Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hibike! Euphonium 2


Alternative Titles

English: Sound! Euphonium 2
Synonyms: Hibike! Euphonium Second Season
Japanese: 響け!ユーフォニアム2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2016 to Dec 29, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Novel
Genres: Music, Drama, School
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 23,430 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1020
Members: 58,336
Favorites: 583

Reviews

Alne
Dec 31, 2016
If I had to thank KyoAni for one thing, it'd be for their ability to prove that it's really hard not to enjoy a good anime, which they've proven many times. Regardless of its art style, the way it presents its characters via voice acting and personalities, the setting of the series, or whatever else it may have that turns a lot of people off (and even causes some to denounce the series completely because of it), KyoAni proves to you that if it's good, it's good. And for that, you will enjoy it.

Ultimately, that was exactly how I felt about Hibike! Euphonium's 2nd season. read more
I found this review Helpful
TuyNOM
Dec 28, 2016
Thinking about my high school years, I had difficulty getting in touch with others and accepting their differences. How can I say? I wasn't really unpleasant... but a bit stubborn. However, don't imagine that I was arguing. If only ... on the contrary, I didn't say anything, and I preferred to get away from them. I couldn't express myself correctly with the others and I didn't dare to reproach them for fear of hurting them. None of us tried to understand each other and we ended up moving away and taking different ways.

At university, I wanted my situation to change. That's why I decided to read more
I found this review Helpful
Stark700
Dec 28, 2016
Spring 2015 was a heavy season. Out of all the shows though, there was one particular that stood out and it’s Hibike Euphonium (Sound Euphonium). Produced by one of the highest quality anime studios ever, the show is still much more than an eye candy fest. So when I heard the series was returning for a sequel, I was ecstatic. Hibike Euphonium 2 is like a gift that keeps on giving.

Adapted by Kyoto Animation, the second season hits off with a memorable start. The first episode is actually double length and will easily get the audience back into the mood from season 1. Or perhaps read more
I found this review Helpful
NonxE
Dec 31, 2016
In view of a person who loves listening to many genre of music ranging from classic to hardcore metal, I can strongly state that this anime series has much more potential than many other music anime.
I want to emphasize that Hibike! Euphonium has inspired viewers a lot in many levels as it represents every state of emotion everyone could have experienced.

Created and produced by Kyoto Animation, the series already covered itself in a vibrant colored-atmosphere and neatly drawn background with a great choice of color and camera view. Since forever the character design of this studio have never changed much during these several year, read more
I found this review Helpful
Pessoa
Dec 28, 2016
A little Jest

School setting is perfect for coming of age stories. It's a shame how little this is used. Likewise, anime about sports, music or some other kind of activity which heavily rely on competition fail to capitalize this same opportunity. Instead, we are showered with same old settings that offer nothing. Thankfully, Hibike is an exception. It's an anime with chewed to death school settings, with clichéd competition aspect that manages to be a fresh breath of air.

In Hibike, tribulation of the characters is small everyday problems that in the general order of things are not that important. What are the stakes here? They read more
I found this review Helpful
PyraXadon
Dec 28, 2016
Band has becoming a dying medium as the importance of academics and becoming a top student have gained importance. It's come to the point that many schools have cut off art programs like these entirely simply because they either no longer have the budget to support it, or see it as something that has no real importance in students' lives. So, at the time of this review, while we still have the concept of the school band alive, we return back to KyoAni's adaptation of Hibike! Euphonium, the drama-filled band with aspirations as big as their sound.

Story: Picking up from the first season, read more
I found this review Helpful
novaxy
Jan 1, 2017
Sequels are like a double-edged sword. For the good shows, the creators are always under immense pressure to replicate the success from the first season, but if done correctly, will be able to grow the cult following for an even bigger profit. For the bad shows, though there are no such expectations, the need to create a series to a non-existent fan base is illogical. Hibike! Euphonium season 1 was in the middle of the spectrum, dwarfed by the popularity and sales of the likes of K-ON while still having sales and read more
I found this review Helpful
Arijsu
Dec 28, 2016
It´s my first review, but gosh I have to write one.
I just finished the second season of Hibike! Euphonium and still sit here with tears in my eyes. I don´t even know why I´m crying. I mean, nobody died, nothing special happend, it´s just another school club with competitions anime isn´t it!? Well yes and no.

This anime is absolutly superior. The character design reminds me of K-On!, you can cleary see the love behind it. Not only the mains, but every side character is detailed, every character is beautiful, every character has his own personality standing out and his own story. You just have to read more
I found this review Helpful
shanimebib
Dec 28, 2016
I have a feeling that there will be those who want to give this anime a perfect 10/10 but perhaps will shy away because of the great divide in the community. So, here I am. Writing a review for an anime which I thought not only needs to be properly addressed as to why it should be considered a masterpiece but demands a standing ovation in the way it has executed almost everything to perfection.

I won't bother writing the synopsis because those who have already seen the first season would know the premise of the story and how it unfolds to the viewers through our read more
I found this review Helpful
crispyn64
Jan 1, 2017
A Sound! Euphonium 2 Review

The first season of Sound! Euphonium was “utterly fantastic” (quoting myself from my review of season one). It took me by surprise and delivered something thoroughly thought provoking. Characters were handled flawlessly, hackneyed themes were dodged with grace, and not a moment of my time felt wasted as I embraced its concepts of what it means to be a part of something, and what it means to be special. It was undoubtedly a brilliant season, and unfortunately for KyoAni, the sequel would have to be held to those standards. So that begs the question: Did KyoAni reach or surpass the heights read more
I found this review Helpful
LegendAqua
Dec 28, 2016
And so the next piece begins...with the second season of Hibike Euphoinum!. Nach und nach belebter und leidenschaftlicher!

