Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bananya


Alternative Titles

English: Bananya
Japanese: ばなにゃ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2016 to Sep 26, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 20:55 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Gathering
Source: Original
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.801 (scored by 18,872 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #45162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2042
Members: 40,259
Favorites: 231

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 15, 2016
CatSoul (All reviews)
Some anime aren't for everyone.

There are people who really can't stand sports anime. For others fanservice is a turnoff. Some people think that psychological works are too confusing and full of themselves.

And you know what? That's perfectly fine. Everyone has different taste - that's why we have so many different genres and mediums for entertainment. I'm never going to tell someone their taste is bad.

Unless, of course, they don't like Bananya.

You see, Bananya is a universally appealing anime - as in, if you see a slice-of-life comedy about adorable cat banana friends going on adventures, finding love, and chasing their dreams not appealing to you, read more
Aug 1, 2016
Nashi_Nashi (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a cat! No- it's a banana, It's Bananya! The utterly adorable kitty who is inside a banana.

Story (9):

The story follows the adventures of Bananya and his friends and family. Each episode is a whole lot of fun, possible a bit cliche, but undeniably enjoyable. Although, please keep in mind that this is a kids show so it is not for everyone. There are no evil characters or sinister companies, deep plot twists or fight scenes, it is just pure fun that can be watched by people of all ages.

Art (10):

The art is absolutely adorable! The color palate is bright and colorful, the animation smooth, read more
Aug 2, 2016
ipoopcandy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning:
Possible spoilers

Go watch it and then come back here. You won't believe the glory of this anime and you shan't be able to get trough this review without finishing the whole series.
Bananya, the Citizen Kane of anime. Now you'd say nah no way this anime is for little kids and mentally handicapped, also known as American college students. To that I have to say you are dead wrong. Behind the simplistic premise hides a huge amount of intrigues and mysteries.

Art.
Art looks like it's drawn with crayons. Now you might think it's just shitty art or maybe they didn't have enough money to animate it read more
Jul 30, 2017
Rimoldi98 (All reviews)
What could I say about this masterpiece that hasn't been said yet?
Some shows are just too good for the human race to apreciate, with that said, bananya is something else than an anime, to the point of being an experience, something you'll only live once in your life, something beatyfull and outstanding.

Story- 10/10: Every episode tells a different story about bananya's crew, focusing in one of the few characters.

Art- 10/10: Animation and art in general is incredibly high quality.

Sound- 10/10: All things related to sound, that being, voice acting, sound track and everything else passes the feeling of awesomeness.

Character- 10/10: Character development is outstanding in read more
Oct 5, 2016
AzulInstrument (All reviews)
Story:
SPOILERS AHEAD
MY GOD. This Anime's story is absolutely outstanding. From the very first episode it hooks you in on wonder. Wondering, what is this peculiar Banana-Cat's world like? Later on, as we learn more of these banana-cats exist, our veil of limitation is lifted, because Bananya eventually explores later on, and we learn the lore that this world adds to the story.

In the final episode (aka the best final episode ever written of anything), bananya and his friends help the greedy humans and open their hearts by making a cake for them. In return, the humans help bananya achieve his dream of being a read more
Aug 4, 2016
Lostnekoo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just a simple review!
This is a short anime with each episode of not more than 3 to 4 min max. Like the poster shows its about a cat in a banana. RIP logic. Coz it's bananya.

What more will make us happy than an epidode of 3 minutes with an abundance of kawaiiness and an amazing art!

Don't expect a story outta this anime. It's just a great entertainment. No matter how mature you are this anime can bring out the soft kawaii side out of you. If not then watch it with a kid. If it still doesn't work then may be it's just read more
Aug 1, 2016
Gordn1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sorry for the spoilers ahead of time.
The main character plot development is that Bananya is actually a cat inside a banana. One of the best animes I seen so light hearted. Imagine watching innocent happy puella medoka magika without the "plot".

This is the perfect show to watch when you are feeling under the weather. It doesnt have a political message or any reason but to entertain and make you happy.

The have little misadventures here and there or have spats. No overlining story each episode is its own plot. From being comfortable with the temperature to finding a place to hang out.

Oct 3, 2016
ProfaneValkyrie (All reviews)
Bananya is that dosis of cuteness where you might be able to beat your addiction for cat videos. Now wait the characters are cats? But I though they were just talking bananas... I am confused.
Bananya is 95% cuteness and 5% comedy stuff 3 minutes series.
So if you really need that blissfully cuteness of drugs, this would indeed be cocaine of cuteness XD

All the rainbow faeces of the Unicorn - the good things
- Very beautiful simple colorful artstyle. (a more detailed style wouldn´t be fitting, I think)
- I love their Nya sounds, very cute and a good cute ending song
- Many would takes this as read more
Oct 4, 2017
lilacs (All reviews)
I just watched all 13 episodes of the anime called "Bananya".

A few points I would like to raise (spoilers ahead):

Like pupating moths, the cats live inside these banana skins inside the house of the rarely seen human family. All the Bananyas supposedly have their own personalities: for example, Black Bananya has a bowtie.

What intrigued me early on was Bananya’s ambition to become a chocolate covered Bananya – one that was, to say the least, entirely perplexing. Does Bananya want to be eaten? Does he just enjoy it aesthetically? If, like me, you go into the show wanting an answer to this, you will read more
Oct 4, 2016
OtakuInConverse (All reviews)
This was a cute little anime that I was able to binge-watch fairly quickly.

I never knew that banana cats could be so adorable!!! Oh, sorry I mean bananyas.

Each episode had a cute story, and some of the scenes reminded me of my own cats (Fun fact of the hour: I have two adorable cats). The detailing of the character's lives and backstories were unique, creative, and fun as well.

