Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

H2O: Footprints in the Sand


Alternative Titles

English: H2O: Footprints in the Sand
Japanese: H2O ~FOOTPRINTS IN THE SAND~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2008 to Mar 21, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: NTT Docomo, Studio Jack
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Harem, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.161 (scored by 39,901 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1319
Members: 79,620
Favorites: 409

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
H2O is about a boy, Hirose Takuma, who arrives in a village. He's blind, but a spirit called Otoha somehow heals his illness. Now, he befriends the people (mostly girls) there, and many dramatic events unfold.

The story in itself was really nice. It's sad, yet happy, and it's dramatic. It gives me a feeling of happiness when watching, but also a sad feeling. And whilst it was really good, it was way too sudden at times though. And the jump-the-shark episode (episode 8) kind of ruined things, but I'm glad that it returned to normal after that episode. Anyway, this story was great IMO. Oh, read more
Mar 22, 2008
game8910 (All reviews)
H2O has been a really interesting anime to watch, it certainly is a show that you're either going to love, or hate.

Story: The story of this show is really a story that you will either enjoy from the beginning till the end, or start to question what the hell is going on and end up confused. IMO I enjoyed the story from beginning to end, they did have 2 certain episodes which I felt were not really necessary to have (ep 4, ep 8). I will say, I love animes that always gives me shocking moments that make me go OMGWTFWASTHATNOWAI! and H2O certainly give read more
Mar 1, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
H2O: Footprints in the Sand is a Psychological, Supernatural, Romance anime about a blind junior-high boy (Takuma) who moves to a quite rural town. He is given the given the gift of sight in order for him to help the people who need it the most.

The story to H2O is very simple and easy to follow however it tends to randomly add developments, just to complicate matters. After the first couple episodes you will begin to wonder when all the unexplained stuff will be explained but there’s no real urgency with this series. There seems to be a number of underlining plots in the story read more
Sep 22, 2008
natsuocosplay (All reviews)
This is a very cute story that I think all girls should watch. I don't much recommend it for boys, unless they are in touch with their feminine side :)

STORY: He magically becomes not blind? That sorta confused me a little, but I guess it was supposed to be like magic and stuff. This story is not totally like a lot of other anime stories, because it actually teaches something. I was a story that had morals and values. It shows that judging people is wrong. They seem to tie religion into the story a little. The story about the man walking with God is read more
Feb 24, 2008
Katbot (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my 1st review so don't kill me guys!

At first this seems like one of those "medicore animes" but there is a slight twist to look forward to.

Story: The story is new and refreshing but it CAN seem rushed sometimes.

Art: Is average, I've seen better but it's not the worst. I give it a 8/10

Sound: The opening theme is not to my liking but the OST is really great it's interesting and it sounds really good! The ED theme is alright too.

Character: The main character is pretty cool. I mean there aren't a lot of characters out there like him. You'll understand me read more
Apr 8, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Before we get to my actual review, I would like the viewers to understand that I AM NOT A SUMMARIZER. If you want to know what's the plot, read the SUMMARY, and don't mark me down for not saying anything about the story. I tell you what elements are impacting in the story and what my opinion is. ANYWAYS...

H20~ Footprints in the Sand~ is an anime with a similar feel to that of Air TV, but with some feasible romance. I loved this anime for it's very little, yet hilarious humor and ground shaking romance that never ceases to make my heart twitch. Yes, it read more
Nov 15, 2012
WhiteBakemono (All reviews)
Anime: H2O ~Footprints in the Sand~

Title: not the worst anime I've seen but close to it.

About the Anime: After a series of unfortunate events, the young Hirose Takuma was rendered blind. In an attempt to reverse his condition Hirose moves in with his uncle in a rural village, and upon his arrival he quickly begins to make new friends. However, Hirose soon discovers that one of his classmates, Hayami Kohinata, is being harshly bullied by her peers for reasons that neither she nor anyone else wants to explain. Even the seemingly honest and gentle Hinata Kagura, who had been doing her best to be friendly read more
May 10, 2011
Zanarkandian (All reviews)
Sometimes, a title is enough to get your attention. Footprints in the Sand brings a lot of things into my mind. Summers that were fun, summers that slipped away. Ephimeral warmth, or even lost chances. Which one of those was it that H2O kept in store?

Followed by a pretty opening theme with folk elements (I found the ending theme as enjoyable too), I didn't expect that to be the last thing I liked about this show. Visually, the show was alright. Not too bad, nothing exceptional either. It was (the lack of ) character depth and plot that ruined everything for me.

H2O revolves read more
Sep 14, 2014
BlackPrism (All reviews)
H2O: Footprints in the Sand; another melodrama based on a visual novel. Not a good one either. Well, it has some drama, some romance, some comedy, even a bit of psychological but none of it stands out. This anime is still rather generic and there are about a dozen better titles out there that do the exact same things. The only thing worth mentioning is that it's at least not that predictable. I guess. Whatever, let's get on with the review.

Story (25%) - 3/10

Surprise, another school setting. The most annoying part of the first half is the fact that the supernatural element is hardly explored read more
Mar 18, 2012
thejosh18 (All reviews)
In life we go through hardships, pain, and sorrow but we always try our best to overcome our struggles and look towards a brighter future.

