Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Napping Princess
Synonyms: Napping Princess: The Story of the Unknown Me, Ancien and the Magic Tablet
Japanese: ひるね姫~知らないワタシの物語~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 18, 2017
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Signal. MD
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 1,999 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2901
Members: 14,808
Favorites: 16

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 27, 2017
garyborken (All reviews)
This film just came out last week in my country.

Kamiyama Kenji has always been a very special director to me. His S.A.C. series is by far the best take on the Ghost in the Shell IP in my opinion, it's one of, if not THE one all time favorite anime of mine. I always hope this guy could get more attention and get more things done.

However "Hirune Hime" is kind of underwhelming. It's not really a bad film but the pacing is weird, the narrative is kind of childish, and the dialogue said too much.

In parts it kind reminds me of some of Kon Satoshi's read more
Nov 5, 2017
Aman_Bhaskar (All reviews)
Ever since my childhood, one of few things which intrigued me the most is these weird visions i had during my sleep, that is, dreams. Its quite funny that we don't know what has been in stored for us be fore we sleep, and what had happened after we woke up, even though everything just took place inside our heads. Hirune Hime (napping Princess) , the movie in question, Also tried to explore this concept of dreams in a interesting way, But unfortunately failed at properly executing the idea.

Well, Before watching it, I really had no idea what the movie is going to be about, read more
Jun 21, 2017
regularfanb0y (All reviews)
This movie has just been released in my country. Its screen name in my country is translated "Decoding the dreams". Knowing that shouldn't judge a book by its cover but I didn't expect much about this movie in the first place.

The best thing of this film is its beautiful visual (but not that breathtaking).
Mysterious, adventurous, fantasy, are what I can say about its genre.

Sounds like a Ghibli movie but I considered much worse.

The concept of this movie reminds a lot about Steamboy (the dream of automation) and Paprika (dreams - reality blending).

I have to say the story is its ultimate weakness. It read more
Dec 9, 2017
PCheesy (All reviews)
I had the distinct pleasure of attending what was at the time the second premiere of the film in North America at an anime convention, as well as attended a panel where I got to hear from the directors and some of the creative staff. My initial reaction to the film was that it was visually interesting and entertaining, but also a little childish for me. I found the story to be mildly confusing at times, but with the help of some analysis of my friend who was a film critic, I appreciated what it was doing. Hearing from the creators themselves was especially read more
Dec 6, 2017
Aura-YBA (All reviews)
>Mild spoilers<

Story [9/10]
The story of Hirune Hime was unique and delivered in a respectable manner; not too overly confusing and paced well enough for the viewer to start connecting points after a certain time.
The ending isn't particularly ambiguous in my view (the Collosus could be human-operated technology/resilience while "magic" is the advent of automation).
My only major gripes with the story and its transitions is Morio immediately accepting the situation and barely questioning anything and Kokone's great escape being a bit awkward.

Art [9/10] *The point I enjoyed most about the movie.
The artstyle here isn't your standard anime style of drawing characters, I felt that the characters read more
Nov 26, 2017
Suzhoukid65 (All reviews)
I have sense lowered my overall rating for this Anime. When I saw that this Anime was coming out I got really excited. The reason that I did not like this Anime that much was that I felt it was a bit boring. I think it was also partially my fault. I had high expectations and the it turned out being just OK.

Spoiler Caution:

At the end of the day this is a cute story about family that warmed my heart and I really appreciated that. I enjoyed the optimism of female protagonist. At times it made her look 2 dimensional, but at the same time read more
Nov 15, 2017
Abderahime_Mokri (All reviews)
this movie #see #full #episode in this link https://openload.co/f/Vq4pcwHdoiY ###############################
I really enjoyed the concept and how the film was directed during the first half; the interaction between the dream world and the real world was a joy to watch, with both stories paralleling each other nicely and the visual aesthetics supporting it. I found myself curious to see how things would connect between the two and was searching for these interconnections as the story progressed. Honestly, I was pretty satisfied by the end of everything. The story isn't anything fantastic, but it served it's purpose.

I have two main complaints for the film. read more
Nov 5, 2017
NoMoreGatari (All reviews)
The film's gimmick is apparent from the synopsis, the dreams are the main point of interest when going in. It is seemingly a coming-of-age story presented through a surreal backdrop which should enhance the narrative through impactful symbolism and a meaningful message. Unfortunately, you will find none of that here. Nearly every concept or character introduced ends up being irrelevant and squandered. Even some major plot points are left unresolved or intentionally ambiguous.

Let's begin with the defining element to this movie - the dreams. The most noteworthy aspect of its portrayal is its usage of sci-fi elements with the conventions found in a fantasy. read more
Nov 5, 2017
Vaenny (All reviews)
Are you familiar with movies such as Home Alone and E.T? Well, this is the anime version of it. In broader terms, this movie looked like it was made for kids, catering for the whole family. Let me explain why.

First, the plot structure is suspiciously similar to western movies targeted for children (This doesn't count as a spoiler, by the way. I'm just explaining how the plot structure works): Parent gets in trouble, kid discovers a treasure-worthy possession, travels the country, beat the bad guys via deus ex machina, saves parent and returns the possession, and they all live happily ever after. Heck, this structure read more
Aug 23, 2017
Daisicle (All reviews)
I saw "The Napping Princess" at the film screening at AnimeFest in Dallas, TX on 17 August, 2017.

I really enjoyed the concept and how the film was directed during the first half; the interaction between the dream world and the real world was a joy to watch, with both stories paralleling each other nicely and the visual aesthetics supporting it. I found myself curious to see how things would connect between the two and was searching for these interconnections as the story progressed. Honestly, I was pretty satisfied by the end of everything. The story isn't anything fantastic, but it served it's purpose.

I have two read more