Planetes

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Planetes
Synonyms: ΠΛΑΝΗΤΕΣ
Japanese: プラネテス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2003 to Apr 17, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2003
Broadcast: Saturdays at 08:05 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Visual, NHK
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SeinenSeinen, SpaceSpace
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.311 (scored by 5821658,216 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #716
Members: 187,148
Favorites: 3,436
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 9, 2007
Xinil (All reviews)
First, I feel I need to mention something that I think a lot of people have overlooked with this show. Planetes has romance. Quite of bit of romance in fact. It's packed full of drama and action along with that too. So, drama, action and romance. What more could you ask for (yeah, boobs, I know)?

With that being said, on with the review.

Story: Planetes starts off rather slow. In fact, the "main" story doesn't even really pick up until about episode 10 or so. Before that, you're introduced to character personalities and dreams/motives. This is absolutely necessary though, because without this strong intro, the latter read more
Apr 4, 2009
IcehawkDown (All reviews)
It can be pretty hard to convince people to watch a show about garbage men... IN SPACE. How could a show like that possibly be interesting? Well I'm here today to tell you that this is one of the best anime out there, and something everyone should give a try.

Planetes starts about how you might expect a show with such an odd premise to begin. It's a very quirky show, practically a comedy/sitcom type show. The first 13 episodes or so are all episodic, there's lots of laugh, and the show rarely takes itself too seriously. At this point I would call the show very read more
Jun 7, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Growing up, I'm sure many of us have stared into the night sky at one time or another, trying to process the sprawled out abyss, bewildered by its seemingly endless stretches into darkness. Just the very thought of how all-encompassing it is can be equal parts awe-inspiring and intimidating, as we try to find our place in it all. Like our ancestors before us and later generations yet to take our place, us humans have and always will be drawn to the great unknown; like moths to a flame, we pursue things no matter how unsure we may be about the outcome. Always seeking out read more
Dec 6, 2013
Bear1211 (All reviews)
Space, the final frontier, and what a frontier it is. Humans long ago looked up at the stars, and reached out to grasp them. From the words of Captain Kirk, "to boldly go where no man has gone before".

Story: 8

The human race, always moving forward, never looking back. So eager to abandon the cradle of life that raised them. The cause and effect of this ambition are highlighted within the 25 episodes of the show."Planetes" is something truly unique in the Anime scene. This is essentially a SoL (Slice of Life) in space, which alone makes it something different from the norm, but read more
May 7, 2010
peroxid (All reviews)
A Good Anime, but...

...the Manga is a lot better.

This Review is written by someone who read the Manga first and then watched the Anime. I believe that just a small minority read the Manga before watching the Anime, and this is why Planetes (TV), is in my opinion overrated.

I believe that if I hadn't read the Manga I would score this better, but still it's a fact that this anime has flaws, and the one that i hear the most is that the crisis of the poor country, isn't convincing. Other flaws pointed out is the boring start or the sometimes annoying characters. read more
Dec 31, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
It is a time... when collecting space debris... is very important! Really seriously business here, guys!

STORY - I laughed when the narrator said that at the end of the introduction, but I can definitely appreciate the realistic approach to space in Planetes, especially when so many other sci-fi series completely disregard the issues it presents. Radiation exposure and space debris in particular are hugely important real life topics concerning space, and it was both interesting and educational to hear and learn about them. Planetes starts off pretty episodic, but while each episode contains a more or less standalone adventure, the events that take place and read more
Jun 21, 2008
Banpaia (All reviews)
The story of PLANETES gets off to a slow start which may put some viewers off, however the slow paced introduction of the characters and their personalities adds a more personal feel to the show, allowing you to get to know the characters as if in real life, finding more and more about them as things progress. As the main storyline begins to develop we are given an even deeper insight into the personal lives of the team aside from their "garbage collector" jobs in outer space, their aspirations for the future and the past that they can't forget.

There are many issues addressed in read more
Mar 7, 2010
shanimebib (All reviews)
PLANETES is set in the Year 2075 A.D. when mankind have started fledging their occupancy into the solar system. However, constant travel to and from, between earth and space have started generating debris in the earth and moon's orbits. A space accident caused by the debris, which lead to the deaths of many passengers traveling in a space-shuttle lead to many concerns and for the first time the debris has been considered as a threat in space. Thus 'Debris Section' is made. Debris Section, as the name suggests, is assigned to collect debris to prevent any such tragic incident in the future.

Hoshino "Hachimaki" Hachirota, read more
Jan 27, 2018
nozomiEX (All reviews)
A mature low sci-fi drama set in space? "Sign me up!," or so I was thinking when I started this series. Unfortunately, my hopes were dashed within the first episode. The plot in a nut shell is fine; it's a simple slice of life set in space, musing on various aspects of the human condition. Zoom in any closer than that, though, and the cracks start to appear. The show is preachy, to say the least. Every episode is some vehicle for the author to set up straw men and knock them down to carry a shallow message across. read more
Aug 8, 2013
Baconzombie (All reviews)
Director Goro Taniguchi has always been known for his extremely popular and critically acclaimed series, Code Geass. Boasting over 220,000 viewers on this site alone, you’d think that some of his other works would be shed into light because of this popularity. Planetes is a show that flies under the radar for two reasons: the first being that the show, as of this year, is a decade old, and the second reason being that it will always be overlooked by the 10x more popular (literally) Code Geass.

