Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Little Witch Academia (TV)


Alternative Titles

Japanese: リトルウィッチアカデミア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Trigger
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.981 (scored by 12,718 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #726
Members: 86,974
Favorites: 358

Reviews

jRad522
Feb 7, 2017
If any fans of the original Little Witch Academia film or fans of its sequel The Enchanted Parade are reading this review and are worried about this TV adaptation holding up to the standard of its progenitors, allow me to lay your fears to rest. Little Witch Academia TV is GREAT. It is a worthy successor in every way to the movies that generated so much interest, but at the same time no knowledge of the two films is necessary to enjoy this new TV anime. The show is fun, light, and heartwarming, and I will confidently recommend it to anyone who is even slightly read more
I found this review Helpful
lord_of_mangoes
Feb 10, 2017
Little Witch Academy is way too over rated. OVA and movies were good but this series is just weak compared to those.. plot is slow and filled with plotholes, most characters have only 1 aspect that describes them and episode endings and reveals are all very pretictable and cliche. Also episodes lack proper build up for their reveals (f.e in 5th episode attack of dragons came from where, main dragon being harmless buisnessman came from no where, school being in debt and owning money to dragon came from no where, debt being scam came from no where, Diana knowing ancient dragonese came from no where.. read more
I found this review Helpful
TheSatox
Feb 9, 2017
**(Updated as of Episode 7)**
After the great reception of the original Little Witch Academia OVA and some time later, the Little Witch Academia movie, we are finally greated with a full length, 25 episode, tv show, and boy if it isn't a great time.

Keep in mind that I've yet only seen 7 episodes of the 25 planned ones my opinions and thoughts on the show might change, and if so I will also update this review if seen necessary.

Story: 7 (Good)

If anything, the story of Little Witch Academia feels like a Harry Potter fanfic/spin-off, and that's not at all a bad thing. The way this read more
I found this review Helpful
Over1ord
Feb 13, 2017
A small preamble - in my opinion "Little Witch Academia" already deserves praise for being an anime deviating from the norm, a piece of art that indicates hope for the revitalization of the whole anime industry. And even more so, if we keep in mind that the original story (short film) was released 2013 as part of the 'Young Animator Training Project's Anime Mirai' project, its second movie was entirely realized due to crowd funding, both attempting to showcase an exceptional, magical fairy tale of a young girl, striving to become a great witch.

_____________________________________________

Right from the start, the viewer is instantly drawn into a read more
I found this review Helpful
DeadeyeReViVal
Feb 13, 2017
(DISCLAIMER: Please do mind my English and I do apologize, thank you.)

Little Witch Academia is one of the great example of magical anime which led us to remind what it really like, although I got hesitated from the interest of the plot summary. Speaking of, what I understand was that the fans were saying the plot is slow but rather than this. I still really enjoy it and usually had good laugh.
The fans had noticed that Little Witch Academia is similar/like Harry Potter BUT I personally do not accepted the word 'Like', I can say it reminds you of/similar Harry Potter instead. And compared read more
I found this review Helpful
kubalekPL
Feb 18, 2017
-I'm sorry for any type of mistake, English isn't my native landuage-
There's some kind of Magic in Little Witch Academia.
When some people find it simple, uninteresing or boring, I have great time getting amazed by incredible art style, beautiful music and watching one girl who's running for her dreams.
Akko story, which revolves around her dream of becoming as her idol but don't have any magic talent, is so hearth-warming and relatable, that it's hard to don't sympatish with Her and rest oh her friends. Because, same Lotte and soon propably Sucy have great showed characters. Mainly Lotte so far, who has her own look at read more
I found this review Helpful
Horizon_Anime
Feb 17, 2017
This is my first review, I hope it's helpful! This review was written after 6 episodes have aired, on 2/18/2017. I will update this review as my thoughts on the series develop more thoroughly.

TL;DR: The show so far has been pretty good so far, and I think people should give the show a chance. It's been episodic so far, so if you are a fan of episodic anime and cute witches, you will probably enjoy this. If you aren't a fan of episodic anime, I definitely recommend you give the format a chance. I don't think Trigger will let you down come the end of read more
I found this review Helpful
CinniScrib
Feb 13, 2017
First of all the series does not continue from the first two films, it retells them and expands, adding extra scenes between events already seen in the movies to build up the world and characters and hopefully go beyond the ending of Parade, the second movie. Considering the films had to condense a lot the series allows more freedom to explore and not rush us, the audience, through things. It builds up the relationships/friendships more, like seeing how Akko, Sucy and Lotte meet and how Akko got into the Academy and her background (ie: why she sucks at magic: she's not a born witch, unlike read more
I found this review Helpful