Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2202: Ai no Senshi-tachi


Star Blazers: Space Battleship Yamato 2202

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Star Blazers: Space Battleship Yamato 2202
Japanese: 宇宙戦艦ヤマト2202 愛の戦士たち

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 25, 2017 to Mar 1, 2019
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Xebec
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 36793,679 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9442
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3813
Members: 16,376
Favorites: 60
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 1, 2019
solidbatman1 (All reviews)
As the credits finally began to roll for the last time of Yamato 2202 and Yamato Yori ai wo Komete played, I felt a sense of relief that this dreadful re-imagining of the 1978 Space Battleship Yamato II had reached its ill fated conclusion. I had gone into 2202 with incredibly high hopes after the spectacular Space Battleship Yamato 2199 introduced me to this wonderful universe. After completing 2199, I went back and watched nearly every single Yamato series and movie (season 3 is the sole exception here with no decent subtitles existing to my knowledge) I could get my hands on, eager to immerse read more
Jun 23, 2019
Akira_Zion_ (All reviews)
Yamato 2199 was great, but not perfect: though it lacked action, the pacing could be better and Desler was way worse than his counterparts in all versions and remakes of the original anime (except his counterpart in the 2010 live-action), the character development and animation, alongside the spectacular soundtrack remade by Akira Miyagawa, the son of Hiroshi Miyagawa, the original composer of the OSTs, plot and dialog, made 2199 a great space opera and remake of the original.

As a result, 2202 was expected to be even greater, bigger and better than 2199, given how great its precursor was and how amazing the original material is. read more
May 11, 2019
toomuchfloof (All reviews)
*I wrote this review having seen the first half of the show. I still hold the opinion that 2022 focuses more on the things I found interesting in 2199, although unfortunately 2022 similarly fell apart in the final act. Considering I never held 2199 in that high of regard, this could have impacted my preference for this season.

Space Battleship Yamato 2022 is in nearly every way a vast improvement of Yamato 2199.

The first two episodes of Yamato 2199 presented such a stylized visual narrative with infatuating sentimentality. The rest of the show provided this, but the writing completely fell off. The character read more
May 28, 2019
kokuborou (All reviews)
Astounding message delievered from this show...Every inch and emotion in my body shivered through these 26 episodes. If you are gonna watch season 2 be prepared for a ride of joy, enjoyment, emotions and some brilliant moments.

Earth again faces a new crisis and our old crew from Yamato must once again embark on a journey in the distant universe to assure a future for Earth. Each encounter and fight holds a meaning and this season gives a lesson to its viewers about the mistakes that our characters did and shows us their path to clear them and make the right choices for their future.

The read more
Sep 18, 2018
MadaoPriest (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I recently finished this show, I felt it was time to give it some love through a small review. This show surprised me in a good way, especially considering the fact that it's based on what's considered one of the best pieces of media in the SBY franchise (Farewell Yamato, and by extension SBY 2).

The core theme of love, signified by the under-title "Soldiers of Love" is brought to life through use of clever directing tricks, an expanded scope granted to the writing of this world (Considering Gamillas survival in 2199 and some other changes from the source, this was an inevitability) by read more
Aug 9, 2018
valarclan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a Masterful recreation and EXPANSION on the original Anime series that started the Whole Anime craze we have seen since the 70. The second season in the original series was even better than the first.

The deviation from the original story is by far superior planning, and well executed.

The American voice actors on Funimation are not as dead on as I would hope. For one the Captain sounds a LOT more grizzled in Japanese. In the American actor choice you have someone sounding young.

Now the vast increase of firepower and the extensive explanation, all inter tied in is well read more
Feb 3, 2020
Hammond (All reviews)
I think the best way to describe Yamato 2202 is, unfortunate.

After thinking about this for a long, long time I've finally realized why the episodes with the space battles were my favorite. It's because they're the best part of 2202. Space battles on this scale and activity are rare and I love it for that. I can even forgive the Super Space Battleship Yamato, even though more advanced ships that are superior in every way are available this ship for some reason is special. Yes, it's the mascot of the series but having to constantly believe that through the sheer skill and/or tenacity of read more
Jul 6, 2018
CreeperLava (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since there's just no positive review here, I decided to add my own. It will be short and to the point.

Overall, I'm satisfied by the first 14 episodes of Yamato 2202. It's a good space opera, and I enjoyed watching it. But, I wasn't as thrilled as when I watched Yamato 2199.

The use of 3D to animate battles with thousands of ships is fairly well done as to not become too distracting, but not perfect. The rest of the art is very good.

The music could be called a remix of 2199's. The general themes remain the same, with variations on the instruments.

It has its interesting read more
Dec 29, 2019
TTeera__ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Slight spoilers... But if you are brave enough go ahead.

OK lets start with the positives! Personally I think the animation is quite good as I could clearly see more than sufficient details especially in space battles and the background was nice as well. For the story, it kept me hooked as I literally finished the series in a day without getting bored. The sound was good, I think the music matched the scenes. Overall I enjoyed Uchuu Senkan Yamato and I give it a 6 out of 10.

However in my humble opinion the characters especially Kodai was not refined well. I feel that read more