Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuzu no Honkai


Alternative Titles

English: Scum's Wish
Japanese: クズの本懐

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 13, 2017 to Mar 31, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Lerche
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 24,371 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #444
Members: 130,751
Favorites: 1,217

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 2, 2017
Marcelkke (All reviews)
Have you ever desired something that's not politically correct? Kuzu no Honkai is an anime about desire. The main characters want something that they cant have Hanabi Yasuraoka loves Narumi Kanai her teacher and "brother". Mugi Awaya loves his teacher Akane Minagawa. Unfortunately for Hanabi and Mugi their love is not reciprocal.

Forgive me for any grammar errors, i'm not used to write in english

Story: 10
This is not an usual romance anime. This anime is very original, and in a certain way, unique. There are unforeseeable events and the story grows perfectly.

Art: 10
Perfect, detailed, stunning.

Sound: 10
The opening "Uso no Hibana" is a masterpiece, and the read more
Feb 2, 2017
AhmedFisherman (All reviews)
Note: I'm reading the manga, so I know how the anime is going to progress.

There are a lot of people complaining about this show and its development after the first episodes and I understand them, as a matter of fact this anime is just NOT suited for everyone, so let's just talk about it.

Story: 9
Kuzu no Honkai is the story of a girl who is going to discover her true feelings through sexual growth, and the path going up to this point is not as easy as it sounds, so this is why I don't recommend this anime to everyone.
The story starts like this: the read more
Feb 2, 2017
chobits4marc (All reviews)
Kuzu no Honkai (Scum’s Wish) portrays how we all have a desire, oftentimes bad or “scum” type of desires and how we act upon those desires. This anime is not for the lover of sweet romance because the story is a bit psychological and melancholic. Here’s the reason why I keep watching and waiting for the next installment of the episodes.
Story: 9
I like the narration of the story here. You can see clearly in the story why the character or the story ended up that way because it was narrated very well. Aside from that, after every episode, there is a dialogue/monologue from a character read more
Feb 2, 2017
Lawli-Pop (All reviews)
Since episode 2 I'm waiting for this anime to just deliver the final blow so I can finally drop it in peace (and for good this time). Not because it's complete garbage… But the way it's going right now, I really don't know for how much longer I can sit through this. Good heavens. Ô_Ó

„Scum's Wish“, more like „Friends With Benefits: The Anime“ is about people being each other's replacements for people they cannot have. Which is an interesting premise, that anime as a medium hasn't explored too often yet, I agree. Nonetheless it's also a premise that can be ruined spectacularly with so little read more
Feb 17, 2017
ssghoulhaise (All reviews)
The first episode seemed promising but after the first episode the only thing I did was cringe. I can't relate to people who call this show good and refreshing.

Story 1/10

The first episode you think it's not going to be that bad but after that it's getting more cliché and the only thing you do is cringe your way through the episodes.

Art + Sound 7/10

The art and sound are much better than the show itself.

Character 1/10

I couldn't empathize with the characters just thought most of them were really stupid.

Enjoyment 2/10

I kind of enjoyed myself the first episode but that's it.

Overall 2/10
Feb 12, 2017
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
From the Writer of School Days comes SCHOOL DAYS 2 Electric Boogaloo. Every so often there's that one anime that the masses throw roses to that I just don't get, Higurashi, Elfen Lied, Sword Art Online, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0.

