Wagaya no Oinari-sama.


Our Home's Fox Deity

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Our Home's Fox Deity
Synonyms: Wagaya no Oinarisama
Japanese: 我が家のお稲荷さま。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Sep 15, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Light novel
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.211 (scored by 1031910,319 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #27892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3137
Members: 29,621
Favorites: 75
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 21, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
I always find it odd that so many shows get labelled as something other than what they are. Even stranger is the fact that almost everyone will view the series in a given way, often missing a prominent feature of the show.

Wagaya no Oinarisama (or Our Home's Fox Deity), is just such a series as, whilst very clearly being a supernatural/fantasy tale, the strong slice of life tone of the story is often overlooked or completely ignored.

Based on a series of light novels by Shibamura Jin (with illustrations by Hoden Eizo), the series was first adapted for manga by Shofu Suiren, and was originally released read more
Oct 22, 2008
Skadi (All reviews)
Wagaya no Oinari-sama is a show I was very excited about seeing this year. And for the most part it didn’t let me down. It follows the fox spirit theme that seems to be so popular lately but has a number of interesting new ideas that make it fresh and interesting.

The premise of the story is that two brothers who are the children of the former water priestess whom their family has been involved with for many years are being targeted by other evil spirits and specters. In order to prevent anything from happening, a fox spirit named Kuugen takes on read more
Oct 20, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Wagaya no Oinari-sama is a Supernatural, Action, Comedy with a really typical set-up where some kind of spirit/supernatural being is forced to protect someone due to various circumstances. It’s a shame that the story is rather dull and full of lifeless misadventures.

It’s about two brothers who have just learnt about the Mizuchi Family, a lineage of Water ki users that they both are a part of and become aware that youkai (spirits/demons) are after one of them. So they have to awaken a fox deity in order to protect themselves. After the first episode the series goes for the very predictable option by having the read more
Mar 28, 2009
duonoaikouka (All reviews)
Wagaya no Oinari-sama was an anime that I was highly anticipating from reading the plot summary provided here at MAL and the small details I could learn elsewhere. I love an anime that involves the Japanese supernatural elements like youkai and people trying to protect each other (i.e. Noburu with Tohru in this case). The character designs looked pleasing as well. After watching, I have to report that Wagaya has failed in meeting my expectations. When it comes to plot and story, this anime just doesn't meet its hype. And while there are some redeeming features in terms of musical score and comedic elements, I read more
Sep 15, 2008
ten6cha (All reviews)
This is a pretty mild series in my opinion. Although if they come up with a second season I might change my mind.
The idea for the fox spirit-guardian is interesting for the plot, I'd say that's about as original as it gets. But they could seriously have done more with it which didn't really happen. There are a couple filler episodes in there, some of which had this annoying sakura girl character just rambling on and on which I suppose was supposed to be some sort of comic relief =__=. Other than that, it just ended early so there isn't really all that much read more
Aug 12, 2012
KirinShadhavar (All reviews)
I adored this anime. Its the series i will watch alot i think. I wish they would make more. :) I love the kitsune ideas.
Apr 13, 2010
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Specialty: Overall entertainment, not plot/story-wise
Synopsis:
A "living with an astral fox and a sentinel with lots of occult things happening" type. A few arcs in there too.
Slice of life: 8 (more in 1st half of series)
Supernatural: 9 (Well every ep have it i rmb)
Romance: 2 (This is one series with a lot of platonic relationships)
Comedy:8 (Seriously... same studio as Macademi Wasshoi!)
Story plot and progression: 6 (Overall plot seemed good at beginning, but weakened over the series)

Story:9
Pros
-To be honest this is one superb slice of life series. It has a lot of unique circumstances and was pretty steady until some last episodes.
-The arcs were nicely done, read more
Jan 28, 2013
seiryotennan (All reviews)
Now for those of you who might have been misled by the fox girl, this is NOT Spice and Wolf season 3. Now, it took me 20 episodes to realize that Holo would not make a cameo appearance on this show. The show might have made a good impression on me if it hadn't misled me for so long.

Music
The music reminded me of feudal japan, not medieval Europe. While that might been okay for any show that isn't Spice and Wolf, this one so clearly should have been.

Characters
The characters resembled those of Spice and Wolf while not read more
Oct 28, 2008
edythemighty (All reviews)
Wagaya no Oinari-sama is the tale of Noboru and Touru, two brothers who, unbeknownst to them, come from a long line of priests who use Water ki, or energy, to ward off and fight demons. Their mother’s side of the family, the Midori’s, imprisoned an astral fox hundreds of years ago, and the boys are forced to release this fox from it’s slumber in order to protect them from other demons after their lives. A small fact that is mentioned but not really capitalized on: It’s a transsexual mystical fox.

The series is 24 episodes long, and I honestly expected a much better resolution to read more
Oct 25, 2008
Phantom (All reviews)
I started watching Wagaya no Oinari-sama because it had a fox spirit character in it and after enjoying spice and wolf i was interested to see how this anime would turn out particularly because both were based on a series of Light novels. So on to the story. Wagaya no Oinari-sama follows the adventures of a fox spirit called Tenko who was sealed away for causing mischief. The grandma of a family of water clan descendants calls Tenko to look after two young boys who are the only children of this clan. Because traditionally only females inherit the powers of the clan and head the read more
Nov 23, 2013
sentience (All reviews)
Excellent watch for anyone who loves slice-of-life and also the supernatural/fox deity theme here. Unlike many other anime, they spread out the main characters into two brothers (usually it is only one male protagonist). Even better, the fox deity is neither male nor female, choosing to manifest either at will. This makes for some hilarious situations. The balance between story, action, slice-of-life and humor was good, though not great. Every single episode was entertaining to watch.

The ending could have been better but I can understand where this is going since the Light novels are not completed yet. This leaves a possibility of a second season read more
Aug 28, 2014
bearvarine (All reviews)
Interesting and enjoyable series, but lacks focus and closure

I watched all 24 episodes of this series, so it was interesting enough to keep me coming back for more. What I liked about it was the core characters -- the brothers Toru and Noboru, Tenko Kugen, and the Mamorime. Their dialog was warm and left one hoping they could all become a family together for the long term. The plot is mostly about how the younger brother Toru is at risk from malevolent yokai from the spirit world who desire to capture him for various reasons. The story suffers here from a lack of continuity and read more