Story: H20 Footprints in the Sand starts off with our main protagonist Hirose. In the first episode we see Hirose encounter his harem although he has a problem, he's blind. Later in the episode he''s cured of his blindness so he can do whatever he wanted when he wasn't blind. Although you may think the anime ends there and everything is happy go lucky, that's not the case with this anime. Throughout the series we encounter more read more
Mar 23, 2008
alchemist11 (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review (on a place like this) but that doesn't mean its not worth taking regards from. H20 is not an average anime in terms of its story nor is it any good, that is why I've given it a poor rating because it plainly just is. I don't quite understand what "Sound" means, character voice? set sounds (e.g. the train, footsteps, etc), or the music? But if its all that, its pretty well made, especially for those "beat up" scenes which are quite traumatic to watch (if you're a weak person in heart). Art is particularly not something read more
Nov 12, 2011
zaharat (All reviews)
So H2O: Footprints in the Sand is about a boy named Hirose Takuma who is apparently blind, but meets a strange girl that only he can see/communicate with named Otoha. This "magical" girl goes and heal his illness of blindness, and Hirose starts to befriends the people in the village, especially the town hated girl named Kohinata Hayami.

Story: I have to say that it is a pretty interesting psychological/magical/dramatic/comedy kind of anime. Its quite an interesting blend, but overall it was pretty good. The plot was somewhat interesting, however, for those of you who don't like a slow development, like many other of its genre, read more
Dec 21, 2010
QuillYiqian (All reviews)
I just finished watching H2O: Footprints In The Sand lately and it is by far the best anime series I have ever watched. Initially, I thought it would be just a normal romance story just like others, but I was wrong. Firstly, this anime does not focus mainly on the romance part. H2O actually means Hayami, Hotaru and Otoha. Obviously, this anime series focus on not only the love story of two, but it's a story full of complicated feelings. Friendship is more obviously shown in the anime than romance. The love between the couple is just an outcome of the string of events in read more
Dec 25, 2008
Peterp (All reviews)
When I first started thinking about how I was going to review H2O ~Footprints In The Sand~, I thought of it like a cheap wine, with no "hints" of flavors to be found. Instead, one finds the usual tastes of Air, Shuffle!, and School Days washing over your tongue, bland in their imitated form. The characters are tired stereotypes, massive plot gaps pervade the entire story line, and the ending felt like a cheap attempt to bond the viewer to the characters with a simple pity technique. I then decided, however, on a better metaphor to describe this show. We all remember that one name read more
Dec 31, 2009
sayian (All reviews)
Art: Terrible, this Anime was made in 2008. Main character designs were terrible. Animation greatly improved on the last episode. Shame on production group.

Sound: Decent OP and ED, placement of sound did not help at all with the storyline. See various instances, ep x and ep x. Let's have suspenseful music on a lovely lovely scene.

Character: Never have I seen side characters I could care less for. Two main characters have some instance of hope later on during the series with slight character development. (after ep 7)

Enjoyment: I would not recommend this anime to friends, family, but to hardcore romance Anime fans, enjoy, you read more
Jan 21, 2010
Hayamin (All reviews)
So after taking another watch of my favorite series of all time, I decided to re-do my review because the series is fresh in my mind this time and my last review was not that great due to it being my first review.

Story: The main character is a blind boy who hangs out with mostly girls and along the way we find out some of the girls have problems that eventually get solved. It sounds like a typical harem but with H2O, it's not as dry and focused on all the girls going for the main protagonist. It just so happens that there's a big read more
Jan 9, 2010
OneTwoTree_ (All reviews)
H20, which represents the three girls who are the closest to him, who are Hinata, Hayami, and Otoha.

Basicly, H20 ~Footprints in the Sand~ is based on the story "Footprints In The Sand" In case you do not know what story that is, I'll write it down here for you.

"One night, I was walking along the beach with my Lord. Many scenes flashed across the sky. In each scene, there are footprints in the sand. Sometimes two, sometimes one. During the low periods of my life, when I was angry, depressed, sad, and feeling defeated, there were only one set of footprints in the sand. I read more
Nov 12, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Hirose Takuma lost his mother when he was young and has since become blind from the trauma. He goes to live with his uncle in the rural countryside to try to recover from his "illness". There, he luckily meets a magical fairy named "Otoha" and two girls Hinata and Hayami, who are caught between a nonsensical family war over village control.

This anime seems to be an average harem anime at first. However, a second look reveals a flawed attempt at introducing many innovative, but poorly done, aspects to the genre. Though sometimes the characters are entertaining and the story decent, the overall plot line and read more
Dec 5, 2014
Verethragna_XIII (All reviews)
2nd time to write a review. This one really grow in me because particularly I don't like tragedy or too much drama but this one changed my mind during the summer of 2010.

"The word "I like you" carry too little weight,
The word "I love you" are too ambigous,
Because I don't know the most correct to write,
Or whether I could bring my feelings to light,
So I write "Thank you for the world", Hirose"

Story: 7/10
Its a pretty common plot used in every visual novel games if you think about it so right from the story line you could tell that its from read more
Feb 23, 2008
Mouser888 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those very ehh, shrug, mediocre animes.

Story: Sometimes seems a litte rushed, there usually is very little development to a scene which could have been used to a greater extent.

Art+Sound: Not good at rating this sort of stuff since I'm not an artist and I don't actively go out and listen to soundtracks or compare voices, but everything seemed to be pretty standard here

Character: I guess this is where I have a little trouble with H2O. In H20 characters are very standard. While yes there seems to be an underlying mystery that seems to have affected everyone, most of character development read more