Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Amaama to Inazuma


Alternative Titles

English: Sweetness & Lightning
Japanese: 甘々と稲妻

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2016 to Sep 20, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 57,717 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #533
Members: 130,695
Favorites: 446

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 8, 2016
narutardandproud (All reviews)
Preliminary
Looking at all the other reviews, most people are going to disagree with my opinion, but it is my opinion and I have a right to share it.

I have to admit, i did enjoy the first few episodes. The most captivating part the show was Tsumugi. Her adorableness pretty much drove the show, but it could only drive it so far. For me it was two episodes. By episode 3 she lost her flair and by episode 4, the show started to get boring. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy shows with cutesy appeal but for a cutesy show to be good, it needs read more
Jul 29, 2016
SerpentineJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Should you watch this anime? Short answer: yes. Long answer: not if you're into mecha anime.

(Kidding.)

I really, really, really like Amaama To Inazuma. It's called 'Sweetness And Lightning' for a reason- in an industry where, even with slice-of-life, apparently it's escalate the stakes or get cancelled, this anime is refreshingly low-conflict and heartwarming. Sometimes I don't want to watch the fate of the world be decided by three gigantic robots in an hour-long mega battle to the death, or see a bunch of high-school age kids beating the (physical or mental) shit out of each other in some competition to stay in their uber-competitive school. read more
Sep 19, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Growing up, I'm sure many of us have consumed one too many sugary sweets during our childhoods. We gouge down, smacking our lips, lapping up the remaining sticky stains that pepper our face, slurping the sweet syrup that coats our fingertips, savoring every last drop like sweet-tooth extraordinaires. But after awhile, that sugary delight leads to an unwelcome stomach ache, where we're left bloated and forced to endure the rightfully earned scorning from our parents:
"I told you not to eat all those sweets at once!"
as they march us off to the restrooms to brush away the very thought of any potential cavity taking refuge between read more
Sep 19, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
Imagine the most important person in your life, the one you love unconditionally, who takes care of you or your family, suddenly ceases to exist. In the grieving wake of the unexpected you cling to whatever is comforting, dreading beginning the next day without them. I have a friend who lost her fiancé to a car accident a few years back, and although I couldn't empathize appropriately, I provided the support that I could for the disaster that rocked her world. She was left to take care of her then three year daughter and pick up the pieces along the way. In light of the read more
Sep 19, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Being some sort of antisocial, misanthropic millennial fuckwad, I have this sort of mentality where I believe that reproducing humans is stupid, children are awful human beings that are completely useless and unlikable until the ripe age of “get a job you fucking bum”, and being a parent sounds like the absolute worst thing that could happen to me right now.

And therefore, I am here to tell you that Sweetness & Lightning, a slice-of-life about a father and his young daughter, is one of the best anime of the entire year.

Let’s get the overused joke of the season out of the way. “This show is read more
Sep 19, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
If slice of life, cuteness, delicious food, realism are on your bucket list the next anime you plan to watch, then think no more. Amaama no Inazuma (Sweetness and Lightning) is your answer. Taking the sweetness of slice of life and mix it with cooking accessories is just the tip of the iceberg. Believe me, this is a show that’s more than about food. It packs a satisfying and emotional ride that’s just too sweet to pass up.

Adapted from the manga of the same name, the series is essentially a slice of life story of daily adventures. I should mention though, the story is pretty read more
Sep 19, 2016
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
Warning! There is a health risk if you attempt to watch this show. You may end up being diagnosed as diabetic because the anime is an overabundance of sweetness, cuteness and anything else imaginable. I never knew child-raising could be this fascinating.

This is a slice of life show that revolves around single parent Inuzuka Kouhei trying to provide better cooked meals for his pre-school daughter Tsumugi, who is bristling with energy. The doting parent is capable of cooking basic meals for her but his day job of being a high school teacher prevents him from making actual progression on his culinary skills. In an act read more
Sep 20, 2016
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Ok, so another food porn anime has ended, and ah..........................:


Storywise, it was just your typical food porn anime , where the plot wasn't about the widowed dad struggling to take care of his spunky daughter, it was more of spoiling his daughter's appetite with the dishes that this anime presents in every episode, so yes, this category is a 5 over 10.

Art, pretty decent it I say so, there are no fanservices to speak off, none of that Zettai Ryouki thing, I mean there is really nothing for me to say about this anime's art, so for this category is a 4 over 10.

Sound, well read more
Oct 7, 2016
Melody (All reviews)
Sweetness is, indeed, the right word to put in the title and it perfectly describes what the show can offer to the viewer.

Amaama to Inazuma might not be an anime that can please everyone, but if you enjoy cute and hearthwarming stories about the daily life of a family and their friends, it is absolutely sure that you will enjoy it thoroughly.

Amaama to Inazuma’s story may not be very original but, it can offer both drama and comedy, while being a very relaxing show, sadness and happiness, while showing the daily struggles and joy the characters are going through. All of that, plus a special read more
Sep 19, 2016
BlueKite (All reviews)
The bliss of cooking and eating good food. The highs and lows of assuming both parental positions when raising a child. The anxiety of finding yourself alone and lost. Just to name a few things that this show brings to the viewer, it’s been evident that Amaama to Inazuma is Summer 2016’s slice-of-life darling thanks to its heartwarming premise.

