Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Masamune-kun no Revenge


Alternative Titles

English: Masamune-kun's Revenge
Japanese: 政宗くんのリベンジ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2017 to Mar 23, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 211,481 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #38332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #214
Members: 386,548
Favorites: 1,952

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 23, 2017
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
S.P.O.I.L.E.R.S. - Stupid Pissed Off Idiot Likes Emphatically Raging at Shit

This review is honest, but purposefully exaggerated so that it may be entertaining to some people, much like the anime itself except I believe myself to be halfway amusing. It also contains bad words like “fuck” and “dick” and “kittens”, so to all children who can’t handle a few motherfucking swears, avert your goddamn eyes!!

Let’s talk about the concept of Masamune-kun for a moment, and why I was immediately nervous about where the anime would go.

The plot has a clear ending that it is working toward: Makabe Masamune will get revenge on Adagaki read more
Mar 23, 2017
Rhapsody- (All reviews)
This is a story about... ¿revenge?



Masamune-kun no Revenge is definitely an anime that gives to talk. Just by reading the synopsis you are attracted and curiosity makes you watch it, ¿and what do you find? Masamune wants revenge, ¿why? Because his feelings were rejected as a child. ¿How will he do that? Wasting his life in finding the chick that rejected him to waste even more time in make that she love him and then breaking her heart ¡Wow, how mature of his part!

It is understood that this is a romantic comedy, so as such, the plot should not be taken so seriously, but that read more
Mar 23, 2017
RoryBurrows (All reviews)
There are a lot of things that factor into creating a well-rounded enjoyable anime title. It’s a combination of the story writing, uniqueness, sounds and animation poured into the creation of the work that produces that golden quality to it. But there’s another category that needs to be touched upon to create a good anime and that is characters. Smart intellectual characters and ones that strive from the common cheap use of stereotypes make a title memorable due to the unique ways these characters are presented through dialogue and interaction. Your characters are the fore-front in the anime, they are the lens the viewer experiences read more
Jan 26, 2017
Gozmit (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since there are only 4 episodes out, I will be giving my first impressions for this anime.

Masamune-kun's Revenge seems at face value, the virtue of blandness. A plot of blurb that anyone can read so generically and your typical protagonist. However, I don't find that to be the case as I actually find the protagonist quite likable. The revenge theme is also something that rarely happens in the romance genre so the plot isn't exactly linear and boring.

Masamune-kun's Revenge is interesting as it is able to take a rehashed idea and execute it with the sort of panache that leaves you wanting more. By the read more
Mar 23, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Masamune-kun no Revenge (Masamune’s Revenge) feels like listening to a depressing story from a friend that got terminated from their dream job. I can’t exactly say this show is something for everyone. It’s a dramedy teen soap opera that some will find entertaining while others will leave with the thought of never getting their time back. Listen. This show isn’t really hard to understand but to appreciate it? That’s another story.

Adapted from the manga of the same name, the series is pretty straightforward. Well, it is straightforward at first glance considering the premise. You got this hot main male protagonist (Masamune Makabe) who is read more
Mar 23, 2017
The_Rippled (All reviews)
You might be thinking, “Ugh, is this just another typical harem anime?!” Well, to that I say, “Yeah. It is…" But, at the same time, "No. It isn’t.” Let me explain why without spoilers:

The reason why I say “yes” is because if you’ve seen a few harem anime before, you will most likely be able to predict how the story will end from the first episode. There's no concluding ending (probably because it's setting the stage for a second season). This series reminds me a lot of Nisekoi: the story isn't too amazing and doesn't stand out too much, so you most likely won't like read more
Jan 28, 2017
DatRandomDude (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yeaaah ... It's not that good... but it's not completely bad. Just really average.

The story of Masamune-kun is pretty much your generic RomCom harem anime but a little twist in it. Masamune is trying to hook up with the ''Cruel Princess'' to dump her later and getting his revenge on her. Why ? Just read the synopsis, it's not really worth to write about it again here. Fair enough, this could be potentially good but you can pretty much see miles away what's going to happen next and its filled with cliché. Also the comedy in it is really hit or miss.

However, episode 4 gave read more
Feb 21, 2017
DarthBob (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watching this anime is somewhat similar to drinking cheap supermarket cola. It's not outright disgusting, but it leaves a rather unpleasant aftertaste. In effect, Masamune-kun no Revenge is certainly not a terrible anime, but it's not really worth investing time on either.


Story (5/10):
Creating a mediocre anime by throwing in a bunch of tried and tested cliches is a sure fire way to earn some cash (by appealing to the otaku audience), and that's exactly what Silver Link has done here.
The story is absolutely nothing new - a fat kid works out and diets, becomes a pretty-boy and tries to publicly humiliate the girl who read more
Feb 3, 2017
Hachiko75 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yeah, no. I'm not going to force myself to suffer through this anymore. Basically, the anime is about this guy who is putting in all this effort to make a witch fall for him so he can publicly reject her. But of course, he is starting to like her himself.

I read ahead and found out the plot twist but I won't spoil it. In the end, it probably doesn't add much of a twist anyway.

