Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans 2nd Season
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans 2nd Season, G-Tekketsu 2nd Season
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダム 鉄血のオルフェンズ 第2期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2016 to Apr 2, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 16,738 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1566
Members: 37,828
Favorites: 427

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 2, 2017
Webemperor (All reviews)
Gundam Iron-Blooded Orphans is the story of a show that tries to achieve so much in a fairly long time, and somehow manages to fall face flat on earth in everyway imaginable.

Second Season starts roughly a few years from when the first season ended. And it carries on the same problems the first season had.

Story itself largely follows McGillis' machinations as he, and later on, Tekkadan, as they look to change the world and make a better one for themselves. In itself this plotline is not particularly bad. The show however, multiple times, takes too long to come to any point, and regularly writes itself read more
Jan 11, 2017
AK25 (All reviews)
Preliminary
G-Tekketsu is boring and sappy.

(At the time of writing, the second season is 11 episodes in.)

The more the series progresses the more it tries to victimize the Tekkadan as people who are being used by everyone around them, there are no decent adults who are genuinely their ally except Naze who has placed an unusual level of faith towards them just as McGillis does. The problem with no other adult being a decent human being is that it becomes hard to want to see the story from another perspective because the only thing you are going to get is a person fueled by greed. It's read more
Apr 2, 2017
generalcdj (All reviews)
So we've finally reached the end of the ride, and what a ride it has been. IBO disappointed many fans early on due to the fact that (1) it isn't crossbone, (2) it is somewhat different from all the other gundam series and (3) it has no "waifu" as some of my mates have pointed out.
That being said, what IBO is full of is tear jerking moments, a few twists and turns which depending on your experience you may be able to predict, and lots and lots of deaths. As usual the ops, eds and osts are very good, and unlike clannad's ones read more
Apr 6, 2017
crimson1800 (All reviews)
A de-railed steam train which desperately burnt it's somewhat impressive coal stash just to move an inch.

I assume everyone reading this has prior knowledge on Gundam Iron Blooded Orphans season 1. So turn away if you don't want to be spoiled.

To start with the good. The soundtrack, amazing as always. Blends in flawlessly with the battle scenes, simply outstanding. Considering it's a work of Yokoyama Masaru, the man behind the soundtrack of Your Lie in April, Plastic Memories, this man knows how to capture your attention and evoke emotions. The sound design is also amazing with clashes of metal and projectiles impacting the mobile suits read more
Apr 2, 2017
yohnesval11 (All reviews)
"There's no pure evil and there's no pure good in this world. The good and evil just a matter of perspective."

Sorry if my english were bad ^_^

Iron Blooded Orphans Season 2 (IBO S2) has already surpass my expectation. I have watched Gundam since Wing until today (IBO S2). Sometimes, i'll go to the classic one (Gundam, Zeta, ZZ, G-Gundam). But, this series really exceed my expectation. Gundam series didn't just about someone piloting giant robots fight and kill each other. There's always a deep moral value in every series, the political aspect, drama, and conflict around the main protagonist as the main dish of Gundam read more
Mar 12, 2017
PhokingWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay so basically Gundam:Iron blooded orphans was pretty good, but Iron blooded orphans season 2? Now thats just terrible AND I MEAN TERRIBLE, first off we gundam lovers watch gundam for the action and romance right? And the action being the main gundam guy slaughtering 1000000000 movile suits in a blink of a eye with eye appealing effects and slicing and dicing and gun firing explosions, well dont expect any of that in this anime because there are fights but like its 1 overpowered gundam with 1 mobile suit with the power equivilent to a gundam with 10 mobiles suits and a annoying ass enemy read more
Feb 24, 2017
TriSetyo (All reviews)
Preliminary
First: Sorry for my bad english.

When uru's ending comes out, omg this anime goes fly to the sky.
almost cry in every end of this anime.

Story : 10
The story was outstanding, imagine you are orga who's gonna save his family with all those burden in your shoulder's.
you lose your brother's, sister's, and you don't know where to go.

Art : 9
The art was good after all.
And those battle scene was sooo "satisfying", especially when mika take screen.

Sound : 10
okay Sounds, the sound was good with all those opening and ending, especially those uru's song cry, cry, cry...

Character : 9
How sunrise put the antagonist and protagonist character was read more
Mar 23, 2017
Septillion (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL; DR IBO S2 is disappointing.

The second season of Iron-Blooded Orphans is a disjointed sequel that is disappointing to say the least. None of the emotional weight that the first season carried managed to make its weight into the second season. Rather than being a meaningful continuation of a remarkable series, IBO S2 ends up becoming a predictable series that at times can almost seem like a chore to watch.

My biggest complaint would be the show’s attempts to generate an emotional response. In the first season, the audience was introduced to a group of battle-hardened child soldiers bent on forging their own path. And like read more
Apr 2, 2017
Kvasir369 (All reviews)
Gundam Ironblooded Orphans was a great entry into the Gundam Franchise after the last few failures. It felt more grounded in reality, with protagonists that we could empathize with. Everything about the series was great. The story was good, a bunch of child soldiers struggling to make a living and better life for themselves. The art was mostly crisp, the sound was excellent, and I greatly enjoyed it.

