Kemono Friends

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: けものフレンズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2017 to Mar 29, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Studios: Yaoyorozu
Source: Game
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.561 (scored by 2668826,688 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1917
Members: 70,255
Favorites: 981
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2017
Reinhath (All reviews)
You might have heard that Kemono Friends, a CGI full length anime, is the most popular show of the Winter 2017 season in Japan. It took a LONG time for any western anime fans to even notice this show, yet alone take it seriously. But after giving it a fair chance, I truly believe that Kemono Friends is one of the most special and unique anime we have.

First, I'll get a few things out of the way. The animation and art style are lacking in massive ways. I don't think anyone will try to argue with that. The voice acting is also pretty shoddy in read more
Mar 28, 2017
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
I don't think anyone expected much after the first episode. Indeed, the first episode was a very much dull program, there was some cute stuff in, but not much to justify continuing with the series,

Kemono doesn't really start until you sit through the credits of the second episode, until which the true nature of the show finally starts revealing itself to you. It's slow it's subtle, but it doesn't bog you down with exposition dumps every five minutes (*cough*LittleWitchAcademia*cough*). Which is even moreso impressive considering this was meant to be a low budget collab for a failed mobage that's so bad it makes Kancolle look read more
Jan 31, 2017
Gjrnm (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Edit: I have finished watching the show and it is awesome. The show gained momentum after episode 4 (the time I wrote the original review) and went from 4.30 to what you see now. This should tell you a lot about whether or not you should pick up his anime.]
Kemono Friends is a fun journey that isn't really directed to any of those who voted for the anime. It is clearly a kid's show that attempts to teach some animals' facts and give a little bit of fun. It had a little bit of dark side that adults can enjoy speculating about which isn't really read more
Feb 17, 2017
kanauru (All reviews)
Preliminary
MAL rating 4.94?
20 mins per episode?
What's up with all this art and memes on the internet?
That CG is terrible yo..

I rarely write reviews but I wanted to help people decide whether to check this out or not because that rating doesn't do it justice.

/ So About That CG

First off, most people are getting a bad impression from the CG. I can understand where people are coming from about this. The chase scene in the first episode definitely did not make a good impression on me ( it was the worst scene out of the entire series so far). But after that, I got used to read more
Mar 28, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
I have a confession to make. When I watched the first episode of Kemono Friends with my friend we ended up setting the playback speed to 2x to get through the episode.

Mind you this was back at a different time. Before anyone knew that Kemono Friends was going to be good, or be as popular as it was. Actually, it was on the day it came out. Me and my PV and studio ignoring self looked at the summary and I liked it. Kemono Friends was actually one of the shows I looked forward to this season. Before we started my friend said he read more
Feb 18, 2017
Luxicato (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is not for everyone. It's an anime for children and adults, but not for teenagers.

This is an anime that is a lot more enjoyable if you know about it's roots. Is based on a mobage produced by Nexon. It was part of a crossmedia project that sadly failed. The game closed a month before the show aired.

The creators of this anime weren't expecting to make something huge. They are a very small team with a very limited budget from a game that failed.

And this is how everything starts. With a poorly animated first chapter, some novice seiyuu and low expectations from the creators read more
Mar 28, 2017
VirtuaSphere (All reviews)
Question: Should I watch Kemono Friends?

Answer: If you have any interest at all in Kemono Friends, then you should watch the first episode. If you get through the first episode and like it at all, or still have interest in the series, then you should watch the second episode. If you get through the second episode without dropping the series because it looks bad or seems too childish or simplistic, then you will have no trouble watching the whole thing, and let me tell you, the viewer who sticks around for the whole show is in for an absolute treat. Dig in read more
Mar 28, 2017
Googolplexbyte (All reviews)
Just watched the finale, it made me cry and I'm still crying half an hour later.

This show is clever, in its writing, in the way it strategically employed the scarce resources it had. in the way it uses it's setting to educate, in the way its plot development mirrors the development behind the show, in the way it builds intrigue and spurs discussion with its more subtle elements.

And it all does with a cute simple story and characters that anyone can love.

All this make the show great and promise a great future not just for the series itself but for the series it will inspire.
Apr 3, 2017
fufuf (All reviews)
Kemono Friends is the My Little Pony of anime. Both franchises exploded in popularity after their shows aired, notably gaining an audience of adults. When My Little Pony was popular, I couldn't understand bronies and what they saw in MLP. Today, I can't understand what people see in Kemono Friends.
The story is ridiculously simple. The main character, Kaban, travels around with Serval to different habitats and meet different friends along the way. The closest thing to an actual plot or goal is that at first the two of them are traveling to a library to learn what kind of animal Kaban is, but this gets read more
Mar 8, 2017
risbolla (All reviews)
Preliminary
i used to think anime as a medium had already shown me all it had to offer. after having watched kemono friends anime has once again taken me by surprise and shown me something i've never seen before. this series marks a paradigm shift for me and the way i look at anime has changed for ever. series i used to think were excellent pale in comparison and i've found new meaning in series i never cared for before.

kemono friends is an example of high culture anime. it's the purest form of the medium. it doesn't need the visuals, narrative, or soundtrack that other anime read more
Mar 28, 2017
triplefox (All reviews)
It's hard to write about Kemono Friends because it doesn't easily compare to anything else airing in 2017. It wears a proud low-budget aesthetic, and has no sakuga cuts, being a CG-only show - there are plenty of still shots, mistimed or absent lip flaps, reused poses and cycles, and unfinished-looking backgrounds. The studio is an unknown, and so are the voice actors. Despite this it has the trappings of being a major franchise, with a huge cast of characters, a solid adventure/mystery plot, and tasteful application of moe, with the additional wrinkle of plotting that shares some lineage with American cartoons and movies as read more
Mar 28, 2017
Lambda_Delta (All reviews)
Kemono Friends is a show that requires patience. It's maddening how well this show surpassed my expectations, in ways I could never expect.