The dropping point for me was with this random Neko chick comes out of nowhere and basically, acts like a slut and doesn't explain herself. I'm not going to stick around read more
Feb 15, 2017
S_Class_weeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first read the synopsis I was quite interested as this anime seemed pretty unique and I was expecting to be not just your average harem anime but as the anime proceeded I was utterly disappointed. While the anime started off pretty good it started getting dumber and cliched week by week with pointless fanservice.
The major downfall of the anime with the introduction of Neko a.k.a. Marika Tachibana 2.0 as with her introduction this became even more of a generic harem and our Tsundere girl has started acting even more irrational. The protagonist is a narcissist who acts in the most weirdest ways read more
Mar 23, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Masamune-kun no Revenge is another one of those anime which sounds quite interesting on paper, but never comes anywhere close to reaching up to its own potential. What could have been an intriguing story about a man's almost lifelong quest for vengeance through devoted self-improvement and utilization of deceit against the girl who made his childhood a living hell instead ended up being nothing more than a cliché, predictable and rather generic romcom. Ultimately, it only leaves you thinking about what it could have been.

In the distant past, Makabe Masamune was a fat kid who found himself being a victim of bullying from numerous other read more
Apr 1, 2017
BlueKite (All reviews)
I’ve known right from the beginning that it’s just going to be another generic school rom-com as I browsed among the entries for Winter 2017, but something within me wanted to watch this show. The premise made me hope that it’s going to be what I wanted it to be, an actual fulfilling story about revenge through love. As an overweight loser who daydreams about obtaining the perfect body and being popular with girls, I quite find Makabe relatable in his endeavor. I was interested how he is going to carry out his plan on Adagaki, but I guess I was asking too much. I read more
Mar 23, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
In spite of the many Masamune-kun reviews out, describing the show as “really pretty okay” or used words like “becuz”, I decided to write a semi-serious review to add to the mix. Revenge is a dish best served cold. I’ve heard of people exacting revenge on others due to everything from getting cheated on to a murdered relative. The reason I state this is to accentuate the weak premise Silver Link’s (Kokoro Connect, Strike the Blood) “Masamune-kun no Revenge” carries. It is a story about a tormented chubby kid (Masamune Makabe), who grows up to be a modern marvel of handsomeness, vowing to enforce justice read more
Feb 2, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes revenge may never be a solution to a problem in the real world. Sometimes, it can make things worse and create a bigger problem. But Masamune wants that revenge, no matter the cost.

I'll be reviewing the episodes as a manga reader. Who is currently following the manga.

Story (8)
Masamune is a person I know I never could be. Becuz of his past with the deadly Cruel Princess Aki Adagaki, he then goes through self improvement and exercising for how many years to make sure that he becomes the hottest Kirit- I mean guy in the anime, and boy does he succeed. All the girls read more
Jan 30, 2017
Saiklo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its just a shitty version of Nisekoi but devoid of actual humor and with unrelatable characters.

95% of the audience can in no way relate to the protagonist. He is a good looking rich kid that works out every day and watches what he eats.

The female lead is just a bitch with no redeeming qualities.

The jokes, if thats what you would call them, fail to deliver.

The plot is just a cliche romance that you can see from a mile away starting on the first episode.

The fan service is completely unnecessary where it is introduced because it doesn't make sense for the character that is doing it.


Go read more
Mar 23, 2017
In2TheBlu (All reviews)
(This will be my first review. It was orignally a forum comment that I cleaned up to be more appropriate. I'll stick to more detailed manga reviews in the future.)


The story seems pretty original at first but then it devolves into your generic RomCom, with all the cliché.

1) Story and Characters: 4 each

In the beginning, it looked like the main characters have it all. Yet, under the veneer of wealth, all is not so good. Masamune is popular but thinks excessively of himself. He also has a complex because of of his past. He is confident if we compare him to other MCs of the read more
May 1, 2019
Davi_Z (All reviews)
Unlike most reviewers, I did not come here to rant, although I do have something to rant about. Nevertheless, this anime was not as bad as most people say.

The beginning is clichè; it involves a smart, handsome teen who recently transfers schools. However, there is a twist. He transfers not because of educational reasons or because he got bullied in his old one but because he wants to date a girl and break up with her. What the actual f*ck? Yeah, that was me when I watched it.

Nevertheless, I gave it a try, and it was fine. The flashbacks which were told later read more
Mar 24, 2017
Bernkishi07 (All reviews)
warning: spoilers
(The review has a tl;dr section as well.)

Once in a while you come across an anime which actually has a nice premise: a boy called Masamune seeking revenge against his former childhood friend Aki Adagaki. So far so good. Then you take a careful look at the genres shown on the MAL page - harem, comedy, romance and school - the absolute worst combination of genres, which usually indicate a mediocre story. Thus the first doubts appear. In the first minutes you are presented a “narcissistic” personality of the MC and think that he could be interesting despite of expecting a generic harem protagonist. read more
Mar 24, 2017
PeripheralVision (All reviews)
HEAVY SPOILERS (Entire Anime ruined, With Already Obvious Manga End Spilled, Progress At If You Know And Do Not Care):

This anime started well enough. Masamune's Revenge requires a little amount of disbelief in the premise, because of course it is going to end with the main girl he is trying to get revenge on become his lover, and while I would fault this anime for making it so starkingly obvious upon reading the synopsis, I am somewhat of a fan of these stories, where hostiles give way to mutual understanding and feelings of affection. How Masamune's will learn to forgive Aki could be execute read more
Mar 8, 2017
shoujotitties (All reviews)
Preliminary
I didn't have any hopes when I started watching this show, just watched it because I was bored and wantend to watch an easy to follow plot but I still got disappointed.

Story 4

It's about a boy who seeks revenge on a girl for being mean to him because he used to be fat. He tries to make her fall in love with him now that he's fit to finally dump her an break her heart (she doesn't know who he is anymore). At first I thought the story sounded a bit stupid but it probably could be funny. Well I was right about the stupid read more