The story focuses on Inuzuka Kouhei and his daughter Tsumugi who have been living quite the unhealthy convenience store-based lifestyle. He has no prior experience to cooking because it’s his wife who recently passed away that usually cooks the meals. Here comes Kotori, who they found while read more
Sep 25, 2016
rackjothen (All reviews)
To sum up my review of this show, I'll give you a statement. I was shocked at how sweet this show was. Okay, bad jokes over with, now on to the review.

Amaama to Inazuma, or Sweetness and Lightning (hence the bad joke prior), is a fairly relaxed slice of life that found itself debuting in a season where many other shows stole the limelight. Premiering alongside extremely popular shows like Re:Zero and Food wars, this cute show didn't get that attention it truly deserved. However this did not stop the show from shining in the eyes of many of it's viewers. I for one, absolutely read more
Oct 23, 2016
Reizsha (All reviews)
I enjoy this slice of life anime. A bit sad but heartwarming, about a single parent dad who trying his best to cook a delicious meal for her daughter after the death of his wife. A dad who at first episode do not know how to cook and eating instant food for everyday meal with her daughter.

If you want to watch a very sad and melodramatic story about a little girl and her father being sad because her mother has passed away, then this anime is not for you.

If you like an anime with cooking theme for a daily food and uncomplicated daily life read more
Sep 18, 2016
black0678 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you like some real life story then i think you'll like this anime... Some people said that this anime gets boring after eps 5 onwards because it gets repetitive, well i cant blame them for saying that and i agree with that but when we think about the daily life of a single parent dad and his little daughter what do we expect? Not that much right? Well are you expecting for his daughter to get some cancer or suddenly have superpowers,etc to make the show interesting? Well im glad they dont make this anime like that... maybe some of you have been watch read more
Mar 3, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Sweetness and Lightning is a slice-of-life title focused on widowed father and teacher Kohei and his daughter Tsumugi, who get together with one of Kohei's students, Kotori, to make delicious meals at the restaurant of Kotori's mother. The series mixes around some light humor and drama with exploring the everyday challenges that Kohei has with raising his daughter as a widowed father and establishing their current relationship with Kotori for the three to get together to learn to prepare meals.

What makes the premise for this series work is that it strikes a balance of both being relateable to audiences thanks to Kohei and Tsumugi's domestic read more
Dec 7, 2016
88expert (All reviews)
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAIN HARSH AND STRONG LANGUAGE.

WARNING: JUST LIKE RE:ZERO, THIS ANIME IS CONSIDER AS ANIME THAT EVERYBODY LIKES BUT I DON'T

Well I actually do enjoy a great slice of life to get some chill relaxing time. Hence I pick this series... and regretted it

Story: The story began when the father Kobei Inuzuka loss his wife due to something... ( they didn't explain just accept it) and he is a terrible cook so he and his daughter has been eating frozen bento from the convenient store and microwave it for about 6 months.
Wait... WHAT!!!!
What type of father are you?? Can you at read more
Sep 19, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
So what happens if Shokugeki no Souma was a bit more basic and instead of fanservice was turned moe?...well here's a taste of Amaama to Inazuma.

Amaama to Inazuma has a rather adorable plot due to the nature of the anime, to make good food and just to make it moe as hell with one character like Tsumugi Inuzuka voiced by Rina Endou. The premise at best are following the trend of food anime but with the unique slice of life moe twist to it and even though LA didn't have any intentions of watching this anime, LA's friend got interested so LA did to..............also because read more
Dec 9, 2016
Sena-san (All reviews)
The story is very simple, and sweet as it follows the life of a father, and his daughter. The art is nothing to fancy, and is somewhat average. The voice actors were well picked. I watched in subbed. The characters are enjoyable although the dad is more of an enjoyable character. It is somewhat of a sad story, and is able to establish a good sense of realism, since it is not to far fetched. You are able to stay interested in the story, and the opening song is also very catchy. Overall I believe this story was well put together, and wraps up nicely read more
Oct 18, 2016
JinKun (All reviews)
I finished this anime a few days ago with a really good taste in my mouth. While most reviews keep mentioning the lack of actual story (and they are right), something about Amaama to Inazuma really hit home.

Story;
Kouhei, whose wife passed away less than a year ago, is the father to the seriously cute, and shining Tsumugi. Being a teacher and working to provide for himself and his daughter, Kouhei is used to buying pre-made food in order to feed his daughter, having no time or experience in cooking. When he and his daughter come across a small restaurant that happens to belong to the read more
Oct 16, 2016
SalarymanRambles (All reviews)
I'm very harsh on this show, only because a story that is frivolous but wants to justify itself as heartwarmingly poignant should not get a free pass just because "Kawaii".
I was never moved, never laughed, nor did I have a personal epiphany as to how to live my life, and, more importantly, I didn't enjoy this show.

I don't like being deceived. This show wants to have its cake and eat it too; it dabbles in scarce poignant moments, but never incorporates them into the narrative directly, just as triggers for empathy (we don't see anyone dealing with the issues at hand, we simply see them read more
Oct 12, 2016
TariellaAiden (All reviews)
Amaama to Inazuma is a basic slice of life, it's cute and fluffy with a few slightly serious tones.
The focus on cooking and it's ties to the mother is nice, and it's got a very relaxing feel to it. I also enjoyed learning about different Japanese dishes. It's a very soft-spoken story, nothing flashy happens and there's little progression in terms of plot after the first couple episodes. That said it still manages to be interesting thanks to the characters and the food.
There's a discreet evolution in the main characters, Tsumugi is growing up and shows unrealistic but endearing maturity whilst her equally endearing father read more