Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Youjo Senki


Alternative Titles

English: The Saga of Tanya the Evil
Synonyms: The Military Chronicles of a Little Girl
Japanese: 幼女戦記

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2017 to Mar 31, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Nut
Source: Light novel
Genres: Magic, Military
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.131 (scored by 164,327 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #242
Members: 322,901
Favorites: 4,672

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2017
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review contains spoilers.
-----

It’s not very often that an anime comes out that has its main protagonist be the villain and does it so well. Overlord is a popular show that explores this idea and Youjo Senki would be a highly recommended for those who enjoy certain aspects of it. It follows Tanya Degurechaff, a Japanese salaryman reincarnated into a female child soldier, in a reality where magic coexists alongside an alternate timeline of World War One. The twist is that she fights for Germanian Empire and behaves far differently than a stereotypical heroine.

Characters

Youjo Senki is defined by the main female lead read more
Jul 18, 2017
Polyphemus (All reviews)
My first encounter with the anime "The Saga of Tanya the Not Particularly Evil" intrigued me greatly. I walked in on my roommate watching some anime with a little girl and, as per tradition, I casually called him a pedophile. But then something strange happened. Rather than the usual "ACKSHUALLY, she's a 500 year old demon," he said "ACKSHUALLY, she's a middle aged man." Now, I was horrified by this. I slapped him and began to shout. "Why?? Hasn't this trap shit gone on long enough??? It’s too far!“ I said. But he explained the plot to me, so I told him it sounded stupid. read more
Mar 31, 2017
3xTripple (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review contains spoilers.
----

This anime, compressed into one long ass sentence: “An intelligent, asshole, soldier loli is actually a reincarnated, sociopathic, atheist, former salaryman, who occasionally gets forced by a stalker, god-like entity to pray to it in order for him-now-her to survive in a world-war setting and wreck his/her war enemies... with a magic gun.”

Youjo Senki was a pretty interesting show. It successfully presents an uncommon perspective in anime, where the main character is borderline villainous. I personally found it very entertaining and would recommend it to you.

TL;DR at the end

Story: 8/10
Tanya Degurachaff (the main character) starts off in our read more
Mar 31, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
Youjo Senki is a series that succeeds in portraying the “reincarnated and transported to a different world” scenario while having a unique approach on the “military” genre.
The story is well executed and approaches the military genre from a new and unique perspective that I found really entertaining. The character cast is a “one man army” composed of Tanya, aside from her character there really aren’t any other good characters.
The animation works in harmony with the sound department, resulting in a great watching experience that really allows the viewer to enter the show’s world.

Story: 7/10
For having insulted “God”, an atheist and read more
Feb 3, 2017
Yorkshire_Megan (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Review of first 5 eps)

I had no interest in Tanya when it first aired. Its preview on ANN was poor and the story sounded bizarre to me. However, after the first few episodes I noticed this anime was recieving more and more good reviews and generating some buzz, so I decided to check it out. And I'm very glad I did.

-Story-

Tanya is an original take on the now well-tred Isekai/AU genre. Firstly, the character is born (with a different gender) into the new world instead of merely being transported, as an adult, into it. Secondly, Tanya's goal is to survive in this new read more
Apr 1, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
To the people who finally expected a negative review on this show, sorry for being late; Being X gave me trouble. Also, expect lots of religion puns; have a problem, then you'd probably have a hell of a time with this damn review.

Youjo Senki is a pathetic waste that doesn't know what the hell it's talking about, stuck in its own incompetence and stupidity of vengefulness and craziness that it completely ruins a potentially good war story in the name of edge and sacrilege. From its ridiculous premise that's a sloppy combination of the premises of Drifters and Izetta (both mediocre and bad war shows read more
Apr 26, 2017
Lyree (All reviews)
How would a modern day salaryman from Japan, an especially ruthless and career-focused one too, manage to survive as a little orphan girl in a war ridden world where magic exists and a being that calls himself God tries his best to make things harder for said girl?
The synopsis might sound a little messy. And honestly, Youjo Senki is an anime that I didn't plan to watch but tempted by the pretty amazing opening song, I decided to give it a try when it started airing. And I'm very glad I did.

The aforementioned salaryman was in his original life a cold person that only read more
Mar 31, 2017
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Youjo Senki’s protagonist Tanya quickly rose to become my personal favorite character of the winter 2017 season. I guess psychotic loli nazis make for exquisite characters.

________________________________

Plot: 6/10

Set in an alternate universe that is similar to the era of the first World War, Youjo Senki follows Tanya Degurechaff as she fights in the Empire’s army. This empire is essentially the world’s version of Germany. In fact, every territory mentioned in the anime shares a geographic resemblance to actual European countries in our world. The major difference between reality and this fantasy realm is that magic exists in this parallel universe while it obviously (though unfortunately) doesn’t read more
Jan 29, 2017
Demonex (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review to help you understand the if you are interested in this.

It takes place in WW1 with currently aircraft being replaced by mages apparently. they fly and use very basic sort of magic like making rifle shells explode like a grenade. the WW1 and everything is done beautifully and for the first few minutes i was very interested.

then you have the main character who's animated so awkwardly compared to the rest of the anime, and the voice is annoying. To be honest i was going to watch it for its story and WWI setting ignoring the character but by the next few read more
Jan 27, 2017
MortalMelancholy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm writing this review based on my impressions of the first few episodes, and what I know about the manga and LN. Its unfortunate, but this anime is probably already hopeless.

In a NUTshell (NUT is the apparently new studio responsible for this), this anime has failed. The art is crap, the animation is crap, the screenplay is crap, the sound is crap, and the voice acting is crap. No amount or quality of plot could possibly make up for this.

