Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

New Game!


Alternative Titles

English: New Game!
Japanese: NEW GAME!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2016 to Sep 19, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 117,554 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #370
Members: 250,563
Favorites: 2,086

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
New Game is a joy to watch, medicine for the mind, the perfect cure after a long day of work. It doesn't do anything too notable, but at the same time, never really needed to in the first place.

Where most slice-of-life anime fumble and stumble in an effort to figure out what they want to be, New Game knows from the very start what it is. It is a cutesy tale of the mundane, a cross of sorts between Shirobako's look into the world of production, and K-ON's more fluffy elements. It is heart-warming when it decides to take read more
Sep 19, 2016
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
The CGDCT (cute girls doing cute things) genre is something most people should be quite familiar with by now. It has been one of the most time-tested and consistently successful types of anime in recent years, very rarely leading to disappointment. In particular the most popular ones tend to be those adapted from series published in some edition of Manga Time Kirara, and once again this trend has been upheld with New Game. In fact this anime isn’t just very good by CGDCT standards, but it’s possibly the best slice of life anime I’ve seen in the last year.

First and foremost, what really separates New read more
Sep 19, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
While I was quite disappointed that this show didn't turn out to be like Shirobako, I still ended up enjoying this anime so much and it's now one of my favourite slice-of-life anime.

(If you think my reviews are too long, scroll down and read my "Pros and Cons" list or my [VERDICT]. They're basically a summary of my review)
(My Review will contain some SPOILERS)

[Story]
New Game!, in short, is basically a "cute girls doing cute things" show but it takes place in a game development studio. Before this anime started airing, I was expecting the show to be like Shirobako, an anime about making anime. read more
Sep 19, 2016
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
I hate to simply reiterate what others have been saying, but no other phrase fits this anime more perfectly than "cute girls doing cute things." Anime like New Game are usually classified as moe, a genre that is one of the most common out there, with multiple titles airing every anime season. While enjoyed by some, others have become exasperated over seeing what is essentially the same basic thing continuous done over and over again in these shows without much difference between them. So what did New Game's author do to add a little flair of originality to his work? He changed the setting.

That's read more
Sep 23, 2016
milkblob (All reviews)
Preliminary
New Game's goal as an anime is to be a mediocre "cute girls doing cute things" show. It succeeds in that regard.


Normally I try to review an anime in the context of what it was trying to be. I don't expect action anime to seriously delve into character's inner minds. I don't expect slapstick comedies to have a coherent plot. I found it difficult to accept this show for what it was trying to be.

There are no well written characters, there is no interesting story, the setting is barely passable and there is no "point" that the show is attempting to make. There read more
Sep 19, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
New Game is a unique title that holds its' own individuality among other " let's create-a_____" type shows.

Story 6.5/10

New game is supposed to be about an 18 or 19 year old girl Aoba Suzukaze, whom after graduating High-School joins the game company Eaglejump... You know what, you can just read all this in the synopsis…

Getting the most difficult things out the way early, the major re-occurring flaw in this title is consistent story-telling and maintaining the plot. Rather than focusing on the main plot which is completing the game Fairies Story 3 (I think that’s' the title.) The plot is completely detoured by somewhat read more
Oct 30, 2018
starfarts (All reviews)
This is the first anime I've seen where nothing in particular happens; there's no antagonist, no Big Evil to repel, and no mountain for the characters to labor up. It's a bunch of cute grills being cute while making a video game (with varying degrees of authenticity, as expected). The only clear "message" in New Game! is that it wants young people to get a job, since a large chunk is dedicated to explaining what to expect from "the real world."

It's also an absolute joy to experience. 90% of my watch time was spent with a grin on my face because it's all so effortlessly read more
Apr 19, 2019
Snoopy25 (All reviews)
Ok, where do I even start?

I became a softie for Moe and I was SO happy when I found this. This show is adorable! I learned a few things as well. It portrays part of what the game developing industry is, in a fictional environment. It does so pretty well imo.

Hifumi is best girl, no one can change that opinion.

The show is quite wholesome, and I believe many will appreciate that aspect of it. There's a handful of ecchi scenes here and there, but it's so minute, that it doesn't define the purpose of the show. Very little fan service. It is quite read more
Dec 9, 2017
juneboba (All reviews)
New Game is like a more comedic Shirobako meets video game developing. There is a large cast of women and all of them have a passion for video games. Because so many people were introduced in the beginning and the audience doesn't have a good grasp on their personalities yet, it was difficult to tell them apart for a while. Around the 3rd or 4th episode, the writers started developing each character and illustrating how well they work together. I love that there's no ridiculous pettiness or rivalries between the girls. It's the exact opposite—there's a ton of really intimate moments in each episode that read more
Sep 21, 2016
NoonebutMark (All reviews)
NEW GAME! is an anime about the development of a video game so I can't help but compare this Moe anime to Bakuman (anime about making a manga) and Shirobako (anime about making an anime).

If you have watched one or both of the animes I've mentioned, don't expect that you'll get the same kind of story here, because unlike:

(1) Bakuman, it does not focus much on the development of a video game (as Bakuman focused on the making of a manga, with details on what mangakas do and does not.).

