Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Haikyuu!!: Karasuno Koukou vs. Shiratorizawa Gakuen Koukou


Alternative Titles

English: Haikyu!! 3rd Season
Synonyms: Haikyuu!! Third Season, Haikyuu!! Karasuno High VS Shiratorizawa Academy
Japanese: ハイキュー!! 烏野高校 VS 白鳥沢学園高校

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2016 to Dec 10, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Producers: TOHO animation, Shueisha
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.941 (scored by 240,863 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #223
Members: 386,484
Favorites: 6,941

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 9, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
“Even if we're not confident that we'll win, even if others tell us we don't stand a chance, we must never tell ourselves that.”
-Daichi Sawamura

In today's anime age; a world filled with over-analyzations and deconstructions, it's always nice to see a series like Haikyuu come along as if to passively antagonize critics with its immense amount of hype. I've been quite guilty of it in the past, often thinking there was no other reason to watch a series than to critique how much it made you 'think'. But to all the fault-finding reviewers and critics out there (myself included), I have one thing to read more
Dec 9, 2016
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Given the monumental amount of hype that Haikyuu seems to have within its own fan base, I hope that this review will not come across as more negative than I intended it to, so I would just like to start by saying that Haikyuu is for sure one of the better traditional sports anime I have seen, but even so it is still far from perfect.

This third season picks up right where the last one left off, throwing us right into the Spring Tournament regional finals between Karasuno and Shiratorizawa. And that is pretty much the entirety of what this season is about as it read more
Dec 10, 2016
awakenedreality (All reviews)
Like many other people, I initially wasn't attracted to Haikyuu. Seeing clips and hearing about anime such as Free made me think that Haikyuu too would be another fanservice sports anime. I was surprised, however, to find that I immensely enjoyed Haikyuu. Haikyuu is by no means my favorite anime, but it is the anime that I have become the most attached to.

Story: 8
If you've watched other sports anime such as Kuroko no Basket, the overall storyline is rather predictable, almost to the point where the anime becomes less enjoyable (as it lacks on that overall sense of surprise that is important in anime). Luckily, read more
Dec 12, 2016
DarthInvader (All reviews)
“You are only an amazing ace if you can create a miracle.”

Scratch that cheesy quote! If there is one idea this anime solidifies, it's, “You are only an amazing anime if you can create perfectly timed miracles!”

Haikyuu!!: Karasuno Koukou VS Shiratorizawa Gakuen Koukou is literally, as the synopsis on MAL states, an anime where the whole plot revolves around the over hyped game between Karasuno and Shiratorizawa. This is the third installment in the Haikyuu!! franchise and I recommend you all to watch how a studio who lacks enough manga material to field a full 25 episode season, manages to show their over-hyped read more
Oct 26, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Susumu Mitsunaka turns out to be a type of director that the sports genre needs: a superfan and a Japanese pop culture savant. He’s back with another highly anticipated sequel to the smash hit series adapted from Haruichi Furudate’s manga. With its third instalment of Haikyuu!! it strikes all the right chords, emotional and narrative, to feel both familiar and exhilaratingly new. It tells the harsh yet rewarding journey that the Karasuno High School volleyball team is taking in order to reach their goal of soaring the skies of the nationals! The team was formerly known as “a fallen powerhouse, a crow that can’t fly,” read more
Dec 10, 2016
KyoumaZ (All reviews)
The match point is finally here. You’re the one to take the first step in securing the final point. You start your way to behind the serving line. Your whole body is warmed up, but somehow your hands are still ice-cold, initiated by the sheer thought of failing in this crucial moment. The pressure is immense, yet you still don’t waste a thought on not giving your all. If you make that one more point you’ll win the match. Just one more point and all your hard work will be rewarded. Amidst that thought, you toss the ball in the air and set off for read more
Aug 30, 2018
elenaeteresa (All reviews)
Only a word for descript this Third season; Tsukishima!!!
The scene with Tsukishima and Ushijima was very epic.
All caracters are very amazing..Every single character looks very good, especially Tsukishima,Ushijima and Tendou. They was very amazing. Don't forgetten the scene with Iwaizumi and Oikawa megane. Aww They are very perfect together.
The anime style is unique and very well made, you can see the mark of the mangaka on each character despite the fact that they are all very different. The soundtrack looks is very good. Every scene has a song which fits perfectly. Each track is able to get us in the mood for the specific read more
Dec 27, 2016
0207xander (All reviews)
(Review got removed because it was updated to completion ;-; gotta make the climb back)

Well, pains me to say, but I’m gonna be the wiener who has to tell everyone the flaws of Haikyuu! again.

I’m going to preface this review by saying that because I actually play volleyball, lots of the issues I have with the show are specific to someone who has knowledge of high-level high school volleyball, so because the vast majority of this fanbase doesn’t know anything about volleyball outside of this show, you might not be as annoyed at certain things as I am. This is just one humble man’s opinion.

I read more
Dec 9, 2016
morphinup (All reviews)
I take it back, I take it all back. I originally wrote a review during the season where I was of the opinion that this season was lacking compared to the first two. Still good, but not as great story wise. Well I just watched the final episode and hours later I'm still an emotional wreck.

If you're a fan of Haikyuu!! (as I assume you are, since this is Season 3) don't get discouraged while watching this season. Originally, I had thought that since this season was one long game that the story was a bit lacking. That it may have been a mistake to read more
Dec 9, 2016
awee9044 (All reviews)
Story: In this third installment of Haikyuu, the anime continues to follow the events of the manga with no significant changes. This season centers on the finals arc against Shiratorizawa, a powerhouse school known for its tall, strong, and talented players and has consistently represented the Miyagi prefecture in the National Spring Tournament.