Story (9/10):

Tanabe Ai is a rookie at Technora’s Debris Collecting Section, spitefully labeled as “Half Section” because read more
Jan 15, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
Not often do you stumble across a slice of life having its setting in space itself, being the other worthy title Space Brothers. The idea of human exodus to space will be sooner or later a reality, and with that, debris in its area as well. Planetes narrates the daily life of Garbage Man collecting space debris to ensure a safe environment for all the different modules and ships in Earth's orbit, in addition to expanding on both politics and existentialism of humans related to its exodus. There were some issues with the anime, the comedic elements being the main culprit for hindering its immersion read more
Nov 30, 2016
SandSilos (All reviews)
Reading the synopsis and reviews, I really wanted to like "Planetes". Even given how slow the first ten episodes were, I kept hope alive and watched to the end, waiting for the magic which seemed to have charmed so many viewers. There is a lot to be said for the series: its vision for the future is exceptional, for one. Yet in spite of it all, I did not particularly enjoy Planetes and consider it a middling series. Overall, I would recommend giving it a try!

There were several major issues with Planetes which dulled its overall efficacy. First, like much anime, the show attempts too read more
Jan 22, 2009
Zhang1222 (All reviews)
If you are not over 16, do not watch this anime. You will not get the plethora of social, political, psychological, and moral motifs. Plus, it is a bit too heavy hearted.

My honest opinion, if I compared Planetes to Evangelion, I would say that Planetes had a better quality to it. I am a optimist, and you pessimists and mecha lovers would probably prefer Planetes. However, Eva at points shuffled the philosophy around, and the ideas were far more open-ended and spread out. Planetes had much more centralized points to cover, and the crew did wonderfully to amalgamate these points into a driven story. read more
Feb 9, 2008
mdauben (All reviews)
This was one of the few anime series I have picked up sight-unseen, based just on reviews in an industry magazine. Luckily, I was not disappointed.

At first the story would seem to be about the young woman Ai, who we are introduced to first. While she remains an important character, as the show develops we realize the story is really about the young man Hachimaki, the jaded veteran of the “debris section”. As the series progresses, we learn more about both of them, but especially Hachimaki, and see him fight against his personal issues with life and relationships, and grow as read more
Jun 21, 2015
themegamancave (All reviews)
Coming from a former aeronautical engineering major, space was the first thing that drew me to Planetes, though it wasn’t quite the space exploration anime I was initially thinking it would be. Nothing flashy here, just the story of a space debris (garbage if you will) collection team and one man’s desire to own his own spaceship to explore space on his own. However, Planetes had so much more to offer, whether it’s romance, loss, real world comparisons or just great, relatable characters… this show had it all, and it had me eagerly skipping to the next episode and never let me down. read more
Mar 29, 2013
kyoscaum (All reviews)
This is a slow anime in the beggining, in which nothing happens, and too fast paced in the second half, in a way that may confuse one.

There are a bunch of annoying characters (Tanabe and the whole comic relief crew, I'm looking at you guys). Also, the relationship between the Debris team is not well made, and there is not enough time to build the characters that are very important in the final part of Planetes. They also didn't take enough time building the main couple.

Another confusing thing is that sometimes there is a lot of attention to little details to make the space atmosphere read more
Jul 5, 2011
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
If I told you "Planetes" is a sci fi anime, what are the things that immediately comes into your mind? Almost certainly, you'd think of massive space battles involving thousands of ships, futurisic worlds full of wonderous technology, or perhaps even outlandish alien races with strange cultures and customs. Well, "Planetes", an anime of this genre with more than its share of far fetched imagination, glory and grandeur, is about... none of those things. Instead it chooses to focus on the less far fetched, less glorious, less grand matters - "Planetes" is about space debris collectors... in other words garbagemen in space. Honestly, I kid read more
Aug 20, 2008
eNyoron (All reviews)
Planetes best falls into the genre of hard sci-fi; it deals with events and technologies of the future, yet does not introduce impossible/ridiculous technologies. Although 2075 may seem a bit early, the most absurd aspect of the future actually introduced by Planetes seems to be a fully functioning moon colony and the process of sustainable cold fusion. Even minor aspects of space life such as the loss of movement control in microgravity or the effects of living at 1/6gs on the moon is covered in the anime.

Yet the collection of debris is really just a tool to introduce greater concepts and develop characters. read more
Aug 29, 2013
ExOsc2 (All reviews)
Planetes....what a gem, in so many unexpected ways.

I started Planetes the way I've started most animes: hoping for a decent romance that ends well. I've been a sci-fi can for most of my life so Romance+Scifi+drama seemed like a good fit. And it started off a lot like I expected: a slowly developing romance with dashes of comedy and hints of a love triangle...Back when I was in school studying literature we learned about the Dramatic structure, how a story will have rising action leading to a huge climax. Planetes starts that climb slowly...but as the series goes on (and approaches its end) it doesn't read more
May 10, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
It's a dirty job, but someone has to do it.

Planetes, an anime that I was hesitant to watch at first. I have my reasons why, but when I picked up the DVD one day, I decided to finally sit down and watch the first episode. Until now, I don't remember what I was expecting at first, maybe just a show about astronauts and such. Let it be known, this anime is so much more. Planetes is probably a very realistic picture of what the future is going to be like. Cities on the moon, a career in space, vacations that actually take you to explore read more