Hitori no Shita: The Outcast


Hitori no Shita - The Outcast

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 一人之下 THE OUTCAST
English: Hitori no Shita - The Outcast
French: Hitori no Shita - The Outcast
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2016 to Sep 24, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Namu Animation
Source: Web manga
Genres: ActionAction, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.811 (scored by 4839148,391 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #45832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1110
Members: 161,814
Favorites: 323

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2016
AlreadyNight (All reviews)
Rumor has it that they use Hitori no Shita: The Outcast to torture prisoners. And from time to time masochists watch it on lonely nights too.

Story
3/10

The creators either tried too hard to make something complex out of poor ideas or they came up with an idea that was so complex they failed to materialize it. Hitori no Shita is definitely not an anime you die waiting for a new episode every week, but you do die waiting for something interesting to happen while watching it.

Art & Animation
2/10

Fine backgrounds, reason why it's 2/10 and not 1/10. The animation is so awkward even the movements of the read more
Sep 24, 2016
Navik1443 (All reviews)
I just read some reviews and I'm disappointing, but is your free opinion of course...

At first it seems an ordinary anime zombie, but IS NOT ... the story changes completely as they pass episodes (I say no more for spoilers avoid ) ... I say after seeing all the anime and hope you have a 2nd season because it has been in the best part of the plot. It is the anime that most surprised me this season: D I give it an 8 for this season, pending the second season that will rise this score ;)
I'm writing this because if someone is thinking to read more
Sep 25, 2016
darkkugan (All reviews)
People are giving this show much more credit than it deserves. The title of the anime is spot on tho, Hitori no shit.

I don't usually get triggered by anime, but this is a new low.

We follow in the footsteps of a "virgin" Chou Soran a heir to some powerful family. One sudden day the grave of his grandfather is pillaged and he has to find out why. On his way to his dear grandfathers grave, he finds goku, no wait i mean Fuu Houhou. Fuu just like Soran, are supernatural humans who can freely control their Ki and use Martial arts as their weapons, read more
Sep 28, 2016
R_TF (All reviews)
Finally, china blessed us with another Zombie stuff.
There's no secret to the success of animes like this,either you need to have tons of fan service like "high school of the dead" or such hype that will make it widely popular even before it start airing,like what happen to "Kabaneri of the iron fortress" and having a logical plot is irrelevant for such genre.
But unfortunately "Hitori no Shita: The Outcast" got none of it but still there're few surprising element in it,at least I thought so at the beginning.

PLOT- (BIT SPOILERS)
It's a tale about chou the strongest of all outsider (People with supernatural power but are read more
Sep 24, 2016
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
It seems like everyone forgot that another anime about psychics existed that isn’t called Mob Psycho 100. This time it’s a Chinese-Japanese led project fulfilling our dreams of being able to called this anime a Chinese cartoon. OK all jokes aside this series does have something interesting to offer as it incorporates both martial arts and psychic powers to give us a predominantly action focused show.

***Note I’ll be using the translated names as I watched the Japanese dubbed version with English subtitles.***

The start of this show at one point led me to think that it was another zombie apocalypse show like High School of the read more
Feb 18, 2017
Never2die (All reviews)
Oh boy, lots of polarizing opinions here. Oh dang it, now I have to pick a side. OR NOT.

Obviously everyone's entitled to their own opinions. There can be a lot of reasons why someone won't be able to enjoy this. Perhaps they don't understand the culture, perhaps they find the art style to be not of their liking, perhaps they thought the story was stagnant, etc. I could probably list 100 reasons here but since I'm not a mind reader and I'm a lazy bastard, I won't.

Honestly it doesn't matter what everyone else's opinion is. This isn't a game on steam where you read more
Oct 18, 2016
Kreo20048 (All reviews)
Story 9.5 Art 6.5 Sound 7 Character 8

Hitori no Shita: The Outcast has an amazing story that is sadly poorly written at most parts with bland art and decent sound. Most of the characters are cheesy yet well thought out at the same time.

The biggest negative trait this anime has is a middle school immunity level and poor start. While this anime might be an acquired taste and take self-discipline the creators did not have; If you can handle the flaws it is an amazing Anime. While I was bored at moments others caught onto me fairly solidly. My favorite part being balancing read more
Jan 6, 2019
KatieThairu33 (All reviews)
I really don't get why people are hating on this anime so much! Maybe they don't get the wuxia theme jokes. Yes, quite a few jokes are about him being a virgin. But it's more than that. He has a goddamned seal on his d*** to make sure that he remains pure and has good cultivation. And the way it's discussed is funny. I, for one, enjoyed every second of the comedy aspect of this show. I have to say season 2 is remarkably better than season 1.

The fights are AWESOME! I love them. Especially in season 2. I was really impressed with how read more
Mar 10, 2019
EppJeyy (All reviews)
This anime was very refreshing to watch. It provided enough action to keep me tuned in while also providing enough comedic relief to bring out a few laughs. Personally I don't like the amount of fan service in todays anime. In my opinion, this anime would've been just fine without it.

At first glance, the plot seemed odd and different, but then by the second episode, things fell into place. It cleared up a lot of the, why is this like this or how come those things are doing this, etc., etc.. The groundwork has been laid with great action sequences, which have implied that read more
Oct 30, 2016
Somnolibraria (All reviews)
Before writing down anything here, I’d first like to say that all audiences should go to watch the unedited completed version of this anime which has a half-hour-long 11th episode and 43-min-long 12th episode AS WELL AS THE ORIGENAL MANGA that has already been updated to nearly 200 episodes. Plus if you can speak fluent Chinese I highly recommend you to watch the Chinese cover and you can discover more unique sides of this anime.

