Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Little Witch Academia (TV)


Alternative Titles

Japanese: リトルウィッチアカデミア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Trigger
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 15,738 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #654
Members: 96,073
Favorites: 450

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 13, 2017
Over1ord (All reviews)
A small preamble - in my opinion "Little Witch Academia" already deserves praise for being an anime deviating from the norm, a piece of art that indicates hope for the revitalization of the whole anime industry. And even more so, if we keep in mind that the original story (short film) was released 2013 as part of the 'Young Animator Training Project's Anime Mirai' project, its second movie was entirely realized due to crowd funding, both attempting to showcase an exceptional, magical fairy tale of a young girl, striving to become a great witch.

_____________________________________________

Right from the start, the viewer is instantly drawn into a read more
Feb 27, 2017
lord_of_mangoes (All reviews)
Little Witch Academy is way too overrated. OVA and movies were good but this series is just weak compared to those.. plot is slow and filled with plotholes., most characters have only 1 aspect that describes them and episode endings and reveals are all very pretictable and cliche.

Also, episodes lack proper build up for their reveals (f.e in 5th episode attack of dragons came from where, main dragon being harmless buisnessman came from no where, school being in debt and owning money to dragon came from no where, debt being scam came from no where, Diana knowing ancient dragonese came from no where.. pretty read more
Feb 13, 2017
DeadeyeReViVal (All reviews)
(DISCLAIMER: Please do mind my English and I do apologize, thank you.)

Little Witch Academia is one of the great example of magical anime which led us to remind what it really like, although I got hesitated from the interest of the plot summary. Speaking of, what I understand was that the fans were saying the plot is slow but rather than this. I still really enjoy it and usually had good laugh.
The fans had noticed that Little Witch Academia is similar/like Harry Potter BUT I personally do not accepted the word 'Like', I can say it reminds you of/similar Harry Potter instead. And compared read more
Feb 17, 2017
Horizon_Anime (All reviews)
This is my first review, I hope it's helpful! This review was written after 6 episodes have aired, on 2/18/2017. I will update this review as my thoughts on the series develop more thoroughly.

TL;DR: The show so far has been pretty good so far, and I think people should give the show a chance. It's been episodic so far, so if you are a fan of episodic anime and cute witches, you will probably enjoy this. If you aren't a fan of episodic anime, I definitely recommend you give the format a chance. I don't think Trigger will let you down come the end of read more
Mar 3, 2017
jRad522 (All reviews)
f any fans of the original Little Witch Academia film or fans of its sequel The Enchanted Parade are reading this review and are worried about this TV adaptation holding up to the standard of its progenitors, allow me to lay your fears to rest. Little Witch Academia TV is GREAT. It is a worthy successor in every way to the movies that generated so much interest, but at the same time no knowledge of the two films is necessary to enjoy this new TV anime. The show is fun, light, and heartwarming, and I will confidently recommend it to anyone who is even slightly read more
Mar 14, 2017
Noblood (All reviews)
Those who watched the movie shorts of Little Witch Academia and expect to get the TV series to expand upon them would be sadly disappointed. The series does not seem to have a canonical connection to the previous movie shorts but rather starts fresh so you're not missing out on anything.

In the series we follow the main character Atsuko Kagari's (Akko) daily mischief with her friends and roommates Sucy and Lotte. Akko is a normal girl, not born a witch thus isn't naturally able to use magic without properly taught. Akko dreams of becoming a great witch like her idol Shiny Chariot. This is a read more
Feb 28, 2017
darkfeatherX (All reviews)
One of the reasons I fell in love with anime in my childhood, a time when I didn't even understand complicated terms such as "anime", is because of the sense of wonder some of those shows from my childhood had. Most shows I remember from back then had a simple yet endearing side to them and most importantly they were fun.

Little Witch Academia is exactly that type of show. Set in an interesting premise, a world where magic and technology co-exist yet the sheer practicality of science is killing of magic is very similar to that of how science had killed of traditional arts. read more
Feb 18, 2017
kubalekPL (All reviews)
-I'm sorry for any type of mistake, English isn't my native landuage-
There's some kind of Magic in Little Witch Academia.
When some people find it simple, uninteresing or boring, I have great time getting amazed by incredible art style, beautiful music and watching one girl who's running for her dreams.
Akko story, which revolves around her dream of becoming as her idol but don't have any magic talent, is so hearth-warming and relatable, that it's hard to don't sympatish with Her and rest oh her friends. Because, same Lotte and soon propably Sucy have great showed characters. Mainly Lotte so far, who has her own look at read more
Feb 13, 2017
CinniScrib (All reviews)
First of all the series does not continue from the first two films, it retells them and expands, adding extra scenes between events already seen in the movies to build up the world and characters and hopefully go beyond the ending of Parade, the second movie. Considering the films had to condense a lot the series allows more freedom to explore and not rush us, the audience, through things. It builds up the relationships/friendships more, like seeing how Akko, Sucy and Lotte meet and how Akko got into the Academy and her background (ie: why she sucks at magic: she's not a born witch, unlike read more