Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hibike! Euphonium 2


Alternative Titles

English: Sound! Euphonium 2
Synonyms: Hibike! Euphonium Second Season
Japanese: 響け!ユーフォニアム2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2016 to Dec 29, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Novel
Genres: Music, School, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 58,604 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #880
Members: 117,815
Favorites: 1,582

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2016
Prince_Altoid (All reviews)
If I had to thank KyoAni for one thing, it'd be for their ability to prove that it's really hard not to enjoy a good anime, which they've proven many times. Regardless of its art style, the way it presents its characters via voice acting and personalities, the setting of the series, or whatever else it may have that turns a lot of people off (and even causes some to denounce the series completely because of it), KyoAni proves to you that if it's good, it's good. And for that, you will enjoy it.

Ultimately, that was exactly how I felt about Hibike! Euphonium's 2nd season. read more
Dec 28, 2016
TuyNOM (All reviews)
Thinking about my high school years, I had difficulty getting in touch with others and accepting their differences. How can I say? I wasn't really unpleasant... but a bit stubborn. However, don't imagine that I was arguing. If only ... on the contrary, I didn't say anything, and I preferred to get away from them. I couldn't express myself correctly with the others and I didn't dare to reproach them for fear of hurting them. None of us tried to understand each other and we ended up moving away and taking different ways.

At university, I wanted my situation to change. That's why I decided to read more
Dec 28, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Spring 2015 was a heavy season. Out of all the shows though, there was one particular that stood out and it’s Hibike Euphonium (Sound Euphonium). Produced by one of the highest quality anime studios ever, the show is still much more than an eye candy fest. So when I heard the series was returning for a sequel, I was ecstatic. Hibike Euphonium 2 is like a gift that keeps on giving.

Adapted by Kyoto Animation, the second season hits off with a memorable start. The first episode is actually double length and will easily get the audience back into the mood from season 1. Or perhaps read more
Dec 31, 2016
NonxE (All reviews)
As a person who loves listening to most genre of music ranging from classic to hardcore metal, dub-step to jazz, I can strongly recommend this anime to everyone regardless of their anime preferences or music taste. To be honest, it has much more potential than most music anime until date. Hibike! Euphonium can definitely inspire viewers on so many levels because this gem reflects and portrays so many state of human emotion in a spectacular fashion.

Created and produced by Kyoto Animation, the series already covered itself in a vibrant colored-atmosphere and neatly drawn background with a great choice of color and camera view. Since forever read more
Mar 24, 2018
Konakana (All reviews)
Hibike! Euphonium: Wholehearted Sincerity

WILL PROBABLY REVISE AFTER I FINISH MY REWATCH

**SPOILER ALERT – THIS “REVIEW” WILL CONTAIN MAJOR SPOILERS**

**This “review” serves to cover both the first and second seasons of the series.**

**This “review,” as always, is permanently incomplete and from time to time I may edit and update my thoughts on it.**

**Once again, I have no real apparent structure to my “reviews,” as they are all primarily stream of consciousness writeups.**

I have always been slightly biased against Kyoto Animation, and aside from Clannad which I had actually enjoyed to some degree in prior years, none of the studio’s work had really stuck read more
Dec 28, 2016
Pessoa (All reviews)
School is the perfect location for coming of age stories. It's a shame that this potential is little utilized. Thankfully, Hibike is an exception. It's an anime with chewed to death school settings, with clichéd competition aspect, that manages to be a fresh breath of air. Hibike is a well-told simple story.

In Hibike, the tribulation of the characters is small everyday problems that in general order of things are not that important. The stakes are low. At worst they’ll lose a competition which is hard to relate to. To be honest, they have pretty small individual worlds. But Hibike explores those little aspects of life read more
Feb 6, 2017
Ragna1999 (All reviews)
After the disappointing third season of Haikyuu!! I was hoping that Hibike Euphonium would atleast have a good second season that I would've enjoyed. Unfortunately I was wrong. Although not as broken as Haikyuu!! S3, Hibike Euphonium season 2 was still a very disappointing sequel to what was otherwise a great first season.

I first want to address the obvious. Yes, the animation is f***ing orgasmic in Hibike Euphonium. However, is this quality of animation necessary for something like Hibike Euphonium? I know that HE season 1 also had great animation, but in comparison to season 2 it was still pretty tame. In this season you read more
Dec 28, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Band has becoming a dying medium as the importance of academics and becoming a top student have gained importance. It's come to the point that many schools have cut off art programs like these entirely simply because they either no longer have the budget to support it, or see it as something that has no real importance in students' lives. So, at the time of this review, while we still have the concept of the school band alive, we return back to KyoAni's adaptation of Hibike! Euphonium, the drama-filled band with aspirations as big as their sound.

Story: Picking up from the first season, read more
Dec 28, 2016
shanimebib (All reviews)
I have a feeling that there will be those who want to give this anime a perfect 10/10 but perhaps will shy away because of the great divide in the community. So, here I am. Writing a review for an anime which I thought not only needs to be properly addressed as to why it should be considered a masterpiece but demands a standing ovation in the way it has executed almost everything to perfection.

