Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju
Synonyms: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu 2nd Season, Showa and Genroku Era Lover's Suicide Through Rakugo 2nd Season
Japanese: 昭和元禄落語心中~助六再び篇~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2017 to Mar 25, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: Drama, Josei
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.871 (scored by 22,380 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1217
Members: 60,533
Favorites: 1,102

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
This show hands down one of the godtier series in the history of anime. When it comes to drama, Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu as a whole is insanely topnotch / masterpiece. Not being biased here, I mean the show is just that good, flawless + with insane direction and editing by Studio Deen.

Story 10/10 Simple and boring you might say but the narration of the series is topnotch, with thoughtful editing + with masterful direction, the show just climbed up the rankings easily, surpassing its 1st season. Overall flawless storyline. It is just that good and you might know the show had those insane plottwist read more
Mar 24, 2017
0207xander (All reviews)
Rakugo is one of the only anime to make a strong emotional connection with me. It's hard for me to believe that such an excellent show has flown this far under the radar, so let me try to do it some justice in this review.

I had come into the first season expecting nothing but being intrigued by the premise and the positive reviews for a show about… performance art? Needless to say I was thoroughly blown away and touched by the story of this show. I thought the conclusion to Yakumo’s story was one of the best endings to a show I had ever seen, read more
Mar 24, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
You know, nostalgia is a powerful thing. Happiness is essential, for when death comes, we want to look back fondly at our lives. It's only natural, really. It's only natural that we feel this way, and it's only natural that this is the conclusion to such a wonderful work of art. With that sentimental tangent, back on track, though expect that to be the tone of this review. Death, or rather, actually dying and no longer being able to experience anything for all of eternity is something that legitimately frightens me, and it has since childhood. Leaving a legacy that you won't see, possibly not read more
Mar 24, 2017
tigermaskshinobi (All reviews)
Coming off the highly acclaimed and one of the best anime of 2016, Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, comes it's second season and it's... I don't really know to describe how good this is, but that's just how good it is..If that makes sense. It's light, It's beautiful, It's haunting, It's deep, It's dramatic. It's one of the most masterfully made anime there is.

One of the things this show does so well is that it presents itself in the form a Rakugo. It's leisurely paced but the genuine and detailed storytelling and flawless performances combined with just the necessary amount of soundtrack certainly makes it read more
Mar 25, 2017
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
The second season of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu cemented the series as an undeniable masterpiece for me is what I wish I would be saying right now. However the second season lost a lot of the aspects that made the first season of Rakugo great for me.

If you were to ask me what the first season was, I'd say that it was a story about the industry of rakugo and the life of two men that grew up together and were raised to work in that trade. If you were to ask me what the second season is, I'd say that it is about the read more
Feb 9, 2017
Pilar_S (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the second season of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, a show about "rakugo", a form of comic japanese theater, where a person stands alone at the stage only with a fan and acts like several characters, telling stories that can have many different styles, scary stories to children tales, from daily life scenes to magic tales.
But actually this anime is not about rakugo. It's about the life of two friends that get to know each other and care about each through rakugo, and rakugo allow us the viewers to understand the personalities and inner feelings, life story and future of these characters. In the read more
Apr 16, 2017
SuperSecretOtaku (All reviews)
Not only is this show not up to par in comparison to it's predecessor, but simply wouldn't be worth your time or consideration without it's lineage.

The first season clearly demonstrated how every character is shaped into who they became by preceding events, and almost every element introduced has a crucial role in the plot; in contrast, the majority of this season's plot elements are introduced, then simply go nowhere.

Take as an example, the desire to keep Rakugo traditional, versus the need to keep Rakugo alive through innovation. The first season heavily foreshadowed that this would be the main struggle of S2, and the read more
Mar 24, 2017
cerdaco (All reviews)
Holy shit this anime is a fucking masterpiece. I'm not trying to be a hypebeast right now when I say that this anime is truly superb. The characters are treated extremely well and given ample space and time to grow and develop, the plot it interesting and plays out effectively, and the storytelling combined with the soundtrack combine to suck you in episode after episode to care about performances of an esoteric art that most watchers won't know about at the beginning but will love by the end. Goddamn. I came into this show with high expectations after the first season (which I gave a read more
Mar 31, 2017
BlueKite (All reviews)
The first season of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu was personally my favorite anime of 2016. It was such a breath of fresh air for the slice-of-life genre with its traditional period drama setting that inevitably clashes with the modernization of society. Who would have thought that something like rakugo can hold such power when it comes to crafting mesmerizing narratives? Personally, I would’ve found it boring when I get to see a performance live. However, the show executes this art of storytelling so well that it never fails to catch my attention. The way it shows the perspective of the audience and the storyteller in read more
Mar 24, 2017
delta5 (All reviews)
The first season of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu was the absolute best anime of Winter, 2016, and very possibly the best anime of that entire year. It was certainly the most moving, truly adult, drama I've seen in a long time. Appropriately enough, since rakugo is the art of storytelling, the first season took the form of a story within a story, telling an incredibly moving tale of a complicated friendship, tragic choices, and the repercussions of those actions for people living in the present day. It was haunting, memorable, and it's been a very, very long year waiting for the sequel.

