Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aria The Origination


Alternative Titles

English: Aria The Origination
Synonyms: Aria Season 3
Japanese: ARIA The ORIGINATION

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2008 to Apr 1, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:00 (JST)
Studios: Hal Film Maker
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.571 (scored by 19,460 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1228
Members: 77,718
Favorites: 3,126

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
The conclusion to the Aria series is an ever so subtle departure from the previous two, however there is a very good reason why this is the case. As many people have already stated, in order to fully appreciate Origination, one should really watch The Animation and The Natural first (and preferably in that order as well). What people don't really go into is why this should be the case with what is purely an episodic, slice-of-life series (I'll get to this in a bit though).

The story continues in much the same fashion as the first two series, dealing as it does with the daily read more
Apr 3, 2008
Ladholyman (All reviews)
All good things must end, as the saying goes.

All good things must end.

Man, I hate that saying. I hate it for how true it is. Kozue Amano, why couldn't you keep it going? Did you run out of ideas? Was five and a half years enough? Did you already plan this out? Wait, what am I saying? Of course you planned it out. Month after month, you crafted chapter after chapter of this masterpiece.

Jyunichi Sato, thank you for taking this work and running with it. For three separate seasons, each one improving on the last, you dealt the manga justice. You even added a new read more
Jul 6, 2015
Intelos (All reviews)
This is my first review; and what better series to review than the glorious Aria the Origination.

This is what I've been looking for all along. This is the reason why I have been spending countless hours experiencing many different stories, encompassing so many different themes while simultaneously being sucked into an abundance of worlds. There is a saying that goes as such: "A good life is a collection of happy moments". This is exactly what this anime was to me. It taught me, along with many others, to appreciate life, and how incredible it truly is.

The third and final season of Aria didn't try read more
Jun 23, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
All things eventually have to come to an end, especially with series that have left a mark on many people. One series that has cemented itself as the king of accomplishing this for many is the Aria series. What many consider to be the series’s magnum opus, Aria the Origination, is the last chapter in the anime adaptation of the beloved manga. As you might figure out, it is just about as glamoured with gorgeous music, cheerful characters, and melodramatic optimism as one can handle. Despite all of the beautiful aspects of this show, and the series as a whole, there’s still that one read more
Nov 9, 2008
Tenchio (All reviews)
Before watching Aria the Origination, you have to have watched the prequels - The Animation, The Natural and The OVA: Arietta - otherwise you will be doing yourself - but more importantly this series - a great disservice. Because Origination, being the grand finale of the franchise, demands that you as a viewer has formed bonds to the setting and characters of the Aria universe; if you haven't, you will automatically disarm the bomb of emotion that is this third and last season of Aria.

And that would be so incredibly sad.

Once again we return to Aqua, the planet which prior to human terraforming went by read more
Apr 3, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
The last voyage to Neo-Venezia?
For those who have followed Aria from the beginning, be it with the “Aria” manga or the anime series “Aria The Animation” and “Aria The Natural”, this third season “Aria The Origination” will no doubt be the greatest of all.

If you haven't watched either “Aria The Animation” or “Aria The Natural” you might still enjoy “Aria The Origination” but you will not be able to enjoy all the depths and events this season has to offer without knowing the character's pasts.

Although the primary settings seems to be science fiction due to it's setting in the distant future on terraformed read more
Aug 21, 2013
MainSane (All reviews)
*This is my first review

*I will be writing this review on all 3 parts of Aria and will be summarized individually, the score overall is on the series in its entirety

This series was number of firsts for me, first true slice of life I have watched, first anime in which the focus was on a female protagonist through its entirety while also including introspective reflection, and the first piece of media that I truly appreciated for its episodic nature.

Before watching I had high expectations of what I thought Aria was going to be brought on by the high rating, glowing recommendations, and the relative obscurity read more
Jun 18, 2009
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
The third season of Aria, Aria the Origination is a stunning and satisfying conclusion to the Aria story. With 2 seasons and a few OVAs behind it, I would say Aria the Origination has perfected the slice of life formula, hence its very well deserved high scores. I did analyze this alot, but at the end concluded that a review of this series would only be effective if it came from the heart :)

As stated by pretty much every reviewer, to fully appreiate the masterpiece that is Aria The Origination you should first watch Aria the Animation, Aria the Natural and the other OVAs/Picture Dramas. read more
Sep 22, 2017
WithMyCigs (All reviews)
Aria is a calm, cheerful series that seeks to find simple meaning in ordinary things. However, what meaning is found is usually of a trite nature, such as the love of one’s art being the most important thing in said art. Not only are such messages common and forgettable, but they even occasionally range close to the absurd. Several of the episodes don’t even have applicable morals, and these merely depict the characters enjoying their everyday lives and appreciating simple pleasures. The series seems more preoccupied with wondering at the workings of a nonexistent city than anything else.

What meaning is meant to be derived from read more
Sep 12, 2017
TeKSMeLater (All reviews)
[DISCLAIMER] As I want to get all my points across, as well as bring this show the justice it deserves, the following review is a lengthily-detailed breakdown of every factor ranging from the story to the overall experience. You may look for other reviews to find a more concise criticism of the show.

Introduction

When we usually talk about things we truly love, it becomes hard to explain why. Most people would not understand the appeal one would get from something—this is especially hard when trying to relay why your favorite book is your favorite book, or why your favorite film is your favorite film.