I won't bother writing the synopsis because those who have already seen the first season would know the premise of the story and how it unfolds to the viewers through our read more
Nov 14, 2017
Liao (All reviews)
Writing a review for the second season of Hibike was not an easy task to do. Maybe because I'm a musician, this get even more emotional and hard to express in words. But all I can feel for this anime is love. I have the most deep and fond love for this whole story. So, please, don't expect a totally unbiased review, I really can't talk about it without showing how awesome for a musician is to see a music genre anime like that and not talk about it with passion and even excuse some minor failures. Specially because here I'm talking more as musician read more
Jan 1, 2017
crispyn64 (All reviews)
A Sound! Euphonium 2 Review

The first season of Sound! Euphonium was “utterly fantastic” (quoting myself from my review of season one). It took me by surprise and delivered something thoroughly thought provoking. Characters were handled flawlessly, hackneyed themes were dodged with grace, and not a moment of my time felt wasted as I embraced its concepts of what it means to be a part of something, and what it means to be special. It was undoubtedly a brilliant season, and unfortunately for KyoAni, the sequel would have to be held to those standards. So that begs the question: Did KyoAni reach or surpass the heights read more
Jan 1, 2017
novaxy (All reviews)
Sequels are like a double-edged sword. For the good shows, the creators are always under immense pressure to replicate the success from the first season, but if done correctly, will be able to grow the cult following for an even bigger profit. For the bad shows, though there are no such expectations, the need to create a series to a non-existent fan base is illogical. Hibike! Euphonium season 1 was in the middle of the spectrum, dwarfed by the popularity and sales of the likes of K-ON while still having sales and read more
Dec 28, 2016
Arijsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
It´s my first review, but gosh I have to write one.
I just finished the second season of Hibike! Euphonium and still sit here with tears in my eyes. I don´t even know why I´m crying. I mean, nobody died, nothing special happend, it´s just another school club with competitions anime isn´t it!? Well yes and no.

This anime is absolutly superior. The character design reminds me of K-On!, you can cleary see the love behind it. Not only the mains, but every side character is detailed, every character is beautiful, every character has his own personality standing out and his own story. You just have to read more
Mar 4, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Recently, I have started to learn how to play the guitar. Sort of.

I haven’t purchased the instrument yet; I’m still deciding on the brand and the amp. However, I know what I want to play: heavy metal. It’s my jam, and, after listening to so much of it now, I told myself, “I want to melt faces with my solos like the best of them.” Okay, I’ll probably never be that good, but I do like the idea of expanding my skillset.

But it’s tough. I have never officially played an instrument, so even the notes read more
Jan 16, 2019
Rastignacian (All reviews)
Since i first saw this anime, i saw the kind of potential i can't see in other music animes. and one might compare every music anime with shigatsu, because it is the most praised one, but shigatsu and this anime show us two distinct views of the music practice.
Hibike! Euphonium and Hibiki! Euphonium 2 have a sport anime vibe to it. The way that the obstacles and practices are presented to the watcher are common in the sports anime.
This serie as a whole can also be so aware of the music world they are presentig (just open an youtube page of a important music in read more
May 25, 2017
nicjrs (All reviews)
The review counts the first season score too!

Hibike! Euphonium is a musical anime (woooow, really?), but doesn't shows just music, I would say. The focus doesn't is the music in itself, but in how the music and the effort at the trainings can interfere at socializations between the musicist and your family, school and objectives. That anime is sooooo cute, have an so pretty weather, even when happens the hardest scenes and with psychological fight. Also have comedy, isn't as that slapstick comedy tho, maybe a pinch of Yuri or just fanservice?! Thriller, yes, Thriller, always happens that thriller in what gonna happen and how read more
Jan 8, 2017
BadAshley (All reviews)
You know that awkward moment when all the yuri shipping you did made people think you made a LGBT anime to the point that Crunchyroll had to tweet about it?

So what to do? You could leave the ambiguity over their romantic relationships and handle it tastefully or dismantle the relationships between the characters you had climbing over each other in S1 in the most cringeworthy way in S2...

Guess what KyoAni did.

Apparently it's not gay if it happens in high school/college. The series writers do their best to remind us that Reina liked Kumiko for her passion for music and all that handholding and confessions read more
Dec 28, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
And so the next piece begins...with the second season of Hibike Euphoinum!. Nach und nach belebter und leidenschaftlicher!

The second season left off where the OVA finished and really the second season brings in more highschool drama, character development to characters who didn't get it during the first season and OVA as well as in Regionals. Another words...ALOT of s**t gonna happen this season.

LA wants to dive right into this so let's start with the characters and their development. The character development at the early start of the season are from the two new characters into the mix of the second season, that being Mizore Yoroizuka read more
Aug 23, 2017
MrFalcon-san (All reviews)
As a musician and an anime fan I was searching for an anime that revolved arround music. This was my first time watching this kind of anime. I watched the first season and I liked it very much. It wasn't just an anime that revolved arround music, but it also showed how the students learn to love music more no matter what happens. The individual growth as the growth of the entire group is shown beautifully.

Then I went on to the second season. I must say that my expectation where quite high for the second season, but they were met in a totally different way read more
Apr 9, 2018
PixlReality (All reviews)
The jump in character performance and connection from the first season to this one is just outstandingly good.

Hibike! Euphonium 2, the sequel to the first of it's kind which was...good to say the least; but taken what the first season had and drastically improved in all areas. Story wise we follow the class as they all strive to earn gold at the Kansai regional competition, as well, we see many quarrels in the classroom with old friends yearning for a second chance and young love that might sprout. There's a lot of drama, and a lot of warm fuzzy moments.

Honestly, I'm quite surprised read more