Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fukigen na Mononokean


Alternative Titles

English: The Morose Mononokean
Japanese: 不機嫌なモノノケ庵

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 28, 2016 to Sep 20, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Pierrot Plus
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 34,483 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1272
Members: 84,402
Favorites: 417

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2016
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
The Morose Mononokean is certainly a hidden gem from this Summer 2016 season as I unfortunately made the mistake of overlooking it. If you’re a comedy fan, then this show would be a treat for you with its crude humour and running gags that are recurring throughout. Although, it did turn less comedic in the later half when things take a more serious turn to them.

Youkai, youkai, and even more youkai. These supernatural creatures are often viewed in a negative light in the anime medium, when numerous shows are based on the fact of exterminating them before they cause harm to us humans. Ashiya Hanae, read more
Sep 25, 2016
Chibi-Fukuro (All reviews)
This anime left a good impression on me. It was funny, adorable and even had a couple of feels here and there. While there were many ups about this show, there was a reason for me to only give it a 7 overall, which was mainly the story.

[MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS]

The story was not bad, but it definitely wasn't the best it could have been in my opinion. There wasn't a lot of plot, and it mainly only focused on the exorcism of Yokai, and Ashiya trying to regain his vision. However through story, lovely friendships were made and most of the Yokai were interesting and read more
Sep 23, 2016
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Hey folks, this will be a review for Fukigen na Mononokean. This show was like a poor love child of Noragami and Hoozuki no Reitetsu. I don't much recommend this show, unless you seen the other two and have an itch for a bit more.

The story revolves around a highschool boy, who on just before his first day of high school manages to get possessed by a youkai(more like infected by one). The youkai causes him distress and he tries to get it exercised. While this happens he learns of the youkai and about this world that he was before, unable to see. This exorcism read more
Jan 18, 2017
mushimk (All reviews)
That's a first : an anime that lacks so much confidence in its setting that it tries to lure you with yaoi bait. Which was absolutely meaningless (and useless, considering I'm pretty sure most people interested were more attracted by the youkai in the first place).
The thing is, this anime is quite enjoyable without it, so I can't get my head around the reasons (I mean reasons other than to satisfy excitable teenagers) that push the author to use yaoi as an audience trap.
Still, maybe that's all it was, and it's not preventing this anime to be an easy recommandation to anyone that just read more
Jun 26, 2019
matchamilkshake (All reviews)
I found myself getting bored after episode four, just because I realise that each episode has the same formula: character faces a problem, try to solve them and at the end, the character will show how determined they are to solve the problem by sacrificing anything they have. Therefore the plot is very predictable and did not give me any excitement at all.

The characters - especially the main character - is the type of character I will always avoid when watching or reading a story. He's just very annoying, or everyone is rather annoying in general. However, I told myself to be unbiased and read more
Feb 15, 2019
pispis (All reviews)
It really boils down to whether you like the 2 main characters. If you like them, you'll like this anime. If you hate them, there's literally no point for you to watch it. The story, at this point, is kinda plain, not boring but not very interesting either. So I'd suggest that if by watching the first 3 episodes, the only impression you get from the 2 main characters is annoying, then you can safely drop it.

Me personally, I found them loveable. I loved their personality and their looks. I could relate to Ashiya's & Abeno's tsundere-friendship too. And overall all characters were loveable, it read more
Jan 2, 2019
mellllll (All reviews)
This is such a common anime. Seriously. But, why did I feel my heart beating so fast for him? So, at first, I have to admit that I fell in love at first sight for Fukigen na Mononokean. Just on the first episode I already felt so good watching, a feeling that I rarely have. It gives such enjoyment and leaves you absolutely absorbed on every episode.

The plot is very simple and very understandable: tells the story about a yokai exorcist, Abeno, and his employed, Hanae. And the story's development is so natural, since the change of sceneries until the new's characters entrance.

The art is read more
Sep 24, 2018
aubreyaylaine (All reviews)
*Just because I rated this a 6 does not mean this anime is not worth watching*

"The faith in the promise we made, gave him the strength to move on."

This story is pretty basic. I do not feel like there is too much to it. Which is not necessarily a bad thing.

The art is nice. I just personally am not a fan of different graphics used together in one anime. So you Kind of get the typical cartoony look but then you have the yokai which will be more computerized at times.

The sound was basic. Nothing out of the ordinary in my opinion.

You didn't read more
Sep 11, 2018
okyuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dropped this anime 8 and a half episodes into the story because its failure at storytelling/character development made it very hard to enjoy.

Pros: it's pretty and kind of cute, especially if you happen to be into demonic furballs.
Cons: it's the anime equivalent of oatmeal. Very bland, but pretty oatmeal.

The strongest points of this anime are the visual and audio aspects; the backgrounds are pretty, the animation is enjoyable to watch, and the character designs make the characters easily recognizable and memorable.

The weakest points are pretty much everything else. The protagonist is incredibly boring; a typical highschool kid who stumbles upon the supernatural and read more
Dec 20, 2016
wwtianyou (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest this anime is probably intended for a very young audience . It gets extremely boring and has really no purpose. There isn't even very much material to discuss. It can be described as a very good anime for young children. There are generic morals to be learnt, cute "animal sidekick", appealing art, and interesting concept. Overall it just isn't very enjoyable for older individuals.

The one thing that this anime has is quality art. The characters are generic and not remotely interesting. (DON'T BE FOOLED THERE IS NO YAOI.) The humour is non-existent, the plot is nonexistent. The soundtrack can be read more
Jul 2, 2019
Angelo_Moon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hi guys.

