Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Brotherhood: Final Fantasy XV


Alternative Titles

Japanese: BROTHERHOOD FINAL FANTASY XV

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 5
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 31, 2016 to Sep 18, 2016
Producers: Square Enix, RightTracks
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: Action
Duration: 14 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 29,865 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1656
Members: 54,642
Favorites: 131

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 20, 2016
Weinzel (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Brotherhood" is a form of prequel to the as of now still upcoming game Final Fantasy XV.
It's not a different form of telling the game's story, and therefor independent (sort of), but obviously held short, basically only long enough to spark interest for the game. It is not supposed to be a full length story anime.

The episodes focus mainly on the dynamics and friendship of the group and the bonds between the main character Prince Noctis and his companions.
Most episodes give insight on each character's backstory and purpose, doing greatly so.

Each episode feels complete, and even if you didn't like this or that read more
Sep 18, 2016
Kashmius (All reviews)
Brotherhood: Final Fantasy XV is a five episode short(special sixth episode limited to the special editions) that is supposed to be a treat for those like me who are anticipating the grand game. Now I have waited a decade for this beautiful game so seeing an animation short is pretty sweet. While I would like a full blown 25+ episode anime made for this game, I can see why this exists and its purpose. It's there to present the fans of the series who have been long anticipating this game to connect with the characters and build on them. The animation short does just that. read more
Oct 5, 2016
Gundroog (All reviews)
I went into this anime to mainly get a feel for the main company of characters and their dynamics and was kinda disappointed, kinda because it turned out to be what I expected.

The main cast consistent of very one-note characters and getting an episode to learn a bit more about them unfortunately doesn't change that since it adds very little aside from past details that become seemingly irrelevant in the grand scheme. Noct is a moody brat, Prompto is a cheerful bishounen, Ignis is a wet sponge and Gladiolus is a big guy who doesn't know how to wear a shirt. All of them read more
Sep 18, 2016
ArchStanton (All reviews)
I have to admit, given Final Fantasy's bad record of anime/3D animation adaptations I wasn't particularly excited about these shorts. But when I heard the minor buzz that they were actually better than they had any right to be I decided to give them a shot. And I'm glad I did. While Kingsglaive shows off the effects and action that Final Fantasy XV is capable of these shorts focus more on the characters. And that gives them a tremendous advantage. Each episode is focused on a different character, apart from episode one which establishes the basics of their relationships. These shorts are only about fifteen read more
Sep 18, 2016
Papikari (All reviews)
I really enjoyed these shorts. While I have some things to critique, overall they exceeded my expectations (by far) and served their purpose (i.e. got my hyped for the game).
The story is what you would expect from a FF game/spin-off (or prequel, in this case)--but in my opinion, I personally like this story more than others from preceding games. It has a uniqueness I can't quite delineate--in fact, it might just be Noct as a character that draws me in, as opposed to, say, Tidus (lol citing basically the only other FF game I've invested any sort of time into). Despite the subtle cliché basis read more
Oct 4, 2018
Iamkingdomhearts (All reviews)
"...The bond between friends is strong but the bond between brothers? even stronger..."

Noctis Lucis Caelum, Gladiolus Amicitia, Prompto Argentum, Ignis Stupeo Scientia.

The Versus Epic expands even deeper into the world of Final Fantasy XV by exploring the relationships between these four young men and divulging into their respective pasts, to discover what makes them stronger in brotherhood when they do not share blood to begin with? ...

Noctis, the crown prince of Insomnia is sent away by his father, the current king Regis alongside his three vassals to rendezvous with Noctis' lovely and beautiful bride to be, the Oracle Lunafreya Nox Fleuret in the grand city read more
Jul 20, 2018
Darkseedzero (All reviews)
This is my first review ever, and I'd like to first say I'm an avid Anime watcher with relatively high expectations. I also don't like writing long reviews so:

I had a blast watching this! 5 episodes of character development and insight into the lives of FFXV characters (btw i have yet to even play the game).
I'm more pumped to play than ever! Story was great, art is amazing, sound is....sound.

...it sounds! It does its thing.

Characters were incredible in my opinion (favorite is Pronto's story!).
It was just incredible in general!


LONG VERSION NEW GAME PLUS!?
SO apparently i need a word count for this review to process read more
Dec 29, 2016
AtomicQueen (All reviews)
Brotherhood serves as a prequel to the video game Final Fantasy XV and gives some insight on the characters that had to be cut from the video game itself. It does well in what it sets out to do, which is to serve as a supplement to the game.

Story: 5/10 Mediocre

The central plot itself isn't very exciting, Noctis is to be married as some sort of peace agreement with Niflheim and must go on a long road trip to meet up with his bride so they can protect the fate of the world. The majority of screentime is devoted to banter and bromantic moments read more
Dec 7, 2016
seekr12 (All reviews)
I guess this was a serviceable little show. I'm deep into FFXV now and I heard this series gives you a greater appreciation for the characters. Basically, it goes into some little vignettes in the past about each member of the party, but it doesn't really show anything major. Prompto loses weight as a kid, Gladiolus gains respect in training Noctis, Ignis gains respect in taking care of Noctis, Noctis gets revenge on a lamia thing that killed his mom. Out of the four, Noctis' story is the most interesting as something of consequence actually happens. It would have been cool to see further into read more
Jan 26, 2019
Nlochoco (All reviews)
This series of Final Fantasy sounds like a rip off rather than an actual game.
The story, which is the core of every Final Fantasy media is not well written at all. These free episodes were just an excuse for the bad story telling, and not only the didn't fix the story, they just made it look even more plain. The character interactions are nothing like the previous series, Noctis and his friends are like complete strangers to each other. That gives me an uncomfortable feeling like they're forced to be together. I know that this is a tragic story but where are the emotions? read more