Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records


Alternative Titles

English: Akashic Records of Bastard Magic Instructor
Synonyms: RokuAka
Japanese: ロクでなし魔術講師と禁忌教典

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2017 to Jun 20, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 20:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 179,074 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #273
Members: 333,838
Favorites: 2,054

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Open up a light novel with a school setting with pretty girls and a protagonist standing in the middle. Then in the background, watch for signs of magical content like sparkles, circles, etc. I swear, almost every light novel adaptation these days has something similar in nature and it doesn’t take a creative mind to write a story about them. Given the way Rokudenashi is written, there’s no treasure you’ll find in this series. Instead, you’ll spend endless hours wondering why the characters’ school uniforms look so ridiculous.

Also known as Akashic Records of Bastard Magic Instructor, the series takes off in an academy life setting. read more
Jun 20, 2017
AhmedFisherman (All reviews)
Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records is in my opinion the greatest disappointment of the spring season. Don't misunderstand me, I really enjoyed the show but after watching the first episodes my expectations were really high, this anime had a lot of potential and it got wasted, so this is why I feel let down.
The story, which seemed really good at the beginning, went to nowhere, there's no plot overall, the anime consists in Glenn (the MC) saving continuously the girls he's bound to because everyone of them is important for some reason or another and the storytelling towards the end was very rushed: I read more
Jun 20, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
If there is one trend I dislike more than anything over the past few years, it is the plethora and popularity of light novel adaptations. Now, of course, to clarify, I don't believe that just because an anime is adapted from a light novel, it is inherently bad. There have been plenty of light novel adaptations in the past that have actually been pretty good, but what I am referring to, in this case, are the light novel adaptations that feature some boring male protagonist with spiky hair that acts as a self insert for all of the filthy otaku, who goes to some random read more
Jun 21, 2017
B4nny (All reviews)
Highly underrated show that exeeded my expectations imo. I think some ppl need to be more open-minded. Some of the MAL reviews that quickly judge shows with a bad score just by looking at the 'genres: Action, Magic, Fantasy, School' and the 'LN adaptation' tag. Don't get me wrong, I have watched a lot of these type of light novel adaptation shows and I did not have high expectations at all when I started the show. And I was right, episode 1 was really bad, full of the usual clichés and tropes. But if you look past that first episode, this show actually gets better exponentially. This show is read more
Apr 25, 2017
botagas (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR at the bottom
Okay, so it's none of the 'professional and long' reviews you see often. Just felt like it would be great to give you a short glimpse on this anime, since I'm that kind of person who needs to be reassured that an anime is worth watching, and that's usually by checking out trailers or reviews (mostly to see if there are any positive reviews, because I mostly watch non-popular anime). Either way, is it worth watching? Yeah, definitely. There are only 4 episodes at the moment and I will update the review once it finishes airing, but for now, jump in as read more
Jun 20, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
"If the best thing I can say about your show is that the girls are hot, then your show is terrible!" -some lazy jackass

*Spoilers for Akashic Records*

Before I start the review proper, or rather, this dissertation about why this show is a generic and irritating fraud that actually manages to squander any potential it had for some lazy comedy and infuriating LN bullshit clichés, I have two things I feel I must notify you of. First, a decent chunk of this review will be spent analyzing the ideas this series had and how with some major and minor tweaks, the series could've been better, at read more
Apr 27, 2017
HairyPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show follows your regular, run of the mill action, school show. You have the tsundere who actually cares about the mc but doesnt show it. Then you have the nice blonde haired ojousama. Then the sterotypical strong but lazy main character. The thing is, is that this show does everything right!

If you didn't know the show follows the light novel. Having reading both the manga and the light novel I can safely say that the anime adaptation is really good. Of course this review is only for the first four episodes, but if it continues along the route of the novel and manga faithfully. read more
Jun 20, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
I enjoyed this series, it was different for me, especially how the magick worked, the spells and how they work, the theory craft behind them was creative, I just couldn't help but find myself enjoying how this worked.

Story, it's fairly decent, your usual laid back lazy teacher that is stronger then first appears teaches kids about magick, but what worked for me was that while it was a bit basic in that, the characters were interesting to watch each being unique, and most of the situations were creative I felt till near the end, but didn't ruin it.

Art, like I mentioned how the magick works read more
Jun 20, 2017
AobaSuzukaze (All reviews)
I love Akashic Records of Bastard Magical Instructor. Sure, it isn't a totally unique anime by any means, but I still believe that something doesn't have to be unique to be great. Especially since almost everything can be average or close to it if everyone broke down every show to a simpler form. I'm sure even acclaimed works can be average if you approach them with a mind set of breaking the story into simpler aspects. Well, before I start rambling too much, I love Akashic Records. I'm not sure if this or Re:Creators takes my top spot for the read more
Jun 20, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Rokudenashi is an unfortunate case of "what could have been".

