Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuzu no Honkai


Alternative Titles

English: Scum's Wish
Japanese: クズの本懐

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 13, 2017 to Mar 31, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Lerche
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 17,502 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #532
Members: 109,502
Favorites: 851

Reviews

ItzToxic
Feb 1, 2017
It will be very clear when people say that this anime is NOT for everyone, and that is damn true. I will be reviewing the first couple of episodes, as I am a manga reader and has kept up to the latest chapter.

Scum's Wish or Kuzu no Honkai is definitely an Anime that lives up to its title, and it does a hell of a job representing that.

Story (9)
For a romance anime, this is one of the more different ones. This isn't your typical "Waiting for 12 episodes till we get a kiss." type of anime, heck, this anime gives us a kiss scene in read more
I found this review Helpful
Marcelkke
Feb 2, 2017
Have you ever desired something that's not politically correct? Kuzu no Honkai is an anime about desire. The main characters want something that they cant have Hanabi Yasuraoka loves Narumi Kanai her teacher and "brother". Mugi Awaya loves his teacher Akane Minagawa. Unfortunately for Hanabi and Mugi their love is not reciprocal.

Forgive me for any grammar errors, i'm not used to write in english

Story: 10
This is not an usual romance anime. This anime is very original, and in a certain way, unique. There are unforeseeable events and the story grows perfectly.

Art: 10
Perfect, detailed, stunning.

Sound: 10
The opening "Uso no Hibana" is a masterpiece, and the read more
I found this review Helpful
chobits4marc
Feb 2, 2017
Kuzu no Honkai (Scum’s Wish) portrays how we all have a desire, oftentimes bad or “scum” type of desires and how we act upon those desires. This anime is not for the lover of sweet romance because the story is a bit psychological and melancholic. Here’s the reason why I keep watching and waiting for the next installment of the episodes.
Story: 9
I like the narration of the story here. You can see clearly in the story why the character or the story ended up that way because it was narrated very well. Aside from that, after every episode, there is a dialogue/monologue from a character read more
I found this review Helpful
AhmedFisherman
Feb 2, 2017
Note: I'm reading the manga, so I know how the anime is going to progress.

There are a lot of people complaining about this show and its development after the first episodes and I understand them, as a matter of fact this anime is just NOT suited for everyone, so let's just talk about it.

Story: 9
Kuzu no Honkai is the story of a girl who is going to discover her true feelings through sexual growth, and the path going up to this point is not as easy as it sounds, so this is why I don't recommend this anime to everyone.
The story starts like this: the read more
I found this review Helpful
Kejiji123
Feb 12, 2017
This is piece of shit is only for motherfuckes.

Story: 1/10
I got some hope for this show at the beginning. But I was wrong. And now I'm filled with disappointment. TO simply put the story : "this is highschool anime , with bunch of retarded people ,who are thinking about sex all the time and a female teacher who wants to be a pornstar."

Art: 5/10
The art is just ok


Sound: 5/10
Op is shit ,ED is good, OST is just so so.But ED is too good for this show,so everytime when ED started ,I just feel uncomfortable.
This should be for this anime: Nourin-AKB40


Characters: -100000000000000000/10
The characters are read more
I found this review Helpful
Lawli-Pop
Feb 2, 2017
Since episode 2 I'm waiting for this anime to just deliver the final blow so I can finally drop it in peace (and for good this time). Not because it's complete garbage… But the way it's going right now, I really don't know for how much longer I can sit through this. Good heavens. Ô_Ó

„Scum's Wish“, more like „Friends With Benefits: The Anime“ is about people being each other's replacements for people they cannot have. Which is an interesting premise, that anime as a medium hasn't explored too often yet, I agree. Nonetheless it's also a premise that can be ruined spectacularly with so little read more
I found this review Helpful
Koloro122
Feb 12, 2017
At the beginnig I liked the anime,but the more episode I watch ,the more bullshit it is. It s just a horrible show , where only motherfuckers watch it!!!!!!!!!!

