Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

91 Days


Alternative Titles

English: 91 Days
Japanese: 91Days

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2016 to Oct 1, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Shuka
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.901 (scored by 93,874 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #274
Members: 216,859
Favorites: 1,899

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2016
Rievlyne (All reviews)
Great. Here we go again with one those animes we’re visited just because it has been established as “different” For having adult cast and devoid anime clichés. Frankly, that was my and probably most people main reason to ever pick up 91 days on seasonal watch. However, what I want to pointed out is that I do appreciated something different, but what matters about the show is, is it actually good? Sadly in the case of 91 days it fails to elevate all those “different” things beyond generic

91 days is the latest series by studio Shuka, who, famously known for doing all sequel of Durarara! read more
Sep 30, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
"Revenge is a dish best served cold."
This is the cornerstone expression that drives 91 Days. An expression that it lives and dies by, down to the very fabric of its being. One that we're quickly made aware of from the opening act that plants us into its world.

The arms of the clock tick in reverse, as we travel back to the days of the prohibition era. It's a cold night in April, and our young protagonist, Angelo Lagusa, enters frame. In the warm glow of his household, behind the thick wooden walls that push the harsh cold out, he's at ease with the comfort read more
Sep 30, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
No, it’s not a show that spans for 91 episodes, a Baccano’s second coming, or in fact anything like that at all. On paper, 91 Days is a revenge story, a show about a guy named Avilio Bruno (real name: Angelo Lagusa) who seeks vengeance against the Vanetti Family. Why? It’s because they ruined his life many years ago when he was a child. His family was murdered (or more precisely, double crossed) by the mafia. This all happened during the Prohibition Era and it’s hard to imagine at the time what Avilio was going through. Simply put, 91 Days strives to prove itself as read more
Oct 1, 2016
R_TF (All reviews)
You don't need a reason to live,you just live-Nero.

In today's generation we strive for more fan favorite genre shows and it's not often we get to see something different, "91 days" is one of those work which isn't made to target all viewers,some may find it immensely out of their regular taste while others will take a great interest in it.

-Plot-
The story is set in the early 1900s during prohibition,it start with Avilio Bruno (The main character) receiving a letter and going back to the flashback of his past, when his family was brutally murdered by Vanetti Family and he was the sole survivor,running away read more
Sep 30, 2016
jaxtoru (All reviews)
"You don't need a reason to live, you just live"


91 days surprised a lot in every aspect, some people, though, didn't liked it from the beginning.

So, the story was good, you can say that it was predictable at some point, but still it was really good written and adapted and everything, I think there's nothing more to say about the story, but it was the typical Mafia scene where everyone dies and stuff.( Some things kind of surprised me, though). 7

Talking about characters, the main characters, in my opinion, were all well developed, I liked the way some characters developed a lot later on read more
Sep 30, 2016
darkfeatherX (All reviews)
91 days was a genuine surprise. After finishing their splendid anime adaptation of Durarara!! they managed to make a true mafia story. Its inspiration's become apparent the moment the show begins and no time is wasted to let the story go in full throttle.

91 Days is a revenge story through and through but still manages to keep the viewers on their feet. It is best to take breaks between episodes to let the suspense set in as almost every episode ends in a cliffhanger.

Sadly the animation is inconsistent. The fact that the studio had to suffer through budget constraints becomes apparent half way read more
Sep 30, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
The brisk night air whispers across your face, gently stringing hairs in front of your eyes. Stars are barely visible above through the thicket of bare winter trees and your body aching and languid from the effects of tracking in the cold. Your target is about 100 yards away, the dim glow of their headlights is the one thing keeping you on the trail. Tonight is the night justice will be dealt, the night a culmination of seven long years of anticipation will finally come to a head. They don't deserve to live after what was done to your family that horrific night.

Suddenly the read more
Sep 30, 2016
Roundohavor (All reviews)
Okay, I never expected it to be good but it surely exceeded my expectations, usually i find genres involving mafia, guns, gangsters.. etc. to be just pure action and fireworks anime, which for me is kinda dull and overused, maybe that's the reason i wasn't really looking forward for this one, but it convinced me by around the sixth or seventh episode, i guess what made it different from black lagoon or any similar anime from the same genre, is the intense execution of the story, the goal of the story, which was actually being carried out throughout the whole series, it never diverted, usually read more
Oct 1, 2016
erayerdin (All reviews)
**Written with Markdown Format**

# Introduction
This show is best of 2016/Summer, to me. You will see details and reasons below.

## Story
Story is so great. A drama in a city. Heavily supported with character development. There are no unique stylistic on storytelling, it just goes. And the end of story (no spoilers here) forces you to face with the absurdity (as in Camus) of life and motivation and meaning of living (and you can sense this in the dialog between Nero and Angelo in camp in the ending episode).

## Art
Art is so unique. The show has specific color schemes and drawing has unique styles like details on read more
Sep 30, 2016
nokitron (All reviews)
"Why is the pineapple can there?!"

Anyway the show is good. It's definitely for you guys who like mafia stories with Japanese characterization. The art is okay at close-ups but really sucks at portraying landscapes. I dig opening song but that's just about it.

It's an anime that you'd have fun more if you follow the week's progression instead of actually binge it, but nonetheless it's still a good anime.

