Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahoutsukai no Yome: Hoshi Matsu Hito


Alternative Titles

English: The Ancient Magus' Bride: Those Awaiting a Star
Synonyms: The Magician's Bride
Japanese: 魔法使いの嫁 星待つひと

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 10, 2016 to Sep 9, 2017
Licensors: Crunchyroll
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 77,064 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #573
Members: 179,843
Favorites: 607

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 11, 2016
PlumAppleJuice (All reviews)
Preliminary
(If you're looking for a show with quality graphics, an interesting fantasy aspect, a deep story, then this is for you. Please note, this review is more of my first impression since it just came out today.)

● Story: The story is great. It starts differently than most shows I have watched myself. Instead of starting of with the main characters sad sub-plot, they do some character development and put it later in the episode. I like all the magical being floating around and what not and it feels like a Studio Ghibi film.

● Art: The art is outstanding. The animation has style and you can read more
Sep 11, 2017
AK25 (All reviews)
The Mahoutsukai no Yome’s a neat little side story.

The main appeal of the ova is essentially seeing how everything is presented rather than the actual narrative elements themselves. The anime doesn’t try and get you interested in Chise by telling you she’s an orphan hated by everyone for being weird, it wants you to get invested in her through scenes like her not being able to go to bed because there is literally a monster inside her futon or her talking about how happy she feels when she finishes a book. The story never asks you to doubt that it’s all going to work out read more
Sep 13, 2016
xylk (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Do note that despite only having watched a single episode at the release of this review, I have read the manga up to date, and can affirm that the series isnt too faithful to the manga, probably due the lack of allocated episodes. Nonetheless, I do wish to give my best attempt at a decent review, with minimum spoilers as possible! Thank you! :)


Remember the Disney films you watched in your adolescence? That youthful charm of curiosity and fresh budding imagination made you awe at the simple magic potrayed in those animations. How they would soar above the night skies of britain and charmingly read more
Sep 13, 2016
PhoenixAshe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - 6

Coming from someone who loves the manga very much this first episode was just... I don't know maybe disappointing. I guess I was expecting more of an adaptation then a back story that isnt shown in the manga at all. If you've never read the manga this will just seem so aimless. You won't know any of the characters what a Slay Vega is, why Chise is with Elias.. heck it doesnt even seem like this has a plot at all!

Art - 10 (9.5)

Mahoutsukai honestly looks amazing, the colors, the flow, just it's great. Very beautiful. The only problem I had with it read more
Sep 10, 2017
EnZanity (All reviews)
Spoiler free review

So The Ancient Magus' Bride is a show I'm eagerly waiting for when Fall 2017 finally decides to arrive. I have not touched the manga so I knew little about it, but the synopsis and the magical elements piqued my interest enough to check out this prequel OVA that took a year to finish airing 3 eps. After finishing it, I'm not exactly sure why this was necessary.

The plot is simply a back story to the main girl Chise Hatori, seeing what her life was like as a child way before she found the world of magic. The drama shown during these episodes read more
Sep 10, 2017
Momomomonga (All reviews)
It was a beautiful story although it only lasted for three episodes. Keep in mind that there's a full length series coming this October. I've never read the manga and I don't intend to read until the I've finished watching the upcoming anime series. So, in this review, I'll only be talking about what I think only from watching the OVA.

Story(8/10)
The story was beautiful. If you haven't read the manga, you'll be kinda confused at first but not that much. As far as I see, the OVA mainly focus on Chise's backstory. And I have to say, it was very good. From the first episode, read more
Sep 11, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*some spoilers for Mahoutsukai no Yome: Hoshi Matsu Hito*

Literature is an interesting, often captivating medium, filled with immaculate descriptions, and exciting worlds to explore with your imagination as you read the carefully thought out words of an author who built that portal for your mind. Some may say that with the advent of animation and film becoming truly mainstream, that literature has become someone of an under-appreciated medium.

The Mahoutsukai no Yome OVA, above all else, is a tragic yet pleasant reminder of the power of a story, especially the power it has on a child. Falling just shy of true greatness, it manages to still read more
Sep 10, 2017
Diazo (All reviews)
-Spoiler free review-
I wouldn't usually feel the need to write a review, but the helpful reviews (at the time of writing this) are around the 6/7 mark. This OVA is, in my opinion, a masterpiece. I will start off by saying I've never read the manga, and the fully adapted anime is to be released shortly. Even with no prior reading I believe this show stands by itself fantastically, portraying a beautiful story with an almost Ghibli vibe.

Story(9/10)
What a beautiful story is was, endearing from start to finish. The premise of the story was very easy to grasp, and there was no need for any read more
Aug 7, 2019
Kns- (All reviews)
A distinctive feature of the all OVA series is the original plot, which in no way relate to the main picture. Thanks to this format, the author is able to reveal the main characters of the series and allow the viewer to plunge deeper into the universe, showing the latter some interesting aspects of the created world.

Initially, Mahoutsukai no Yome is a manga, authored by Kore Yamazaki, whose publication began in November 2013 in the Magly Publishing House Monthly Comic Blade.

The fifth volume of the manga announced the release of an anime prequel consisting of three episodes, Mahou Tsukai no Yome: Hoshi Matsu Hito. The read more
Sep 13, 2017
LadyPhyllo (All reviews)
From the very beginning this anime draws you in with it's beautiful art style, regardless of being an artist or not the smooth details and bright colour are bound to entice you. I watched this series from the first episode airing to waiting 6+ months for each new episode. Even now as I completed episode 3 I am left with teary eyes for it. Sadly the story does take a back seat in this case because you are more likely to continue watching due to the art and music. The artwork and music really show why it took 6 months to make however the characters read more
Apr 21, 2018
molesys (All reviews)
In my review about this anime I said that It wasn't a masterpiece however there were a lot of elements do a second season that can become a master piece and this OWA is a clear demonstration of that.


