Flip Flappers

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Flip Flappers
Japanese: フリップフラッパーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2016 to Dec 29, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio 3Hz
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 6035460,354 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1010
Members: 164,442
Favorites: 1,935

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 29, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
To be honest Flip Flappers should-be more popular. I felt that it had all the material needed to engage with audiences regardless of their preferences, and most importantly sell great merchandise. The only thing that stopped me from giving the incredible piece of art a solid 10 was the strange and often times confusing story; which I'll get into in a moment so please keep sitting in your chair, or levitating above, you wizards.

So what is Flip Flappers about? Why should you be watching it? Can you eat it? Only two of the three questions above will be answered.
Flip Flappers’ story is interesting in many read more
Dec 29, 2016
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Flip Flappers is the textbook definition of a hidden gem. A short, artistic original anime by a relatively unknown studio, and also an anime which is quite difficult to explain. This is partially because of its symbolic themes, but also because the execution itself is very unorthodox. It is like the anime equivalent of an LSD trip; something I can only describe as a crossover of FLCL and Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita. But somehow, Studio 3Hz actually made it work, resulting in what I would probably have to consider my favorite anime of Fall 2016.

The story follows two girls who meet each other by coincidence: read more
Dec 30, 2016
3xTripple (All reviews)
Critics call this series: "beautiful, imaginative, action-packed, and mysterious"
I'll add that it's also "diverse, unique, immersive, and, most importantly, it's (*cough*cough* mostly *cough*) coherent!"

Flip Flappers is pretty underrated and will take you on a relatively unpredictable journey with two middle school girls named Papika and Cocona as they travel to another dimension called "Pure Illusion". The story begins mysteriously as it follows the warm and simple-minded Papika as she escapes from what looks like a lab and flies off into the night sky on her hoverboard. It then switches to the perspective of the visibly depressed or kuudere Cocona and briefly gives insight into her read more
Dec 29, 2016
SeijiroUshio (All reviews)
While browsing for some shows that I might watch this Fall season, I stumbled on this one, got curious on the visuals, I watched the promotional video on it although I found the synopis too vague that time and I thought to myself "This show has potential" and it came the pilot episode.

Flip Flappers, the show that most of the people overlooked because of the number of magical girl shows this Fall 2016 season has brought. What I liked on this show was it's subtle yet too vibrant and how it was incorporated with meanings behind it that you will not notice 23 minutes had read more
Dec 29, 2016
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
It's painful to see a show with boundless imagination be constrained by the cold, harsh facts like Flip Flappers. It's a beautifully animated show with an endearing, infectious sort of charm, but BD sales are the lifeblood of seasonal anime, and all the charm in the world won't count for anything if you can't make the grade. Flip Flappers struggled to find an audience, and you could feel the creators; mad-dash scramble to wrap everything by the end of the first and certainly only season.

If given the chance to stretch its legs and take its time, perhaps over two full-length seasons, I think Flip Flappers read more
Jun 7, 2019
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
I remember discovering Flip Flappers in the fall 16 anime season and I immediately fell in love with it. It was a fantastic coming of age story that had great characters, beautiful and unique visuals and a funky soundtrack. It was so good that I put Flip Flappers in my top 10 anime to come out from this decade.
Fast forward to 2019 where this decade of anime is reaching to a close I decided to re-watch Flip Flappers just to see it's truly worthy of being in my top 10 favourite animes from this decade along with stuff like March Comes in Like a Lion, read more
Dec 31, 2016
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Have you ever felt like a show was made just for you? One that, in spite of all its flaws, you can see some good in it? Flip Flappers is this to me.

Flip Flappers is fun, original and refreshing. Believe me, watching the first episode and seeing Papika surfing in the air with her hoverboard is extremely refreshing from a lot of LN derivatives and High School Garbage I've the displeasure of wasting my time on.

Then there is the superb animation, the surprisingly memorable musical scores, and the vibrant colors ties everything together for a splendid 20 minute episode of fun.

The plot is fresh read more
Dec 29, 2016
ApertureEmployee (All reviews)
What started as a zany romp through intriguing worlds turned into a cliched story. Helicopter parenting is bad and when you try to protect your kid from everything it turns out *you're* the one hurting them! Only in Flip Flappers case the helicopter mom force feeds LSD to everyone to the point where the show turns into Inception and you're not supposed to know what's reality and what's Pure Illusion. It takes a lot of cues from Evangelion and that may be up your alley but it's not my thing.

The animation stays consistent in its style but there is a slight drop off in quality read more
Dec 29, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Papika and Cocona. Remember those two names well. Flip Flappers chronicles the adventure of these two girls as they venture into a world known as the “Pure Illusion”. For a girl like Cocona, this is a dramatic change of her life. Think about it though. If you certainly got dragged into a world of unknown, wouldn’t you be curious, scared, or excited? Those are the sort of feelings I was expecting this show at first. It’s expecting the unexpected.