In cases, the read more
Mar 18, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
Aria the Origination is the marvelous conclusion of Akari, Alice, and Aika’s journey as undines in training while retaining all of the charm and glorious pace of its predecessors.

Story - 10
Origination masters the art of telling simplistic, straight forward stories while giving great insight into the characters and the setting. What were problems in length, use of time, the annoying cats, and introduction of character in Natural and Animation, become the third installment’s strengths. Every episode in Origination showcases something undiscovered in the series’ previous episodes, whether it be a new occupation, place or characters. Each episode serves as piece of development read more
May 7, 2008
jouttex (All reviews)
I had to mark down other anime's score because they couldn't come even close to Aria.

Story: 10
Even though it doesn't really have a linear plot, each episode shows a great deal of character development, which is the best aspect of Aria. Focusing on the three juniors, we see how they live their daily life and training to become a Prima, interact with each other and other characters, and overcome their own struggles.

Animation: 10
HAL Film Maker easily becomes one of my favorite animation studio. Excellent color choices, smooth animation, beautiful scenery.. what else could you ask for? Definitely looking forward for the DVD releases, since read more
Mar 8, 2009
Illuminis (All reviews)
This is the final season of Aria, and what a bittersweet one it is. I’m so glad to have discovered this wonderful series, meeting characters and settings I won’t ever forget.

Story: Each episode we follow the various characters through their daily events in beautiful Neo-Venezia, and watch the three apprentice undines on their journeys to becoming professionals. When that moment inevitably arrives, it is definitely one of the most touching scenes I’ve ever experienced. However, the ending events do feel rather fast-paced compared to the slow and dreamy atmosphere of most other episodes. Nonetheless, the ending is deeply satisfying, with a message that time brings read more
Dec 30, 2013
OdysseusUlysses (All reviews)
Aria the Origination has achieved something remarkable to which anyone who's familiar with the slice of live genre knows to be an extremely rare phenomenon; it manages to end satisfactory.

Perhaps more so than even this, it perfectly incapsulates the concept of change, which as anyone not still living in a womb will attest carries great trepidations as well as possibilities. Its said that real courage shines not when one demands change, but upon facing it and seeing all its uncertainty, are able to accept it, and Aria really managed to portray this perfectly along with other themes such as the folly read more
Jul 14, 2013
pakoko (All reviews)
"Wonderful..."

Much like the main protagonist, Mizunashi Akari, you will find yourself repeating this phrase as you continue discovering the wonderful world of Neo-Venezia and delving deeper into the relationships between the characters. This final season of Aria is a very heartfelt and satisfying ending to an overall unforgettable series.

As all the other reviews say, it is absolutely necessary that you watch the previous two seasons and the OVA: Aria the Animation, Aria the Natural, and Aria the OVA: Arietta.

Why? Watching Aria the Animation will familiarize you with the characters; watching Aria the Natural will familiarize you with the many beautiful and magical wonders of read more
Oct 12, 2008
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
The third and last intalment of ARIA where even all good things come to an end - and it was done in an excellent manner!

I find ARIA to be a "love it or hate it" series. It's pretty obvious I loved it while on the other hand, action-mecha fans would find this the ultimate bore.

Story: 9
Unlike the previous seasons, The Origination starts rolling towards the climax of the series and progression starts to occur. While it is rather predictable that apprentices tend to get promoted, the way it was done was simply magnificent.

This is one of the very few animes which read more
Aug 30, 2010
ariamachi (All reviews)
This review covers the entire Aria series from Aria the Animation to the Natural to the Arietta OVA and then finally the Origination.

Story: 10/10 Aria is about three girls striving to become Prima Undine's in Neo-Venezia (formally know as Mars). Prima Undine's are basically tour guides on small two to four person boats. The series goes on to show the extreme beauty of Neo-Venezia in each episode with beautiful art and elegant music. While our three main characters Akari, Aika and Alice train to become Prima with the help of their tutors, Alicia, Athena and Akira. Every episode has many moments that leaves you with read more
Mar 10, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
This is the third and final of my series of reviews for the ARIA animes. My perspective on these reviews are based on how I felt after finishing the show my first time.

All good things come to an end, how sad and true this is. ARIA the ORIGINATION is the third and final season of the series adapted from Kozue Amano's ARIA manga series. And I must say, this season is just something else...its the end of the journey around Neo-Venezia and what an end this is.

Story: It is impossible to understand what an amazing story the series has had unless you have finished watching read more
Mar 14, 2008
Killotine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aria the origination is the third season of the Aria series. It hasn't changed much, it is pretty much the same as the previous seasons. It is best to watch the first season Aria the Animation and the second season Aria the Natural before you start on this, because you will miss out on a lot of character development, yes thats right character development not plot because there isn't any plot just daily life of the main characters.

~STORY~

Aria is set in a fictional city which is based off Venice, Italy. The story follows Arika who is a Undine trainee who is read more
Feb 15, 2009
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
This is the first time I've written a review right after finishing an anime, simply because it was so wonderful, so magnificent, that it overwhelmed me with emotion. Called Aria, I'd been taking my time enjoying it, rather than burning through the episodes, which I could have done. Trust me when I say this is the first time I've given perfect tens and Aria is worth every point.

At the final minute of a perfect end to the series, I was overcome with both glee and sadness. Even now, as I think about how this series is actually over and I won't have anymore episodes to read more