The second season left off where the OVA finished and really the second season brings in more highschool drama, character development to characters who didn't get it during the first season and OVA as well as in Regionals. Another words...ALOT of s**t gonna happen this season.

LA wants to dive right into this so let's start with the characters and their development. The character development at the early start of the season are from the two new characters into the mix of the second season, that being Mizore Yoroizuka read more
I found this review Helpful
Hirasawa-Ui
Jan 4, 2017
(before reading, I might get the name spellings wrong)
Another masterpiece of KyotoAnime.
Due to its tight airing schedule, the storyline doesn't get loose and is always tight. In the episode where Kumiko heads to the pool with her friends, I thought 'well it's another service ep in the pool', and I realised that I was wrong after watching that ep to the end. They cut the pool scene to about 6-7mins, and they kept on to the story right after that. Personally, the tight storyline was one of the most satisfying aspects of this anime.
A bit of a downside was that they didn't read more
I found this review Helpful
jc9622
Dec 31, 2016
Hibike Euphonium getting a sequel was a big surprise for me but I was excited nonetheless. As someone who loved the first season so much (mostly because I'm part of a concert band (Percussionist) ), I had high expectations for the sequel and now that it's over. It definitely lived up to my expectations.

(There will be SPOILERS in my review)

[Story]: (8.5/10)
The 2nd Season of Hibike Euphonium picks up right where the first season ended. The Kitauiji High School Concert Band has won a gold and they now have have a new goal: To reach and win the Nationals.

You'll notice something different when you read more
I found this review Helpful
HidamariSeashore
Dec 29, 2016
"And then, the next piece begins." -Kumiko Oumae

When season one of Hibike! Euphonium aired back in 2015, anyone who watched it was in for some beautiful animation, band performances, and yuri bait. I only watched it because of Kyoto Animation, but I ended up enjoying it a lot; it really connected with me, considering the fact that I am a flute player in my school's band. When it ended, however, it definitely felt like there should have been more; that was why, when season 2 was announced, it was welcomed with open arms. However, now that season 2 has finished its run, can I honestly read more
I found this review Helpful
zeralul
Jan 11, 2017
I must say, Season 2 is better than Season 1.

The art is still just as clean, nice to look at, and some scenes are animated brilliantly (just like the first season) Pretty good. A few extra points for them animating the instruments correctly.

Like the first season, the interactions between different characters is interesting to watch unfold, and there are plenty of unique situations and dilemmas that occur that aren't cliche or recycled from other animes. They definitely go more in-depth on the stories of characters that matter this season, however. The intricacies of certain characters' pasts and their relationships with the others are revealed, which read more
I found this review Helpful
Kevstuf
Jan 4, 2017
There's a joke that you watch Hibike! Euphonium for the yuri bait, but stay for the story and characters, and it's completely true. Rarely have I seen a studio pay so much attention to detail in developing character relationships.

Chronologically, the second season begins immediately where the first one left off, where the band is faced with increasingly more difficult obstacles as they hope to advance to higher competitions. You'll experience the ups and downs with them as they triumph and fail in their band goals, while learning more about what makes each character tick, and their various motivations for participating in the band.
This is read more
I found this review Helpful
spartan1232
Dec 31, 2016
Overall Score - 8

Wow. Finale went out really strong and emotionally with a great end, especially being a musician myself I just loved the ending. There is only one reason why I can't give a higher score though. Every aspect about the second season is relatively the same as the first season (see my first season review) but a major difference is the change in the overall mood.

In the first season, the mood was quite on the upbeat(heh heh) with the main focus on the improvement of the band and the strengthening relationships with the band members to a more dedicated and focused group. As read more
I found this review Helpful
BadAshley
Jan 8, 2017
You know that awkward moment when all the yuri shipping you did made people think you made a LGBT anime to the point that Crunchyroll had to tweet about it?

So what to do? You could leave the ambiguity over their romantic relationships and handle it tastefully or dismantle the relationships between the characters you had climbing over each other in S1 in the most cringeworthy way in S2...

Guess what KyoAni did.

Apparently it's not gay if it happens in high school/college. The series writers do their best to remind us that Reina liked Kumiko for her passion for music and all that handholding and confessions read more
I found this review Helpful
GhostOfSteiner
Jan 5, 2017
Warning:

This review contains slight spoilers since it roughly outlines the story, but it shouldn't be in a way which destroys your experience. I'm not really experienced in writing reviews, hence it got more a basic overview of the story with my opinions. But this way you'll have an idea of what you're about to watch, maybe it's helpful for some.

~Characters/Story~

Hibike is a really enjoyable show which might not have the best story, but it doesn't matter. The main story is most likely the thing you'll care about the least. Why? Because it's KyoAni. They focus on the characters really well which is the biggest read more
I found this review Helpful
cottonycloud
Dec 31, 2016
I watched both seasons in about two days and I greatly enjoyed it. Keep in mind that my experience in school orchestra and the watching the series back to back really affected how I enjoyed the series.

Story - The anime simply followed the first season in that they went to Nationals. Since simply focusing on practicing music is not interesting by itself without focusing on details, some drama was added. To me, the arc involving the new girl felt like it would have little importance either way on the band. On the other hand, I felt the latter half of the anime fleshed out Kumiko read more
I found this review Helpful