Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion


Alternative Titles

English: Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion
Synonyms: Shinseiki Evangelion Gekijouban: The End of Evangelion
Japanese: 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン劇場版 THE END OF EVANGELION

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 19, 1997
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 27 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 244,782 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #212
Members: 380,298
Favorites: 11,250

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

After watching the final episodes of the original Evangelion series, I was really baffled. What happened? I understood that it all took place in Shinji's mind, but that's about it. Where was the ending? What really happened?

Those answers are provided by End of Evangelion. We get an alternate retelling of the two last episodes, outside Shinji's mind. From the awakening of Lilith to the result of the Instrumentality, we get to see it all. Of course, there's a lot of moments which are confusing (this is Evangelion, after all), but you kinda get a better understanding of everything that happened. Oh, and for the read more
Mar 10, 2009
BatOtaku13 (All reviews)
*This Review Contains Spoilers*

It's going to be very hard to review this movie because its basically a work of art. The first half of the movie provides all the action and big events that Eva fans would want in the movie, but its really the second act that is the most important part. The second half is an astonishing piece of filmmaking that essentially challenges common filmmaking and boldly dares to ask questions most filmakers wouldn't dare going to.

Most of the following won't make sense if you have no knowledge of Eva. The entire second half of the movie takes place within Shinji's mind as read more
Apr 16, 2013
freyakoala (All reviews)
End of Evangelion is truly a masterpiece of an anime movie.

For me, like many other fans, the last two episodes of the anime series of NGE left me feeling a little frustrated and confused. They are fantastic and innovative as stand alone works but do not serve as a satisfying conclusion to what was an amazing anime. EoE, however, allows Anno to give his magnum opus the ending it truly deserves: beautifully animated, packed with action and philosophical to the core, this film does not disappoint.

Taking place in the same universe as the anime, EoE serves as a re-telling of events outside of Shinji's read more
Jan 5, 2014
yaywalter (All reviews)
If you were to look up "mindfuck" in the dictionary, the dictionary woud bitchslap you into a coma then proceed to surgically insert The End of Evangelion DVD straight into your brain.

Let's break this thing down by category:

Story - The twisted film conclusion to the Neon Genesis Evangelion series, meant to take the place of the final two episodes. Is the conclusion good? If you like a good mindfuck, nay, mindrape, then yes. It is the pinnacle of excellence in this regard, as it is quite possibly the most psychotic film you are ever likely to see, anime or otherwise.

Art - If you like the read more
Feb 21, 2014
vivafruit1 (All reviews)
Story

The story starts in a fairly disorienting manner and then moves quickly from there. After about 20 minutes of confusion, however, the anime soon finds its feet and I began to be able to follow what was going on. At around 40 minutes in I was actually somewhat interested... and then, the anime falls apart under its own philosophical weight. Apparently, the creators of this anime thought that they could substitute all semblences of plot with random scenes that supposedly have symbolic meaning. A quote from Roger Ebert's movie glossary comes to mind: "If you have to ask what it symbolizes, it didnt."

I have seen read more
Mar 3, 2019
BoldnessofSouls (All reviews)
The ending to the popular Anime series, Neon Genesis Evangelion, left many questions as to the fate of NERV, the children, the Angels, and many other plot factors unanswered or otherwise hanging.

To answer the baffled Evangelion fans, Gainax remade the ending into a two-part movie known as Death and Rebirth, which was to replace episodes 25 and 26 of the television series, which then led to this movie, Death and Rebirth itself being recreated into part one of The End of Evangelion. It begins much in the same fashion, with the final Angel already having been defeated, and the current enemy switching to humanity read more
Jun 20, 2014
2deep4me (All reviews)
“Man is spirit. But what is spirit? Spirit is the self. But what is the self? The self is a relation which relates itself to its own self, or it is that in the relation [which accounts for it] that the relation relates itself to its own self; the self is not the relation but [consists in the fact] that the relation relates itself to its own self. Man is a synthesis of the infinite and the finite, of the temporal and the eternal, of freedom and necessity; in short, it is a synthesis. A synthesis is a relation between two factors. So regarded, man read more
Dec 5, 2012
name93 (All reviews)
When a film starts with the main character giving himself a wank over an unconscious girl after he reveals her breasts by accident, you know you're in for a treat.

"It's the end of the world Ladies and Gentlemen, and I'm feeling fine".

After a huge middle finger to the audience that were episodes 25 and 26 of the TV series Neon Genesis Evangelion, and the not-unexpected outrage and protests by the fans, the series' creator Hideaki Anno fell into a whole new level of depression that was so deep it hit the centre of the Earth, bounced back through its own anus, turned into a hysteric read more
Jul 18, 2010
Uncandescent (All reviews)
Do NOT watch this movie. It is the single most soul-crushingly depressing thing ever spawned from the depths of human imagination. It takes all of the closure, hopes, and expectations you had for the end of the series and blasts them into the sun. It is the single worst possible ending to anything EVER.
I guess I should explain myself. Admittedly, the first half of the movie wasn't so bad. It was exciting and tragic and incredibly cryptic, all things we've come to expect from Evangelion. It was all really just a backdrop for the end, when all of the loose plot threads and secrets that read more
Apr 9, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
It's here, the one I really am not looking forward to. Yeah, I'm familiar with Neon Genesis Evangelion. I watched a good amount of it before deciding to just read the synopses for the remaining episodes to see if the characters ever stopped being unbearable only to immediately drop it when I learned that not only were the characters never going to improve but the plot was going to get really stupid really fast. To this day the popularity of the franchise baffles me. My best guess is that a lot of people can't tell the difference between depth and pretension so anything like Evangelion read more
Mar 14, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Part 2: A Violent Roar

So this is what happens when you refuse Eva’s embrace.