However, without wishing to spoil, the ending is bittersweet as hell and possibly the most bitter ending in Gundam because of how the writing got screwed up around the middle of the second season. What happens knocks the read more
Mar 15, 2017
HitagiSenjou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before writing this review, i'd need to clarify some information regarding my standpoint as an audience: A
1. This is my FIRST Gundam. So i can't really tell the different between the art and the story between this and the previous gundams. So don't expect something like "This is the best/worst gundam ever out of me". ALSO, if you learned enough Psychology you'd know that human has tendency to have emotional attachment to the FIRST VERSION of something that they LIKE/LOVE. For example, if you listened to Michael Buble's Home FIRST and loved it, you would not like West Life's version as much. The same logic read more
May 1, 2017
camay1997 (All reviews)
Let me say right from the get go, that if you like emo teens piloting the gundam, this isn’t the series for you. If you abhor on screen death, then this isn’t the series for you. If you want a gundam series that encapsulates everything we loved about Universal Century gundam then this IS the series for you. If you're looking for an intro into this thing called gundam but don’t know where to begin, this is the series for you. IBO has everything that we love about universal century gundam without the emo teens and child friendliness of the newer, alternate universe gundam series. read more
Apr 2, 2017
mostafa1996taha (All reviews)
let me begin with just not understanding how stupid can some people in anime community be ...
writing a review just to state some false statement and easily get supported by people ah how amusing..
first of all this series is one of the best gundam serieses out there (speaking as someone that watched almost every single mecha anime out since the 2006)

Story?
good enough for being a gundam story that includes drama , action a little bit of romance ... even though there was some moments that may anger/sadden some people but as long as it gives you emotion , it did well.. they excuted read more
Apr 2, 2017
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
In the year 1947, over 1700 middle school aged boys were drafted into the Japanese Military to fight the Pacific War. They were given inadequate equipment and little training, predictably leading to mass slaughter without understanding what they were even fighting for. Their deaths were not worthless however, helping to inspire laws against child slavery and serve as an eternal testament to the horrors of war.

This group was named the Tekketsu Kinnōtai - Blood and Iron. Seventy years later Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans is a tribute to those fallen soldiers and a more heroic outcome, even if no less brutal.

Picking up where the previous read more
Apr 9, 2017
Shksbr (All reviews)
Hey guys,
so this is my first review on MAL and it has to be for Iron-Blooded Orphans. I haven't seen any other Gundam Anime so I am kinda a noob when it comes to the universe and I can't really compare it to others of this series. Please remember that this is my personal opinion but goddamn.. that anime was great!

Great music, awesome characters, really loved the artstyle and the story... ugh!

Iron-Blooded Orphans was a rollercoaster ride most of the time. I was shedding tears in this anime, thrilled by actions, had goosebumps during the fighting scenes which were so fucking epic. Holy shit.
The read more
Apr 4, 2017
ArondightDestiny (All reviews)
Gundam is a war drama. A drama being exactly what you expect it to be, a drama. Characters are put into very dramatic situations while feeling the pressure of adult hood and tragedy weighing them down to the point of breaking. People don't watch drama to have fun, they watch it for an interesting story full of twists and turns that shatter your expectations. Mix is with war and you have some heavy drama coming your way. That is exactly what the most recent Gundam Franchise is all about.

As a great fan of the Gundam Franchise I can safely say that IBO as a read more
Apr 2, 2017
electroslag (All reviews)
Do NOT watch this anime if you want a fun shounen anime with clear "good" v "evil" factions who fight on equal terms.

This show was a fairly realistic portrayal of what would happen if a gang of murderous child soldiers tried to overthrow the government. The characters are complex and likable. My main complaint is with the character Juliet who seems like she could have been a lot more interesting, but was kind of neglected by the writers. Her character growth is very subtle and mostly happens in the final episode.

The overall vibe is much more of a mafia-style than the traditional gundam rebels vs. read more
Apr 2, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
In this second series of Iron-Blooded Orphans (which I'll refer to as IBO for the remainder of this review), Tekkadan serve as bodyguards to a new organization created by Kudelia to help restore the independence of Mars while also contending with the remnants of Gjallarhorn, when the military organization's credibility to the masses became damaged following the events of the first series. However as the series progresses, multiple parties are able to exploit Tekkadan's brutal reputation on the battlefield to decredit them and cause things to go on a downward spiral for the group as the series progresses.

IBO's second season will perhaps become remembered in read more
Jun 9, 2017
Mykeez (All reviews)
Not spoiler free so...

Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans is the third Gundam series I have watched after Seed and 00, and as much as I have only watched two, I got the "gist" of the franchise's different plots for its series. But boy was I surprised with this one.

Let me start off with the story. The complexity of it aside, it's basically another anime about an overpowered protagonist and a selfless man of dreams. We'd usually get the two in the same package but the creator/s decided to make a team of two this time. From start to finish, the anime's plot was an read more
Jun 5, 2017
gumball (All reviews)
Have you watched Iron-Blooded Orphans season 1? If the answer is yes then stop right there. Do not subject yourself to the pain and agony that is season 2.
In my many many years of watching anime rarely if ever have I been so insanely disappointed before.

Season 1 builds you up. Gives you hope. Screams a clear message. You can make something of yourself even if you've had a shitty life. It gives you hope.
Season 2 takes it all away in the dumbest way imaginable.
Basicly the creators of season 2 has a message for you. The world is unfair, unjust, corrupt and shit. Anyone who tries read more
Apr 30, 2017
sneg (All reviews)
When I look back at Iron-Blooded Orphans, for me the outstanding value of this series is definitely the story line. Mainly it is a story about a struggle but it is also a story about revenge, about sacrifice, about pursuing one's dream and never losing sight of what's important. The story is definitely one of the grittier ones, particularly in the mecha genre. Expect tragedy, expect disappointment and difficult situations - the world of Iron-Blooded Orphans is tough, unforgiving and full of people trying to take advantage our protagonists. The anime does offer some suspense relief through light-hearted humour but I personally had an ominous read more