Eromanga-sensei


Eromanga Sensei

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Eromanga Sensei
Japanese: エロマンガ先生

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2017 to Jun 25, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, EcchiEcchi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.541 (scored by 266498266,498 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #56452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #229
Members: 475,172
Favorites: 2,468
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I don't normally tend to point fingers at people, but just this once I feel like I need to get some things off my chest here.

Almost every single season nowadays, it seems there has to be a scapegoat. An anime which you are somehow obliged to publically hate on or you'll be looked down upon by the community and no one will take you seriously. I'm honestly sick of this kind of group pressure/bandwagon mentality. We're now halfway through the year 2017 and yet hating on popular stuff over the internet is somehow still considered to be the coolest and best thing since sliced bread. read more
Apr 29, 2017
cosmonautic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Something I find hilarious is that no one can explain why Eromanga Sensei is a good show. I see people giving this an 8-10 rating and saying it's a good show, but not once I've seen anyone mentioning any legitimate good quality about Eromanga except for: "it's cute", "Sagiri is so cute", "it has cute girls", "incest is wincest". This may be unfair since I shouldn't be trashing on anyone's likings and I believe people have the right to enjoy whatever the hell they like, but I cannot shake the annoyance that some people are just satisfied with anything at this point. Trust me, I read more
Jun 24, 2017
Veronin (All reviews)
For better and for worse (mostly worse), Eromanga-sensei is the successor to OreImo and its themes of sister-banging. But where OreImo had some interesting things to say about the otaku community, Eromanga-sensei possesses nothing, and is nothing, puerile and creatively bankrupt.

Eromanga-sensei in many ways represents everything that is bad with light novels. It is a story (I guess, if we put aside its flagrantly incestual nature) of a group of twelve-to-fifteen-year-olds who are famous artists, as if adults do not and cannot exist. If Eromanga-sensei was taking inspiration from the scribbles of a bunch of middle school students, its rubbish writing would actually make read more
Jun 24, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Eromanga-sensei is a culmination of everything I hate in lazy, insipid, vacuous, pandering entertainment. Now, to clarify, first of all, I don't believe that just because an anime, or any piece of entertainment, panders towards a certain demographic, that it is inherently bad necessarily. There has been plenty of anime that pander towards the otaku audience while, at the same time, remaining fun, and some instances, good shows, but Eromanga-sensei is not such an example. It's a show that lives by the convention in terms of its plot structure, comedy, character archetypes and dives head first into trashiness at any moment it can get. What read more
Jun 24, 2017
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
After watching Eromanga Sensei my eyes have opened of how most modern anime from 2015+ have been dumbed down in terms of story and characters.
We have been recently getting a lot of shows that either decent or downright bad that have no real impact on the anime industry.
Sure we got some great and memorable shows such as 3 Gatsu no Lion Assassination Classroom, Shokugeki no Souma, Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju and Little Witch Academia (TV) but at the same time, we had to deal with mediocre to awful shows like Charlotte, Gangsta, Berserk 2016/2017, Scum's Wish etc.
Now do I think for Eromanga Sensei. Is it a read more
Jun 25, 2017
yuucccchuuu (All reviews)
This show is trash and so am I.

"I love penis"
"Then your penis is useless"- said by a girl who is 12
"Isn't this dick in the wrong place?"

I binged watched this and let me tell you I have never felt such cringe before, I have never felt like such trash such like degenerate ever. This is the kind of anime you can't let certain people know you watched/enjoyed those people might include: Anyone
Seriously don't let casual fans know you enjoyed this
Also Elf is best girl no contest
Overall 8/10 would watch again.

Say it with me this show is trash and so am I.
Mar 3, 2019
MaiSanBestSan (All reviews)
Best show i have ever seen. First of all I was struck by the beauty of the characters. In the modern world, so much emphasis is put on the beauty of adult women and their assets aree oversexualized.
So when in the first 5 minutes of the anime it was clear that the main love interest was a 6 (i mean 6000 year old loli) year old, it was a refreshing change. Not only do they explore the imouto loving trope which is overlooked by most other animes out there, but they also managed to combine the internship arc with the read more
Jun 24, 2017
Artrill (All reviews)
[1/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________


Oh no. Oh no...

I was holding off on publishing a review until I finished watching. Not for any hope that something like this would get better, but simply due to the fact that I couldn't bring myself to write about whatever this is. Eromanga-sensei is everything wrong with the anime industry. And you know what? That's not funny. I see so many jokes about that concept. How viewers laughingly remark about this series' and how horrible it is but eat it up regardless, promoting this utter shit until it becomes the most popular non-sequel of the season.

And it is. Eromanga Sensei is the most popular read more
Jun 15, 2017
Moe-lester (All reviews)
Preliminary
The show ups the boundaries for what a bad show means and thus is worth the highest of marks. It can and shall break all your expectations on what a bad show is. Where it constantly gets worse episode after episode by 1- upping itself using all the cliches and fetishes in existence but sticking true to incest. It is slow but for a person who likes slow shows they won't have a problem.
THE STORY
is crap
.....
i should explain, shouldnt I, basically its a carbon copy of the writers old work oreimo but now step(you can see where this story will go) guess what it does. read more
Aug 9, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past century, it’s no secret how perverse the Japanese culture can be sometimes, mainly in the medium of anime. Writers and producers litter their animations with heavily endowed females, ecchi harems bordering on hentai and lewd jokes about a ten-year-old’s panties. Anime like High School DXD and Masou Gakuen HXH continue to push the boundary of what is acceptable to show to its viewers, and I’ve been partly responsible at times myself of indulging in this trashy, sexual fanservice. However, with A-1 Studio’s 2017 release of Eromanga Sensei, I’ve officially hit a tipping point in my read more
Apr 25, 2018
Trollytoni (All reviews)
Best anime of 2017! It was very original, and funny xDD from dick-chan to annoying ass lolis screaming baka and cant draw a dick right. This may actually be the cure for canser. Because its best!?!? I reaaally like sagiri she is soo kawaiiii and adorbs. :3 and for oniichan is too godo foo and i want him to marry sagiri becus theyre too kwutetogether.pls support ship becuz it kute (kawaii desu~) many people hate dis for some teason no clue but ists soo cute and SAO too best studio A1 POCTURS and best ed n op omg . My fav char. Is yukata girl read more
May 12, 2017
Fareastver (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, I do believe you shouldn't give any show a goddamn 1 from 10 score on review just because it has some tropes that you hate.

