Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bubuki Buranki


Alternative Titles

English: BBK/BRNK
Japanese: ブブキ・ブランキ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2016 to Mar 26, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: SANZIGEN
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Drama, Mecha
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.461 (scored by 15,877 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #54552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1234
Members: 48,287
Favorites: 95

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Bubuki Buranki felt like it was an experimental show to me. It was sort of like the way it was presented animation, story, character designs etc it's like Sanzigen wanted to test out their new original show using new animation software or perhaps they wanted to use the viewers as a test audience to see if the current direction they are going in is okay.. overall it just felt like this show was released as an experiment for something bigger in the future.Moving on from that, the overall story was okay, it wasn't too bad, nor was it anything special. The plot always felt like read more
Apr 6, 2016
dadnaya (All reviews)
Bubuki Buranki is one of those Anime you can call "Hidden gem".
I think it's really underrated.
Bubuki Buranki focuses on a group of 5 children, while each of them wield a Bubuki, which is a part of a Buranki (A Huge Mech), and only when they come together, they can form the Buranki.
It was an enjoyable one, since there was a good plot, great fights, and not too much talking.
Bubuki Buranki looks in art something similar to 3D (Like 009:Cyborg or Love Live! at some parts) which was beautiful.
The colors were colorful and are pretty bright, and at some scenes it was gray-black and some neon read more
Apr 4, 2016
Katharsis939 (All reviews)
Bububu is in my opinion the worst show, I've seen completely in the last season. I forgot the miserabely narrated story immediately after the show ended, sometimes, as the episode ended. The style, and CG was awesome, remembered me often times at Knights of Sidonia (beautiful Anime, go watch it!), but the unbelievably bad choreographed action scenes took so much time, that they pushed and squeezed every piece of dialogue between every fight as fast as they could. For example, after the 12th duel with this Bulletshooting guy, everyone I know recognized, that these fights go nowhere. They are meaningless in every aspect, end without read more
Apr 10, 2016
2chemical (All reviews)
I'll start this review off by saying that I'm no intellectual. Far from it. When I watch my anime I often won't focus too hard on the plot, character development and so on, at least not when it comes to my everyday-casual consumtion of anime. As long as the art, character design, sound/music and the shows overall themes and are cool and executed with class, that alone may be enough for me to rate a show 7-8. (For example, LOTGH wasn't exactly my cup of tea, whereas this show, Bubuki/Buranki was. The storytelling in LOTGH was more intricate and intelligent, but the show as read more
Mar 26, 2016
halofan21 (All reviews)
Liked: The characters, while being overall simple are still drawn as fun, interesting and stylized enough that I still cared for them and wanted them to succeed in their journey. The story isn't anything really new but it throws enough interesting curve balls that it can still easily grab your attention. Easily the best part of this show is the cgi, since the show is all cg. Compared to most modern anime, the animation and level of detail is truly something impressive to me.
Disliked: The pacing could be a little too slow for an action show at moments.
The anime can read more
Feb 3, 2017
voidguide (All reviews)
Bubuki Buranki was like.....a show with an interesting story about the adults, sidelined for a much less interesting and sloppily told story about the kids.

I guess my biggest issue with the show was that it starts out promising one kind of story, and ends up telling a completely different one by the end. The saving grace of this is that both stories were pretty interesting, but the end result is not especially pretty. I think the story of Migiwa and Reoko was quite captivating, but the way it was told? Chaotic and piecemeal as hell.

There were a lot of scenes that did nothing read more
Mar 29, 2016
Chill_Pin (All reviews)
You know i never thought i was even going to ever do a review but i gotta say is that its been a long time since ive seen such an amazing anime, i was never a fan of cg but now i am. this show was well paced, the characters are really well written even if tropes were used they were handled in such a good way . its been forever since i was really hyped for an anime and ive seen many so many that are popular yet so boring hyped for putrid fanservice and mindlessnes. Bubuki buranki really great, i didnt read more
Nov 16, 2016
BlueBlur2000 (All reviews)
While going through and watching all of the 2016 anime I missed throughout the year I found another completely CG anime that aired in Winter along with the more popular Ajin. When I began to watch it I went in expecting nothing and I came out with my mind completely blown. Bubuki Buranki stands as my favorite anime that has come out this year and in this review I’ll explain why I love it so much and why it is unbelievable that almost nobody watched this show when it came out, including me.

Story:
The story in Bubuki Buranki is by no means a masterpiece. But read more