As an original anime, viewers need not to worry about faithfulness related to adaptation. Also, director Oshiyama Kiyotaka puts his talent to work. For those who are read more
Jan 1, 2017
Animorphimagi (All reviews)
This show is amazing...if you liked Madoka or any generic anime that has an organization that won't tell the main character what they are doing or why they should be doing it until the last 2 episodes of the show.
The show's atmosphere drips with the depressing normalcy of Cocona's life. She's a realistic shy high school/middle school girl who just wants to live her life in peace. UNFORTUNATELY, a random girl shows up named Papika, who is one of the most unrealistically cheerful and positive plot driving characters ever. If you like that type of character then this is definitely a fun ride, if you read more
Dec 30, 2016
BlueKite (All reviews)
Flip Flappers is a show I didn’t initially care about as I just saw it as an average cutesy fantasy show. Magical girls, inter-dimensional journeys, cute aesthetics, these are things that the show possess that have been done before already. I wasn’t a fan of the cast at first as well. Most of the cast lack substance and the two main characters Cocona and Papika’s rollercoaster relationship annoyed me to death. However, I kept watching and every new journey that unfolds lead to new things that continually picked up my interest. It eventually peaked and came to the realization that this show proved that it read more
Oct 26, 2020
KingShuloxx (All reviews)
So if Diego Maradona wouldn´t have been playing football, he would have written this. This is the exact representation of what he would have done when high on drugs.

Flip Flappers is a completely unique series, and for sure one of the most underrated shows ever. You start with two nice girls doing a relaxed and sweet show and end up with a more complex, deep and serious plot. And the most important thing? At the end everything makes sense. Strange to say but it does. The way it was performed was amazing, "flipflapping" from a nice cartoon to an actual plot. You will have enjoyment read more
Feb 4, 2017
Stacys__Mom (All reviews)
As with any type of storytelling media, the overall value of a show will be inevitably judged by how much the viewer makes out of it. And, if there’s a show that exemplifies this idea of a viewer’s dedication to enjoying something affecting their overall opinion of it, it’s a strange little magical girl show from Fall of 2016.

Flip Flappers is one of the most polarizing series I’ve ever seen in anime. On the one hand, there are those who would defend it as ingenious and philosophically meaningful, while on the other hand there are those who dismiss it as cheap yuribait with a contrived read more
May 10, 2017
PrincessMomonoke (All reviews)
If something makes you happy, excited, or sets off another string of convoluted positive emotions, it’s kinda tough not to like. Hell, even things that makes you scared, anxious, or want to cry, emotions that seem negative in nature, are contributing factors to why you might like something. Think back to whenever someone tried to explain why they loved “Clannad: After Story” with “it made me cry,” or think back to whenever someone told you why they loved “Shingeki no Kyojin” with “I couldn’t stop looking at the screen!” The same can be applied to why people love those moe slice of life anime, it read more
Dec 29, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Dimension Jumping Magical Girls with a dash of a "Coming of Age story" and a paintbucket full of beautifully bizarre scenery!

LA wants to get straight into it...so let's dive into the technical rabbit hole shall we?.

Flip Flapper's plot format for the first 10 episodes goes into a "World a Week" kind of schema but using movie and anime references as it's settings, such examples being Episode 3 having Fist of the North Star and Mad Max Fury Road settings to Episode 5 having the Shining merged with yuri genre settings to even the meta-narrative of "archetypes and HECK the MECHA genre in one episode. Even read more
May 2, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
When keeping up with 2016 anime, I would often watch a title with a nagging sense that something was missing - something I wasn't seeing that was keeping a show with a workable or seemingly exciting premise from being truly engaging. And yet, for the longest time I couldn’t quite put my finger on exactly what that something was.

Then, as the year approached its end, I was shown a world almost entirely unlike anything I knew from that year. Suddenly, it all made sense! What was missing was surprisingly simple: a sense of passion - ambition! A willingness to take risks - to try something read more
Dec 29, 2016
cottonpie (All reviews)
Flip Flappers is without a doubt eye-pleasing. The first half of the series is intuitive, spontaneous, and entertaining. At first, the story is confusing. It's not clear what you're watching but makes you connect the dots as you watch more. For one thing though, the animation is superb.

The themes are not clear cut, they're actually quite ambiguous. The show's themes require you to think a little bit and piece it together which can be challenging but interesting. It makes you think and each scene is meticulously made to probe thought. But as you watch more you'll find the themes resonate more as a coming-of-age read more
Dec 31, 2016
Maddy-tan (All reviews)
(Updated 12/31)

For anyone who's seen the other works of Studio 3Hz, you'd know that they created Sora no Method, which spiked about a 6.7/10 on MyAnimeList, and continues to be criticized for one of the worst plot holes seen in anime. On top of Sora no Method, Dimension W, a Sci-Fi Seinen that got pretty popular spiked about 7.3/10 on MyAnimeList. Studio 3Hz didn't do Dimension W on their own, the did it in part with the studio Orange, and besides Sora no Method, there seemed to be no original, redeeming work that could make a name for this studio.

Fall 2016 rolls around, and with read more
Dec 29, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Flip Flappers is an original entry in the magical girl genre focused on middle school student Cocona and her interactions with the energetic Papika as both adventure in the alternate world of Pure Illusion taking on enemy creatures and acquiring magical powers from the amorphus gems that are left behind by the creatures when defeated.

The one thing that sticks out with Flip Flappers is its gorgeous animation when the series is taken over to Pure Illusion. The scenery of Pure Illusion offers up some rather creative and bizarre environments and enemies that Cocona and Papika encounter in their adventures that include a colorful landscape where read more
Aug 25, 2017
Lunael (All reviews)
Story: 7/10
The story follows Cocona, an ordinary, rather quiet middle school girl whose life is changed when she meets Papika, a very outgoing girl who tells Cocona that she has been looking for her. Papika takes her into a tunnel that leads them to a strange world which she says is called 'Pure Illusion'. Here Papika tells her they must find treasures known as 'fragments'… they aren't the only people looking for them. It later emerges that Papika is a part of an organisation known as Flip Flap.

At first I thought the plot was boring, but boy was I wrong! Watching the first episode read more