Kemono Friends takes place on the island of Japari Park, which is subdivided into various areas based on geographic features such as the Savannah and Jungle for example. Our main characters Kaban-chan (a human to us, but a mysterious creature to the animals of Japari Park) and Serval-chan (a humanoid serval) travel through Japari Park in search of what kind of animal Kaban-chan is. On their journey, they encounter various anthropomorphic representations of animals in their respective habitats.

The anime is episodic in read more
Mar 28, 2017
carrotcub (All reviews)
"The real treasure is the friends made along the way." What is often said as a joke lies at the heart of what makes Kemono Friends so great.

Our heroines, Kaban and Serval are on a simple journey to find out what kind of animal Kaban is and meet other animals or "friends" along the way. We quickly see this story of "girl explores land filled with animal people with her animal companion" become so much more however.

We see Kaban go from having no memories to creating new ones to cherish. Serval finds a new best friend and the friends they meet on their journey are read more
Feb 23, 2017
SeraphP (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's only February, and we've already got anime of the year right here.

It's hard to explain why exactly this anime is so enjoyable. I, too, like you, was a hard skeptic after watching the first episode. But the more I watched the more entranced I got with the world of Japari Park. From the all-stars voice actor cast to the quirky and interesting characters, Kemono Friends is very subtle in what makes it good. It's no wonder the opening theme single charted #1 on anime titles on the oricon chart.

If after watching episode 1 you are utterly confused as to why this show has gained read more
Feb 23, 2017
SexyTree (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Where Am I?"
What's this? Why am I enjoying it so much? It looks terrible, if you take a still shoot from any scene it'd seem like it was a shitty CG art made by some random amateur. Maybe it's this world created with a very minimal population, the feeling of a fairly big enough environment where everyone has a happy life with happy events and happy friends but for some reason something seems to missing be, somehow there is a feeling of emptiness in this land of cute animal anime girls and microbiomes. There are big rivers with destroyed bridges, tall mountains with abandoned read more
Jul 7, 2017
LegendaryRQA (All reviews)
I really wanted to like Kemono Friends. I really did. After all; a show that manages to create a cult following strong enough to rekindle interest in Zoos must be doing something right. Though I have failed to figure out what that is, unfortunately...

At first glance, Kemono Friends looks like a cheaply made Slice of Life show with cute animal girls and little else to its merit; and although the people who coaxed me into watching this show would argue, it's basically exactly that. Kemono Friends has little to set it apart from the run of the mill "cute girls doing cute things" shows we read more
Mar 29, 2017
Stanxiety (All reviews)
I started to watch this series in an ironic manner, to laugh at the unusual, and quite frankly not that good animation as well as the cliche moe girls. But, as it turns out, the joke was on me. Because I'm LITERALLY A 19 YEAR OLD MAN, A NINETEEN YEAR OLD GROWN MAN, A FUCKING NINETEEN YEAR OLD MAN and Kemono Friends made me want to cry, it hit me so hard. The love that blossoms between Bag-chan and Subaru-chan is beyond this world, too pure to exist in this realm. There's no way to describe the wonderful friendships of this Japanese animation. Unlike the read more
Mar 10, 2017
Arcueid121 (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is my first review so I'll keep it short and give my honest impression of the show.
Well, the first episode if really slow and kinda painful to watch. I would've drop this how right away if it not because of the others review, and I really grateful I did not.
The story is simple yet really enjoyable (with some darker twist), the characters are cute and endearable, the voice-acting really support the character (my favorite line is of course: su~goi!, ta~noshi!), and the OP and ED is also suprisingly good. Well, we all hate the 3D CGI, but once you get used to it, you read more
Apr 1, 2017
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
Kemono Friends, or "The Importance of Giving A Shit."

How did Kemono Friends, a show that looks like "Nekopara" by way of "Buddy G, My Two Moms And Me" top the sales charts? How did a literal who studio beat out the likes of Trigger and KyoAni?

Because they cared.

Kemono Friends is a testament to the power of earnest effort. This is a children's educational show made on a shoestring budget, probably something in the vicinity of two dimes and some pocket lint, but where lesser teams would be content to throw in the towel and churn out a shitty product ("Who cares, it's for kids!"), this read more
Jan 17, 2018
HodginsIsBae (All reviews)
Spoiler-free review:

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by Kemono Friends. The first couple of episodes didn't grip me, but it grew on me the more I watched.

The story is kept fairly simple. Kaban and Serval set off on an adventure to the library to find out what kind of Friend Kaban is. Along the way we learn about Japari Park, its history and secrets, but not much. A lot is left out which will hopefully be covered in the upcoming season. Along the way we are also introduced to a superbly designed cast of characters. Every character somewhat resembles their respective animal while read more