Art and Sound: Even for those who keep up with the manga and therefore know everything that will happen in the anime, it's like you're discovering what happens in the match again for the first time. If there were any blocks, receives, or plays you read in the manga that made you cheer read more
Dec 9, 2016
kissmyanime (All reviews)
Two words for this: HOLY SHIT

So, at first i thought this season was going to be boring and monotone, since it was only focused on one game, like ten episodes of the same game? WELL, not a so great premise, BUT i have to say this was the most exciting game i've ever seen in a sports anime! wow, honestly wow. They left me wanting more and more!.

This was a very intense season, to say the least. Every episode had me at the edge of my seat and there were so many epic moments, i got so excited trough the whole episode, i even felt read more
Aug 17, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Lord... since its premiere I must have watched and re-watched this season's Haikyuu!! for 20 times now and I am always mesmerized-- not only by its magnificence, but also by its timelessness.

For the prior two seasons, what made Haikyuu!! series stood out was the dynamic animation, sheer volume of character development, and Fast-and-Furious-like sports sequence. At this rate, most studios would just settle with already high level of quality and avoid 'flying too close to the sun'. Production I.G. is not one of those studios, though, and that is one daredevil, all right. As if they had studied really well what could have been for read more
Mar 24, 2019
Ken-pie (All reviews)
If your looking for a sports anime with character development this is the place! you can see the personal struggle each character is having and want to root for them when they do good and feel bad for the when they do bad. This show puts you behind the eyes of each character and being able to witness the struggles they face when up against a powerful foe. The conflict between characters is displayed beautifully and the way they battle it out is shown like no other. For both sides of the net you can feel the drive these characters have. In the end its read more
Aug 14, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Holy hell, if the last season gave me a panic attack, this season gave me a heart attack.

The storytelling is. so. freakin'. good. You really would have a hard time beating Haikyuu!! when it comes to intense, suspenseful, and effective storytelling. I can't brag on it enough.

Unlike the previous seasons, this season of Haikyuu!! didn't offer much when it came to individual character development. However, when it came to developing ability and strength, this season was all about it. This is the season where they take their growth and use it for all it's worth, and it's riveting.

The quality control of this anime is read more
Dec 11, 2016
seQuency (All reviews)
Haikyuu!! Season 3

The cherry on the cake. The top of the iceberg. The worthy ending of a spectecular show (for now). Haikyuu!! is a great show overall, with fluent animations - and even those are getting better from season to season and in the biggest moments even excel that, great and deep characters, a lot of hype and action and PURE enjoyment!

I don't want to go into too much detail into why this show is the greatest sports anime of them all so far, but there is actually nothing they do horribly wrong. Every other sports anime so far had some flaws somewhere, and if read more
Dec 9, 2016
MarcusB (All reviews)
I'm not a big fan of sports anime.. At least it was what i thought. I was really skeptical when i began to see Haikyuu, but now, i'm very glad i watched it. It's like if a hidden passion for sports anime has awakened inside me, and Haikyuu is in the top of it. I don't know if this third season is the best; it's actually hard to choose just one season; to me, each one of them has its qualities, and they're equally outstanding.

In terms of story, this third season is a direct continuation from the second, so the story mustn't be judged alone, read more
Dec 9, 2016
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
This season of Haikyuu was consistent in terms of the qualities Haikyuu has presented so far.

But I'd also like to note that due to its length and enviroments being pretty much stuck in one place due to this season consisting of a really long match, this season of Haikyuu will feel more like a long high budget OVA than a new season. It is a continuation of where it has left off previously, with the finals between Karasuno and Shiratorizawa, the match taking the entire length of this season. There's no new story elements, and the character development that the characters got is now presented read more
Dec 10, 2016
Spitfire_10 (All reviews)
This is my first review so i would like to start by saying that normally i dont write reviews no matter how great the anime but this anime really drew me in. This anime is probably one of the best if not the best sports anime i have ever seen the story was superb as if you see making a 10 episode anime of a single match is simply extraordinary.
As far the art it was as if it drew me right into the court.
Sound was very good considering it is a 10 episode anime
Characters were simply awesome getting to know a new side read more
Dec 9, 2016
ocelot2123 (All reviews)
Sure there was not as much story stuff this season, but this season LITERALLY EVERY EPISODE IS ACTION PACKED. Sure the first episode may have been a bit less action packed and just an introduction, but holy crap was this one hell of a season.

Every episode had some amazing sequence of spikes in it, and some amazing character development in each. The art and animation speaks for itself, its amazing how they can do such smooth animation with the limits of frames in anime.

Also, their ability to go from epicness to goofiness back to super epic again is just insane.

10/10 show and season. If you read more
Jan 31, 2017
Finite7 (All reviews)
When I think about Haikyuu!! season 3, one thing comes to mind

DISAPPOINTMENT

For me at least as an avid fan of Haikyuu!! season 1 and 2 what made Haikyuu!! so special was the concept of a human/humans overcoming unrealistic odds without unrealistic things happening (As in Haikyuu!! was grounded in realism). Though the story did not have much to it and the pacing was off at times, whatever was done was usually done fairly well.
The characters were 2 dimensional and didn't have much to them other then their 1 or 2 major qualities, but this did not bother me much (Since actually depicting human read more