Overall, this is really cute, and if you're short on time this is a fun anime you can cram in quickly. Thanks for reading my review and I hope you enjoy the anime as much read more
Sep 12, 2016
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I don’t think I will ever be eating a banana again… this show is just too cute! It’s basically a couple shorts about a little kitten that lives in a banana and his many friends. The series is actually one of those very short cartoons consisting of only 3 minutes long. I consider it very similar to 4 panel strips in Comics in fact where it’s just a little taste of the characters and comedy. Because of this, this review is going to be pretty short compared. There really isn’t all that much you can talk about for a 3 minute anime that really read more
Sep 5, 2016
Fenodyree (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the anime that healed my soul.
I was suffering from extreme depression after the death of my cat.

Bananya filled the void that was left by the departure of my longest companion.
I have since referred this show to all of my friends and have yet to find anyone who has watched it all the way through and not liked it.

Story: The story is simplistic, but very well

Art: The art isn't on a par with some of the more recent released, but the art style cute and appealing.

Sound: Nya~

Character: Bananya is the best written character I have ever encountered.

Enjoyment: 30 minutes pure unadulterated sexual pleasure.
May 2, 2018
Dips (All reviews)
This anime completely redefined the whole game, it step up to the world's biggest taboos without fear and made us viewers rediscover anime under a new critical eye, subjugated by the outstanding efforts put into the storyline and unique never seen before characters and overly colourful art, a true feast for the eyes.

This anime covers all genres and is not to be taken lightly even by weeabo veterans, under evil hands, it could be used as a weapon which will one day destroy the whole world (dramatic music) therefore it had been sealed deep in the shallow darkness of the net but resurfaced once again read more
Jan 23, 2019
Hipster-Haze (All reviews)
Okay, besides this being the best thing to have ever been or will be made, let's talk about this show. If this show existed in any other form, it'd probably be terrible, but it's a short form show anyone could get into and finish in around 30 minutes to an hour. The show itself just has a bunch of cats in bananas, what's more to like. They go through all kinds of antics, doing silly things like bouncing around, or messing with the TV. Most of the skits last for around a minute at most, and end with a pretty catchy ED. The art style read more
Aug 18, 2017
Jersie (All reviews)
Ok so, this thing is 13 episodes long 3 minutes each, so a total of 39 minutes of your time.

So to be blunt, these Bananyas are the creatures you find on cute Japanese stationary.
With 39 minutes you have nothing to lose, I highly recommend to watch this after a horror game marathon or something, believe me you won't forget it.

I mean its Banana cats, you can never go wrong with that. Bananyas are exactly what they sound like, and they will make you feel exactly how you think you will feel (unless you're some sort of weirdo)

Plus the ending is FRICKIN CATCHY.

If you're wasting your read more
Jan 1, 2017
LarrytheLettuce (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cats and bananas. Best. Anime. Ever.

Of course with the name "Bananya", you wouldn't expect an anime with a complex plot or detailed character arks. This is a show about cats in bananas for goodness sake. The characters are very forgetable and cliche, but they're cute as heck. The story is a slice of life about cats in bananas doing various random things everyday. After all, this show is kind of directed to children like Hello Kitty. In all, this anime brings back a cheery vibe and colorful art that kinda reminds of Hello Kitty. Only this time, most watchers can agreed it's much cuter.

So read more
Aug 10, 2016
Panayos (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime.. is weird?

It is about a cat, that is also a banana, named Bananya, and his friends/family?
The friends are named; Tora Bananya, Baby Bananya, Bananya-ko, Kenaga Bananya, Kuro Bananya, Mike Bananya, and of course the Narrator who is obviously narrating what the Bananyas are doing.

Bananya wants to be a chocolate covered banana or something like that, I guess.

It's all just really, really odd to me.

The episodes are very short, only 3-4 minutes long, and it was good, but I just didn't find it very interesting.

If you like stuff like Chi's Sweet Home and Donyatsu, this anime is definitely for you.
In my read more
Oct 14, 2016
Zzyli (All reviews)
Much like the title Bananya is a portmanteau of banana and the noise a cat makes (nya), this series is about creatures who are a portmanteau of bananas and cats. It’s a series of short (3-minute) episodes following the daily lives and adventures of Bananya and his friends.

Bananya and his friends live in a human family’s kitchen and throughout the series we see them playing with each other, exploring the house and the world around them, with their actions being described by an unknown narrator. There’s also a short section at the end called ‘Bananya Identification Guide’ (although the actual book cover says Bananya Picture read more
Apr 22, 2017
ShadowsOfHell (All reviews)
I really enjoyed all 13 episodes of this anime. The kawaiiness is very strong!

I like how bright and colourful the anime is. This will definitely attract kids because they would like something like this. It's a very unique anime, I was not expecting cats to be living in a banana hehe but thanks to a friend for recommending this. I do not regret it at all! I couldn't help but sing a long to the closing song. Very catchy!

I would definitely watch it again! So I give this anime an 8/10. Absolutely aqwesome! I recommend this to anyone that loves cats too! Meow!

Nyaaaaa read more
Nov 16, 2017
iShipMyFriends (All reviews)
Story - 10
This is a heartwarming anime about kitties in bananas through both good and bad times. Every episode is a stand-alone with a story of its own and we quickly get through the plot in those five minutes. Even though every episode is short, this anime conveys all the messages, perfectly.

Characters - 10
This series has a medium-sized cast, all of the characters with a perfect amount of development. The most developed character is of course our protagonist, Bananya. He just seems deeper and deeper through the entire series, as we watch him reach for his dream of becoming a chocolate-covered banana.

Sound - 10
Simply amazing. read more