I'll try to keep this relatively concise and straight-to-the-point: Rokudenashi had the potential to be a modern version of Great Teacher Onizuka. While it has an overused magic academy premise, unlike most battle harems, the protagonist here is actually the teacher of one of its classes, and he is also a huge troll. Just like Onizuka, Glenn Radars is largely incompetent at normal teacher duties, preferring to let his students have self-study sessions all the time instead of having to put any effort in. However, he also has a lot of talent in other areas, especially read more
May 30, 2017
whyokay (All reviews)
Preliminary
im just here to express my absolute disappointment in this show lol

i love love loved the first 6 ep of the show. i don't like fanservice but i somehow managed to ignore those uniforms and enjoy the show?? there was comedy, action, characters are likeable and the backstories are interesting enough. (there's even a line by glenn that really stuck to me)

and then the latest arc happened and im like.....why. i even enjoyed the chibi preview more than the actual episode itself. cliche af, ridiculous reactions, sistine is reduced to one of those "oh MC is dying and i need to do cpr buT oH read more
May 12, 2017
Yellow_INC (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, I got an urge desire to write it as soon as I completed 6th episode. I will try to avoid or warn about spoilers that will be included in the review. It's supposed to be subjective. not objective, so it's highly possible, that you will not agree with things that I wrote.

Introduction:
I was really amazed after watching first episode, I thought that it would be one of the better shows at the moment, however episode by episode I was getting more and more disappointed.

Story:
First episode really hyped me about the serie, even though I do not like anime with fan read more
Dec 18, 2017
damian337 (All reviews)
Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records is your typical cliché harem anime, with bits of comedy, action, magic, and of course high-school girls. Now, bashing this anime for that would be very illogical, since the target audience is not the people that look for a good storyline, it's not the people that look for a lot of character development, and it's not the people that want to decode an anime in every single aspect. Therefore judging it on these factors does not make sense, so I will judge it based on it's intended audience, and based on the overall delivery.

This anime is for read more
Jun 20, 2017
The_Rippled (All reviews)
In a world where students wear stripper-like uniforms:

One man--- a “bastard” of a teacher--- is called upon by a powerful and beautiful mage to teach those young stripper students the fundamentals of magic theory. ---Although in reality the powerful mage was just trying to get his lazy, isolated, moochingass out of the house.

Thus, the story begins…

Story: 7/10
At first the main character, Glen Radars, appears to be a generic all-powerful MC at first, BUT WAIT! Is he really...? This anime has a knack for throwing in (kind of) unexpected plot twists for comedic purposes. Glen Radars has more depth to him than meets the eye. read more
Mar 16, 2019
DerpyWerpy (All reviews)
Akashic Records Of Bastard Magic Instructor is a fantastic series. The main character and the white cat girl is hilarious. The comedy in this is almost on par with that main protagonist in Steins;Gate. Was my kind of humor and it's consistent throughout the whole series which I love.

It's quite short and I wish they would make more because although it doesn't bring anything new to the table the comedy is quite unique which other animes are lacking especially with the consistency part.

Definitely an amazing anime, really good story and awesome laughs. Would recommend even as one not overly obsessed with anime. :)
May 16, 2018
PakiUSA (All reviews)
STORY: 7/10
CHARACTER: 8/10
ART: 8/10
SOUND: 10/10
ENJOYMENT: 10/10
OVERALL: 9/10

A surprisingly entertaining anime, never expected that after reading the long title of "Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records"! It starts with a bang, delivering perfect episodes that balances out fresh Comedy with serious Action very well in a Magic Academy setting. Sadly, it can't end on the same note as new arcs with new characters are introduced late in the game that aren't given much exposition. Still they do a good job with explaining the magic of this world logically, making it sound both interesting and realistic. This is further supported by the shows focus on the students read more
May 19, 2017
Tadaharu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why must they ruin everything with "cheap sexual hints" and "transfer students"?

I was literally so annoyed by this continuing stupid trend I had to come and say it in here. I hope for a day where they will make a comedy-adventure (perhaps magic or demon including) anime, which DOES NOT rely on idiotic fanservice moments, with their predictable transfers, unnecessary shots etc. This started like a promising anime, but eh. Somehow there are always people gifted enough to ruin me some enjoyment.


Also what's with this review system?... How come "Decent" accounts to the score 4 and "Mediocre" is for 5. Clearly they are misplaced. And read more
Jun 10, 2017
Arakuan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Because do not be fooled, the first episode is absolutely AWFUL. The cast is uninteresting and full of tropes, the motivation is stupid, the magic is mediocre to look at, the ecchi feels like it was included as an afterthought (yeah, yeah, just make all the girls in the school wear 50% less clothes for no reason) and the main character is pathetic at best... Until you get to the second episode. This is by far the best example of how NOT to start your show, but holy crap if it doesn't change its tune for episode two. I'm actually mad that the author undersold read more
Feb 2, 2019
Demonul123 (All reviews)
I have seen videos about this anime so i decided to give it a try and i wasn't dissapointed.I realy enjoyed interesting plot twisted with good humor and characters were so well performed that i couldn't decide which of them i liked the most.The biggest disadventage was forced plot in late episodes and unfinished plot line.

Overall
+Good and interesting plot line
+Lots of humor
+Characters have really interesting stories and are well performed
+There are a lot of moments where we see our characters from diffrent angles
-Plot is forced in last episodes
-Some characters are just background and they have no inpact to the story

God I hope season 2 will read more
Jan 29, 2018
FluffyFlareon (All reviews)
What starts off as a setup with substantial potential in the first three establishing episodes of this series, rapidly devolves over the course of the next nine. Don't get me wrong -- a lot of the elements put in place for this anime are highly cliche and uninspired (and not in a satirical way); however, don't get me wrong in the other direction -- this anime is also not awful. In fact, I'd say the first three episodes led me to believe that it'd be significantly above average.

Enter Glenn Radars -- deceptively versatile, but incorrigibly opportunistic and frustratingly dispassionate. Did this anime attempt to read more