Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kimi no Na wa.


Alternative Titles

English: Your Name.
Japanese: 君の名は。

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 26, 2016
Studios: CoMix Wave Films
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 46 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.311 (scored by 202,211 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #86
Members: 370,981
Favorites: 17,795

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 3, 2016
jgaaar (All reviews)
Story: 7
Art: 10
Sound: 9
Character: 7
Enjoyment: 10
Overall: 9

I watched this film at Anime Expo 2016 Los Angeles. I'll try to keep my review as spoiler-less as possible.

TL;DR:
The film holds true to all the expectations of a Makoto Shinkai production, from heartfelt smiles to crying the 5th time within the last 30 minutes. His signature metaphorical use of trains, the idea of a hopeless and distant love, and beautiful scenery really dive you emotionally into the story, even for how generic and simple it may seem.

Story: 7
The story is fairly simple to understand, and very easy to guess where the story will head while watching the read more
Jul 3, 2016
Builder_K (All reviews)
An absolutely stunning masterpiece by Makoto Shinkai.
Story: 10
Art: 10
Sound: 9
Character: 8
Enjoyment: 10
Overall: 10

Edit: I watched this at the World Premier in Los Angeles on July 3rd. It was released in Japanese theaters on August 26th. It is set to be streamed online (for north america) via funimation, hopefully within the next month or so.

The good:

Spectacular animation. There is one particular scene near the beginning which has a sort of "3D camera rotation" that looks so real that I thought it was rendered; but at the last second, the character turned their head, and I was able to tell that it had been read more
Jul 3, 2016
manofmanymanga (All reviews)
Review of "Your Name."
Directed, Written, and Created by Makoto Shinkai

"Your Name." is, in a word, a journey. A journey into what will surely be the future of cinematography, as well as a journey on a grand emotional roller coaster.

Technically speaking, labeling this film a "masterpiece" is an insult by omission. Given that Shinkai is a master, anything he makes is obviously going to be a "masterpiece," but among silt there is gold, and among gold there may be diamonds. This movie is a diamond, easily the prettiest feature length film I've ever seen; more so than even fetishistic attempts to be just read more
Jul 5, 2016
TheKillerAngel (All reviews)
“Kimi no Na wa.” (Your Name) opens with a radiant comet traversing over the night sky, splitting apart into various meteors that illuminate and streak the heavens. Stars and celestial imagery often feature in Makoto Shinkai’s films, and the brilliance of the opening set piece could be dismissed as eye-candy. However, its significance is not fully understood until much later.

To speak of names, one does not invoke Makoto Shinkai in conjunction with the phrase “happy ending.” To say that he has made his fame off producing romance anime is only half the story, as his work’s exploration of themes such as distance and unrequited love read more
Sep 9, 2016
Jex (All reviews)
Makoto Shinkai's latest work goes even further to support the theory that he's fantastic at directing a visually brilliant movie, but lacks the writing ability to tell a good story.

Plot:
An absolute mess. Without spoiling it, this movie fails to get into the main plot until roughly halfway through. Before that point, it views like a teenage slice of life; nothing to be disappointed by. After the halfway mark, the plot becomes incredibly contrived with no logic, reason, or thought put into its creation. There were at least 4 separate climaxes (which is inexcusable for any movie which is not Return of the King) and read more
Sep 10, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
As of writing this review, this film is currently the highest rated anime on this site and naturally I was curious to what all the fuss was about. While this movie has absolutely amazing visuals coupled with a fantastic musical score along with great directing by Makoto Shinkai, unfortunately, the script and characters, in my eyes, could have been a lot better.

The narrative of this film centres around our two protagonists; Mitsuha, who lives in a rural part of Japan who is bored of her everyday life and wishes to live in Tokyo and Taki who, well...lives in Tokyo. There is literally nothing else that read more
Sep 11, 2016
Caliph (All reviews)
well, the overall plot is good and unique/something only anime can represent but with little bit more effort and it would've been better than this. The story will leave you confused while provoking around the same point without any tiny explanation trying to represent characters with full of emotions and kind even without introducing them. avoid this Kimi for the bad story processing and plenty plot holes
lot of questions in this movie hasn't answered with tons of mysterious unnecessary events take place in the story which makes Kimi no Na wa not only boring movie but also annoying; for example, after your body has read more
Sep 12, 2016
R_TF (All reviews)
"THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS"

Let me quote few lines said by some of the most elite fans of this film -
(+) Makoto Shinkai "arigatou gozaimasu" I'm a Japanese now.
(+)This is the best film in the world and when a 15 years old boy says something,you should believe in it.
(+) I was an atheist but it changes my beliefs after I watched this.
(+)"It has fluent animation and pretty colors! 10/10!"
(+) You don't have to love this movie but 10/10 is a must.
(+) I didn't even watch it yet and feel like crying.
(+) This is the best film because ............................................... They got together and I cried whole night read more
Sep 13, 2016
Xethora (All reviews)
Fair warning: this review contains MAJOR spoilers of basically the entire movie. First off, it's a movie that It's a movie that has taken people by storm, so I'm sure that if you want to watch it, you already have by now. If that's not the case, I recommend you exit off of this review immediately. You've been warned.

With that out of the way, assuming that since you're still reading, I assume you've already seen the movie or don't mind being spoiled. Either way, I just wanted to let you know the reason why I'm writing a review filled with spoilers. Basically, Kimi no read more
Sep 15, 2016
Zephariel (All reviews)
Before watching this movie, I must say I was pretty hyped as lots of my friends recommended it and it took the #1 spot on MAL. However, I have to admit I am quite disappointed in the end and here's why:

*Spoilers Alert*

Story: 3/10
The first half of the movie is about typical high school boy living in Tokyo swapping body with a countryside girl with a boring-ass life dreaming to go to Tokyo someday. There's a bit of comedy here and there but nothing impressive so far and quite boring to be honest. But then comes the second half, it turned out the main heroine already read more
Sep 2, 2016
AsukaLangley (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Imagine the world’s most beautiful person. We take an X-ray of that person. You see his/her spine. And that’s it, no other bones. That is a Makoto Shinkai film.