The storytelling can be jumbled up sometimes. Mafia movies always related to how many characters they try to introduce, but in the end, only some of them can stand out, and in this case, Avilio/Angelo and Nero are read more
Apr 10, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
During 91 Days I felt like watching the movies Godfather, Lawless, Donnie Brasco and Public Enemies all at the same time, with a complex but solid plot, suspense backed up by factual consequences that keep you on the edge of your seat and solid characters that live up to the expectations combined with genuine mafia tactics and actions resulted in a good watching experience that felt like a breath of fresh air because 91 Days was different from other shows, it avoided being generic or cliched.

The story takes place in the prohibition times and it is about a young boy named Angelo who had read more
Oct 1, 2016
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Seven years ago, a dispute within the mafia lead to the violent murder of the Lagusa family save for their youngest son who escapes into the night. Years later, hollow and lusting for revenge against the Vanetti Family, young Angelo Lagusa (Kondou Takashi) is offered an opportunity to fulfill his ambitions when he receives a mysterious letter detailing the family members involved that night. Returning to Lawless, a town steeped in the black market liquor sales of the prohibition, Angelo takes up the name Avilio Bruno and befriends Nero (Eguchi Takuya), the eldest son of don read more
Oct 1, 2016
SendPieSenpai (All reviews)
(It's 2AM and this is my first anime review. Bear with me.)

THE SHORT OF IT:
Let me say this straight. 91 Days is an anime you should watch for the thrill of it---ignore the animation quality slips that newborn-studio Shuka is still outgrowing. This is a highly story-driven, character-development heavy show with a very twisted but still realistic plot that likes to seduce you into thinking you got her all figured out. 91 Days is quite the summery masterpiece, although with (jarring) flaws; and it is the gritty mafia, Prohibition era revenge anime you want.

Fair warning, however. There will be blood, but the murder-happy beware! This read more
Oct 7, 2016
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
91 Days is a good choice for you if you enjoy a revenge story where a character exploits other people's self interest and/or schemes them in order to achieve his revenge. 91 Days becomes a bad choice once you start expecting anything other than onedimensional characters, and also if you hate main characters that are displayed in a way that makes them feel flawless without giving them any personality traits, especially negative.

You see, what ruined this series for me was the characters. Most of the characters are presented as onedimensional, with each being from x side or the y side or the z side. If read more
Oct 1, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
Very few anime these days tend to do something different from the norm, and when something does do so, it’s very easy for it to fail. But even if they are failures, their ambition to do something different is respectable. 91 Days is not only a unique anime, but a good one too. It’s fairly rare to find a series that takes place in a western setting with mafia characters taking place during the post-WWI era. 91 Days takes that setting and adds a story of revenge to it, and it’s a story that is handled great and executed well. 91 Days manages to be read more
Sep 30, 2016
tlst9999 (All reviews)
91 Days is a pointless revenge story which leaves an aftermath of pointless deaths in the end. I love it.

Story: 9

This is basically the story of Angelo plotting his revenge against the local mafia family for killing his parents and brother. He takes up a false name and infiltrates the family in order to bring his revenge to fruition. You can easily see it in the OP that it will result in a final duel between Nero and Angelo. From the summary, is a good ending expected? Hahahahaha. No. That's the point which the shows hammers in from the start. Revenge is pointless and leaves read more
Oct 2, 2016
Darkling_Greed (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dunno why is this anime getting all the hate, cause for me, it's definitely one of the gems of '16 summer. An advice from a tired anime fan- don't listen to people on this site, you yourself are an amazing person and only you should be the judge of everything in your life, including anime. So, watch it yourself first, later, come back to read some butthurt reviews.

STORY: 9/10
So I've heard people say that the story is so overdone and that there is no point in even creating this anime. I agree that it may not be the most original idea around. But read more
Oct 1, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
The very funny thing about this show, is the fact that the name itself doesn't seem to make much sense. But, many would guess that this is the amount of time that our MC will actually revenge his fucking family by killing everyone that's associated with the murder. But really, It makes no sense, nor does it imply anything about it. But what really get me to actually watch this anime, was because it have been so long since i first see an anime with so much realism in the plot involving the revenge thing, and the setting of it. Or some may says that read more
Sep 30, 2016
Kyrios-The-Maxim (All reviews)
EDITED FOR GRAMMER

Ah it’s been a while since we've got an anime that veered away from the usual cliches and tropes that could be found in nearly every single show nowadays. I'm talking about the moeblob characters, the endless amount of exposition, girls getting their clothes ripped to shreds for the purpose of fanservice, spiky haired characters screaming their lungs out at their opponents and so on. Therefore it’s refreshing to see a show that stays far away from many of these cliches and tries to gather inspiration from another medium instead: western gangster films.

A 1900s setting, mafia members, tommy guns, the prohibition, booze read more
Nov 2, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
91 days is a series with an interesting premise. It's a crime drama set during the US prohibition. I'll let you al know right from the outset, I'm not going to know how historically accurate it is. I am basically familiar with what happened during prohibition. There was an amendment making alcohol illegal, Crime rates surged as it became a criminal commodity. After thirteen years it was repealed with another amendment. I don't, however, know the specifics. The point is, if the series gets something historical wrong I probably won't catch it. The anime was handled by Shuka, a studio best known for producing Durarara read more