Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hatenkou Yuugi


Alternative Titles

English: Hatenkou Yugi
Synonyms: Hatenkou Yugi, Dazzle
Japanese: 破天荒遊戯

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2008 to Mar 8, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Frontier Works, Sotsu
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.271 (scored by 12,501 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2030
Members: 28,095
Favorites: 186

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2008
restivesilence (All reviews)
Overall I think this anime deserves an 8.5 on my scale, but unfortunately there isn't that option.

Story: The story itself is fairly basic, but has some interesting back story thrown in every once in a while. However, the anime does seem rushed. I think a lot of people did not give this show a chance because the beginning is so chaotic. The first episode does not feel like an introduction at all, in fact you are pretty much thrown into the story.

Art: I really enjoyed the animation. It seemed to be well done (it better for being 10 episodes). Maybe, it is the read more
Jul 13, 2008
Colonel_Mustard (All reviews)
Hatenkou Yuugi is a 10-episode anime based on the ongoing manga with the same name. It aired between the 4th of January and the 7th of march, 2008.

The genres include: Comedy, Adventure, Drama.

Story
Hatenkou Yuugi begins pretty randomly, but with a lot of promise. The young woman Rahzel is thrown out of her home by her dad, because he wants her to travel and see the world. She quickly finds two traveling companions, Alzeid and Baroqueheat, and together travel from place to place, helping out people with different problems. Sounds good? Sure does, but during episodes you sometimes experience these random comedy moments that destroy the read more
Mar 21, 2010
eklie (All reviews)
This is the first anime I've ever seen that I would call random. I think the word random is overused when describing many shows but this show is random - random in a funny and fun way, but random none the less. Yes, I know the reading the manga would probably make it less random but that itsn't the point.

What the MAL description fails to convey is that the show is really just ten episodes of following a trio of dysfunctional people on a journey. It definitely suffers from a lack of plot, but it redeems itself because dysfunctional people on a read more
Aug 11, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Story (7.1) - Story is pretty random. There are some episodes with sequence, like a 2-3 episode case, but in overall, each one has a case that must be solved. The progress its not very fast, and there are some moments that sound like filler minutes, when the story has really no progress.
Well, just an average aspect.

Art (7.3) - Design is acceptable, animations lack a little bit indeed. There are some flaws here and there in the show that could have been avoided, and the effects are not something great. Another average aspect.

Sound (8.0) - Maybe the best aspect of the show. Opening is read more
Dec 25, 2014
7amdowh (All reviews)
9/10 or 10/10

Too many beautiful words too little characters developments, that's the best and worst things for this anime.

The anime is amazing and it have a great and fun story,I enjoyed it a lot.
And what makes the anime more awesome is the characters, the characters personalities are outstanding and unique, they also have unique and humorous reaction to things, their reactions always surprise me in a good way.

The plot goes smoothly in the anime, not fast but not too slow. However, i did not notice any characters developments in the anime except for only one character and in the last two episodes only, read more
Apr 29, 2010
rioyoki (All reviews)
Let me say first the comic is better.
That said the story starts out without much introduction of characters or a plot. Just a kooky father essentially kicking Rahzel from her home to go experience the world.
Rahzel is a child who by unfortunate means had to grow up very quickly and has an unusual arsenal of unique talents (magic and so forth). Her troubled past left her with a very mature outlook on life and yet still a child like optimism that keeps her and her soon companions on an never ending upward momentum. With an attitude that perceives challenges as adventures, and adversity as read more
Mar 17, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Preliminary
I haven't wrote a single review yet, but this one requires one. Yeah this one does, why? Because it is so terrible that if you just watch the first episode, you may want to leave anime for months! I know I did. It was that bad. Not only was there a lack of real plot, the little provided didn't make sense and wasn't very cohesive.

First let's sum this up, female protagonist Rahzel is randomly kicked out of her home and randomly meets some random guy named Alzeid (like I care) who is randomly mugging somebody. Believe me, the word random reoccurs so many times read more
Aug 9, 2009
beckaleck (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this series, until i got to the ending. In the end, instead of feeling satisfied with the conclusion, i was left with more questions. The series ends as if theres a sequel that will resolve some problems concerning two of the main characters and introduce a character that popped out a quite a bit, seemed important to the anime, but in the end was never introduced. Unfortunately, there is no sequel. Also, thanks to that character that popped out alot, it felt as if there were two seperate storylines. While one of the storyline was obvious, the other was hinted everytime that read more
Jul 4, 2011
RahzenshiaRose (All reviews)
Preliminary
I read the manga and absolutely loved it so when I heard that there was an anime I was really excited to see it! However, when I started watching this series I was sorely disappointed. The first episode lacked character introduction. Baroqueheat just pops up out of nowhere and Rahzel already knows him. As a viewer I was confused about how that had come to know eachother. And the second episode contained many flashbacks to things that should have been shown in the first episode when Razhel and Alzeid were in the restaurant. I don't usually write reviews, but I felt the need to on read more
Jul 6, 2011
Rahccoon (All reviews)
Sometimes you end up watching an anime just because you have nothing else to do or watch. This was my case: I knew nothing about Hatenkou Yuugi, and just downloaded it out of boredom.
What a delightful surprise.

