Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon


Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The maid dragon of Kobayashi-san
Japanese: 小林さんちのメイドラゴン
English: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid
German: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid
Spanish: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid
French: Miss kobayashi's Dragon Maid
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2017 to Apr 6, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 593152593,152 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #103
Members: 1,001,759
Favorites: 14,990

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2017
Veronin (All reviews)
Kyoto Animation has been something of a lost soul, struggling to find its identity in a post-Haruhi and K-ON world. It is through flipping back the dial and returning to their roots that their newest title, Maid Dragon, is able to find its footing. It feels like something that might have been animated once upon a time in 2005, and that is precisely what makes it so special in the modern climate of harem and superpower.

And unlike many of their more recent titles, it knows what it wishes to be and never compromises its vision in a futile attempt to appease everyone and anyone. It read more
Apr 5, 2017
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilingual review, English & Español: Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid~

In the Japanese culture there are two really heartwarming greetings that represent the core of the family bonds: 'Tadaima' (ただいま) and 'Okaeri' (おかえり), respectively meaning 'I'm home' and 'welcome home'. The exchange between these greetings happen when one person arrives home, and there is another one to welcome them back. While not strictly restricted to family members alone, and can be used colloquially between friends and acquaintances, even in workplace and school, these greetings carry a deep and strong meaning behind them, which is no other that 'this is the place I belong to'.

Although there are many read more
Feb 1, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragons can be dangerous, it can also be CUTE AS ALL FUKKK.
I'll be reviewing Kobayashi-San chi no Maid Dragon as an Anime only watcher (although I read the first couple of chapters, just lazy to continue any further)

Story (9)
A dragon who seemed to be in great danger was saved by the almighty Drunkayashi. In order to repay her kindness. She becomes her maid, and with that, the Unending story between these 2 begin. I wonder how it'll turn out...

Character (10)
What can I say? All these characters (D)ominate my heart. The way Tooru would just cook her (D)elicious tail. But Kobayashi refuses becuz she think read more
Mar 6, 2017
Melodic_Musings (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't like this show.

Maybe it's because I rarely enjoy SoL moe, and this one annoyed me more than usual due to the ungodly amount of praise it's gotten. Either way, I don't see how this show can be anything more than average to most people.

The story...it's SoL. There is no story. Episodes are a string of cute situations with various characters. This is how the genre functions. But how are the characters?

They range from cookie-cutter to slightly okay. Kobayashi and Tohru are both overplayed tropes; Tohru being a "Naive other-worldly creature discovering the world" and Kobayashi being her "Deadpan caretaker". At least half read more
Apr 5, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid- Making Anime Fun Again

Remember when anime was pure, unadulterated fun? Racing home as if on a quest to save a dying loved one, plopping your giddy ass on the sofa and turning on your favorite after-school cartoon? Nowadays, myself included, people get ignorantly pretentious and critical when it comes to anime… most likely due to the accessibility of other’s opinions on the internet (you’re guilty MAL!). But what happened to the days when you could share a bond with another over some good, old fashioned Chinese cartoons? God forbid you meet some dragon t-shirted, fedora wearing pleb that only cares for read more
Apr 5, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
"Ravioli, ravioli, don't lewd the dragon loli." Easier said than done when the anime is basically doing it for you already.

I must admit that I have been rather critical of Kyoto Animation in the last few years. Such a talented studio who used to work wonders back in the day with titles such as Clannad, Haruhi, Lucky Star and K-On, but over the course of the last four years or so I have been rather disappointed with their series, with shows such as Kyoukai no Kanata and Musaigen no Phantom World really failing to live up to their previous standards. But Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid read more
Apr 5, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Honestly, I’m not a fan of writing negative reviews since I prefer to use them to recommend series that I enjoyed, but as a fan of both comedy and the “cute girls doing cute things” genre I felt disappointed with Maid Dragon, that was the anime I was looking forward the most for this Winter 2017 season. I know that comedy is a very subjective genre, so I can see why other people would like it, so in this review I will talk about what I liked and what I didn't from this anime, while trying to keep it as a recommendation to give it read more
Apr 5, 2017
HellLyter (All reviews)
In the beginning, we see a dragon; how frightening!
It flies across the sky as fast as lightning
Finally, it arrives at the apartment of a woman
Does it plan on eating this helpless human?

When the woman goes over and opens the door
She beholds the dragon, and stands rooted to the floor
But then to the woman’s great surprise
The dragon transforms into a girl right before her eyes!

The dragon girl calls herself Tohru, and gives her thanks
To the woman who had recently pulled a sword out of her flanks
And so that her debt to the woman can be repaid
Tohru asks to work for her as her maid!

The woman, Kobayashi, read more
Mar 9, 2017
Minteee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sleepless nights and long work hours have been taking their toll on me. It's hard to find enjoyment in life and inspiration to keep moving forward when you're working at 2 in the morning and subsisting exclusively on Redbull and frozen pizza.

During one particularly hard night, I was browsing twitter and came across a picture of an adorable anime character with purple and white hair. "That's it!" I thought to myself. "This is what I've been searching for!" I scrambled to my work computer to find more, and as I scrolled through videos and images for the series Kobayashi-san Chi no Dragon Maid, a read more
Jan 3, 2018
RPWPA (All reviews)
Have you ever thought about making creepy people and pedophiles acceptable? well look no further because this anime is what you need, the "How to Abuse jokes and make creepy characters appear acceptable by using the homosexuality shield" anime is here, you also get the "It isn't pedophilia because the one doing it is a female" extra.

Jokes aside, in this review I'll talk about the comedy aspects and the characters so to start I have to say there is a big variety of character in this starting from cute characters to the creepy ones.