(2) Shirobako, you will only see the character design part of the gaming development, and read more
Sep 19, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah the workplace. A place where employees finds themselves anxious about their days at job especially if it’s their first time there. Just ask Aoba Suzukaze, a girl that came right out of high school who looks like a middle school kid. However, what if a person finds their “dream job”? A job that they’ve always wanted and finally gets the chance to make their life into a miracle?

I have to admit, New Game is a series that has always been rumored to get an anime adaptation. It’s popular in Japan and there has been many fanfiction about the series. So when the time came, read more
Sep 17, 2016
Bvarnell89 (All reviews)
I think 2016 has been a great year for anime. We've had a number of excellent series come out, including the second season for Shokgeku no Soma and a new season of D. Gray-Man. However, while we've had a lot of good anime, there were still a lot of bad anime. Fortunately for everyone involved, New Game is one of those anime that is actually highly entertaining despite not sounding all that exciting.

So, the premise for this anime is pretty basic. You've got Aoba Suzukaze, who, immediately after graduating from high school gets a job with a video game company. Now, I'm not gonna go read more
Feb 28, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
New Game is based off of an ongoing manga by Tokunou Shoutarou. The manga started in 2013. The anime came three years later and was brought to us by Doga Kobo. Yes, the same studio that brought us Yuru Yuri. So, we know they can do high quality slice of life comedy. Let's see if that happens here.

Story:

We open with our protagonist, Suzukaze Aoba, starting an exciting new job as a graphics artist for a game developer. More impressively, she's right out of high school (do game developers hire people right out of school like that? I thought you had to study at the university read more
Sep 24, 2016
Swordarc (All reviews)
If you are stressed after your busy life,here's the anime for you-New Game,which is a unique anime with New Ideas in every episodes.When you Watch this anime,you'll find your time is consuming fast because of how relaxing this anime is.The comedy moments,enjoyable time,ugh!Its revolving my brain!!!

STORY(8/10)(35%)

The story revolves around the protagonist Aoba,who is a little girl working in a gaming company.This anime is about Aboe's daily life,her working schedule,daily life with her childhood friends and her working partners.Its seem simple but it's actually kind of decent because this anime is filled with LOTS of hilarious moments and it's time consuming,while different events in the story read more
Jun 10, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
New Game is a simple slice of life anime about a girl fresh out of high school that gets a job as a 3d artist at a game company.

While this anime doesn't do anything especially outrageous, I don't think that is necessary for a slice of life anime.

What you get is a fairly tame, cutesy anime that is very low key. If you just need something light and upbeat to watch, this anime accomplishes that very well. It's got the upbeat nature of K-On! mixed with the hustle and bustle of the life of a salaryman (or woman in this case).

Where this anime does read more
Oct 9, 2016
Hackline123 (All reviews)
New game! An anime where one would proclaim as " oh another moe show " when shown the cover photo. I hate to admit though, it's true. It is another moe show, but not just ANOTHER moe show. It's something much different. It brings out something that seems lacking in other "moe" shows. That is the feeling of catharsis. Shyness, Frustration, Triumphant. These were feelings I was able to relate with the characters, despite not experiencing it myself first hand.

Story: 8/10
It was a relatively decent story, bringing out something unique due to its setting. It has a much different feel as compared to other read more
Mar 17, 2018
Goofballsan (All reviews)
Ah! New Game! One of my go-to feel good animes. Something to sit back and watch after a long stressful day to melt your stress away.

A beautiful colorful art style that is a feast for the eyes and soothing to boot.

An animation style filled with very subtle touches that make all the difference to how smooth it is. Some are so subtle you dont even notice them until youve seen the series for the 4th time. Truely a testament to the ability of Doga Kobo's animation team.

The background music is bubbly and soothing, which fits perfectly with the show.

The characters have good chemistry and read more
Sep 19, 2016
aboynameddeath (All reviews)
There's nothing ground-breaking or amazing about this show, but it succeeds in the sense that I'm left with a silly grin on my face when watching it. I typically don't like slice of life shows, but I must say I really enjoyed New Game. It benefits from a refreshing environment, namely the office environment, instead of the school setting that has been recycled over and over again. There are many moments where I burst out laughing, but what surprised me was the presence of a few scenes with real emotional power too. Without resorting to any stupid melodrama, the show manages to be really touching read more
Dec 3, 2017
0hht0 (All reviews)
KAWAIIIIIIIIII!!!!

This series surprised me from the very begin with cuteness and adorable characters. I didn't expected something like that when I found this but when I started watching and hearing the OP, I knew it would be spectacular.


[Art]
Doga Kobo really made an incredible artwork. All the details are done beautifully so that I can't stop myself cringing all the time. The way they make adorable emotions is awesome, especially Aoba and Hifumi. They are too cute and childish even in a serious company, bring warmth to everyone's heart.

Most of the time you can see that the characters wear the same suit day by day, read more
Sep 9, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 8
ART - 10
SOUND - 10
CHARACTER - 9
ENJOYMENT - 9

Bright and sparkling, pretty and appealing, the title of New Game! takes over the splash screen with wholesome invitations. It's time to press that start button. There's a whole packet of cuteness and entertainment here ready to be loaded onto the screen.

When I stepped in to the very first level, I knew this anime would be right up my alley. Delight instantly overwhelmed the me who used to develop games as a hobby. So, with my eagerness to relive the enjoyable side of game development surfacing once more, a new stage begins on a fun read more