Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Petshop of Horrors


Alternative Titles

English: Pet Shop of Horrors
Japanese: Pet Shop of Horrors (ペットショップ・オブ・ホラーズ)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 2, 1999 to Mar 23, 1999
Premiered: Winter 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Trans Arts, TBS
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 22,309 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1956
Members: 43,046
Favorites: 304

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 16, 2008
FreyrXtreme (All reviews)
This anime should be watched expecting nothing at all, it may not be developed as other series and it seems like if the budget was really limited but keeping all those issues aside, it’s a really interesting anime to watch.

It doesn’t compare to the actual manga, but the chapters selected for the anime are the more interesting. Though there are two main characters, count D (do not mistake him for Dracula) and detective Leon Orcot (those two have a really funny love/hate relationship), the real characters are those involved with the story of each episode.

Each episode has a different story line, they may be short read more
Nov 19, 2007
011253 (All reviews)
When compared side-by-side with the manga of the same name, the Pet Shop of Horrors anime suddenly looks shoddy and duct-taped together. However, as a stand-alone anime it is very unique.

Each episode can be watched without having any background knowledge of the series, as they are all their own story, similar to anime such as pokemon were it is easy to jump in at any point in the series. However, this is also a drawback, as were there should be a pause to explain something further or in more detail, the show chugs along over it, crossing its fingers and hoping that the audience will read more
Nov 18, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Ever since The Twilight Zone, there have been countless anthology shows consisting of supernatural parables made to be lessons and food-for-thought for the viewer. This trend is even present in anime. Case in point Petshop of Horrors, a 4 episode OVA produced by Madhouse in 1999. This collection of horror stories is quite Twilight Zone-esque in nature, with each episode being a stand alone parable. While the shows does have some things working against it, it is still a treat for fans of this type of show.

The 4 stories are connected are by a petshop that secretly deals in strange creatures that come with a read more
Apr 2, 2016
ThatCrazyElitist (All reviews)
A short anime about a creepy pet shop in Chinatown. You can certainly say that I was quite interested when I heard about Pershop of Horrors. And it was just 4 episodes so I decided to give it a try. It was indeed quite interesting, but very inconsistent. The 4 episodes were 4 different story's and they are very different both in themes and quality. So let's look at this promising mess.

~story~ 5/10
Count D (yes, that's really our main characters name) owns a pet shop in China Town, and as if that isn't weird enough he also looks like a gothic emo with… interesting eyes read more
Jul 18, 2007
Aishiteruze (All reviews)
Pet shop of horrors. Really didn\'t know what to expect from this anime. I knew it would be creepy because it\'s about Count D.. obviously a sort of dracula type person who keeps pets in a pet shop. Obviously.. there\'s something dodgy about this shop because these "pets" have these rules that the owners that buy them have to abide by, or they suffer the consequences. Which to Count D\'s knowledge, is why he gets them to sign a contract, so if they don\'t follow the rules, it wouldn\'t trace back to Count D, because he informed them of what they should or shouldn\'t do.

One read more
Oct 30, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Welcome, my friends, to the end of horror anime month. Petshop of Horrors is a four episode horror anthology OVA from Madhouse entertainment based on a ten volume Manga by Akino Matsuri. The manga has recently continued with a second series that's currently eight volumes in and still going, but that came after the OVA so I doubt very much that any of the elements or plot lines introduced within it are going to come up. Let's take a look at the OVA and see what mysteries this little shop contains.

Since the series is an anthology without an underlying narrative, lets look at the read more
Oct 15, 2009
Prede (All reviews)
Today I'll be reviewing Pet Shop of Horrors . I've wanted to see this 4 episode series, animated by Madhouse, for a long time now. But I only recently got to watch it, once the DVD was re-released (and you can bet I watched it as soon as I got the DVD home from the store). I heard a lot of good things about it, and luckily it lived up to them all. Pet Shop of Horrors is an OVA that was originally released in Japan in 1999, and first released in the US by Urban Vision in 2000. It is based on a manga read more
May 27, 2010
philistine (All reviews)
What a fun little show. 4 episodes of about 22 minutes each. It didn't really feel like an anime but it was still good. It could best be described as a mix of Needful Things and Tales From the Crypt. Not really eerie or creepy but more of a show of human nature and people getting their just desserts when they follow their desires with little regard for the rules.
Apr 18, 2016
Unamo31 (All reviews)
Pet Shop of Horros is a very unique and interesting anime that is quite different to most. With only 4 episodes you should not come in expecting a big story line or a lot of character development. Although the art may not be the most appealing and the anime may seem to look like it had a smaller budget than a lot of popular animes it is still an anime I believe most viewers should watch.

{STORY - 6}
Pet Shop of Horrors has an interesting story with a different set of characters each episode visiting our main character, Count Drac. I think each of the different read more
Jul 27, 2015
espie666 (All reviews)
For any fans of Tales from the Crypt, this is most definitely the anime for you. Each episode follows a different character who has visited the pet shop. This 4 episode OVA is filled with creepy and spooky tales, and at the end of the episode, you may just learn a lesson or moral from each story.