There are creepy and disturbing characters like Saikawa which i'm not read more
Feb 5, 2017
35au1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Amazing, I didn't laugh that much since ending 'Nichijou'. Do not hesitate give it a try!!!!

'Komori-san Can't Decline' is another serialized manga from this author

'I Can't Understand What My Husband Is Saying' seems also worth to be check (manga only)

For now, #17 in top airing anime, should move a little above that spot.
If only I had time to read the manga, ahhh.

My dear dragons, good luck!

plot summary:
'One night, an office worker named Kobayashi comes across an injured dragon named Tohru who had come from another world. Wanting to repay Kobayashi's hospitality, Tohru starts living with her as a maid, soon attracting the attention of other read more
Mar 18, 2019
SpetzisnotaWeeb (All reviews)
Dragon Maid is a yuri slice of life anime with some...interesting...undertones. I'm going to review this by Story, Art, Sound, Characters, and Enjoyment, like the official review scorer.

[SWEARING AND SOME SPOILERS AHEAD]

Story: 5/10 It's a great concept if a bit cliche, a magical being comes to the human and doesn't understand shit, the human is stoic and peeved, the magic being is all smiles, and there's a host of weirdos that come along for the ride. It's very good at first, with excellent comedy and touching moments with the title characters, Kobayashi and Tohru the Dragon Maid. Kanna is just generally adorable, and it read more
Feb 8, 2021
angel_bby (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really liked this anime at first. Cute, easy to watch, wholesome moments and the fan service was tolerable (I’m used to giant jelly boobs in anime so whatever).

But then they started ramping up the fan service and pedo baiting bs, ESPECIALLY on episode 6. Like why. Why. Why can’t we just have a cute lesbian dragon and her crush raising a cute child without sexualizing the child? Why did they have to ruin it?

And then on top of how they did kanna, they also throw in Lucoa shoving her tits in another child’s face. Just. Why. It was so much better the first read more
Jul 7, 2021
pwetzel (All reviews)
Preliminary
In case it is obvious, i did not like this one. I (as a gay woman) watch gay animes. While i want expecting this one to really be out there (as kyoani has a history of yuri baiting) i was expecting it to at least be cute, wholesome, or funny. It was not. It was like a slow descent into madness until i eventually felt so sickened i had to stop watching. I like slice of life! One of my favorite. This doesn't know what it wants to be, constantly making jokes then instantly wanting you to feel sad, but then immediately breaking the tone. read more
Apr 5, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
*******

Kyoto Animation Studio
October 6, 2016

After enduring the taunts, jeers, and sneers that resulted from the underwhelming Myriad Colors Phantom World, Mr. Hideaki Hatta, the president of Kyoto Animation, decided to recommit to the conventional. He guided the studio producers into a months-long effort in crafting a sequel to the massively successful Sound! Euphonium. When the dust settled, KyoAni’s staff, with the utmost confidence, released Sound! Euphonium 2, and then they celebrated. They engaged in several rounds of poker, and they consumed multiple tabs of LSD (One employee in particular swallowed six tabs at once), as well as a large helping of cocaine. 4 hours passed read more
Apr 5, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Once every now and then, we get some strange premise that gets animated on television. Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon is one such title that is probably more appealing to be quoted than anything else at first. Literally translating to Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid, it’s definitely a title that will raise some eyebrows. I mean really, a dragon as a maid? That’s the probably one of the silliest ideas if you think about it on paper. It also shouldn’t be surprising as it’s one of Cool-kyou Shinga’s works. The author is known for expressing a lot of freedom in ideas. As such, watching this show read more
Aug 5, 2021
Lucas8990 (All reviews)
I love anime, and I have been watching it for years. Meaning that naturally, I have watched a lot and am always on the lookout for new shows. After hearing the hype surrounding this show, I decided to check it out. The show starts off strong with a good art style that I really liked, two likeable lead characters, and a decent enough premise.

The first lead character Kobayashi is an office worker who meets a woman named Tooru. Who happens to be a dragon in human form. That for various reasons has come to love and admire Kobayashi. So to show said admiration she becomes read more
Apr 5, 2017
Skittles (All reviews)
Dragons are well-known to be fierce creatures of legend, but they can also be regarded as the personifications of good. In cartoons, children's books, and family films, dragons are often depicted as friends of men. In certain cultures, dragons are portrayed as heavenly creatures.

While all these representations are interesting, none are as adorable, nor as lovely as that of Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid: a whimsical tale about the life of a lonely programmer and her fantastical human-dragon hybrid friends.

As a character-driven gag series, Dragon Maid emphasizes its fun using an endearing cast. Protagonist Kobayashi may be your typical introvert, but it's hard not to smile read more
Jul 21, 2019
billpika (All reviews)
I feel like having to justify a 6 here. This show is alright. It is nothing significant, and that is ok. It is fluffy and light, and that is ok.

The animation is amazing; KyoAni never fails to deliver, even in slice of life comedies. Fight scenes, although sparse, are fluid and dynamic, as are the movements of characters as they perform actions such as cooking or cleaning.

It's all made with a ton of love and care, so what are the problems?

Well, the relationship between Kobayashi and Tohru is very... weird. Chalk it up to just being anime, but it really does get creepy at read more
May 5, 2020
misuuuu (All reviews)
maid dragon! i loved this anime a lot. the art is really pretty, and i love the colours for each character, it's just very pleasing to look at. maid dragon also has this little cute story.. and it doesn't feel stretched out at all. it's literally a maid dragon crashing into this woman's boring life, and changing everything with her friends coming in on the way. it's heartwarming. every character is memorable and their adventures are just sweet. i loved every episode of maid dragon, and the ending got me feeling some ways! this is a must watch, it's not very long too!