The story has, well, a lot of plot holes. That said, the plot is really involving and the tales told on every episode are very nice. However, there's a lack of interation between the stories and a second season would definitely be needed.

The art is regular, and so is the animation. But there's an interesting sense of character design here: the clothing is never overly dramatic, and changes regularly. read more
Aug 6, 2010
Be_chan (All reviews)
the story starts with a rich girl that is kicked out of her house by her father to go see the world. unlike other girls however she just dusts herself of and go's on her way meeting two other characters.

the story is 10 episodes long which is a shame because it desears to be longer. the show is entertaining and will keep the watcher coming back for more. they have a lovely balance with the humor and the seriousness in the show and it works really well. the only probelem i think the story had was were it didn't allways make complete sense or didn't read more
Dec 16, 2010
IrisInABottle (All reviews)
I’d had some interest in Hatenkou Yuugi for a while now, but I never thought I’d get this into it. I decided to download the anime about a year ago, which was surprisingly short, but amazing. You never thought you’d hear this from the person who hates horror. Children getting sacrificed for experiments, people slitting their throats, husbands killing their wives… I never thought I’d like that. But I did. OK, not the gruesome parts, but I loved the action, and the interactions between the characters. The three colorful characters, Rahzel, Alzeid, and Barouqueheat.
Hatenkou Yuugi is about three people traveling together across a land where read more
Nov 22, 2012
OneSmartChicken (All reviews)
I hate to say it but--the manga was better. Is better, as it were. The anime skipped an enormous amount of very key details, leaving chunks missing from the plot and changing some very nice points. They appear to have basically just cut out most of the "filler" stuff, but since plot development happened in many of those "fillers", the anime wound up rushed and incomplete and lacking a great deal of not only humor(of which there was a LOT) but a lot of the truly dark elements. The bright colors of the anime, though technically fitting to the plot, also gave a rather different read more
Mar 23, 2010
Lamyisme (All reviews)
Hatenkou yuugi is an outstanding anime about a girl making friends and going on a jurney with no destination and no purpose other than to see the world. Hatenkou yuugi grabs you in within the first five minutes with its amazing costumes,story line,art,characters but most of all its emotion. The emotions that the writter felt you feel. You cry and laugh and even somtimes love throught this wonderful anime just as the writter wanted you too and they did a good job of it. The anime had amazing eyes (Yes im serious) The characters eyes showed emotion that most people now days in the read more
Jul 22, 2015
ZombieMailbox (All reviews)
If you're in the mood to settle for less, this is the anime for you!
Because this may very well be the most generic anime i've ever seen.

It doesn't feel like any emotion was put into the creation of this series, it feels like it was made to fill a time slot, by people who had to use every cliche in the book to make up 24 minutes of content.

I felt like I'd already seen the premise to every episode of this show done better in Fullmetal Alchemist. While I understand that it's hard to make an episodic series without taking ideas from different places, none read more
Jul 18, 2012
peach_pelican (All reviews)
I really, really loved Hatenkou Yuugi. I always enjoy a historical anime, so I planned to watch it immediately after I heard about it.

Each episode is comprised of the three main characters helping someone out on their journey. The stories are very different and keep you hooked. One thing I enjoyed especially about this show is that it isn't afraid to be dark; sometimes everything doesn't go perfectly and things turn out unexpectedly. My one complaint regarding the episode layout was that the characters are not clearly introduced in the first episode; the second man who joins them, Baroqueheat, simply seems to appear out read more
Aug 11, 2012
XxYoursTrulyxX (All reviews)
I'm not really sure what to say about the anime. It's random but the characters are great. Especially the main one Rahzel. She's not whiny and doesn't act like a damsel in distress all the time but she doesn't act like she's all that either. Not to mention Baroqueheat and Alzeid are amazing too. If you read the manga then the anime will seem way off base and all over the place though. I highly recommend reading the manga after watching this not before though. The anime doesn't give enough of a story or any backgrounds on the characters. But overall in my opinion it's read more