Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Little Witch Academia (TV)


Alternative Titles

Japanese: リトルウィッチアカデミア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2017 to Jun 26, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Trigger
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 48,687 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3442
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #425
Members: 151,750
Favorites: 1,918

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 27, 2017
lord_of_mangoes (All reviews)
Preliminary
Little Witch Academy is way too overrated. OVA and movies were good but this series is just weak compared to those.. plot is slow and filled with plotholes., most characters have only 1 aspect that describes them and episode endings and reveals are all very pretictable and cliche.

Also, episodes lack proper build up for their reveals (for example in 5th episode attack of dragons came out of nowhere, main dragon being harmless buisnessman came out of nowhere, school being in debt and owning money to dragon came out of nowhere, debt being scam came out of nowhere, Diana knowing ancient dragonese came out of read more
Feb 13, 2017
Over1ord (All reviews)
Preliminary
A small preamble - in my opinion "Little Witch Academia" already deserves praise for being an anime deviating from the norm, a piece of art that indicates hope for the revitalization of the whole anime industry. And even more so, if we keep in mind that the original story (short film) was released 2013 as part of the 'Young Animator Training Project's Anime Mirai' project, its second movie was entirely realized due to crowd funding, both attempting to showcase an exceptional, magical fairy tale of a young girl, striving to become a great witch.

_____________________________________________

Right from the start, the viewer is instantly drawn into a read more
Jun 25, 2017
KurataTrigger (All reviews)
"Just you watch! I'm gonna become an amazing witch one day and make the whole world gasp in surprise!"



Akko Kagari Little Witch Academia (TV) 2017 (Episode 5)


Out of all anime that came out in winter 2017, Little Witch Academia (TV) caught my interest and it's the only show from that season that had to potential to great not counting squeals.
I have previously seen the short movies for Little Witch Academia and I really liked a lot. However, I won't be mentioning or comparing the TVs with the short movies because I want to review the TV series by its own identity.
Now after all that is read more
Jun 25, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Watching Little Witch Academia is like looking back into a portal to my youth; a time when Cartoon Network ruled the fucking world! While I was born at the tail end of the nineties, and thus didn't experience what many people consider to be the golden age for the network, I did grow up watching re-runs of many of the shows that established the network and what made it so infamous during the early 2000s. Shows like Johnny Bravo, The Powerpuff Girls, Dexter's Laboratory and a plethora of others quickly became my favourite cartoons, and I still love them to this day, looking back on read more
Feb 17, 2017
Horizon_Anime (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, I hope it's helpful! This review was written after 6 episodes have aired, on 2/18/2017. I will update this review as my thoughts on the series develop more thoroughly.

TL;DR: The show so far has been pretty good so far, and I think people should give the show a chance. It's been episodic so far, so if you are a fan of episodic anime, you will probably enjoy this. If you aren't a fan of episodic anime, I definitely recommend you give the format a chance. I don't think Trigger will let you down come the end of the series, for read more
Jun 25, 2017
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Before I being, let me say this. I am very grateful to Tattun the producer, for visiting 4chan during the time LWA aired. Many fans, myself included, had the opportunity to ask him a bunch of questions, and learn a few interesting things about the story and characters. So in the unlikely chance you’re reading this, Thank you buddy!


Little Witch Academia’ (depending on viewers’ opinion) can be summed up as either “a charming, adventurous title; full of unique characters, interesting storylines, and filled with fun & entertainment.” On the other hand, it can be summed up as a disappointing, overly self-referential, lackluster title; read more
Jun 25, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
A magical world in Little Witch Academia is one I can describe as imaginatively beautiful. Beauty is expressed there not just by world fiction but by the context of its creativity. I don’t mean just the world either but the show itself is filled with characters, themes, and storytelling that make you want to go back and watch it all over again.

Little Witch Academia is perhaps unique with the fact that it’s an adaptation of a successful film. The first film originated in 2012 as part of the Young Animator Training Project and spawned a sequel titled Little Witch Academia: The Enchanted Parade. Now, read more
May 1, 2017
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
The magic is gone.

That may seem like a cutesy little Gene Shalit-esque pun to start off the review, but I mean it with all sincerity: the magic and charm of the original OVAs has, for the most part, vanished from its television adaptation. And as someone who adored the hell out of those OVAs, that's a goddamned shame.

This show has a clear two-half structure: the first was primarily character based, featuring episodic adventures to establish and flesh out the cast, while the second introduces the plot in full force. Now, some were unsatisfied with that first half, but I was willing to go along for read more
Jun 28, 2017
Omen_7 (All reviews)
Disclaimer: the following review/analysis is oriented towards those who finished the series, and as such, there will be spoilers.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little Witch Academia is Yoh Yoshinari's precious child, who is one of the most important and iconic animators this industry has. It's at the same time, a love letter to it, with clear intent, wanting to be a message of hope to everyone looking to be part of it eventually. Unfortunately, he is an animator, not a writer, and said intentions are not backed up by the execution of the piece once examined under the cold eye of the monocle-wearing critic who thinks too highly of him/her-self, read more
Jun 25, 2017
KingKatsura (All reviews)
A believing heart is your magic – with Little Witch Academia, Trigger furnishes something so enchantingly brilliant in its simplicity and heartfelt resonance, executes every detail with the utmost bliss, and ultimatley drowns the viewer in a recurring feeling of wonder; unto the conclusion that a believing heart can amount to nothing more and nothing less than that certain thing we all hope for but can't quite materialize.