I really enjoyed the OWA giving me a better connection with the protagonist and also it clarified many questions if the whole anime.

In general the great problem with this anime is that the creators had overload this anime and there are many things with no conclusion. I thing this OWA comes to help to mitigate that overload and really I hope a second season.


Nov 30, 2018
Sesshomaru (All reviews)
魔法使いの嫁 星待つひと - Mahoutsukai no Yome: Hoshi Matsu Hito, the OVA gives a touching insight into the world of the protagonist Hatori, Chise. Although the Slice of Life begins tragically, you will be deeply moved by the portrayal of her childhood as an orphan.

Story: tragic but beautiful, good pacing, so that the viewer can follow the plot well (9/10)
It begins differently than expected, which is due to the fact that the story does not appear in the manga. If you're open to the story, you'll enjoy it, whether you're familiar with the manga by Yamazaki, Kore or not. I like it because the story reminds read more
Jan 9, 2018
Scientiiaa (All reviews)
The Ancient Magus' Bride is a Japanese fantasy shounen manga series written and illustrated by Kore Yamazaki. (Frau Faust, Futari no Renai Shoka). The series is published in Japan by Mag Garden in its Monthly Comic Garden magazine. The manga is also licensed in North America by Seven Seas Entertainment. Wit Studio produced a three-part prequel OVA of the manga, and an anime television series is currently airing.

Mahoutsukai no Yome: Hoshi Matsu Hito follows Chise Hatori, a 15 years old girl. Being absolutely alone and having no place to go, the girl is bought for money by a non-human mage named Elias. Having seen read more
Sep 16, 2016
Kvasir369 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The premise of the story is how Chise eventually ended up in Elias’ care during the beginning of the manga series. However, because the story starts at some undefined point after that, to tie it into the source materials, it has to be framed in a way that sounds both natural and fitting for the setting. So, in order to allow us to get a feel for the characters, it’s framed through the medium of a story told to Elias by Chise upon finding a book she receives from Angelica Barlei, the woman we see at the beginning of the video.

The setting, as far as read more
Sep 10, 2017
Pitzer (All reviews)
My opinion:

A pretty prequel OVA expanding on the backstory of the heroine Chise. Although it does work as a standalone, the story mainly consists of an array of tropes you’ve probably seen a dozen times already, resulting in an unsatisfying experience if watched as a standalone. But the OVA does contain a few glimpes of greatness that we’ll hopefully see more of in the main series, namely the Slice of Life-sequences interwoven with a peaceful blend of magic and very sweet and light humor.

[Warning: The rest of this review contains spoilers!]

Story:

The main part of the OVA consists of Chise’s “backstory” which unmistakably resembles Natsume Yuujinchou, read more
Apr 9, 2018
Moomochi (All reviews)
Out of 100 Nobles watching...
98 were impressed!
2 Were a tad disoriented in the first 5 minutes.

Like many people who watched Mahoutsukai no Yome, the Hoshi Matsu Hito OVA episodes were the first taste of what this amazing piece of media had to offer. This 3 episode short is a must see and stands on it's own from its anime counterpart.

I've rated this trio of OVA episodes a bit higher than the actual Mahoutsukai no Yome anime itself for a very simple reason. Timing and Direction. This anime moves slowly, but at no point in time is it ever wasting a frame. The visuals are read more
Dec 29, 2016
WuHeibaii (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's hardly much to say about this series, it's gonna be 3 episodes long, shows a lot of promise and I can only wish it becomes more than just an OVA. Characters are lovely, there's this supernatural-ish air to it which is a genre I thoroughly enjoy, mixed up with a bit of magic, another genre I also like. The matchup between both genres is not something that you see every single season, or at least not in such an above average presentation. Great direction and top tier sound edition, along with the very charismatic and mysterious characters makes the OVA a must watch that read more
Dec 14, 2017
xpforever (All reviews)
I started watching the anime and instantly fall in love with it. Since I was curious about Chise's past and I didn't want to wait a whole week for the next episode, I took a look on the OVA. I'm so glad I did so. These 3 eps. were really enjoyable, with beautiful art and great soundtrack. It's like a mini story, completely different from the main plot, hence you don't have to worry about spoilers (maybe some really small ones, but nothing that would ruin your first time experience). Regardless you are currently watching the series or planning to start, I highly recommend you read more
Sep 27, 2017
Silyon (All reviews)
The Ancient Magus' Bride: Those Awaiting a Star is a heartwarming story told by the main character, Hatori Chise who is the eponymous bride. The story presented has almost no relation to the main story which will be told in the upcoming Autumn 2017 TV anime, but is more of a sneak-peak of sorts for newcomers and a nice little bonus story for people who have read the manga.

The main plot revolves around Chise telling a story about here childhood to her mentor Elias. The present day bits that exist in the episodes do a fine job of setting up the world for those who read more
Jan 17, 2018
iconicmomo (All reviews)
NO SPOILERS

!!! I HIGHLY recommend that you DO NOT watch this OVA before reading the manga or watching the anime (after it's completed). Doing so will probably leave you confused and discouraged to get into the series. !!!

One fairly common complaint I've seen is that this OVA doesn't explain much of what's even going on. It's not meant to. It's a prequel meant for those already familiar with the characters and the world to enjoy. Of course, there are many people who would enjoy the OVA without needing any background knowledge, but others, like myself, would have trouble appreciating many aspects of the story without read more