Story

Pet Shop of Horrors is about a strange gothic young man named Count D who manages a pet shop. However, this is no average pet shop. At this pet shop you can find a wide variety of 'rare' and 'exotic' animals. All you need to do is sign a read more
Aug 8, 2012
KungSour (All reviews)
It's difficult to review a anime in which there is barely anything to draw from, but I will try.

Story - Guy named the Count owns a pet shop full of strange animals with weird conditions you have to follow or you die, pretty much. I like how this is quite unique as I have not seen any anime about a pet shop of horrors (if you please) so it's quite interesting, I heard that there is a manga and that is what it's drawn from but I wish this could have at least gotten a 12 to 13 episode anime to help explain the characters read more
Apr 7, 2010
silsari (All reviews)
The anime was short stories about the clients who purchased the pets, showed the consequences of breaking the contract, and a detective trying to pin all his cases on the petshop owner. It's a good anime if you are bored with nothing else to do and want a slightly good scare.
May 21, 2016
GarlandReese (All reviews)
The anthology series has always been a popular stable. Particularly those involving the strange, like horror and sci-fi. Anime doesn't always offer this style, but I wish it did more. Particularly this short-lived show from Studio Madhouse. "Petshop of Horrors" only has four episodes, but it does well in it's presentation and gives us a good story with a little food for thought.

The series is wrapped around the extravagant and enigmatic Count D. This character is something that only anime can do. He dresses like a kabuki performer and is meant to make the viewer feel curious and unsettled as your defacto host. He read more
Mar 20, 2009
Shae214 (All reviews)
Short anime series- it is four episodes you have really no idea as to the back story to Count D and his pet shop. Basically people buy rare items out of this shop in China town and even though they are given a strict set of rules to follow, the buyers alway break them. It is yet another insightful look into how humans are insatiable in nature and let our emotions overrule our common sense. Instead of Pet Shop of Horrors it should be Pet Shop for Idiots. Count D tells the buyers not to do "a" and soon they do "a" and something read more
Aug 25, 2012
Bikou (All reviews)
Someone had told me to watch this Anime as I was a fan of Horror. It was quite cheap in a store so I picked it up. I was hoping for a very interesting story with elements of horror, although I was curious as to how they planned to pack this into 4 episodes if I remember correctly. The story seemed good, different & interesting. The animation and art was old, but don't think I hated it because it was old. No, other older Anime have still managed to capture me with their art, however this one was quite basic, mediocre and overall boring. The read more
Oct 16, 2018
Kidlike101 (All reviews)
Episodic in nature this show follows the logic of the book "Needful things" by Stephen King.


Count D is a mysterious figure that owns an exotic pet shop down in china town.... This is not a joke, it's really in china town.


Anyway every episode someone comes to the shop to buy a pet. They are given specific instructions regarding the care of said pet and after signing the contract they leave.


Because this is a psychological horror anime you are just waiting for them to break the contract and get their karmic retributions from it.


The anime dives deep into different aspects of human read more
Jan 15, 2018
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate a 7
English Dubbed

Story
Words, we use them constantly to express different things:emotions, actions, features... Although, it is never simple when it comes to explaining any of them. Simply put some people think a simple definition is satisfactory for each and every thing. Don't believe me? Think about the category of justice. Who is in the right and who is in the wrong. Or better known as guilty and innocent. This messed up labeling system is this anime's premise.

I understand you might think horror awaits you in this anime but it generally doesn't. Artwork will depict it and characters will express it but its not there. read more
Jul 4, 2013
obtrice (All reviews)
Petshop of Horrors is a collection of short stories that has been best described as a cross between The Twilight Zone and Needful Things. It’s a series of mysteries that are also parables. While there is some continuity due to the presence of Count D, Detective Orcot, and the petshop, each episode is a stand-alone story about one of the petshop’s customers who is suffering in some way and seeks a supernatural remedy. As one might expect, these tragic characters frequently meet tragic ends brought about by the very character traits that led to their deplorable condition in the first place.

The best thing about the read more
Sep 27, 2015
ChristianMB (All reviews)
Now, the scores here may seem very high, and perhaps that is because I am a little bias; I have been in love with this anime since the moment that I discovered it, and have rewatched it too many times to 'Count'. Lame joke, not sorry.

Anyway, onto the review. Personally I have never found an anime that I have loved more than this despite its length in comparison to the manga. Regardless of this, I truly adore it all the same. While the manga displays the Count's humor quite often, the manga takes a look at the darker side of things, taking 4 stories from read more
May 15, 2010
Jaloyoloti (All reviews)
The Petshop of Horrors manga is great, the anime... Not so much. It's got the same dark tones but it seems a bit rshhed and a bit of a side project rather than something people actually worked hard on (yeah, it's only four episodes but really, they could have done much better). Don't get me wrong, it's pretty but it doesn't do the manga justice.

The English voices don't fit well and the animation of some episodes is unnecessarily gory and dramatic. From the anime one might get the impression that PSOH is all gothic drama with weird pets when there really is quite a bit read more