Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume


Scorching Ping Pong Girls

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Scorching Ping Pong Girls
Japanese: 灼熱の卓球娘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2016 to Dec 20, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: Web manga
Genre: SportsSports
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 1573515,735 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #34062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2825
Members: 38,778
Favorites: 134

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 20, 2016
overlyotaku (All reviews)
A pleasant surprise. After marathoning the whole series in a night, I have to say I really enjoyed myself. The characters are all fun and have their own little quirks. I felt they went together in the series well. The show is pretty much all about ping pong too, hardly any filler at all. Surprisingly little fanservice too, considering it's full of girls getting sweaty and moving around a bunch. I was actually hooked on the dramatic moments in each episode, and never felt like fanservice was being crammed down my throat for the sake of selling a product. Not a masterpiece, but worth your read more
Dec 19, 2016
Tozzy (All reviews)
Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume (Scorching Ping Pong Girls) is a textbook case of 'I should have known better'. This anime from studio Kinema Citrus - following the trials and tribulations of a middle school girls table tennis team - had the potential to be an interesting experience but the warning signs were there from the opening episodes. What unfolded was a by-the-numbers moe-sports hybrid. You've seen this before: New girl has skill, makes number one player jealous and the pair work hard to overcome their faults and step up their game. Is there at least interesting characters or twists to the story to make read more
Dec 19, 2016
RoryBurrows (All reviews)
Simple; yet thrilling, vivid enough for me to be addicted to this series. There are many ways I can express my love for this underrated gem of an anime. I never thought an anime such as this let alone a sports anime would give me this much enjoyment. I'm not a sporty type of person so I tend to avoid sports centred anime but I'm glad I watched this and watched it all the way through.

This anime is as I've mentioned before simplistic, it's a show about girls playing ping pong, no more and no less. It plays out like a typical sports themed show read more
Dec 19, 2016
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
The idea of putting moe girls in a competitive environment is not anything new to the world of anime. It is something which has been pulled off with great success in the past in shows like Saki for example, and in general I think it adds a nice touch to the otherwise somewhat formulaic sports genre of anime. Following a similar idea, Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume is a surprisingly engaging series which keeps you coming back for more. However, although it exceeds expectations in some areas, it also comes across as rather frustrating or awkward in others. It is the kind of show which I read more
Dec 19, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Confession time. I have to admit, when I first heard of the anime adaptation about this series, I paused and thought “girls playing ping pong…what can be so exciting about this?” Coming into this show, my expectations were rather low. I didn’t read much of the original source material either so venturing into this series is like walking into the world of the unknown.

As H.P. Lovecraft once said:
“The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown”.

Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an over exaggeration. However, what this show ended up being read more
Dec 22, 2016
VirtuaSphere (All reviews)
Is Scorching Ping Pong Girls an enjoyable anime? I answer that question with a definite yes.

Story-wise, art-wise, character-wise, Scorching Ping Pong Girls may not offer anything far above your average anime, yet I had more fun watching this than any other anime this season. The reason? Simply put, the tone of the series.

While from first look you might assume that Scorching Ping Pong Girls is a moe series; that you would watch it, say "That's so cute," maybe even have a few laughs from some cheerful comedy bits, and then walk away after a relaxing time, what the series actually offers is a read more
Jan 4, 2017
Iint (All reviews)
Preliminary
MY HEART WAS RACING THE ENTIRE TIME DOKI DOKI
HMMMMMM
art is rare
but this is art
better than ping pong the animation
akari is the new smile
if i could go to nationals with these girls I would train very hard to do it

The story didn't get so far, but for how far it got it was great!

Sound was great, such high quality! OST made me cry when paired up with day to day interactions like walking my dog.

Characters all worked hard and developed a lot along the way!

I enjoyed this anime!

over I enjoyed this anime! Personally, I would say it's the death note of its genre.

cons
knees
Dec 21, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
Table tennis is fun. But I think these girls are having a little too much fun...

Story:
A new student joins the table tennis club and teaches everybody the joy of table tennis. Later on, they play the table tennis club of another school. This is sports anime 101. But the way it is presented here is cute and entertaining, which makes it work well. The games aren't very thrilling, but they are interesting and short.
7/10

Art:
I hope you like moe, because this anime is very cutesy and colorful. Some of the animations during the matches are in a realistic style, which looks awesome. Other times, they have read more
Dec 19, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Saki meets Ping Pong!...no seriously.

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume at first might look like your average "cute girls doing cute things" just add ping pong to the mix, but for what Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume shows in the foreground, Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume shows ALOT more in it's background than you realize.

