Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

RD Sennou Chousashitsu


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Real Drive
Japanese: RD 潜脳調査室

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2008 to Oct 1, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:59 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.181 (scored by 4,492 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2956
Members: 20,529
Favorites: 44

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 6, 2008
mecorx (All reviews)
Okay, so after having just completed the whole anime series and seeing that, of the people who wrote reviews, nobody had seen the entire thing prior to writing them. I have decided to write this! Please be aware, this review details the nature of the various elements of the anime, it does not specifically reference any parts of the anime. I don't think describing an anime is called spoiling, or is it? If so, I apologize, please tell me how to better censor myself in the future.

Without further ado, the review:

This is really one of those Anime that goes into extensive detail to get the read more
Jun 26, 2008
RandomOugi (All reviews)
*Review completely rewritten as of 11/06/08*

Real Drive is a sci-fi series that deals with the impacts of the dependence on the Internet(the Meta Real Network, in the setting) on society, other than focusing on the effects on single individuals.

Set in 2061, it seems to expect a slower evolution of human technology then we see on other similar works. The story mostly occurs on an artificial island that is itself built as the pinnacle of the present technology, but most of it's design and features are not something one would be surprised to find on an high-tech experimental facility today.

The plot starts very slowly, with single read more
Jun 12, 2008
az_0k (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching episode eight, I said to myself:" Thank god it's over. Now I can finally drop it." And I'm not saying that just because of the female character design, even though I don't understand why the directors thought that the audiences would like to see a bunch of fat girls running around (there is a reason why getting fit has become a trend and not the other way around). IMO, either the writers are all amateurs or the show is aimed for little kids from the start. First of all, RD hasn't shown any signs that it's going to present a serious theme. Up read more
Jun 30, 2008
brass2themax (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know it's still quite early in the game to be writing a review for this series, but after having just finished episode 8, I'm feeling somewhat agitated, and this will help cool me down.

STORY: 3 (Poor)
Thus far, even though it's early, Real Drive seems to have no discernible plot what-so-ever. In fact, it's quite boring. The beginning of the series started out alright and showed a huge amount of promise, leaving me full of wonder and intrigue, but now... Meh, it's all I can do to keep watching (in agony).

ART: 6 (Fair)
Quite frankly, the art for the background scenery, most of the male characters, read more
Nov 14, 2008
MotokoAramaki (All reviews)
Story
Real Drive is tough to write a review for. As promising as this series is, it has a major downfall: it can't find its balance. The 1st and 2nd episodes are a great start, giving you all of this information and an interesting and slightly mysterious lead in Haru. I found myself immediately wanting to know more about the Artificial Island these characters inhabit, and, most of all, about what exactly happened 50 years ago to Haru. While the main character may be Haru, this series really switches the focus up after the 4th ep. After that, it becomes Minamo's show until a little read more
Dec 11, 2008
Akaike (All reviews)
RD is a sci fi/cyberpunk anime that is highly reminiscent of Ghost in the shell. It also sends out the same message in regards to a person's humanity (what is it that makes us human?) and the overall effects of humanity on the world around us. Real Drive is probably one of the more "ethical" animes that I have seen recently.

The show comes with a variety of characters, including androids and "cyber-brained" people. So, unless it's watched from very early on, you can easily confuse between the two. I doubt that this is the sort of anime that you can start read more
Jan 24, 2018
gregaubry (All reviews)
This is a classic case of marketing not selling a show based on what the show actually was, and I think that threw off a lot of people's expectations. Given Production I.G. and Masamune Shirow's involvement, people were likely expecting something along the lines of Stand Alone Complex.

The show is actually slice-of-life with sci-fi elements in the background. And I loved that. While there's an overarching plot lingering in the background, the majority of the runtime is enjoyable characters having low-stakes, personal adventures in a vivid, brightly colored and mostly optimistic future world.

The production values are high and I liked the more zaftig approach to read more
Jan 27, 2013
Serenelune (All reviews)
My first review. Shirow Masamune's collaborative work with Production I.G. about a diver who awakens 50 years later from an accident that left him in a coma. Now, despite the assumptions of the staff involved, please do not come into this series with Ghost in the Shell in mind. I believe the reason why so many people who initially reviewed this anime did not like it was because they came in expecting Ghost in the Shell: Sea Adventures, or a more action-paced series. This is what turned off many from appreciating this show for what it was.

That said, this anime focuses mostly on the read more
Aug 30, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Real Drive depicts a series of episodic and storyline-driven cases where a group of cyber divers are tasked with diving into the cybernetic network known as the Metal when delving into any cybernetic-related cases. Throughout the series, each case tends to vary from the mundane to the serious which can involve anything from Minamo's school life to more serious cases that require physical work from Souta and Holon. It also serves to explore various implementations of how the Metal can affect the lives of the island residents for legitimate and illegal activity, in the same vain the Ghost in the Shell franchise explores how the read more