Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Noblesse: Awakening


Alternative Titles

Japanese: Noblesse: Awakening

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 4, 2016
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Web manga
Duration: 31 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 26,423 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1736
Members: 52,506
Favorites: 334

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 4, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
There are several words that come in mind when trying to describe this ONA, and the most suitable one would be that it is hilarious, even with the underlying, or rather, main theme of this work: vampires and Frakenstein. Yes, you read right, Frankenstein and his very master that awoke after his long slumber. It must be noted that is has its share of action as well. Noblesse: Awakening is an adaptation of the of the korean manhwa Noblesse.

The story surrounding vampires is nothing new, yet the fact that it incorporates both Frankenstein and his master, Cadis Etrama di Raizel, is something I have read more
Feb 5, 2016
ZeroAlice (All reviews)
This is an adaptation for one of the best manhwa out there, Noblesse.
Let me give u a head start if you want to watch this OVA. dont expect that it will cover up most of the manhwa since this is only a 30 minute adaptation and there'll be some fast pacing in the story but still for me I find it enjoyable to watch.

STORY: 8/10

forgive me if I only scored it 8 but the OVA has made me crave for more. the ending was not that bad. I JUST wished they made it longer lol. I also gave it an 8 since the OVA hasnt read more
Feb 5, 2016
scyax (All reviews)
if you want the short version: Id say this is more enjoyable to people who are fans of and have read the manhwa than people new to the series, so if you havent read that already then you definitely should, but maybe hold of on watching this till then.

I just wanted to make this review so that people dont get the wrong idea about this series, whilst i did very much enjoy this ova i think the pacing was ridiculous and kind of ruined would could of been an even better experience. Its been a couple of years since i read the section of the read more
Mar 12, 2016
711nono (All reviews)
I think that anime adaptions of manhwa and manhua are greatly encouraged due to a lot of them having really great stories to tell. One of these is noblesse which is a brilliant manhwa that uses something as generic as vampires and creates something extraordinary with these vampires. However, Noblesse Awakening while being an enjoyable watch, it does not capture the integrity of the source material.

Of course I can't be too harsh, this ONA is only 30 minutes or so and its hard to pack the first 80 chapters of a manga into 30 minutes. Obviously I knew they were going cut out read more
Feb 6, 2016
-shad- (All reviews)
Ah yes, the studio to one of the first anime I’ve seen (Production I.G) when I started out anime, Attack On Titan; with numerous titles that I’ve haven’t got the time to watch (However I want to) like Psycho-pass, FLCL, Ghost in the shell, that I’ve only heard nothing but greatness about them. This time, is the same once again, with one of the most anticipated manhwa to grace the screen as an anime series (although this time it is a single ONA), Noblesse: Awakening.

Now how did the story go, for a 30 minute ONA... If I could give an analogy to this, it would read more
Feb 6, 2016
Demi_V (All reviews)
Production I.G has done it again. After a stint in watching this OVA, I can fathom why so many enjoy this series. Despite the positive things I heard about Noblesse, I couldn't help cringing when I saw the words “vampire” and “high school.” I thought, “Please don't be another Vampire Knight.” But it definitely didn't fit that category. It was far greater than that. Keep in mind that this is an OVA, so it only gives a taste of what to expect in the overall story. Some things aren't explained, but if you seen vampire anime like Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, you can understand the vampires’ read more
Feb 5, 2016
Sakuraika (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of Noblesse, and I was really hyped up when I heard the news of Noblesse being animated. IG Productions did their best, I guess, both with the animation and the scenes they chose to animate. Of course, an OVA is not enough for you to get to know what's happening, but it's still something! The thing that got me confused was that they changed some names Frankenstein, M-21 and M-24 and Razel stayed the same, but Shinwa, Ik-han and Yuna suddenly became japanese.

There is no OST, but the music is good. So I think 8/10 is fair enough.
But the read more
Feb 10, 2016
kazykoki (All reviews)
Well aren't you full of surprises darling 2016. It would appear the anime production gods are shinning a much needed light in the way of manhwa this year. That is exactly what we want and need.

The story covered in this ONA is about the happenings that took place when the great Noblesse aka Cadis Etrama Di Raizel aka Rai awakens from his 800+ year sleep and the events that take place soon after.

Production I.G... these guys definitely know their stuff. The sound and art were very good. I truly appreciated how the characters were drawn. It truly made them come to life. They were read more
Feb 5, 2016
yoshino21 (All reviews)
When I saw that my favorite manhwa got animated, I was so excited I could not speak. And I enjoyed it merely because I was waiting for this for so long. But let's face the reality: this OVA isn't too good. I liked the animation, though some characters look a little different. But the soundtrack and the scenario are terrible. They threw away all hilarious and positive moments that made me love this manhwa so much, and left only the battle scenes (which looked pretty decent btw). They also minimized the plot and changed lots of detailes. Of course you'd say "How do you expect read more
Feb 7, 2016
arolust (All reviews)
So happy to see this, I absolutely love the web comic, have read it more than once even while waiting for updates, but already disappointed. They skipped scenes, and sadly it was noticeable.
It felt like they rushed this episode and tried to fit way to much of the story in 30 min, this should have been at least two episodes, if not three.

Honestly, theres some others who are calling this an "introduction" to the web comic, and does not fair to well on its own.

