Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

ēlDLIVE


Alternative Titles

English: elDLIVE
Japanese: エルドライブ 【ēlDLIVE】

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2017 to Mar 26, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Space
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.371 (scored by 8,575 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #58762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1921
Members: 29,438
Favorites: 44

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 30, 2017
Darich (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm writing this review because I just don't understand the score that this show gets. At the moment it's less than a 6 on MAL.

The author who wrote this is the same as Hitman Reborn and I read the manga for this anime myself so I can say it gets a little better later on.

It's not by any chance a bad anime, I'll put it as average and up at best. We have a typical shounen lead who's shy and useless but gets powerful sooner or later and a tsundere female lead. We get some character development but it's just the starting arc at read more
Jan 24, 2017
SkyeV (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, so I started with this series because I was such a big fan of Akira Amano's previous work, "Katekyo Hitman Reborn!" and because I just randomly bumped into the teaser of the anime on Facebook. With all honesty, the series peaked at my interest as soon as I saw the trailer (which is actually the main reason why I also started reading the manga as soon as it says "From the author of Katekyo Hitman Reborn!")

Anyways, the story is a bit slow in pace but I'm pretty sure it's going to go in the right direction (I'm also up to date with the manga read more
Mar 26, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
It’s a shame talking about a show like this. Something with so much potential, with A-class seiyuu working behind it being so. Boring. This simply is one of the most disinteresting shows of the season based on its dull storyline; which follows a kid who joins a space agency police thing. That to me sounded different, but still had the same premise as Space Patrol Luluco therefore I had high hopes for it. The boundaries were limitless, they could put whatever type of space alien they want in it and any wacky premise could be covered with the ‘It’s Sci-Fi’ label. But they through this read more
Feb 17, 2017
Vannish (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a spoilerless review. This is my first ever review and I have only seen 6 episodes so forgive me for any mistakes.

First Impressions:

Most of the time I find shows overrated, with scores often well above what I'd consider a fair score, so when I found eldLive with a measly ~5.9 score I was expecting an awful cringefest, but that's not at all what I found, what I found was a fairly average but enjoyable show and I am still confused why its score doesn't even reach 6.00.

This being said, elDLIVE is no masterpiece, and has some core problems preventing me from giving it read more
Mar 26, 2017
henkuku (All reviews)
Seeing how its rating isn't exactly high, I thought I needed to justify just how good (or bad) this series actually is.

As most of you reading this might already know, this series was written by the very same author who brought us Katekyo Hitman Reborn. However, going into this series thinking and expecting it to match the quality of Reborn isn't the way to go.

elDLIVE is really just a simple, shounen series with not much complications regarding the plot or characters. Almost everything about it is as straightforward as it can get or, as some people would call it, predictable. But this doesn't read more
Mar 31, 2017
Leegf (All reviews)
How I made it to the end... I wonder...
Okay, I'll tell you.
Why I even begin to watch it? I've watched Reborn series in the past. I didn't like it. Once again, why I even begin to watch ēlDLIVE? Ah, yes, I know. That's because I'm very kind soul who's inclined to give people second chances so they can show they've became better. Yup. I gave such chance to the author. (Hope you would believe)

The story is so unique! It doesn't resemble Reborn's story in any possible way.
Small chibi creature that helps main hero? No way you would find something so overused read more
Feb 2, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Becoming an Officer is never easy. There are people who would depend on you to protect the city. It is your job to make sure that happens. But what happens when you are to suddenly go up into space, take a test, and become an officer, as a middle schooler so to speak. It's not gonna be easy isn't it...?

For all the hate it's getting, as much as this anime is not very good..I'm actually well...Enjoying it.
I will be reviewing this as an anime-only watcher.

Story (7)

elDLIVE is an anime that takes place on Earth, and on Space. It's about a middle school boy named read more
Apr 1, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
elDLIVE is based off the popular manga of the same name and is an action/ science fiction genre based anime. I have yet to read the source material that the anime is based on but after seeing how enjoyable this anime was I might consider reading it.

Story and setting
The story of elDLIVE revolves around the life of Chuuta Kokonose a fourteen-year-old middle school boy that one day was found himself face to face with an alien and is recruited into an intergalactic police force called elDLIVE.

The story of elDLIVE revolves around Chuuta’s life as a middle school student as well as his career read more
Mar 26, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Well, leave it to them Japs to come up with something like this that either underrated or overrated , and don't expect anything just right here , now I don't know about you guys out there, who the fuck is Akira Amano?, Oh yoyosa, he is just the one who did the cheesy "Katekyo Hitman Reborn!" were to me is a nonosa, so how do I find it? Here's how:

Storywise, it could have had a cool story, but, the plot itself was pretty much a knockoff of the ff: Men in Black, Babylon 5, Battlestar Galactica, 12 monkeys and Star Freak. but instead of read more
Feb 26, 2017
Shiraishiku (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will not emphasize that much as my english is limited.

It's not by any chance a bad anime, but for my liking it's just horrible.

Typical shonen story where the protagonist is useless and tries to act all serious, obviously can be more powerful after some episodes, but in this case, he is still useless as of chapter 7(Useless as he can't do anything by himself). Also, don't miss out the typical girl that hates this guy, but will get to fall in love with him in near future.

As for art, it's quite good, so won't say that much.

Sound, the sounds are good, read more
Mar 28, 2017
jsmrcrzgrdl_ (All reviews)
elDLIVE ANIME REVIEW

elDLIVE revolves around Chuta Kokonose, our main protagonist, on his adventures of being an elDLIVE Space Patrol.

Honestly, I am saddened of its rating here in MAL. I am huge fan of Akira Amano since I finished watching/reading the Katekyo Hitman Reborn. And I was very hyped when this came out last January.

Like Katekyo Hitman Reborn, this series started very slow. I think this whole first season is all about character development, since it's only a 12-episode anime. I honestly want more seasons though that may be unlikely since only a few appreciated the anime.

The story started slow in the first few episodes but read more
Mar 27, 2017
shikiddo (All reviews)
This is my first review ever so I'm just going to go with what the numbers say.
Also, I am a huge Katekyo Hitman Reborn fan so this will be little you know...

Story = 8 - Very Good
I watched a few shounen anime so this feels like the other shounen animes except that it has a Space Theme so that gives it something. Also, since this is just Season 1 and they didn't follow the manga on the last two episodes (They followed the manga from EP 1- 10), I'd say the characters are well introduced. As for further/deeper character backgrounds, I'm afraid I have read more
Feb 20, 2017
Shinwinds (All reviews)
Preliminary
Eidlive is like one generic shonen anime. Is it bad or good? Honestly i enjoyed this anime. Yeah sometimes the dialog cringe but Overrall its ref refreshing. I really like how the character is goofy and weird its like watching nanatsu no taizai without the blood and gore. Good anime isn't about blood and gore and this anime nailed it. Give it a try and enjoy the anime you used to watch in your Childhood.

Of course for every good show there is bound one drawback. Well it depend on the people but i think the organization Eidlive have a very little explanation. Its really read more