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume focuses on Koyori Tsumujikaze voiced by Yumiri Hanamori, a shy transfer student who joins Suzumegahara's ping pong club, naturally we quickly realizes that Koyori is an amazing table tennis player even rivaling the best player of the club Agari Kamiya voiced by Minami Tanaka, later on the Suzumegahara ping pong club read more
Feb 2, 2017
ZawtheCore (All reviews)
This anime is sweet, innocent and lovely. However, when they are having fun playing their little ping-pong, their herat races and they blush extremely much (basically ahegao)
It's recommend if you have some spare time on your hands.
Its pacing is a bit too fast for me - However, if you like fast pacing, pingpong, sports and girls whose hair colours are vivid, watch this.

The art style is nice and "conventional." If you enjoy this, you might get left wanting more.

(Nothing compared to Ping Pong the animation - You can't compare them.)

Character: 4 - boring, plain and simple characters who are pretty.. as I said, mundane. read more
Oct 18, 2017
DeadRobots (All reviews)
So this show really could have been great, And I really did want it to be. Unfortunately it just couldn't come together properly.

The pacing of the plot which is little more than generic is extremely questionable, rushing through the season and the first arc to end two episodes into the second arc. This doesn't make sense from the idea of a single season or from a sequel as you would want the sequel to be the start of the new arc and vice versa. They really could have dragged out the arc more and added more character development instead of trying to churn the read more
Jun 28, 2017
HybRidChrome (All reviews)
One light-hearted anime filled with mini-adventures about ping-pong that I found myself enjoying every week of its short run. This anime helped catch the interest of other friends and cousins that I teach table tennis to because of it's appealing effects, and served as a good weekly break show. The anime shows off the exciting features of the sport as well, like its fast paced matches and the different play styles associated with the different unique equipment, all in a light manner. If you're looking for a deep story with long conflict and fully developed characters with serious backstories, this may not be the anime read more
Feb 9, 2017
Cenobiaqtpie (All reviews)
This show was very relaxing and easy to get into from the get go, I found it to really be a "feel good" anime with your generic characterizations and simplistic story.

Story: 4
the story is very simplistic as it always is for sports anime, they set a goal to make it to nationals and we watch them slowly achieve that goal over time,
comparing it to a better animation (Ping Pong the animation) the story pales in comparison


Art: 4
The art is decent during ping pong matches it shows they used a good portion of their budget on it but as for the off ping pong matches, read more
Dec 20, 2016
Pazzini (All reviews)
If you want a good hobby, Shakunetsu on Takkyu Musume is the perfect anime for you. The 24 minutes of each episode passes without you noticing and when you realize it already is hoping that the next episode will come soon. It was really surprising how much the anime managed to arrest me, being that I just got to watch with curiosity and already thought about dropping soon in the first episode. It turns out that the chronology of the anime is very simple, it is basically a girl who has just transferred from school and loves table tennis, and there, she makes new friends read more
May 8, 2019
nugen_exe (All reviews)
I play a little bit of table tennis, and a few other sports, and usually sports anime resonate well with me. For some reason though, I found this to be pretty mediocre. There was little excitement, but I can't wait to watch Ping Pong the Animation.

I like the characters. They a vivid and lively. They are all unique, which in the case of a non serious anime, makes it's all the more fun to watch.

Sometimes, the animation was amazing, especially in episode 1, which tricked me into watching it. It's not amazing compared to all other anime, but was amazing in the sense that there read more
Sep 20, 2018
squashem (All reviews)
So this show how to put it, it's not the most outstanding anime, typical animation, moe style anime but worth a watch.

The story is somewhat typical a girl joins a club for table tennis and turns out to have a skill with it. She slowly improves and joins the team to help win tournaments, nothing too special there. Characters as well are standard school girl anime.

What does give this show some redemption is the animation. The animation does come through in some of the tense ping pong matches which if you do like some sports anime or even something competitive can get you gripped. read more
Apr 20, 2021
mamteo (All reviews)
One of the most underrated sports anime

When I was scrolling through the Crunchyroll catalog, Scorching Ping-Pong Girl’s caught my eye, and I'm still glad I started it.

Premise of the show:
Suzumegaha Middle School has a mediocre table tennis team where no player has ever made it past the quarterfinals of the city tournament. One day, a new student named Koyori shows up who loves table tennis and will change the club. On her journey she finds new friends with whom she can play table tennis, but also makes enemies.

Characters:

Koyori Tsumujikaze is the new shy transfer student who joins Suzumegahara Middle School's table tennis club.
She loves table read more
Aug 30, 2021
RESOLVING_POWER (All reviews)
I watched Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume. Here are my thoughts:

Really fun series. Puts a smile on my face. I really enjoyed watching this.

Great direction, both on-court and off-court. The ping pong matches are engaging and fun to watch, and the off-court drama is well executed. The great direction is a major positive in my view.

Decent soundtrack. Decent overall audio production.

Cute characters. Cute character interactions. Good chemistry among the cast.

Decent character development, particularly for a single-cour sports anime with a somewhat large cast.

Animation is unremarkable with occasional poor-quality moments, but this is no big deal to me. CGI is used briefly during some of the matches. read more