Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuri!!! on Ice


Alternative Titles

English: Yuri!!! On ICE
Japanese: ユーリ!!! on ICE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2016 to Dec 22, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:21 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Original
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 224497224,497 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #229
Members: 388,508
Favorites: 13,534

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2016
Taki-sama (All reviews)
As an ex-competitive figure skater myself, this anime has brought me to brinks of tears beyond comprehension and inspired me to write my very first review (please bear with me). To quickly summarize the show in few words that will definitely do the show unjust: this is an anime about passion, failure, inspiration, human nature, and love. Regardless if you are an avid protester against shounen-ai or someone who dislikes sports animes, Yuri!!! on Ice will bring to the table a multitude of other elements you are sure to love.

**Story: 9 & Character: 10**
I might appear to be biased (and perhaps I am), but the read more
Dec 24, 2016
nemowsz (All reviews)
Let's get this out of the way.

1) This is the most mature and tasteful anime about romance to date. That said, it is my own personal opinion that your enjoyment for this anime hinges heavily on your own emotional and social maturity. Yes, it's homo. Yes, it's about adult men doing their feminine sports. Yes, it's ~*gay*~, and these people exists in real life. Wake up.

2) This may be labelled as sports, but you would be a fool to think it'll get your blood pumping. Ice skating is about making things look as deceptively easy as possible. The amount of finesse and strength required read more
Dec 21, 2016
I_Love_Pikachu (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I write this, I have official watched all 12 episodes of Yuri!!! On Ice and boy what a spectacle it is. I’m pretty sure Yuri broke tumblr……..anyway. There are a lot of things about Yuri!!! On Ice that make it different compared to many of the other mainstream sports series out there.

First off, this story is based on actual competitive figure skating like the kind that could take someone to the Olympics. Secondly, the series makes figure skating look BAD ASS and BEAUTIFUL all at the same time. Its animation is flawless and the skating just takes your breath away. It was choreographed read more
Feb 8, 2017
Prince_Altoid (All reviews)
Obviously spoilers. Don't see how a review could be written for this series without them.

Alright, so here we go. Blah blah blah Crunchyroll anime awards blah blah x series deserved this award blah blah blah blah blah. I kid, of course. No mention of those in this review. However, I do think that some things really do need to be talked about as to why this series is as overrated as it is, and why those things are absurd. So watch close as I get into them.


Let's start by discussing the premise.
Funny enough, one thing most YoI fans can agree with is that the premise read more
Dec 24, 2016
lisha_chan (All reviews)
I felt like doing Yuri on ice some justice due to the number of low reviews, but please remember that this review is biased and will contain minor spoilers. There is a 'should you watch this' at the end.
Story 8/10:
First things first, this is a sports anime, so it's undeniable that you're going to escape the 'underdog gets epic development and achieves goal' trope anytime soon. Yuri on ice, however, takes this a different direction. Instead of purely focusing on skills and growth as a figure skater, it centers on Yuri developing confidence in himself as a professional skater and the the world of professionals read more
Dec 22, 2016
Maffy (All reviews)
Yuri!!! on Ice, one of the most talked about series of the 2016 Fall Season. It introduced a sport that was not that much seen in anime series, ice skating, and complemented it with a fun set of characters that combined the seriousness of their efforts/goals and the comedy that existed everywhere. Unfortunately, that good mix was not enough to make it into a great series.

First of all, there is no actual story and the pacing is all over the place. Despite the fact that the show brings us a seasoned athlete, so there is no focus how he gets to be a hero from read more
Dec 21, 2016
xgreeneyednekox (All reviews)
<<In short: It's an overambitious anime that doesn't manage to keep up to its potential.>>


Story & Characters - 3

So, i've been following this anime from the very beginning and I'm not gonna deny, i did get charmed quite fast. Viktor was adorable, Yurio was adorable, Yuri and Viktor's relationship was funny and started to be quite adorable as it progressed and it's a friggin story about skating ! How awesome is that?? But ultimately it's just a story that tries too much with an absolutely atrocious pacing.

It doesn't always manage to express what it wants and there is also a lot of telling instead read more
Dec 23, 2016
_hilltopkittens (All reviews)

I want to warn you beforehand that this will most likely contain spoilers integral to the plot and to the main characters. Do not read this until after you have watched the show or if you simply do not care about being spoiled about the show.
-
Yuri!!! On Ice is just like its protagonist: while it is full of emotion, it does not give away everything you want or need it to. It does not directly tell you the true motivations of your main characters (specifically, the deuteragonist and the tritagonist) and it does not immediately give you an explanation behind the protagonist’s own actions. We read more
Jan 28, 2017
YakuKikyo (All reviews)
In short : If you love being a fan serviced by males, this show is for you. Not recommended as a sports anime.

Now, I know many things have been stated, from one extreme to another, as well of various shades in-between. I couldn’t bring myself to read each one of them and I’m sure most of what will be stated already have been, in one way or another, stated over and over. That shall not matter, I will repeat what has been said if necessary.

This pseudo-review also contains slight spoilers, so you’ve been warned.


Story :

Many things can be stated regarding the story and I’ll mainly read more
Dec 22, 2016
mercygrim96 (All reviews)
This is probably the most beautiful anime I would ever have the pleasure of watching, It's all about love, life, and following one's dreams, even if those dreams seem far out of reach. This anime tugged at my heart and made me cry both tears of sadness and tears of joy.

The plot was very well written, the characters had great backstory, and the animation was gorgeous. They did a great job with the skating, and were even very accurate on how an actual competition goes; they even had real announcers do the announcing parts.