Art: 3
Can be said as simply as this: "What the hell did they do to the main characters' faces?" The art is extremely basic and lacking read more
Mar 31, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Before Youjo Senki even aired, I had preconceived notions about it. Based on its ridiculous main character and overall premise, I was sharpening my literary claws in preparation to critically rip it to shreds in this eventual review. Lollis, reincarnation, magic and the tedious politics of war were all aspects I roll my eyes at individually, so naturally I didn’t have my hopes up very high after the first episode. After concluding the final segment of Youjo Senki, I can say without doubt that my initial impressions couldn’t have been farther from my analysis of the finished product. It’s an anime I wanted to hate, read more
Mar 31, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
Let's start off strong: I hate Youjo Senki. I hate what it aims to be, I hate what it is, I hate that it tries to do things it clearly can't do. I'm an incredibly positive guy, always searching for the enjoyment in any type of series, and yet Youjo Senki cannot achieve the simplest of goals I could have set for it: help me with finding those positives.
I will refer to Tanya as "she" instead of "he" throughout this review and hope that doesn't bother anybody.

*Spoilers included*

Story: 3
The Saga of Tanya the Evil is first and foremost an isekai read more
Mar 31, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Unless you’ve been living under a rock, then it’s probably recognized that the idea of a main character being killed and reincarnated as a totally new person in a new world is a recent new trope. Youjo Senki (Saga of Tanya the Evil) jumps right into the story like pouring rice. It gets more complex as we’ll learn more about the political affairs, wars, and characters. If you fancy fantasy war stories, then Youjo Senki welcomes you with open arms.

To be honest, Youjo Senki can be an intimidating title. The promotional image alone can provoke some thoughts for viewers as they will wonder what kind read more
Mar 31, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
**No Spoilers

Youjo Senki's concept is kind of risky, it is hard to understand what teh fok is going on at first glance but can easily catch up if the plot is well executed by having good dialogues and decent narration. Youjo Senki is probably the best Anime of Winter 2017 ( all sequels aside ) It is the only series from start to finish delivered and surpasses my expectations, with episode 11 being all well-directed originally by Studio NUT is freaking amazing for a brandnew studio.

Story 9/10

The story is about a salaryman who was accidentally run down by a train and was reborn read more
Feb 8, 2017
Tanya-Project (All reviews)
Preliminary
Imagine the battlefields of the great war...but with flying soldiers who can use magic and a crazy and evil loli girl commanding them. Well that's exactly what this anime is, and its amazing.

I tend to have a soft spot for war based things but this spiked my interest the moment i found out magic was involved. Seeing WW1 fought with magic is crazy enough without having to including an overpowered evil loli.

The sound is so smooth. I don't know about anybody else but when an anime executes the sound correctly it makes me engrossed and unable to hear a single thing that happens outside of read more
Mar 31, 2017
Shiraishiku (All reviews)
Let's make it really basic and simple.

Story: 9/10
I would've loved if they explained some things such as how this war started, the origin of the "mages", or even the story of the salaryman. That aside, you cannot just deny this is a hell of a story, how the salaryman(Tanya) doesn't believe in God(Mr.X) and this last refuses the fact that she/he doesn't believe in religion. You get to see some stuff that happened in the war, as well as some fiction, which is phenomenal. You get to see how anger can lead to anything in this world, which is pretty much true. IMO, i seriously read more
Feb 6, 2017
Shelby427Arbok (All reviews)
Preliminary
Forward: As of writing this review, I am roughly 5 episodes in, and I'm fresh from watching it, ergo I haven't had all the time necessary for all of the "Refrigerator Logic" to make itself apparent yet. This is also my first review on MAL. Keep this in mind.

Youjo Senki has to be one of the biggest surprises of the season, coming from an entirely new studio and having one of the most idiotic-sounding concepts in recent memory. However, Studio NUT has come out swinging with some fine work, and the story itself becomes far more impressive with context.

Story: 9 read more
Jan 29, 2017
SHivayogimaTH (All reviews)
Preliminary
Usually when I see a loli on the anime poster, I would expect cuteness overload out of the anime, even if it's about war or those gritty things, as apparent in "Girls und Panzer" and "Gakkougurashi!". But this show is completely different. From the first episode, you are treated with a psychotic smile, from the one and only loli--Tanya. Tanya is certainly one of the more interesting characters I have seen from this season. As you are watching this series, you travel through the trials and tribulations of a god denying girl, and her wish for a better life. I say it's really an enjoyable read more
Feb 6, 2018
TrueNeo (All reviews)
The diabolical ball of joy that is Tanya, see as she reins in the very heart of the skies as she battles for the "GLORY TO THE FATHERLAND".

I wish this was a game like Valkyrie chronicles, its so good...

I was entertained as she used nothing but wit and the good graces of god of war to rise threw the ranks, to become a feared as well as well respected solider. what really intrigued me the most of all while watching this very strongly narrative driven ensemble of amazing characters, was here sheer genius and ingenuity, is her countless conversations displaying a high level of intellect.

that read more
Jan 28, 2018
Zyroshi (All reviews)
I was surprised by this anime, I didn't expect too much, but wow, just... WOW.
This anime is just a flat 10 for me, it's just brilliant. I already loved history and specially WWII and I've played for more than 200 hours to Hearts of Iron IV, so this anime was just perfect for me. I love how they tell two stories at once, one about the protagonist (who is the villain and ofc perfectly done) and the story about the world where the protagonist is. Both are interesting and the one about the world is kinda based in our history, it's like an alternative WWII read more