To begin with, I have to state that the anime is INDEED disappointing. The enjoyment and the overall score highly depend on my view to the original comic instead of the read more
Aug 29, 2020
yontouryuu (All reviews)
HUMOR - it has some funny slapstick moments, but they're added in awkwardly, totally disrupting the build-up of tension sometimes. I don't think this series is as bad as some people think, because I don't think it takes itself too seriously. I mean, Dumbledore and Snape show up in the second season randomly with no explanation.

PLOT - the only interesting thing about the plot is wanting to find out about Houhou's past. They keep inventing random reasons to push back the reveal, ie that Soran has to be the next Tenshi. It's predictable though.

CHARACTER - I did like the MC a bit in read more
Mar 23, 2017
Ant1989 (All reviews)
I don't understand why so many people give it a bad review, this anime is good. My only problem with it is that it only have 12 episodes and no manga to continue.

I saw someone saying "Chinese Zombie Stuff", but only one character uses zombies as weapons, all the rest have different superpowers, and the story is about them, or more precisely about the grandfather of Chou Soran.

I think the plot was cool, and the development was just right. I even like the characters, usually the emotionless steriotype still have some level of emotion, this one is really a psycopath. That doesn't mean read more
Sep 25, 2016
sadclown (All reviews)
First off, if by reading the synopsis you thought this was a show about zombies (a la Highschool of the Dead)...it's not. It's about "Outsiders"--seemingly ordinary people with extraordinary abilities. One of those Outsiders is a girl who can control zombies, but she is NOT the main character.

Secondly, if you haven't started watching, I must pre-warn you of this part in the 1st episode which caused a fair number of people to give up in disgust. It's the scene where Houhou is trying to bury the MC, Soran, and he just sits there like an idiot. Why doesn't he just get up and run read more
May 20, 2020
shintai88 (All reviews)
Ok. The first you must know is that the original Chinese version is a lot better. The main reason is its uncut and uncensored. There is also the small aspects like accent that comes into play that help people understand the region they are in. But most importantly there are keys scenes that the Japanese miss out.

The story starts and develops in an abrupt manner, with a grave robbing which introduces us to our two main characters Zhang Chouran and Fang Baobao who have a weird chemistry and relationship.

Both of each work quite well as individual characters. The story is convoluted in the sense the read more
Nov 22, 2016
AnimeWithMitachi (All reviews)
Well what have we got here? it's the seasonal worst anime award time and you guessed it, Hitori no Shita wins that award hands down. If you ever wanted to experience pain I would recommend sitting on a bed of nails or walking into a fire because this show will actually rot away your soul.

Story 2/10

I won't lie when this show first came out I was sitting on the fence. It starts off as a zombie anime but then does a full 360 and turns into a superpowered Kung fu shitfest. The story pacing is probably one of the worst I have ever seen. (Yes read more
Apr 3, 2018
sharjess82 (All reviews)
Don’t listen to the other reviews. It’s one of those anime you need to watch after a few episodes to judge for yourself. As I a picky anime fan, I had to binge watch this. The characters are interesting and leaving you wanting more especially Fou Houhou. There are some bits that are funny (not sure if that’s my dark humour) give it a good watch before really playing any attention to the reviews.

I live in the UK and have only been to Japan once. So at the time of visit, it wasn’t included in Shouen Jump. But after watching the second series it read more
Jun 28, 2017
Darkargel13 (All reviews)
For me ,every second of their scene was really great. I really appreciate how they're do the scene more unique and in reality (in short AWESOME). They handle how to make the fighting scene more clearly in every movements.
And i liked how the graphics gets great base on thier abilitys in the movie.
Those funny pick up line i love it too.



And i loved how the story goes.



And I realy hate book that i need to read it's to boring for me so i better watch it that's give me more excited.



That is why i can't wait for the read more
Nov 17, 2016
Justin_Dail (All reviews)
I'd recommend giving it a chance, with only 12 episodes for this season, what do you have to lose besides a few hours you would have spent being unproductive anyway? Personally I liked it obviously because I gave it an 8 overall and see a lot of potential if they continue beyond season 1. I also liked the art and animation styles. The story follows Chou who is an "Outsider" (someone with supernatural abilities). He catches a lot of flack about being a virgin but is actually a straight up bada**. Like most anime the whole thing revolves around random bad guys popping up read more
May 3, 2018
vtjon888 (All reviews)
Story - 8
I liked the concept, a little overused but they put their own little spin on it (ki wielding kung-fu masters). Many reviews I have read complain about the slow pace of this show. Make no mistake this is not kung-fu action. This is in essence a drama with SOME action weaved into the plot. This is why I do not dislike the generic magic kung-fu concept, it's merely a small aspect to help drive the plot.

Art - 7
The modern art style worked well with the concept of the show.

Character - 3
The main characters are a little over the top. A hopeless virgin with read more
Jan 6, 2017
Illusiveishfi (All reviews)
okai so i skimmed though most of the reviews and was mostly disappointed to see them because they hardly did justice to it. First of all..This season of the anime was more of a setup and introduction rather than the main part.And it has done its job wonderfully.I would like to recommend action fantasy lovers to give this a try at least . Story build up and background is pretty good and animation and action is cool , brought back memories really. The feel of classic like yu yu hakusho n flame of rekka etc mixing up with modern read more