The second season starts read more
Mar 17, 2017
HitagiSenjou (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the best freakin anime i've ever seen in my entire life. Writing this because it's so sad for me to say goodbye, cuz its the final episode next week.
So basically this anime were a masterpiece in its ss1 and continued to do what made it the best in ss2, technical wise. The music, the background music, the rakugo, the background art, the characters' emotions and psychology, and all other things. It fits the mood so well that normally it could hardly be told. In ss1, the background music was absolutely the star, thanks to dramatic twists that the anime's plot gave. read more
Mar 24, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
I’ll be honest. I didn’t watch the first season. I saw it and I thought it would be boring and it ended up maybe being even the best show of the season. I have my regrets but at least I can head straight onto season 2 with the exposition it gave at the beginning of the first episode allowing me to participate which I do appreciate. And Judging so far by the second season, I also massively regret it as well. I’m enjoying myself greatly for many reasons which I’ll detail here hopefully convincing you to watch as well.

Rakugo is the art of performing a read more
Jun 10, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
This isn't Rakugo, or at least this isn't the Rakugo that I knew. Descending Stories is weird and different. It constantly pushes a new idea for a show that worked so flawlessly. There's no way that I wouldn't doubt it. I was careful with approaching each new episode, gave it a chance after chance until I realized that I'm just being ridiculous and that it's exactly how it's supposed to be.

*Spoilers included*

If you've watched the first season of this show, then you know what the entire idea for it was. A story told through the eyes of Yakumo Yuurakutei, the famous rakugo artist that lost read more
Apr 19, 2017
jzathejenius (All reviews)
Lets not mince words here; Descending Stories is a masterpiece.

I cannot think of any other anime that has possessed such a quiet yet devastating power to move me to tears with every episode. Most impressively, it doesn't resort to cheap manipulation to move you. The fact that I cared so much about each and every one of these well rounded characters is the reason I was moved so deeply as I shared the various moments of joy and sadness.

And make no mistake, there is an overwhelming sadness and melancholy that pervades DS. Yakumo carries the memory of Sukeroku and his wife Miyokichi with him read more
Mar 25, 2017
rasetz (All reviews)
With second season finished, Shouwa Genroku easily turns into one of the best anime i've ever seen, it'll be too long to describe all the emotions that this story made me feel (and i'm not a good writer to do so).

This tale takes us to Japan in different times of history, portraiting each one from the pont of view of this art called Rakugo, and how it struggles to survive, and does survive, because after all, something that good could never go away.

The greatest aspect of this anime is simply, that every part of it works so fine with everything else. You can relate read more
Apr 22, 2017
triplefox (All reviews)
Rakugo is a series about Beautiful Storytelling, and it is perhaps unsurprising that it turns out to be a Beautiful Story too. The flashy fantasy tropes are absent: this is a grounded, plausible narrative with a grand scope. It spans a lengthy time period - from the 1930's to the present - and deals with the serious questions and responsibilities of life in an artful style.

Every episode mixes together the grand narrative with careful depictions of rakugo performance itself, with a few of the classic rakugo stories recurring throughout different episodes, told by different characters in their own style. If that sounds a bit dull, read more
Apr 3, 2017
T-CRISIS (All reviews)
Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu is the first anime that I have been passionate enough about to write a review on MAL. I am no good at reviewing things but here it is:
I thought that the first season was excellent, and that the second season is even better. The animation in SGRS is wonderful. That was the first thing I came to love about this show. Then the character development - man. It's spectacular. Most of the first season is a flashback and it's so smooth and enjoyable that I nearly forgot about what was going on in the present, where the second season picks up. read more
Apr 1, 2017
xisue (All reviews)
If the first season of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu was a 10/10 for most then this season could be considered a 9/10 because personally I do believe that it is less consistent with its episodes and starts off slow, as I found myself starting and stopping the series a few times. However I certainly found that it payed off in the end.

STORY: 8
While in the first season we focus solely on the story of our main character Bon, this season implied that we were then going to witness Yotaro's perspective mainly. Which the anime did, but it also explored a lot of the supporting cast read more
Mar 27, 2017
RedBiscuit16 (All reviews)
Long Story Short: Art and Story are fantastic. you should have this on your to-watch list.

Please watch season 1 first! You'll enjoy season 2 whether or not you watch the first season but its better if you do.

This anime is truly enjoyable in many ways. From the very beginning you want Yotaro to succeed and save Rakugo, but this story is way more than that. You get to the characters lives from different angles. What you'll truly appreciate is seeing characters that are actually human in the ways they deal with grief, love, regret, and the struggle to achieve their dreams. read more
Mar 26, 2017
pondipat (All reviews)
(Greetings from Portugal.)

And so it ends, such a beautiful ending to a beautiful story. If you watched Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinkuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen, loving it's prequel, you'll also love the continuation.
This anime (with lovely animation, quite cinematic it fact) needs attention, it's premise and synopsis is not the most exciting thing you ever heard, but it's so well made!

The way this story is told and it's incredible characters compel the viewer to invest emotionally in the narrative (10/10 - must watch).

You will not be disappointed or frustrated with the end. I mean, I'll miss the show, I'll miss all the characters, but I'm pleased read more