This should not be used to supplement the first part of the web comic either, absolutely not, as this is already read more
Feb 10, 2016
Venusz (All reviews)
Ahh, where do I start? Well first and foremost, this is an OVA, not a movie. Please remember that. If you're looking for a fleshed-out, character growth-type of story/show, this isn't it for you. Now, if you're looking for a quick-fix of anime, this is it for yah.

Let's start with the story. The producers did a really good job fleshing out the main points of the story line, and drawing viewers in. They also did a pretty decent job telling the story in about 33 minutes. Of course, because there was only 33 minutes, the story seemed extremely rushed. I found myself asking a read more
Mar 29, 2018
Xerxes_Break11 (All reviews)
It was a very wonderful episode I loved the character of Raizel and Frankenstein
And I also liked the character of Mary I would be very satisfied that he had an anime component of at least 13 episodes this is a wonderful thing no one pays attention to I do not know what these people would be happy if anime (TV) was composed of at least 13 episodes It does not matter that maybe I read the Manhwa read because Ova very impressed me and I loved this Anime The events were more than wonderful, but unfortunately it has only 2 episodes
Feb 5, 2016
TheBerserker (All reviews)
I got to say after watching it completely, I found it a lot rushed, couldn't they make it into an hour long episode?! whatever anyway, I am GLAD, this actually an anime adaptation, for a Webtoon and something Korean, to see something like that into an anime which is usually impossible to see it happen.... am glad they made it, and the fact that there is many other amazing Korean manhwa's like it out there without an adaptation..... heh.... this was really impressive and I got to say it really got me real good, I was so much impressed by it and it exceed all read more
Feb 13, 2016
Dudewhatswrong (All reviews)
Well, I have been a very diligent reader of the webtoon/manhwa for a long time now. I remember how this started when I was still in middle school (now i'm in uni. GOd knows how many times I 've read this over and over again), and as such a fan, I must say that the animation could not hold all the aspects of the original. However, that is understandable as this is simply an OVA. The manhwa itself possesses so much more charm than this. So, I beg those of you who perhaps disliked the animated version, please go read the manhwa! Because it may read more
Feb 17, 2016
mrtaxi (All reviews)
Being a huge fan of the manga, I went into this ONA with high hopes. While N:A is not a bad film per se, I expected more given the knowledge of how much potential the manga has.

N:A has if I recall correctly attempted to conflate over 50 chapters of plotline and character development into a 20-minute short. Little wonder that the viewer is left with the sense of things being rushed. Moreover, N:A has deviated from the original storyline, with the role of the Noblesse being revealed at the very start and with the two vamp-mutants supposedly identifying Rai as this Noblesse they have long read more
Feb 6, 2016
_mow_ (All reviews)
I'm starting this off by saying I was so freaking pumped for this!
Noblesse has been my favorite read for a while now and once I came onto MAL and saw that it was an animation, I literally started having a "fangirl attack".
The great thing is this is a very short animation that can be watched on Crunchyroll. Luckily I have Crunchyroll and watched Noblesse: Awakening as soon as my mini freak out was over.
My eyes were literally glued to the screen.
The music and amazing artwork wrap around you and pull you into a web and don't let go. Seriously.
Some might say the story is a read more
Feb 10, 2016
Sumsulk (All reviews)
Noblesse was introduced to me by a friend at school and i watched it in school only, this anime is a total masterpiece solid 9/10, the reason why i am giving a 9/10 because they never created other episodes and only one is available

Coming on to the character designs it is of real High quality, im sure anyone will enjoy this is Full HD 1080P, the facial expressions are one of the best i have seen for now, the creators of the anime have really spent a lot of time on the designs. The vampires who are in the anime are also very amazingly designed read more
Mar 17, 2017
Kyniiss (All reviews)
First off i want to say that i am a very big fan of Noblesse. Noblesse, in my opinion, is one of, if not, the best graphic novels (in this case, manhwa) of all time; the characters, the story, the jokes, it is as close to perfection as a story could get. This being said however, i did not enjoy this little adaptation. So much has been changed or straight out removed that it pales in comparison to its source material, a husk.

The only reason why I would give this an overall score of 4/10 is because of its astounding art and because its read more
Feb 5, 2016
Illuminatio (All reviews)
So, I was spending the last week or so catching up with the webtoon. It's slow paced at the beginning but shit gets real fairly quickly. Furthermore it's hell of an emotional rollercoaster ride. I would highly recommend reading the webtoon before watching the OVA. Basically, I was like really looking forward to watching the OVA, or so I thought.

Story: 3

The whole story revolves around Cadis Etrama Di Raizel. Short Rai. He's the handsome badass, we all need in our lives. Or I just need him. Well, who knows. Anyways. He does not talk that much. He doesn't talk at all most of the time. read more
Feb 21, 2016
Kira4President (All reviews)
Lets begin with the sound and art. Seeing how this was a OVA you know a lot of the studio's budget would be going into this one episode, since the studio wouldn't want a potential anime to fall flat in its Ova. So with this in mind the Art and sound were quite good. The Art was in line with (at least in my opinion) what every anime should be looking like in the year 2016. As for the sound i tend to mark sound based or whether or not it was noticeable, because all the anime i watch have sound but the good read more