Story: 1/10
The story is something like Naruto married Sakurai and Sasuke fucked Hinata and Hinata loves Sakura. I'm pretty okay with that. But there are so many sex scenes, that are keeping in the way of story. I know that,they are having sex,but can't you just make it quicker and focus on the story.?!?! Nope,they just keep appearing everywhere and start talking about about some stupid shit. If you gonna show us these sex scenes more and read more
I found this review Helpful
Kotone_neko
Feb 2, 2017

Kuzu no Honkai

Review Text
Kuzu no honkai is a pretty unique and intense show imo and it is , I would say, a pretty under appreciated and underrated show of this season. Many of whom says that the show/manga is bad is largely due to the NTR in this show. Well, I would like to say that I'm not a fellow NTR fan as well, to a certain point I even hate NTR. I did some research and basically NTR means that the mc's loved one has been taken or seduced away from him and the heroine might be unwilling or willing. However, this show doesn't read more
I found this review Helpful
Slayahh
Feb 3, 2017
It's been so long since a studio has dared to release an anime like "Kuzu no Honkai". Ever since the creators of Aku no Hana got death threats for their show, studios have been reluctant to include depressive moods and apathy mixed with romance into their anime. Kozu no Honkai takes this exact step, but presents it in a more cheerful fashion that can apply to broader audiences.

If you are a fan of manga such as "Oyasumi Punpun" or "Umibe no Onnako" like me, this is the closest you can get to the same mood and atmosphere in new anime. If you are not, and read more
I found this review Helpful
ShadowBlazer3000
Feb 12, 2017
From the Writer of School Days comes SCHOOL DAYS 2 Electric Boogaloo. Every so often there's that one anime that the masses throw roses to that I just don't get, Higurashi, Elfen Lied, Sword Art Online, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0.

I'll have to let Scum's Wish (Kazu no Honkai) be a good reminder to really examine the premise of a show more closely before watching. The genres were interesting enough to catch my eye in the first place, romantic drama, psychological and so on it sounded like good makings for a more serious romance after watching the more light hearted and bubbly romance shows that read more
I found this review Helpful
czxcjx
Feb 3, 2017
We think about life as a story. The politician too – and the gangster. And I would like to believe that both adulterers and the faithful think the same way. Some, perhaps, will make it into a story of triumph. You think, for example, that this isn’t your fate. You have ambitions – and yet you are being tied down to the Earth – to this marriage that you chose out of either some bad circumstance or because you were blind in early love. Either way, the adulterer, wishing to be the hero/heroine of the story, will view it as a conquest of the soul. read more
I found this review Helpful
Finite7
Feb 6, 2017
Review is based on 4 episodes of viewing experience-

I'll keep this short and clean -
Simply put Kuzu no Honkai is a better animated and overall better put together SCHOOL DAYS with multiple people having personalities like the MC of School Days.

There is a lot of hype this season surrounding this show, people saying it depicts relationships realistically blah blah but I think this is an overrated anime that doesn't have anywhere to go.
Human's will probably hype this like Yaoi on Ice (Which wasen't that bad but it did not deserve what it got), but I don't plan on being one of those human's.

Sorry
Bye
I found this review Helpful
Nutmeg_Juice
Feb 3, 2017
Beautifully melancholic, and deeply thought-provoking.

Kuzu no Honkai – most people will either love it or hate it, since it’s definitely a polarizing anime to say the least. Personally, I’m in love. Here’s why:

Story – (10)
If you’re going into this anime expecting a straight-forward, innocent romance – don’t. The premise is nothing special and is well summed by a few lines in the synopsis. However, the execution is what makes it really shine through amongst other “romance” anime’s. Most of the story is told through memories and thoughts of characters, and is specially written to invoke thought into the viewer. The story focuses heavily read more
I found this review Helpful
HikiNEET021
Feb 11, 2017
The aspects between watching an Asian Dramas... CAUSE IT'S TRULY BEYOND ON MY EXPECTATIONS.. AND BEATS ALL OF THIS...