If Neon Genesis Evangelion was the stern yet loving embrace with the ultimate message of accepting understanding yourself in order to begin accepting understanding others, then The End of Evangelion is the much wilder, more apocalyptic, but equally passionate gripping and shaking of your shoulders that desperately roars to you of the dangers of running away from reality and that regardless of how painful we can be, we must face it in order for good things to even have a chance at happening.

Where NGE settled on a satisfying realization for Shinji despite read more
Feb 22, 2018
WaddleBuff (All reviews)
me, a dumb cocky 16 year old in 2013:


"wow eva is so overrated.....i can't even finish this show lol it's so pretentious and doesn't make sense, why should i even bother with eoe, let me just watch the rebuilds instead, gunbuster is SO much better!!"


me, a depressed and self-loathing 21 year old NEET in 2018:


"literally the existence of anime as a medium has led to this; there isn't any other example in the pantheon of japanese animation that can even reach the heights of this fucking masterwork, how does this exist, how does it understand me like it does, how can i ever even try read more
May 12, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
End of Evangelion is a two-hour movie that consists of two hour-long episodes (Episodes 25 and 26) that was released on July 19th, 1997, has been licensed Stateside by Manga Entertainment, and was originally released over here on September 24th, 2002. Episode 25 incorporates and expands upon footage from the Rebirth segment from the Death and Rebirth movie (released on March 15th of that same year), and is based off the original script for Episode 25. It was produced by Production IG (famous for their work on the Ghost in the Shell series and xxxHOLIC) and Gainax (famous for their work on His read more
Sep 16, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Since I reviewed Evangelion yesterday, today I will review the first movie End of Evangelion. I have not actually seen the new reboots yet, but I sure remember watching this one.

Plot:

First some background info,

Although today in 2014, the ending of the original Evangelion is hailed by Eva fans as an example of Anno's unequivocal brilliance. In 1995, many fans at the time including famous mangaka and HUGE Eva fan Nobuhiro Watsuki, expressed anger and frustration at the original ending. To appease the upset fandom, Anno made this movie. However, since Anno...is Anno he decided to make an ending that was even more ambiguous, surreal, read more
Feb 6, 2007
AJRocca (All reviews)
After watching the final two episodes of the TV series, I couldn't help but feel a bit short-changed. Where was the action-packed finale I had hoped for? Most of all where was the result of the Human Instrumentality Project, it was all a bit too ambiguous and all played out within Shinji's mind - quite simply I didn't get it. Anno's attempt at a clever and deeply meaningful ending frankly falls short of its goal and leaves us frustrated (at least me anyhow).

Enter "End of Evangelion", where we get to see a retelling of the last two episodes in the real world. This is the read more
Aug 17, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Prologue.
Taking place right after episode 24 of the TV series the final angel has been defeated and all of the EVA pilots are now crippled in they own ways from Shinji being mentally broken, Asuka being comatose after getting mind-raped by one of the Angels to Rei going missing. Meanwhile, Seele puts the Human Instrumentality Project plan into monition as now Nerv must now defend themselves from Seele and prevent the third impact from happening.

Act I: The creation and the main purpose of the film.

Before we talk about what I thought about the story and characters of End of Evangelion let’s go over the background read more
May 6, 2018
Perfect8 (All reviews)
I am not a fan of the Neon Genesis Evangelion franchise but I pushed myself to see why many people would consider this to be a anime masterpiece. After watching 1 hour of hormonal teenagers screaming, mecha mutilation and nonstop fan-service. I came to the conclusion that End of Evangelion is the worst piece of crap atrocious animated film in history and it would better to call it a badly acted porno film than an actually anime.

The biggest problem of the film is the overly complex plot and it pulls too many philosophical themes in the story. I think it's often with these kind read more
Jan 7, 2008
maxcherry715 (All reviews)
Story:

Since Neon Genesis Evangelion has become standard affair for any anime fan looking to get into serious anime, I don't have to explain the story. But, it is necessary to point out the improvement of this conclusion in comparison to the series. Episode 24 ended epically and I'm sure that all the viewers expected no less from the last two episodes, but most were disappointed with the result. What the viewers were treated with was an in depth character analysis laced with reused images and even dialogue. While I actually enjoyed this interpretation of actions and emotions (I felt it fit with the direction the read more
Nov 15, 2018
GuanYu_7 (All reviews)
The best way to finish a story. It was an extended version of 2 final episodes of the series with a slightly different approach and more intense feelings. The movie gave some of the most iconic scenes in anime history and a woderful song. The scene with ''Komm Süsser Tod'' every time that i rewatch the movie is a unique experience, i feel it to the maximum more and more.

One momment that i felt very strong recently when i watch the movie one more time was the fighting scene with Asuka and Eva Series. The feeling it gave me it was that in every read more
Sep 2, 2012
kurasaina (All reviews)
Note: If you haven't already watched Neon Genesis Evangelion- go watch it. If you've already watched it, and you haven't watched The End of Evangelion-- for the love of god, please, PLEASE, watch this movie. Need I emphasis more?

Just like every other person who watches Neon Genesis Evangelion (NGE), I was in love, I was crying, but mainly, I was confused. If you are at all postponing watching The End of Evangelion (EoE) because you are confused with the ending of NGE, stop reading this review and go watch EoE. Why? Well, because chances are it will change your outlook on life. EoE truly is, read more