I realized I was in for a treat as the first episode ended and I was already wholeheartedly immersed in the characters and lore, which is a fleetingly rare way to feel one episode into such an admittedly read more
Jun 25, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
"Believing is your Magic" ~ Little Witch Academia (2017)

TL;DR: at the very end

Has Trigger saved Anime one more time? what does mean to save Anime?
meanwhile other anime studios makes their generic money maker without taking any risk, there goes Trigger risking it all and making Jewels and Masterpieces that goes beyond your imagination, see? there is no need to use generic settings and overused troupes just to get gold from a goldmine. there is another big gold mine called "imagination" and this is how Little Witch Academia from Trigger, saves the anime one more time! want to know more? then bring up some popcorn and read more
Jun 25, 2017
atropicalpenguin (All reviews)
Little Witch Academia is a story about a girl, Akko, who dreams to be the greatest witch, inspired by her idol, Shiny Chariot. In order to accomplish her dreams, she enrols in Luna Nova, an wizard academy to where her idol went and one of the most prestigios.

Story: Trigger follows its Kill la Kill formula with a first part that's mostly episodic, rarely moving the plot forwards, and with a basic objective the MC has to follow. KlK, nonetheless, executed it better. LWA tried to build around its characters with some very successful episodes and other somewhat boring, "fillerish". However, when the second part kicks read more
Jun 25, 2017
Hybrid_Rainbow29 (All reviews)
1966: Mitseteru Yokoyama, inspired by the Japanese popularity of the US sitcom ‘Bewitched’, created a little Anime called ‘Sally the Witch’ about a young girl from a magical kingdom who came to earth and used her magic to help with the troubles of the world. This now sadly obscure title would go on to be highly influential in leading to the creation of the ‘Cute Witch’ genre, which would go on to be a subgenre for a much larger genre, the ‘Magical Girl’ genre.
1969: ‘Secrets of Akko-chan’ would expand upon the Magical Girl genre by introducing elements such as shapeshifting, and instead of involving a read more
Mar 14, 2017
Noblood (All reviews)
Preliminary
Those who watched the movie shorts of Little Witch Academia and expect to get the TV series to expand upon them would be sadly disappointed. The series does not seem to have a canonical connection to the previous movie shorts but rather starts fresh so you're not missing out on anything.

In the series we follow the main character Atsuko Kagari's (Akko) daily mischief with her friends and roommates Sucy and Lotte. Akko is a normal girl, not born a witch thus isn't naturally able to use magic without properly taught. Akko dreams of becoming a great witch like her idol Shiny Chariot. This is a read more
Apr 15, 2017
jillua (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a fan of the original OVAs I really, really wanted to like this series. Unfortunately, every week brings another disappointment. I greatly enjoyed the first episode, the broom race episode and the episode centered around Sucy, but beyond those I struggled not to feel massively let down.

Story:

Every episode seems like a run-on sentence, with no finesse to speak of. In one episode, dragons steal the sorcerer's stone, they try to get it back, the dragons are robots being controlled by an actual dragon who's an investor that the academy owes money to, Diana shows up and is conveniently the only person who can read more
Jun 25, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
Warning: There may be some spoilers here, I tried to clear all of them out of the way so there shouldn't be any. However, I don't know what one would or would not consider as a spoiler in corner cases.

Little Witch Academia is a show that wanted to have its cake and eat it too. It tried to do so much from Western Animation tropes and fluffy episodic episodes to a serious plot with the ramifications of the magic world up in the air. However that attempt to do so much is it's downfall as it ends up failing at each thing it tried. While read more
Apr 4, 2017
Arkantasa (All reviews)
Preliminary
An easy 10 in my opinion.

Ever since watching the movie i've been wishing they would make an anime, and here it is. I think people who say "this anime is way too overrated" forgot what anime is. It's a vast collection of uncountable genres. Definitely not overrated, but perhaps unappreciated enough.

This anime is for those who want to laugh. It's for those with a sense of adventure. It's for those who love following a character which grows and evolves throughout the anime. It's for those who have an open mind and want positivity in their life. As easy as that. This anime is nothing but read more
Mar 27, 2017
IAMGI (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, given I am giving it a rather high score, numerical scores have little meaning, especially in the area of critiquing art. So you shouldn't really look at the score, but the subjective comments of the reviews, unless of course you're looking for some sort of miraculous master piece.

Full:
Anyways, to actually review the show. It isn't mind-boggling, out of this world, amazingly unique, or any of the like. Although, it does one thing and one thing right. It knows it's a rather tropey, cliche show about an underdog in a magical world full of great things. And it doesn't shy away from that, rather it read more
Mar 3, 2017
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If any fans of the original Little Witch Academia film or fans of its sequel The Enchanted Parade are reading this review and are worried about this TV adaptation holding up to the standard of its progenitors, allow me to lay your fears to rest. Little Witch Academia TV is GREAT. It is a worthy successor in every way to the movies that generated so much interest, but at the same time no knowledge of the two films is necessary to enjoy this new TV anime. The show is fun, light, and heartwarming, and I will confidently recommend it to anyone who is even slightly read more
May 28, 2017
williamanth (All reviews)
Preliminary
A totally fresh experience in terms of characters more complex than typical archetypes and a story with emotional payoff and strong theming, animated in a unique style that took me a little time to get used to.

What really cheeses my onions with a lot of stories is the immature good versus evil paradigm, which is completely absent in Little Witch Academia. There are no villains, only character conflicts based on ideals and traits.

I am very glad to see magic in a TV show be used for something other than killing. Rather than the show focusing on magic as a means to fight people, it is read more