Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Detective Conan Movie 20: The Darkest Nightmare


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Meitantei Conan Movie 20, Detective Conan: Pitch Black Nightmare, Meitantei Conan: Junkoku no Nightmare
Japanese: 劇場版 名探偵コナン 純黒の悪夢(ナイトメア)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 2016
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 52 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 10,628 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3095
Members: 19,927
Favorites: 80

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 15, 2016
jin0ugaaa (All reviews)
[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

If you thought the Dimensional Sniper was bad, just wait till you watch this.

The Darkest Nightmare is the 20th movie of the Detective Conan franchise, and is in my opinion, the worst of all the movies. Why? Let me explain.

The movie opens with an exciting car chase, with Bourbon (Amuro Tooru) and Akai Shuichi chasing down a black organisation member with ridiculous physical prowess. After a lengthy and tense chase down the highway, the BO member manages to escape. Injured and disoriented, she makes her way down an alley and comes in full view of a light show projected the amusement park across read more
Jun 2, 2016
Abdullahonline (All reviews)
I just saw the movie today at TOHO Cinemas Shinjuku, Tokyo.

I enjoyed every minute of this masterpiece. The way he organized the characters and how he managed to fit everything perfectly is just amazing.

The best parts of the movie are the beginning and the ending. As a fan of Detective Conan I feel like this movie is placed perfectly as the 20th movie.

I don't want to spoil anything so I just commented on the general stuff for now.

Likes:
- Story: with the black organization you can't go wrong.
- Characters: Excellent choices with an introduction of new ones.
- Animation: Astonishing, especially in this action-filled read more
Jun 10, 2016
rinkoish (All reviews)
** Free spoilers

At the first I think this movie is the best Detective Conan Film until now. I've seen all the Detective Conan movies and this one was the movie I enjoyed most.

Story: 8
you must need to read conan manga to fully understand what happen in this movie

Art: 10
the art is excellent, giving all the scenes wonderful color and action.The backgrounds are lovely..

Sound: 9
I like all of the voice acting for all of the characters are always amazing. all the soundtrack and music are great too

Character: 10
All big characters were involved.. the cast was great.

Enjoyment: 10
The movie's messages are very deeply read more
Aug 23, 2016
Heliotropic84 (All reviews)
Having enjoyed this movie, there are still some rather glaring issues, at least for me, and I had to go into a different mindset, as with all Detective Conan movies, because if I didn't, I probably would have been much more "upset" after watching it.

So this movie essentially amounts to being a "fanservice movie", and that's not necessarily a bad thing, as I do believe that while the story and character progression can feel rather cliche (because it is), I think that at the very least it's executed well and the movie has enough to offer in terms of solid enjoyment.

Story: 6/10

First of all, I read more
Nov 1, 2016
Kou39 (All reviews)
Alright big Conan fan here. I'll keep it short, this is probably the worst Conan movie I've seen.

1. Unlike all the other movies, it doesn't have any mystery in it. I mean, how do you even come up with the idea of not putting any mystery in a detective show? That's awful.

2. They basically ruined the image of BO, making them look like Team Rocket rather than some shadow government type of organization.

3. Some scenes were straight up ridiculous. Look, I get it that Conan movies need to have action scenes, but no, you cannot stop a disaster that is suppose to kill hundreds of read more
Jul 29, 2019
Storm9265 (All reviews)
What an absolutely terrible, terrible movie. Never in my life did I stop watching a movie half way because of how bad it was. The director Kobun Shizuno apparently ruined all seven movies starting after the 14th. Every single movie this guy directs is full of absurdity and plots that make no sense, all leaving you with that same bitter aftertaste. Throughout his movies you feel like he knows nothing about the characters and their relationship. The interactions between the characters are so artificial and contrived and irritating. It's like he watches a randomly chosen episode, and copy paste parts of it into the movie. read more
Mar 15, 2019
ActionManonAnime (All reviews)
Ever since its release, the 20th Detective Conan movie has garnered both praise and criticism from its fans. Some say that it's one of (if not THE best) movie of them all. Others say that it's the worst movie and an abomination to the entire franchise. While I do have my fair share of criticisms, there are still some things that I find to be enjoyable about this movie.

First off, one must keep in mind that this movie aims to celebrate its 20 year history. That means everything is going to be a lot bigger and safer to appeal to long-time fans of the read more
Mar 12, 2017
Codex (All reviews)
Mild spoilers ahead.

As described in the summary, this Detective Conan movie features Akai and Amuro alongside Conan. And while I never thought any combo would be as cool as Conan-Kaito KID tag-teaming to successfully bring a case to a close, the idea of three of the most brilliant and competent characters in the series (Conan, Akai and Amuro) joining forces had me all excited with anticipation by the time the opening sequencing had ended.

By the end, while the movie certainly delivered in that regard, getting there was a bit bumpy. I kind of get Amuro's dislike of the FBI, but I found movie Amuro's prioritizing read more
Aug 7, 2016
Yosnah (All reviews)
This review contains no spoilers as I myself hates spoilers.

Story: 9

I story is nice and unique as it is really original and interesting. Even if the story is just how the usual Detective Conan story line works, the content and events makes it more interesting as you watch it.

Art: 10

Of all the Detective Conan movies I have watched, this movie definitely has THE BEST art and animation. From the simple actions to the very exciting and complex action scenes, the details are just, WOW!

Sound: 10

The sound track is really unique as it will make you distinguish this movie's sound track from the other movies.

Character: read more