Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon


Alternative Titles

English: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid
Synonyms: The maid dragon of Kobayashi-san
Japanese: 小林さんちのメイドラゴン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2017 to Apr 6, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.181 (scored by 205,809 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #154
Members: 359,846
Favorites: 6,295

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2017
Veronin (All reviews)
Kyoto Animation has been something of a lost soul, struggling to find its identity in a post-Haruhi and K-ON world. It is through flipping back the dial and returning to their roots that their newest title, Maid Dragon, is able to find its footing. It feels like something that might have been animated once upon a time in 2005, and that is precisely what makes it so special in the modern climate of harem and superpower.

And unlike many of their more recent titles, it knows what it wishes to be and never compromises its vision in a futile attempt to appease everyone and anyone. It read more
Feb 1, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragons can be dangerous, it can also be CUTE AS ALL FUKKK.
I'll be reviewing Kobayashi-San chi no Maid Dragon as an Anime only watcher (although I read the first couple of chapters, just lazy to continue any further)

Story (9)
A dragon who seemed to be in great danger was saved by the almighty Drunkayashi. In order to repay her kindness. She becomes her maid, and with that, the Unending story between these 2 begin. I wonder how it'll turn out...

Character (10)
What can I say? All these characters (D)ominate my heart. The way Tooru would just cook her (D)elicious tail. But Kobayashi refuses becuz she think read more
Apr 5, 2017
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilingual review, English & Español: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid~

In the Japanese culture there are two really heartwarming greetings that represent the core of the family bonds: 'Tadaima' (ただいま) and 'Okaeri' (おかえり), respectively meaning 'I'm home' and 'welcome home'. The exchange between these greetings happen when one person arrives home, and there is another one to welcome them back. While not strictly restricted to family members alone, and can be used colloquially between friends and acquaintances, even in workplace and school, these greetings carry a deep and strong meaning behind them, which is no other that 'this is the place I belong to'.

Although there are many read more
Feb 17, 2017
Yamamayu (All reviews)
Preliminary
The show started out cute and I can admit that the appeal was there when it first started. But unfortunately that appeal went down the drain very very quickly. What appeared to be a cute story about a girl and her dragon devolved into what can only be known as one of the worst tropes in anime. While the show could have been perfectly fine without it it still decided to delve into pedophilic jokes about sexually harassing children.

While this might not bother some viewers I have serious moral issues with it and won't be continuing it myself. If the show hadn't taken this read more
Apr 5, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid- Making Anime Fun Again

Remember when anime was pure, unadulterated fun? Racing home as if on a quest to save a dying loved one, plopping your giddy ass on the sofa and turning on your favorite after-school cartoon? Nowadays, myself included, people get ignorantly pretentious and critical when it comes to anime… most likely due to the accessibility of other’s opinions on the internet (you’re guilty MAL!). But what happened to the days when you could share a bond with another over some good, old fashioned Chinese cartoons? God forbid you meet some dragon t-shirted, fedora wearing pleb that only cares for read more
Feb 5, 2017
Youikenari (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kobayashi know's what it wants to be and it executes that perfectly. Dragons adjusting to the humane world we know as "Earth" and shenanigans follow from that. The concept has been done before, but never has it been refined to what Kobayashi is offering.

It's a simple comedy, but yet it knows what it wants to be. Kobayashi knows it is simple, but funny and it makes no jabs at trying to branch out in territories unbound to them just for more fanservice.(Well aside from quetzalcoatl...yeah.)

The characters are from mythology, and that is what gives them refinement. The infamous Fafnir to Quetzalcoatl. All of them read more
Apr 5, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
"Ravioli, ravioli, don't lewd the dragon loli." Easier said than done when the anime is basically doing it for you already.

I must admit that I have been rather critical of Kyoto Animation in the last few years. Such a talented studio who used to work wonders back in the day with titles such as Clannad, Haruhi, Lucky Star and K-On, but over the course of the last four years or so I have been rather disappointed with their series, with shows such as Kyoukai no Kanata and Musaigen no Phantom World really failing to live up to their previous standards. But Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid read more
Mar 6, 2017
Jakersrampage (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't like this show.

Maybe it's because I rarely enjoy SoL moe, and this one annoyed me more than usual due to the ungodly amount of praise it's gotten. Either way, I don't see how this show can be anything more than average to most people.

The story...it's SoL. There is no story. Episodes are a string of cute situations with various characters. This is how the genre functions. But how are the characters?

They range from cookie-cutter to slightly okay. Kobayashi and Tohru are both overplayed tropes; Tohru being a "Naive other-worldly creature discovering the world" and Kobayashi being her "Deadpan caretaker". At least half read more
Mar 1, 2017
Little_Red_Rogue (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime season, Twitter won't shut up about Maid Dragon. There's a constant spew of GIFs and fan art, so I thought that maybe it was good. I thought wrong.

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon starts off cute enough, with an at least *slightly* original premise, and a fair number of visual jokes that made me audibly laugh. As the series continued, the laughs where still there, but in fewer and fewer numbers as more characters were being introduced.

My problem with this anime is it quickly became another season of "Pick Your Trope Waifu." Like, yo, read more
Apr 5, 2017
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
In the beginning, we see a dragon; how frightening!
It flies across the sky as fast as lightning
Finally, it arrives at the apartment of a woman
Does it plan on eating this helpless human?

When the woman goes over and opens the door
She beholds the dragon, and stands rooted to the floor
But then to the woman’s great surprise
The dragon transforms into a girl right before her eyes!

