Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru


Alternative Titles

English: Touken Ranbu - Hanamaru
Japanese: 刀剣乱舞-花丸-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2016 to Dec 19, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.881 (scored by 1226912,269 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1735
Members: 58,125
Favorites: 411

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 27, 2016
okyalllistenup (All reviews)
Preliminary
okay okay okay....before people start bashing on this anime and calling it "yaoi-try hards", remember that this is from a game, Touken Ranbu, which has no storyline at all. (and theyre also getting another anime in 2017 which is gonna be animated by ufotable, so yall better calm youre horses)
If you wanna know what the game is about, please check the wiki. Its a great game, 10/10, very addictive.
There are a lot of references from the game, especially the jokes, which non-players of tourabu would not understand. Therefore, if you wanna have the full blown experience of tears and laughter and stress from watching read more
Oct 31, 2016
tumbleweeds (All reviews)
Preliminary
HA I cant believe people watched the anime for the "time-travel" stuff and all, thats hilarious. seriously, please dont watch the anime if you watched this for the time travelling concept, if you have never played the game, or if you have no knowledge about the characters at all. well, if you do watch the anime without playing the game, that will lead to lots of negative comments, boredom, and hate. And I could say that thats the problem right now.
Firstly, just play the game. Ive been hearing a lot of complaints and whining like, "omg is this yaoi" "where is the time travelling" "why read more
Dec 20, 2016
kurootetsuroo (All reviews)
Protip: don't start watching this if you don't know anything about touken ranbu.
Protip2: watch it immediately if you're a saniwa

Reason? In short, you're most probably not going to enjoy it. In long, this anime obviously assumes that the watcher is familiar with either the characters or the concept of tkrb. It is too short to properly explain anything and half of each episode is dedicated to a different character. Needless to say, character development in ten minutes? I don't think so.

But the thing is, I've played the game ever since it came out so all the swords are very dear to me. Seeing them being read more
Oct 31, 2016
sabakunoichigo (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching 5 episodes,I think this anime is mainly for people who already have some knowledge of the universe and characters of the game.
I know a bunch of them so I like it enough to want to see the next episodes.
I really like every time a new sword comes, its a funny anime in my opinion.

Something that I first found a bit disappointing is that there is two "main" characters, Kashuu and Yasusada, but after the firsts episodes they don't take too much screen time.

The art and colours are really pleasing.
The only point that bothers me is the eye showing through the hair of read more
Feb 11, 2017
starmelt (All reviews)
For starters, I have never played Touken Ranbu. So this review is based entirely on the anime. I strongly believe that if you need knowledge of the source material in order to enjoy an anime, then it has failed to be a good adaptation.

However, despite not playing the game, I still really enjoyed Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru.

I learned a term recently, that I think really describes Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru. "Cute boys doing cute things." Much like K On! is a "cute girls doing cute things" type of show. The plot of Hanamaru is not important, and never was meant to be.

Hanamaru is meant to be pure read more
Dec 26, 2016
ReikaUchiha (All reviews)
I think that the low score of this anime lies to the fact that it refers to a small amount of people.

Not many understand the value of a peaceful, chilling anime. On the contrary, they seek action, romance, violence etc.

It may be based on history, but you don't really need to know anything,it's very easy to follow.

There is gentle comedy going on, pretty often, and it makes you laugh because of the naive, sweet humor.

The art is simple but beautiful, there is no intense drama or tension, and the script is minimalistic and relaxing.

I am impressed by the huge number of characters, and read more
Nov 14, 2016
Sonalisa (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE : my first review - English is not my mother language =)

Story :
On contrary to what I expected I really love this anime . It shows exactly what I was thinking and imagining when i was playing the game. How Hasabe is my assistant ( me = the master ) , how the work is divided between the swords ( the characters ) . I also love their daily life , how their personalities are exactly the same from the game, and how they really care about their master. I get really excited when a new sword come and their reaction towards it. I read more
Nov 26, 2016
LadyShotaCon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fellow Saniwa here. I just wanted to make this clear: just because it is an adaptation of a game, it doesn't mean it has to be shitty for newcomers who watches it without having played the game. Let me repeat: it shouldn't be necessary to play the game to enjoy the show. Don't try to pretend that the show delivers anything well.

The show is quite pathetic in appealing to the people who haven't played the game in several ways. They don't develop any characters; they are only busy adding more to the plot. I can understand that this read more
Nov 12, 2016
ShimizuMieko (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before anyone criticize this anime, make sure you have played the game before, or else you would really be confused and bored while watching. This anime is for those who already knew who the characters are, what their backgrounds are, and what they are like. Really, stop whining and just start playing the game first. It really is an addicting game and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

So, moving on. The art is really good though some may find the animation of the fight scenes not as great as the others. The soundtracks are enjoyable, and I love the concept of each characters that are focused read more
Dec 25, 2016
Rio_ (All reviews)
NOTE :
- I'm not played the game yet so i can write this review more objectively
- My score above is based on my enjoyement, it will be different in my review below
-This anime are absolutely made for fans of the game.

Before you decided to pick this show, what are you expected for this??? Epic plotline, action battle, characters developent?? If you want to get that, i think you shouldn't try this series since this anime had none with that or at least very decent amount.


