Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Natsume Yuujinchou Go


Alternative Titles

English: Natsume's Book of Friends Season 5
Synonyms: Natsume Yuujinchou Season 5, Natsume's Book of Friends Five
Japanese: 夏目友人帳 伍

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2016 to Dec 21, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Shuka
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.631 (scored by 39,011 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1037
Members: 98,808
Favorites: 541

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 26, 2016
GabrielaWolff (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm so happy to see a new season of Natsume Yuujinchou, I thought it would not going to happen. It is, no doubt, my favorite anime. Good story, great characters, with a calm e heartwarming atmosphere. Some episodes will make you laugh, some episodes will make you cry, but most of them will make you calm. My heart fills with happiness everytime I watch Natsume Yuujinchou.

Characters:
Natsume Yuujinchou has a lot of characters with their own particularities. Natsume had a tough childhood, always alone and being bullied, it could have been a reason for him to hate people, but instead, he has compassion and he's read more
Dec 21, 2016
TuyNOM (All reviews)
I don't know about you, but when I watch this series, I almost want to live with Natsume, his family and his friends. So many moments warm my heart that it would be difficult for me to count them.

Story: (10/10) As always, we follow Natsume Takashi, an orphan high school student who had an unfortunate childhood and now adopted by the Fujiwara. Natsume helps the different yokai/humans who are connected to the "Book of Friends" accompanied by Madara (Nyanko-sensei) a powerful yokai. Natsume also comes to humans' aid not affected by this "book". (You know the story if you want to watch the 5th season...)
Overall, read more
Jan 29, 2017
SirLancelot99 (All reviews)
I love how each episode they show us the youkai's, natori, Touko and Shigeru's backstory very very heart warming. Some episode manage to make me touched with every single character they have and made me care for them like what happend to them after that? how are they doing now? is Natsume going to be straight or gay? Taki or someone?

There is though some episode that is meh at certain part but they fixed quite quickly, the art is beautiful they always upgraded their art every single single season. The ending in this anime is one of my favorites

Overall i'm going to rate this 9/10
Dec 31, 2016
SendPieSenpai (All reviews)
It's Natsume Yuujinchou. If you aren't following this series, you've either not tried it or slice of life anime is just not for you. That's okay if you don't like slower shows. Otherwise... Join us in the iyashikei world, where the world is good and pureness reigns and smiles are protected! Go! We'll see you at Roku!

OVERALL - 9
Always happy for more Natsume Yuujinchou. Heartwarming. Fluffy. Pure. Activates the "I must protect this smile!" instinct. Feels. Feels that are sometimes happy. Feels that are sometimes REALLY KINDA HEARTBREAKING??? Iyashikei but with an undertone of constant melancholy that almost makes you have multiple existential crises but read more
Apr 16, 2017
pooprocks (All reviews)
The fifth season of Natsume Yuujinchou was a true pleasure to watch. In this season, we see Natsume's friendships develop and grow. We learn more about his troubled past and the backstory behind the Fujiwaras.

Story: 9
One of my favorite aspects of Natsume Yuujinchou is how each episode stands alone. There is a distinct thought or feeling, a pearl that is revealed at the end of the episode as Natsume reflects upon what happens. He speaks directly to the audience. This is so powerful and so beautiful. And yet, there is a distinct thread that runs throughout the series. We see Takashi grow and mature. read more
Apr 4, 2017
GrayRealm (All reviews)
It is more of the same thing that was in previous seasons: A somewhat melancholic, calm slice of life kind of show that deals with supernatural elements. If you watched and liked previous seasons, you'll like this one as well.

Detailed breakdown:

Story: Story is on a melancholic side, and moves slowly, without haste, giving enough time to think about events/characters in the show. This anime does a good job being subtle and creating highly emotional scenes effortlessly. There's no overarching story here, while events probably happen in order, they're pretty much separate from each other, and are only connected by protagonist. The anime occasionally gets darker, read more
Nov 16, 2017
Liao (All reviews)
I almost went into labor when I knew that Natsume Yuujinchou got a new season. And ooommmggg, it were four long years of waiting, goddammit! I thought they had canceled the animation projects, but then this came out and I became extremely happy to continue watching the adaptation of one of the best Shoujo manga (if not THE best) that exists in the manga market. Geez, I don't know if I'm able to tell in this review how much excited and sincerely pleased I'm right now. Finally!

Story: The plot goes on telling about a high school boy who can see and communicate with spirits (actually read more
Mar 5, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Alright, so the longer I watch this anime, the harder it is to review. Here's the thing about this anime: it grows on you. The things that I would've wanted to be changed before, I don't want them to be changed anymore.

For example, the little, seemingly disconnected stories that fill every episode. I love that this anime can give you tension while still keeping the overall tone of the anime calming and tranquil. This season in particular also saw a couple episodes that were backstories for some of the secondary characters, which is something I didn't know I wanted until I saw it. The read more