Every story has a skeletal structure, a beginning, middle, and end. We all know this. Makoto Shinkai films also have a structure to their story. Just that they’re all the same.
Beginning: I love you.
Middle: I can’t stay with you forever.
End: I hope we see each other again.

You may be asking: With such a basic structure, how can any of his films be so successful? It’s all about the flesh. read more
Sep 14, 2016
bmoore07 (All reviews)
Ever since I was a child, I wanted to be an author. I’d write for days on end, using every ounce of my imagination, and then stored my works away in some secret drawer when I finished. Frightened to death of sneers and condescending laughter, I rarely shared my writings with anyone, only submitting them to a contest or two over the years. A couple of months ago, I heard that there was going to be a prestigious writer’s conference, known as Books Alive, in my town, where literary agents would search high and low for the next great author. Despite having a small amount read more
Sep 12, 2016
robiu013 (All reviews)
With "Your Name" storming up to MAL's top, I had to check it out for myself and experience this phenomenon, that has a score of 9,40 out of 10 at the time of writing.
With so many people agreeing, that it's a masterpiece, it has to be good, right? Well turns out I didn't enjoy it quite as much the majority of MAL users.

Plot:
The story starts fair enough. Our main character suffers from "Disney princess syndrome"; she's not satisfied with the surroundings she was born in and wants to see the world, that is so much bigger than what she knows. Luckily for her, magical read more
Oct 2, 2016
Phoenix2510 (All reviews)
At the time of watching this movie, Kimi no na wa or Your Name in English is number 1 on MAL with an average score of 9.40 (the highest any anime has ever gotten in my memory). Naturally, as so many people, I was curious to see what this film had that earned it a top spot on a database filled with thousands of anime, only to finish the movie wondering if I had seen the same movie as others. It was beyond my understanding what this movie had (aside from good technical aspects) that gave it this masterpiece status since all I got was read more
Sep 28, 2016
Shrabster (All reviews)
Makoto Shinkai never fails to frustrate me. His works have tremendous potential, yet they all inevitably end up as shallow exercises in romantic drama that are pretty to look at and not much else. This is a shame, because the few things he has done outside of his comfort zone, such as Children Who Chase Lost Voices, tend to be his strongest works in my opinion. When I heard about Kimi no Na Wa. I figured it was going to be 5 Centimeters Per Second 2.0, but maybe, just maybe, Shinkai would break away from his old patterns and surprise me.

Spoilers, he didn't. read more
Sep 13, 2016
Chanclasman (All reviews)
I had the necessity to write this after thinking about the movie for a while.
Opinions are subjetive and if so many people like this so much and call it a masterpiece, good for them, but I just don't undestand why, or more like I don't want to, because I kinda have an idea and I would prefer if it wasn't true.

In any case, I'm not gonna make this too long (I hope). I'll just go to the point.
I enjoyed the first part. Not great, but alright. A typical body switch story that's been done many times before and pretty much the exact same way, but read more
Sep 11, 2016
ShitJustGotReal (All reviews)
spoiler alert

STORY: 6/10
A high school student is some how connected with a high school girl
but it turns out to be that the girl was connected to the boy with
some stupid unjustified time mechanism
oh god , I got utterly bored . if you wanna make an anime or a movie
but you want to have a huge audience .. then use any stupid time travel mechanism
without even explaining it . only good thing about the story is its sequence and consistency

CHARACTERS: 8/10
nothing special . yet nothing to complain about except for the stupid bad father
,it was way pretentious.

ART&MUSIC: 8/10
the art was excellent read more
Jul 22, 2016
xthorgoldx (All reviews)
Makoto Shinkai is a name that, to many, equates with “feels.” Whether it’s Voices from a Distant Star, the Children Who Chase Lost Voices, or the classic 5 Centimeters per Second, Shinkai’s films carry the guarantee of beautiful animation and emotional depth rarely seen in anime. Kimi no Na Wa, “Your Name,” is no exception to the trend. If anything, Your Name is the end product of years of experimentation with storytelling and filmmaking – the story that Shinkai has always wanted, and tried, to tell, finally made real, and done so in a satisfying, entertaining, and heart-wrenching way.

Your Name is the story of two read more
Sep 9, 2016
ThisIsCaptain (All reviews)
Kimi no Na wa

Story: 9
Art: 10
Sound: 9
Character: 8
Enjoyment: 9
Overall: 9.5 (10 on MAL)

Story: Going into this without knowing anything about the movie; not even the trailer, I was kind of confused from the first 10-20 minutes until it became clear what was going on with their bodies. Both the MC’s come from different backgrounds, girl from a village/ small town and boy from the big city of Tokyo. Without spoiling the movie entirely, the film takes a huge turn somewhere around the middle where it becomes more than just an animated Freaky Friday.
Art: Even while watching this on medium-low quality I was amazed by read more
Sep 9, 2016
Zerathus (All reviews)
Kimi no Na wa is the new movie from acclaimed director Makoto Shinkai who’s behind 5 Centimeters per second, Hoshi no Koe and The Place Promised in Our Early Days.

His new movie tells a story about a high school student Taki and a high school student Mitsuha suddenly swapping bodies but forgetting what they did during their swap after it ends, so they begin to communicate via diaries and messages left behind by the other person.

The story of Kimi no Na Wa is simple. There are some themes but they are light. The movie however suffers from several plot holes and plot conveniences. read more