UNREQUITED, LIES, SUFFERING, LUST, AFFECTION, ENVY, DEMEANOR...

A cycle of a relationship.. is huge which is why.. attaining the burden soul from the depth onto their heart got wrecked... So far enduring all the pain.. is a mischievous ideal with full of misunderstanding..

Cheating on someone.., Flirting to desire a wild interaction is truly delusional in real life... This is why coloring books never been in black and white..

Every gaps and ideology.. on such characters describes how dirty and cunning they can be..
Hypocrites only can enjoys themselves is because read more
I found this review Helpful
Margraven
Feb 16, 2017
I begin by apologizing because English is not my native language, so excuse the mistakes.

Kuzu no Honkai has a serious theme being addressed, the sentimental and sexual discovery of several characters. The big problem was being appealion and unrealistic. I believe that this was the author's intention, since it is normal for Westerners to have fetishes for characters of animes living in embarrassing situations but ... some situations border on ridicule. With the exclusion of the protagonist, all the characters are extremely extereotipados which makes very clear the reasons behind each action eliminating the chances of good twists.

History 5 : History has a rich theme read more
I found this review Helpful
OhWowzers
Feb 4, 2017
This review be updated once Kuzu no Honaki is over.....

When people talk about this anime, you might have heard the word hundreds of times already... and that word is, "Realistic". That's what most people think this anime is, they think it's so realistic. Do I think that's true?..... I do think that honestly, so yes. I'll explain why, but first I want to talk about something about the romance of this anime that makes it unrealistic.

ROMANCE - What's unrealistic in this anime? It's the fact that both of the main characters are using each other, and pretending their dating someone else, because the person read more
I found this review Helpful
Katrix_
Feb 3, 2017
First off, the first episode blew me away. The attention to every detail, in the music, camera shots, dialogue, and tone, is amazing. You can tell each individual part was meticulously crafted, and it shows very well.

Story 9/10:

While the story so far is not very developed, and at the surface seems simple, the combination of all other factors (music, tone, etc.) make it much more powerful. It is very down to earth, making it very relatable, especially to those who have gone through something like this.

Art 9/10:

The art style, especially the backgrounds, is phenomenal. The characters' stylings are not something that is very uncommon, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Yung_Doug
Feb 13, 2017
Consider this more an extended recommendation than a review, as the show has yet to conclude. However, we're reaching the halfway point, and its not let me down yet, so I have high hopes.

Kuzu no Honkai is an amazing psychological romance. Its cutesy art style may paint it to be another fun little lovers' tryst, but make no mistake, this show drops some heavy shit regularly. Love isn't some beautiful feeling that makes cute girls blush, its a sickening glaze of nausea that never truly leaves you. It tortures you with longing, transforming fantasies into obsessions, and good, honest people into addicts who will read more
I found this review Helpful
animeno
Feb 10, 2017
When i first started watching this anime I'll be honest, I found it almost repulsive.
the characters pissed me off and the story was unexpected and I guess threw me off guard and I found my self hating the anime as a defence mechanism.
And yet...everything else is perfect the visuals, the sound the atmosphere even the voice actors seem perfect for their roles.
I found myself conflicted like this for the next couple of episodes tugging between hating the show and somehow (in some sick twisted way) actually loving it.
The premise although somewhat unbelievable tends to focus heavily on sex and sexuality as it main read more
I found this review Helpful
Litcotaku
Feb 19, 2017
In fact,I think Kuzu no Honkai is definitely the best anime of January. it has a extremely fantastic production team. The anime is directed by Masaomi Ando (安藤 正臣),which was also the director of white album 2. It is written by Makoto Uezu (上江洲 誠),which was also the writer of school days. Additionally,Masaru Yokoyama (橫山 克) presents its music,he was responsible for the music of your lie in April and lots of Japanese advertisements as well. They are all very popular and experienced animators in Japan. More importantly,they all have a common point in their work. Yes,their works are extremely sad,melancholy and exquisite. They are read more
I found this review Helpful