The dragon girl calls herself Tohru, and gives her thanks
To the woman who had recently pulled a sword out of her flanks
And so that her debt to the woman can be repaid
Tohru asks to work for her as her maid!

The woman, Kobayashi, read more
Apr 5, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Honestly, I’m not a fan of writing negative reviews since I prefer to use them to recommend series that I enjoyed, but as a fan of both comedy and the “cute girls doing cute things” genre I felt disappointed with Maid Dragon, that was the anime I was looking forward the most for this Winter 2017 season. I know that comedy is a very subjective genre, so I can see why other people would like it, so in this review I will talk about what I liked and what I didn't from this anime, while trying to keep it as a recommendation to give it read more
Feb 5, 2017
35au1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Amazing, I didn't laugh that much since ending 'Nichijou'. Do not hesitate give it a try!!!!

'Komori-san Can't Decline' is another serialized manga from this author

'I Can't Understand What My Husband Is Saying' seems also worth to be check (manga only)

For now, #17 in top airing anime, should move a little above that spot.
If only I had time to read the manga, ahhh.

My dear dragons, good luck!

plot summary:
'One night, an office worker named Kobayashi comes across an injured dragon named Tohru who had come from another world. Wanting to repay Kobayashi's hospitality, Tohru starts living with her as a maid, soon attracting the attention of other read more
Mar 9, 2017
Minteee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sleepless nights and long work hours have been taking their toll on me. It's hard to find enjoyment in life and inspiration to keep moving forward when you're working at 2 in the morning and subsisting exclusively on Redbull and frozen pizza.

During one particularly hard night, I was browsing twitter and came across a picture of an adorable anime character with purple and white hair. "That's it!" I thought to myself. "This is what I've been searching for!" I scrambled to my work computer to find more, and as I scrolled through videos and images for the series Kobayashi-san Chi no Dragon Maid, a read more
Apr 5, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
*******

Kyoto Animation Studio
October 6, 2016

After enduring the taunts, jeers, and sneers that resulted from the underwhelming Myriad Colors Phantom World, Mr. Hideaki Hatta, the president of Kyoto Animation, decided to recommit to the conventional. He guided the studio producers into a months-long effort in crafting a sequel to the massively successful Sound! Euphonium. When the dust settled, KyoAni’s staff, with the utmost confidence, released Sound! Euphonium 2, and then they celebrated. They engaged in several rounds of poker, and they consumed multiple tabs of LSD (One employee in particular swallowed six tabs at once), as well as a large helping of cocaine. 4 hours passed read more
Apr 5, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Once every now and then, we get some strange premise that gets animated on television. Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon is one such title that is probably more appealing to be quoted than anything else at first. Literally translating to Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid, it’s definitely a title that will raise some eyebrows. I mean really, a dragon as a maid? That’s the probably one of the silliest ideas if you think about it on paper. It also shouldn’t be surprising as it’s one of Cool-kyou Shinga’s works. The author is known for expressing a lot of freedom in ideas. As such, watching this show read more
Feb 12, 2017
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you are and yuri/yaoi fan then this show might seem a great one to you. But to people that are not that much into that kind of thing it kinda spoils the whole story. Also the fact that the author tried o made it into a lesbian feminist's wet dream makes me upset. For some reason almost every girl in the show is in love to another girl. Also the whole thing with women behaving like men is annoying. The main character behaves like a guy in every way but appears to be a girl. This does not happen in real life because hormones read more
Apr 5, 2017
Skittles (All reviews)
Dragons are well-known to be fierce creatures of legend, but they can also be regarded as the personifications of good. In cartoons, children's books, and family films, dragons are often depicted as friends of men. In certain cultures, dragons are portrayed as heavenly creatures.

While all these representations are interesting, none are as adorable, nor as lovely as that of Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid: a whimsical tale about the life of a lonely programmer and her fantastical human-dragon hybrid friends.

As a character-driven gag series, Dragon Maid emphasizes its fun using an endearing cast. Protagonist Kobayashi may be your typical introvert, but it's hard not to smile read more
Apr 5, 2017
illivinni (All reviews)
Picked out this because of Kawaii Dragons, but ended up learning powerful messages about having a family. To an extent, I consider Dragon Maid as a heavenly trap for otaku to preach them about life subtly. That said, this anime has polarized my own thoughts because some of contents are morally controversial. I'll elaborate and be more critical on this later.

I you're about to watch this, I recommend you to start questioning these to yourself: Are you getting tired of your normal moe maid? Getting tired of your normal loli with her "uguu" or "onii-chan"? Getting tired of voluptuous character that its purpose for read more
Mar 8, 2017
Keksisieppo (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first seeing the title and synopsis I was a bit skeptical about the whole anime. But from the first episode this anime has really surprised me. Despite it's intriguing concept combining dragon and maid and having bunch of these dragons and putting them live in normal life situations. This anime really knew how to make people interact with each other the way that makes these moe dragon concept work. They learn from each other and really work of each other and develop from their adventures. That is really great and that is why this slice of life style anime is so enjoyable in read more
Mar 4, 2017
astrologytoad (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I started watching this show, I was so so excited about it. I haven't seen a lot of yuri so I wasn't familiar with a lot of the tropes it used. But, despite some sort of awkward ecchi moments, I enjoyed it a lot. I really like the way that Tohru, Kobayashi, and Kanna's characters were developed for the first four or five episodes, and the slice of life aspects of it really appealed to me.

But, episode 6 was the beginning of the end with episode 7 being the nail in the coffin. The abrupt turn from a feel good, slice of life read more