The main plot is the guy who hit rock bottom read more
Dec 22, 2016
Yaoi-Senpai (All reviews)
Note;- I DO NOT RECOMMEND this anime to People who dislike Male fanservice, sports or anime target towards Female or Fujoshies. You will not like it.

Free spoiler.

Bored of Highschool sport show? Angry because some sluts are around you babes? Love male fanservice and gay characters in non-bl series? Love skating anime? THEN THIS SHOW IS FOR YOU!!!

Plot 10/10

Original and not a copy paste from other series, YOI is about a guy called Yuri (Yuri IS a Japanese, Russian, Greek, Hebrew and Korean name according to Google-san) who wish to be the best skater in Japan/or in the world just like his role read more
Dec 27, 2016
KurvosVicky (All reviews)
This anime uses the most typical and generic and uninspired and annoying of anime tropes. Like, showing physically abusing men as something casual and even comedic. Or like expecting a man to prove his worth simply because he happens to be a member of the male gender, while a female isn't expected to do anything more than what she feels herself like doing and should always be protected and taken care of regardless and is excused from doing anything, while a male must always do what is expected of a man to do and preferrably also more.
Then there's the BS romance between Yuri and Viktor, read more
Dec 21, 2016
Valkata (All reviews)
People say that the anime industry is in decline, and that a lot of stupid anime series come out. Well this anime sends that thesis into oblivion. This show has been such a breath of fresh air, and in my opinion one of the candidates for anime of the year. What makes me sad the most is that a lot of people are not even wathing this, because they think it's IN YOUR FACE Yaoi, without any redeeming qualities, which is so wrong, that it's not even worth my time to explain. So I plead that people would give it a shot with open mind. read more
Jan 24, 2017
cogitoergobumm (All reviews)
Yuri on Ice is one of those shows that hype you up with a trailer that promises if not outstanding then at least appealing animation and a premise ripe for drama, and... that's about it. At no point does the actual show get better than or even live up to its promise, which is a telltale sign of poor execution.

It ultimately doesn't matter how much research you do about the sport you're writing about if the athletes you're writing make no sense in any universe, real or fictional. Victor Nikiforov, the world's best male figure skater who - at the age of 27 - read more
Dec 21, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
Sports anime don’t come very often, let alone skating anime. However, 2016 has been a year for sports anime. With anime based on volleyball, rugby, soccer, and… water jousting with butts and boobs(?), Yuri on Ice needed to prove that it can top most of the sports anime and make theirs more intense. Or maybe they don’t need to compete with other with the sport. Maybe Yuri on Ice doesn’t need to compare itself to other sports anime and maybe compare itself to other series like Ping Pong – where the sport isn’t the main focus. In Yuri on Ice, the skating it simply the read more
Mar 15, 2019
ChikaChibiChi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm sure you'll all be glad to know I just found the cure for insomnia. And I give this cure the title of Yuri on Ice. OUTSTANDING levels of pure boringness that it will put even the hardest insomniac to sleep in minutes! No joke. No clickbait. This is the only cure guaranteed to work!

I am also proud to announce and welcome Yuri on Ice to my dropped list. Why waste my time with this shit when I could be watching good anime? Or okayish anime. Or really any other anime that's not Yuri on Ice.

Story: 1/10
There's more character progression in Your Lie in read more
Dec 21, 2016
rackjothen (All reviews)
Before I start, I would like the preface this by saying that a 6/10 means I deemed the show as "fair" or "fine". Many people think of anything below a 7 to be bad news, but that is not the case in my reviews. As always, you are free to agree or disagree with my own views as you like, but I always do my best to review a project in totality, and not just based on enjoyment as many reviewers tend to do. Now on to all the technical stuff!

Yuri!!! on Ice is Fall 2016's most popular anime, with an interesting take on the read more
Feb 23, 2017
Nobodshy (All reviews)
After watching the Crunchyroll Anime Awards 2016 and some Youtubers reactions to it I decided to give Yuri!!! on ICE a go. At first I quite liked it, then it became less and less enjoyable with every episode...

I generally don't watch sport animes nor BL so the show was new to me in these aspects, but did not capture me in the slightest because of these elements.

Let's start with the sport aspect... For the first 5 or so episodes it felt like I was watching the Olympics. I did not really understand how difficult the performances were but it felt good to see them. After read more
Oct 15, 2017
ari-e-s (All reviews)
Yes, this may be biased, but I am speaking from facts and personal opinion.

Let me begin with a slight introduction.
Yes, I am a female. Yes, I enjoy shounen-ai/yaoi. And, yes, I despise this anime with a passion.

The fact that this show has a higher rating than legitimate shows, and is even considered to be a good anime, physically pains me.
The plot in itself is inconsistent, weak, and unoriginal. The characters were designed as classical anime (incorrect) cliches. The animation was horrible, and the only decent part of it all, was the OST.

Now, let us begin!

Yuuri is our protagonist that's a typical underdog character, read more
Dec 24, 2016
Lyrian_Mion (All reviews)
It doesn’t matter if you are a girl or a boy, you will enjoy this sports anime. I never thought that you could make a good anime about figure skating but Yuri on Ice proved me wrong.
The plot is one of a typical sports anime: the protagonist fails at the beginning and tries to succeed again with a lot of obstacles on his way to the top, (very simplified version).
It is beautiful animated, you can see how much effort and time they put in to the animation.
This is one of the rare anime that you can watch the first episode and decide if read more