Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Napping Princess
Synonyms: Napping Princess: The Story of the Unknown Me, Ancien and the Magic Tablet
Japanese: ひるね姫~知らないワタシの物語~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 18, 2017
Licensors: NYAV Post, GKIDS
Studios: Signal. MD
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.111 (scored by 4,630 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2642
Members: 20,611
Favorites: 24

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 27, 2017
garyborken (All reviews)
This film just came out last week in my country.

Kamiyama Kenji has always been a very special director to me. His S.A.C. series is by far the best take on the Ghost in the Shell IP in my opinion, it's one of, if not THE one all time favorite anime of mine. I always hope this guy could get more attention and get more things done.

However "Hirune Hime" is kind of underwhelming. It's not really a bad film but the pacing is weird, the narrative is kind of childish, and the dialogue said too much.

In parts it kind reminds me of some of Kon Satoshi's read more
Nov 5, 2017
Aman_Bhaskar (All reviews)
Ever since my childhood, one of few things which intrigued me the most is these weird visions i had during my sleep, that is, dreams. Its quite funny that we don't know what has been in stored for us be fore we sleep, and what had happened after we woke up, even though everything just took place inside our heads. Hirune Hime (napping Princess) , the movie in question, Also tried to explore this concept of dreams in a interesting way, But unfortunately failed at properly executing the idea.

Well, Before watching it, I really had no idea what the movie is going to be about, read more
Jun 21, 2017
regularfanb0y (All reviews)
This movie has just been released in my country. Its screen name in my country is translated "Decoding the dreams". Knowing that shouldn't judge a book by its cover but I didn't expect much about this movie in the first place.

The best thing of this film is its beautiful visual (but not that breathtaking).
Mysterious, adventurous, fantasy, are what I can say about its genre.

Sounds like a Ghibli movie but I considered much worse.

The concept of this movie reminds a lot about Steamboy (the dream of automation) and Paprika (dreams - reality blending).

I have to say the story is its ultimate weakness. It read more
Dec 6, 2017
0xA1E1BA (All reviews)
>Mild spoilers<

Story [9/10]
The story of Hirune Hime was unique and delivered in a respectable manner; not too overly confusing and paced well enough for the viewer to start connecting points after a certain time.
The ending isn't particularly ambiguous in my view (the Collosus could be human-operated technology/resilience while "magic" is the advent of automation).
My only major gripes with the story and its transitions is Morio immediately accepting the situation and barely questioning anything and Kokone's great escape being a bit awkward.

Art [9/10] *The point I enjoyed most about the movie.
The artstyle here isn't your standard anime style of drawing characters, I felt that the characters read more
Jan 24, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Dreams and Reality...

Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari's premise does something interesting with the notion of dreams and reality being intertwined through the mind of Kokone Morikawa voiced by Mitsuki Takahata.

Some mild spoilers...you have been warned.

By this, LA means that Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari does something in lines of what Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! does with Rikka's delusions, but using Kokone's dreams instead. By the plot format of Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari utilizes Kokone's dreams of her own fantasy world to somewhat show events in Kokone's real life and vice versa in the effect of both dreams and reality being read more
Dec 9, 2017
PCheesy (All reviews)
I had the distinct pleasure of attending what was at the time the second premiere of the film in North America at an anime convention, as well as attended a panel where I got to hear from the directors and some of the creative staff. My initial reaction to the film was that it was visually interesting and entertaining, but also a little childish for me. I found the story to be mildly confusing at times, but with the help of some analysis of my friend who was a film critic, I appreciated what it was doing. Hearing from the creators themselves was especially read more
Nov 5, 2017
Vaenny (All reviews)
Are you familiar with movies such as Home Alone and E.T? Well, this is the anime version of it. In broader terms, this movie looked like it was made for kids, catering for the whole family. Let me explain why.

First, the plot structure is suspiciously similar to western movies targeted for children (This doesn't count as a spoiler, by the way. I'm just explaining how the plot structure works): Parent gets in trouble, kid discovers a treasure-worthy possession, travels the country, beat the bad guys via deus ex machina, saves parent and returns the possession, and they all live happily ever after. Heck, this structure read more
Aug 23, 2017
Daisicle (All reviews)
I saw "The Napping Princess" at the film screening at AnimeFest in Dallas, TX on 17 August, 2017.

I really enjoyed the concept and how the film was directed during the first half; the interaction between the dream world and the real world was a joy to watch, with both stories paralleling each other nicely and the visual aesthetics supporting it. I found myself curious to see how things would connect between the two and was searching for these interconnections as the story progressed. Honestly, I was pretty satisfied by the end of everything. The story isn't anything fantastic, but it served it's purpose.

I have two read more
Apr 18, 2018
garthol (All reviews)
[No spoilers.]

From Kenji Kamiyama, director of great works such as the spin-off Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex series and Seirei no Moribito, and the original creator of Eden of the East, comes a very... whelming film about a narcoleptic high school girl.

The premise is simple- this girl is about to graduate high school, and enjoys losing herself in fantastical lucid dreams. The dreams involve Ghibli-inspired adventures of fantasy mixed with the modern, and are very charming and child-like, much like fairy tales. The waking world is then mundane in comparison, but it uses the tone of the dreams to make a mostly relaxed read more
Nov 26, 2017
Suzhoukid65 (All reviews)
I have sense lowered my overall rating for this Anime. When I saw that this Anime was coming out I got really excited. The reason that I did not like this Anime that much was that I felt it was a bit boring. I think it was also partially my fault. I had high expectations and the it turned out being just OK.

Spoiler Caution:

At the end of the day this is a cute story about family that warmed my heart and I really appreciated that. I enjoyed the optimism of female protagonist. At times it made her look 2 dimensional, but at the same time read more
May 4, 2018
Thedude3445 (All reviews)
Whew... I mean, it's kinda bad but it's almost fascinating how it got this way. The production is pretty solid with generally-nice animation, a good setting (though the Olympics tie-ins are very sparse), and likeable characters, but the fundamental premise is just a stinker and the movie goes practically nowhere. Why did any of the napping segments even exist? Did the studio really just want to make some CGI mech fights? Did they think their plot for the real-life story was too thin (it was)?

I can't say I'm disappointed since I went in knowing this movie doesn't have the best of reputations, but I sure read more