I'll have to let Scum's Wish (Kazu no Honkai) be a good reminder to really examine the premise of a show more closely before watching. The genres were interesting enough to catch my eye in the first place, romantic drama, psychological and so on it sounded like good makings for a more serious romance after watching the more light hearted and bubbly romance shows that read more
Feb 2, 2017
Kotone_neko (All reviews)

Kuzu no Honkai

Review Text
Kuzu no honkai is a pretty unique and intense show imo and it is , I would say, a pretty under appreciated and underrated show of this season. Many of whom says that the show/manga is bad is largely due to the NTR in this show. Well, I would like to say that I'm not a fellow NTR fan as well, to a certain point I even hate NTR. I did some research and basically NTR means that the mc's loved one has been taken or seduced away from him and the heroine might be unwilling or willing. However, this show doesn't read more
Feb 3, 2017
Slayahh (All reviews)
It's been so long since a studio has dared to release an anime like "Kuzu no Honkai". Ever since the creators of Aku no Hana got death threats for their show, studios have been reluctant to include depressive moods and apathy mixed with romance into their anime. Kozu no Honkai takes this exact step, but presents it in a more cheerful fashion that can apply to broader audiences.

If you are a fan of manga such as "Oyasumi Punpun" or "Umibe no Onnako" like me, this is the closest you can get to the same mood and atmosphere in new anime. If you are not, and read more
Feb 25, 2017
tigermaskshinobi (All reviews)
"Kuzu no Honkai" is the most fucked up show I've seen since "School days". Honestly, this show could be a Hit or a miss for most people. For me, fortunately or unfortunately it was big miss. Although I do appreciate the boldness to create and put out something like this this, can't say I'm a fan of it.

There really isn't much I can appreciate about the anime. It is a cringe-fest of a show with a few okay moments. There isn't much to the story, it isn't very eventful or progressive, it relies heavily on the discovery and the development of the characters, which read more
Feb 3, 2017
czxcjx (All reviews)
We think about life as a story. The politician too – and the gangster. And I would like to believe that both adulterers and the faithful think the same way. Some, perhaps, will make it into a story of triumph. You think, for example, that this isn’t your fate. You have ambitions – and yet you are being tied down to the Earth – to this marriage that you chose out of either some bad circumstance or because you were blind in early love. Either way, the adulterer, wishing to be the hero/heroine of the story, will view it as a conquest of the soul. read more
Feb 6, 2017
Finite7 (All reviews)
Review is based on 4 episodes of viewing experience-

I'll keep this short and clean -
Simply put Kuzu no Honkai is a better animated and overall better put together SCHOOL DAYS with multiple people having personalities like the MC of School Days.

There is a lot of hype this season surrounding this show, people saying it depicts relationships realistically blah blah but I think this is an overrated anime that doesn't have anywhere to go.
Human's will probably hype this like Yaoi on Ice (Which wasen't that bad but it did not deserve what it got), but I don't plan on being one of those human's.

Sorry
Bye
Mar 16, 2017
nukinuchan (All reviews)
75 % of sex scenes. 25 % poor scenario


Story: 1/10 There's not even a real story there. Just a bunch of stupid teenagers (and teachers too) who're so depressed they need to have sex with each others in every single episode. If you like to change from time to time don't worry they got a different sex pair almost each episode. It's like the author just want to show sex scenes out of nowhere. Ok 1 from time to time but every episode to the point there's not even a story?! No.

Characters: 1/10 All are stupid. Really nothing to save. Absolutly impossible to relate with read more
Feb 3, 2017
Nutmeg_Juice (All reviews)
Beautifully melancholic, and deeply thought-provoking.

Kuzu no Honkai – most people will either love it or hate it, since it’s definitely a polarizing anime to say the least. Personally, I’m in love. Here’s why:

Story – (10)
If you’re going into this anime expecting a straight-forward, innocent romance – don’t. The premise is nothing special and is well summed by a few lines in the synopsis. However, the execution is what makes it really shine through amongst other “romance” anime’s. Most of the story is told through memories and thoughts of characters, and is specially written to invoke thought into the viewer. The story focuses heavily read more
Mar 5, 2017
sheetapally (All reviews)
To put this basic, it's porn. With a terrible story and characters I can't empathize with. It's about sex crazed horrible people who create a love hexagon with terrible cliches.


