed to watch No Game No Life: Zero the day it was released in Australia. Having been a massive NGNL enthusiast, I was extremely excited and hence had very high expectations of this movie. Suffice to say, I thought this movie exceeded my expectations - believe it or not, I enjoyed it more than the highly praised 'Your Name.'

One thing to note is that while this movie is excellent and enthralled me, its approach in terms of themes, story and mood is VERY DIFFERENT to the actual NGNL series. I will now analyse segments of the movie, providing their pros and cons read more
Nov 29, 2017
baekbeans (All reviews)
If you watch no game no life zero with high expectations of it being a parallel to the original anime series with its intellectual outsmarting and "you thought you were winning but nope I had the upper hand all along" kind of plot (or even with its fanservice/ecchi elements), you will be greatly disappointed. That's because ngnl zero is a completely different story from the one we were all familiar with, the lighthearted, playful story with one of the brightest most colourful palette in anime history. Instead, its frankly quite the opposite, and I absolutely enjoyed it.

Ngnl zero sheds a different light onto this read more
Nov 14, 2017
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
While people are still debating whether this movie is good or bad, for this movie is pretty acceptable if you are into that perverted jokes that No Game No Life had been notorious for. Well, as you can see this is a PREQUEL of No Game No Life so I have been prepared for the same recipe that No Game No Life had been lived for : Beautiful animations with very remarkable color palettes, lolis, fan service and perverted jokes that seemingly fits to the situation. And because that expectation has been fulfilled, this movie is an acceptable movie.

The story really build from how the read more
Nov 12, 2017
00SeBi00 (All reviews)
From what i read in the novel ;

No Game, No Life Zero may have a much darker tone than the original TV series, but it does share the same themes about humanity's potential to overcome impossible odds. In fact, the theme is much more overt than in the TV series, which showcased more of Sora and Shiro's abilities than those of humanity as a whole. In the film, the community has much more focus; humanity is shown to live in underground caves, working together to ensure mutual survival. They are caught in the crossfire of a war between the powerful magical races, and their read more
Oct 31, 2017
samidskynird (All reviews)
I TOTALLY DIDN'T EXPECT WHAT I'M ABOUT TO WATCH HAS THIS POWERFUL IMPACT!

The atmosphere is really heavy i found myself hard to breathe sometimes, accompanied with powerful scoring, they really made this movie with theatre in mind, totally polar opposite of the main series.
But really, the scoring and the atmosphere really punch me in the chest, Yoshitsugu Matsioka's voice acting is exceptionally terrific it made me tremble for every emotional moment of the movie. As for the animation, there should be no room for doubt looking at the studio behind it, eh? The relationship between Riku and Shuvi are really the treat of the show, read more
Oct 30, 2017
ZeromusFFXII (All reviews)
I don't always write review, but I feel like I have to for this one.

No Game No Life: Zero tells the story of how Disboard became a world where games works as its law and foundations. And the world didn't actually just became like that simply because the God of Disboard, Tet, feels like it.

Story: 10/10
It's truly marvelous. I can't really tell how great the story is without spoiling. In this movie you will find out the origins of the rules of Disboard, the origins of Aschente word, how Stephanie's family became the ruler of Imanity, the read more
Oct 15, 2017
EriitoSenshi (All reviews)
This is my first review so let's go lol.

No Game No Life was a series that I really enjoyed and loved. It's a 9.5/10 in my book. Sadly, there's no sequel appearing in the horizon, but we can all hope.

But that's the main series. I watched No Game No Life: Zero in theatres. It was a movie that caught my attention, required me to think to understand the story, was very funny at parts, was suspenseful at parts, was sad at parts, overall it was an amazing movie, which also scores a 9.5/10 in my book.

Story: 10/10

The story really made me think to understand read more
Oct 12, 2017
animefan0071 (All reviews)
This is my first review so sorry if I'm not great at it. (I'm not really good with this stuff to begin with)

Anyways I just saw this movie last night (was to late to do a review) and I have to give it No Game No Life Zero a 10/10 it was really a strong adaptation of volume 6 of No Game No Life.

Madhouse has done it once again they've really nailed it on the head the music, the accurate story telling the animation everything was really fleshed out really well even though it was only an hour and forty five minutes it was an read more
Oct 8, 2017
FrickinNormie (All reviews)
No game no life: zero is the prequel film to the pretty amazing series of the same name. Although no game no life is in the title, this is incredibly different from the series.

STORY 8/10
The story takes place thousands of years before the show; before Tet became ruler and made things fun. This world is engulfed in a giant war that kills many people. It follows Rikku, a general ad his new robot girlfriend. The story heavily relies on the 2 main characters' relationship growing, which is really emotional, well-done and touching. When the movie wanted me to care for either of them, oh lord read more
Oct 6, 2017
ErcPeace (All reviews)
I would like to point out that i love this anime and light novel, so i rated it rather high.
I watched it yesterday for a 2 day showing in the US in selected theaters (1 day subbed and another dubbed) in subbed.

The movie takes place 6,000 year before Sora and Shiro arrives and is further down in the light novel (i forgot where). A quick summary would be describing how the world of Disboard became what it is in the anime/light novel. Although the movie did cut out some details here and there (as expected from any book turned movie), it was still an amazing read more