Not to said I'm against someone voicing their opinion, but as we wrote a review here that the others gonna read and probably 'Influincing' them to watch or dropped a certain show, we should do our best to be as open-minded as possible.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Everyday we s̶t̶r̶a̶y̶ ̶f̶u̶r̶t̶h̶e̶r̶ ̶f̶r̶o̶m̶ ̶g̶o̶d̶'̶s̶ ̶l̶i̶g̶h̶t̶ get closer to jail.

...JK lol. Long-ass reviews coming right noowww. (I'm not really good at english, tho', so hopefully you who decided to read this anyway read more
May 20, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Introduction:

Yeah, I know I'm WAY late to this party. A friend requested a review though, so why not? Eromanga Sensei made quite the splash online as THE bad anime of 2017. Gigguk hyped it up famously as "The perfect bad anime" and "The ULTIMATE bad anime". He made it seem like it's so bad it's amazing and hysterical. Sadly, I must disagree. Eromanga Sensei is NOT "The Room" of anime. It isn't uniquely bad or uniquely depraved. It's just an amalgamation of the shittiest cliches and tropes from other bad echii anime.

Background:

Art in general is highly subjective, but what qualifies as "So bad it's read more
May 9, 2017
ChibiOdango (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is easily the most enjoyable Anime of the season. So much so that I want to go back and watch all the episodes up to the current one again right now. First I want to preface this by saying, there is a lot of hate towards this show by really retarded people. Before I even began watching the show, I knew what I was expecting to see. The description is very clear, and knowing the mind behind it, if you don't want to see the new "sibling romantic comedy" then you shouldn't even begin watching in the first place. read more
Jun 12, 2017
DontH8R8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like to start out by saying that I tried to read and respect the other users of this site's opinions, but it seems that everyone decided to watch one episode and call it garbage, or didn't even try to look past the lewded characters at all. It's sad that the number one most helpful review was someone trashing it because why not. People who gave it tens might have been over exaggerating, but giving it a one isn't fair to the show. The show does have lewded characters, but don't all animes have some sort of fan service? I don't understand how you could read more
Jun 1, 2017
Waffle_Empress (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have a rule: I must sit through several (or all of them if the series is done airing) episodes before writing a review or forming any sort of opinion and I try not to be quick to judge a series with a few rare exceptions. But oh goodness, please, forgive me, I couldn't, I simply couldn't take this anymore because I feel like my nerve cells were irreparably damaged. Anime is supposed to entertain, not shorten one's life.

Story: 3/10.
There is not much to say about it because I really cannot approve of a plot about a 13-year-old girl drawing lewd illustrations while her brother, read more
Jan 11, 2018
burpup (All reviews)
Best of All Time

The noble pursuit of every man : to find the person he/she loves, is the very core of theme of this anime. The main character loves his little sister, the little sister loves his older brother, the main character's rival loves the main character, the main character's senpai loves the main character, and the little sister's friend loves penis.

10/10 they don't put no shame and bullsht to this anime. No self-revelation bullsht. No Harem bullsht because the main character has stated to everyone that he wants to bang his sister. No misunderstanding bullsht, the main character not some dense fgt who doesn't read more
Jun 24, 2017
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Personally, this anime is actually pretty decent when it first started, but when I try to compare its later episode, where are of his harem came together, It became quite uninteresting, and even, unengaging when a certain episode is dedicated to a certain girl in his harem. Though, if you are going hate this show for its depiction of lewd 2D girls, who are obviously premature, then hate all the show that's out there that does the same too. Even if that includes your favorite show. Konosuba is one, they lewd Megumin. Tbh, it should be pretty normal to see such a thing in this read more
Jul 1, 2017
Bokinator (All reviews)
If I could give this anime a lower score I would. It is hands down the worst TV show I have ever had the misfortune to sit through. Everything about it is creepy and slimy, from the terribly written characters and the art frames that leer a little too long on the butts of 12 year olds to the explicit moments of sexual assault and homophobia. This is a show that makes it hard to talk about anime in public, the example people bring up when trying to prove all anime is creepy. Do not watch it, at all, ever.
Dec 9, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Eromanga-sensei is the portrait of an unusual comedy that plays with the morbid side of the mind. Moreover, the show salvages some ideas from other anime in search of acceptance. In the end, Eromanga-sensei only offers an unsatisfaction with an overused harem story and with some misleading sexual concepts.

The average: The anime started with a promising 8.23 and ended with a miserable 6.97. The 12 years old girl sexual behaviour. The silly and unrealistic story.

The good: Some hilarious moments and few characters.

Perhaps, the biggest mistake is the story. Even if we eliminate the infamous incest debate, we end up with an empty harem story. read more