The story is stupid, it just keeps getting worse and they dig further into becoming a slut.
Art and sound is good, Never felt out of place
Characters are all sex crazed maniacs. I would have been a lot happier with this show if at least 1 person was like, "no sorry, I don't want sex" and walked away for good. Its unrealistic and hard to empathize with.
Enjoyment.. well there was nothing there aside from, porn. Under the read more
Feb 16, 2017
Margraven (All reviews)
[updated 10/03/2017 After watching 9 episodes.]
I begin by apologizing because English is not my native language, so excuse the mistakes.

Kuzu no Honkai has a serious theme being addressed, the sentimental and sexual discovery of several characters. The big problem was being appealion and unrealistic. I believe that this was the author's intention, since it is normal for Westerners to have fetishes for characters of animes living in embarrassing situations but ... some situations border on ridicule. With the exclusion of the protagonist, all the characters are extremely extereotipados which makes very clear the reasons behind each action eliminating the chances of good twists.

Story (5) : read more
Feb 11, 2017
HikiNEET021 (All reviews)
The aspects between watching an Asian Dramas... CAUSE IT'S TRULY BEYOND ON MY EXPECTATIONS.. AND BEATS ALL OF THIS...


UNREQUITED, LIES, SUFFERING, LUST, AFFECTION, ENVY, DEMEANOR...

A cycle of a relationship.. is huge which is why.. attaining the burden soul from the depth onto their heart got wrecked... So far enduring all the pain.. is a mischievous ideal with full of misunderstanding..

Cheating on someone.., Flirting to desire a wild interaction is truly delusional in real life... This is why coloring books never been in black and white..

Every gaps and ideology.. on such characters describes how dirty and cunning they can be..
Hypocrites only can enjoys themselves is because read more
Mar 12, 2017
Coldsp33d (All reviews)
"I hate being alone. Being alone makes me feel empty. I want to sleep with someone."

DISCLAIMER #1: All opinions expressed in this review are mine alone, and you are not obligated to agree/disagree with them at all.

DISCLAIMER #2: Don't be deceived by the genres listed on the left. Proceed with caution if you see dislike any of the themes presented below:
* Forbidden love
* Netorare
* Sex and betrayal
* Yuri
* Lolis

TLDR; Overall rating: 2/10 OR 8/10

I will try and explain, as clearly as possible, the rationale behind the rating above, everything that this anime does right and wrong, and why you should or shouldn't watch it.

Story:
Kuzu no Honkai is a read more
Feb 13, 2017
Yung_Doug (All reviews)
Consider this more an extended recommendation than a review, as the show has yet to conclude. However, we're reaching the halfway point, and its not let me down yet, so I have high hopes.

Kuzu no Honkai is an amazing psychological romance. Its cutesy art style may paint it to be another fun little lovers' tryst, but make no mistake, this show drops some heavy shit regularly. Love isn't some beautiful feeling that makes cute girls blush, its a sickening glaze of nausea that never truly leaves you. It tortures you with longing, transforming fantasies into obsessions, and good, honest people into addicts who will read more
Feb 4, 2017
OhWowzers (All reviews)
This review be updated once Kuzu no Honaki is over.....

When people talk about this anime, you might have heard the word hundreds of times already... and that word is, "Realistic". That's what most people think this anime is, they think it's so realistic. Do I think that's true?..... I do think that honestly, so yes. I'll explain why, but first I want to talk about something about the romance of this anime that makes it unrealistic.

ROMANCE - What's unrealistic in this anime? It's the fact that both of the main characters are using each other, and pretending their dating someone else, because the person read more
Mar 21, 2017
Nou-Tan (All reviews)
This show was one of the worst things I ever watched .
I Already read the manga so I know where everything is going to.
I totally hate Criticizing Animes , ( if you saw my profile ,you will understand what I mean ).

Adapting some non-well drawn Mangas into animes is a good thing to show other people's stories to other people around the world ( even though the drawings gets better in the Manga later )
but adapting this one was a big mistake.

If you love someone who can't be for you , its ok to sell yourself to the Sexual desires with someone read more