The art of anime is beautiful, I must admit. As for the story, it should be a slice of life with supernatural events, with fun and relaxing episodes. Right? Yes, that's not quite the way it happened. I had nothing to watch, so I decided to end this anime. But the episodes are extremely massive, predictable and bland. The personality of both protagonists - especially of the Ashiya - is to get on your nerves and you can not have fun at any point in the series. In the end, I did not have the patience to finish the anime, so I can not read more
Oct 29, 2016
catcupcakes (All reviews)
I never thought I'd like this show as much as I did…at first it seems really mediocre but as it goes on, it's a very comedic and beautiful anime. It's a bit of a fujo-bait series for a shounen (coming from a fujoshi herself), but it doesn't stop you from enjoying it.

There's no real plot, instead there's just that episode to episode flow (mostly) and it gives a laid-back sort of slice-of-life feeling. Perfect for watching when you're bored or feeling melancholy, it picks you up a little. They way the human-yokai relationship thing is explained through the trials also gives it a nice feeling.

The read more
Jun 20, 2017
AdelineKuang (All reviews)
Story:
The storyline involved humans and youkais, and it is one of my favourite themes. It is especially vivid in portraying the lives and thoughts of youkais, and through the MC we are able to see how they interact with humans. It is mostly funny and heartwarming. The MC is kind and at times reckless, but very loveable. The other MC is like the grouchy uncle who is annoyed but takes care of his nephew anyway. The story does not just talk about bonds between youkais, or youkais and humans, but also between humans as well. The stories are episodic, but sufficient attention is given so read more
Jun 2, 2017
lensaamiranda (All reviews)
"The Morose Mononokean"

DON'T WATCH: if you're looking for an action-packed, fast-paced show.

WATCH: if you like natsume yuujinchou, hotarubi no mori e or poco's udon world (in terms of heartwarming elements) or if you enjoy slow, heartwarming storylines.

Quick review

story: 7.5
art: 8
sound: 8
character: 8
enjoyment: 8

Story- (surprisingly) heartwarming and adorable at times. it follows the 'main characters are involved with youkai and tries to solve problems related to it' storyline. hence, the pacing- a bit slow, but it suits a show like this. the vibe is quite similar to mononoke & natsume yuujinchou.

Art - pretty unique (colour contrast, texture-thingy?) and pleasing to the eyes, a bit read more
Feb 10, 2019
Windadepts (All reviews)
" May contain light spoilers "

I feel that this anime is one of those " you either like it, or you don't " anime so I would highly recommend giving this one at least 6 eps before you make a judgement whether or not you like the plot or not.

Story: The plot isn't a masterpiece nor was it bad. But what's the plot you ask? well if you expecting some plot twists here and big changes than this isn't what you will be expecting. The show centers around the Comedy, Drama and Supernatural aspect and mostly episodes are about the two guys helping out read more
Jan 18, 2019
otakukunkou (All reviews)
I'm not someone who writes reviews, so the fact that I decided to write a review for Fukigen No Mononokean speaks volumes in itself. First, I feel the reviews given to this anime is unfair in itself. And I do understand why. Mostly because people tend to compare it to the already popular supernatural anime around. And if you do that, you will not enjoy this gem of an anime.

I'll keep this short and sweet. If you want to enjoy FNM, you need to throw away all the perceptions and judgement of supernatural anime with demons and gods. This is a different story. There is read more
Nov 18, 2018
caelesc (All reviews)
I love series like Natsume Yujincho, xxxHolic, Mononoke and Hozuki no Reitetsu. I first started watching this series when it originally came but dropped it cause it didn't seem to have much depth to it. I recently decided to give it a second try and to my horror, with each passing episode, I realized that i had in fact already finished the series when it originally came out - it was just SO BLAND I forgot about it completely.

So, why didn't I like it?
The characters.
The main character is as 2D as they come and the author has clearly committed one of the read more
May 15, 2018
abitofsalmon (All reviews)
As a fan of yokai/ghost stories, I was happy to see a series the felt with yokai in a more lighthearted fashion, not portraying them as a nuisance or a threat as many other series do. We get to see spirits and humans living in harmony.

The art is fine, nothing special, but watchable and consistent. The art style is generic, and doesn't stand out, making it look quite boring from the outside. The two protagonists can be unrecognisable in comparison to other, similar looking anime characters.

The major fault of this series, and that made me almost drop, is it's characters. The main character, Ashiya, is read more
Nov 24, 2016
chelime (All reviews)
I'll be honest: I mostly started watching this because I'm a complete sucker for BL subtext. And it has that, absolutely. But I really enjoyed this anime for more than that, more than I thought I would.

So, okay, I'll admit that I'm typically the kind of person who, if the show has great characters with great interactions, then I don't even care if the plot is weak: I'm satisfied. And Fukigen na Mononokean definitely has great characters. Ashiya is the incredibly kindhearted type--with a healthy dose of the airheaded type--passionate about helping others even when he might be scared or might not really know how read more
Mar 9, 2018
honeyonatoast (All reviews)
The story was nice and I enjoyed watching it but there needs to be a season two because there are so many unanswered questioned. here are couple

Why did Ashiya have that mysterious power in episode 5? When fluffy got hurt by something and in Ashyia something ticked?

Why is his name Ashyia? It is a Yokai name after all in this anime?

Where is Ashyia's dad?

Why did Abeno's master accept him?

Overall why did Ashyia have that power?

If there ould be a season two, I would like to see them answer all these questions or some of them

But a very nice anime just needs to answer all read more