Story :
Story is almost nothing.The synopsis says :"The "historical revisionists" have begun attacks on the past read more
Feb 16, 2019
kono_baka (All reviews)
Here is my take on this: Touken Ranbu Hanamaru is not meant to be an "adaptation of the game," it is meant to be a gift to the game players.

People who give low score are mostly people who haven't played the game, which in fact does prove my point. You just gotta admit that you are not the target audience of this anime. And yes, anime is allowed to have a specific target audience. A good anime does not have to please everyone.

Why do I say this series is a "gift" to the game players? Because if you have ever played this game, read more
Nov 1, 2016
Clio_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of episode 5 I believe that this is the best review of the show that I can give at this time and will probably rewrite my review when the whole show is completed.

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru is a contextual piece of anime that exists for the sole purpose of fleshing out some of the more beloved characters in the Touken Ranbu universe. Most of the 20 minute episodes are divided into two 10 minute segments focusing on different characters or a different topic in the show and the show itself does NOT focus on the sharp action and battles that the game can speak read more
Nov 3, 2016
Archdaine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Still only watched for 5 episodes, so my opinions may change later on.

If you guys watched Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru simply because "Hey, there is a time travel element on it! Might be interesting to watch!", then don't.

Remember, they already repeated this line in each episode and even in their web:
"This anime is about a certain Citadel and certain Sword Warriors in the cheerful daily lives."
So, non-Touken Ranbu fans will probably have a hard time liking it.

Story: 8
Well, personally up until now I find the story not too bad. Being a daily lives anime, it doesn't have any specific goals or anything. But I think read more
Nov 13, 2017
redhope (All reviews)
Okay I get why this anime has such a low overall score, the reason is because many people bash these kind of shows for now reason. If it isn't about cute lolis or a dumb main male character who has a harem of 20 big boob ladies then the majority of the anime community will bash it because they are just salty. Also most people don't understand that this anime is adapted from a game!!! And it did an extremely good job adapting from that game!! So simple try playing the game before watching this you will get more enjoyment out of it promise! Also read more
Apr 3, 2018
C1nd (All reviews)
Genius idea having human swords and the experiences they go through. Also very impressed the creators made an awesome anime from a game, a good if unconventional reason to be impressed with something.

The series greatest strength are the many characters of which I'm sure people will like based on looks, oh and there's awesome fight scenes too, what's not to love.

Very good interactions as well, I assume they're based on the game so some people have their own groups but still cool seeing which people in different era's interact, overall has a real nice vibe about it which is always handy in an anime. read more
Mar 11, 2018
AndroidRoberts (All reviews)
I'm just going to start off by saying that I have never played the game this is based off of and probably never will. If you are in the same boat, then I would recommend that you don't even try to watch this. I honestly would have dropped it pretty early on if I didn't need to complete it for a MAL challenge. It's obvious that this show was made solely for fans of the game and they don't really even try to make it appealing to other viewers. As a newcomer to the franchise, these are my thoughts of the show based solely on read more
Dec 17, 2017
CrimsonAngel113 (All reviews)
This is a short anime I found really enjoyable. At the beginning, I found it confusing but after looking into the details and plot of the game it is based off, it was easy to understand the gist of it. Touken Ranbu Hanamaru focuses on the daily lives of a bunch of sword boys and how they interact with each other. This anime just shows the viewers what happens in their daily lives - something not seen much in the game.

The amount of characters and trying to remember all of their names was a challenge though, as most has long and complicated names, but after read more
Jul 28, 2019
agreengrass (All reviews)
I feel like there could be an amazing anime under all of this. Listen I LOVE slice of life and scenes of this did make me giggle. The blue bird bit made me have to pause the show because I couldn't stop laughing. But what I wanted more of was the little bits of drama we saw. I want more of them dealing with their pasts and their emotions. SPOILERS AHEAD: When he saw his master in episode 11 OMG it was what I was craving. LET MY SAD BOYS BE SAD show us these amazing emotions!!! I want it so much I am continuing read more
Jun 18, 2017
Unyil (All reviews)
I haven't play the game yet, but I really LOVE this anime!!!
It's so relaxing, refreshing, cute, and fun to watch! I love all the characters (especially Yasusada & Kiyomitsu <3 )~~
*it took some time to remember their names though*
Every episode made me laugh so hard! XD
Well, some episodes have some sad feelings on it, but they still have jokes with them! I can watch this anime over and over again!
And, the opening and ending songs.. Absolutely love them! Especially the ones that was sung by Kiyomitsu - Yasusada and Iwatooshi - Imanotsurugi. I'd like to buy the CDs!! XD
Very recommended for someone who is looking read more
Dec 9, 2016
7bbits (All reviews)
Preliminary
+1~ year Saniwa here; I was so so happy when the anime was announced and I haven't been disappointed in the least! I'm so glad the adaptation turned out so well and it made me miss all the guys since I don't have as much time to play anymore but all episodes give me so much feels, it is really heartwarming. Both the opening as well as the ending(s) are absolutely beautiful and I can't wait for the OST release. All in all I'm super happy, makes my Sundays so much better after a rough day. I'm already excited for the other adaptation next year, read more