Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar


Alternative Titles

English: Grimgar: Ashes and Illusions
Synonyms: Grimgal of Ashes and Fantasies, Hai to Gensou no Grimgal
Japanese: 灰と幻想のグリムガル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2016 to Mar 28, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: TOHO animation
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 215,191 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #164
Members: 416,747
Favorites: 4,133

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 1, 2016
dissipated (All reviews)
This is a spoiler-free review.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar is a rather unique watch. Shows throughout time have had a tendency to force characters from 0 to a 100 in an unrealistic time frame. This often pertains to the widespread demands of instant gratification. Hai to Gensou no Grimgar challenges these demands by emphasising the natural growth of characters: step by step characters are built through every interaction with the plot. Closely observing this and the plot is paramount as to not miss the abundance of implicit detail dedicated to their development and characterisation. Due to this profound nature of the show, reflection is commonplace read more
Mar 27, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
The occasional RPG setting within an anime isn't some new, revolutionary trend. Popularized by the underwhelming Sword Art Online, they seem to be popping up a lot more frequently than before and that isn't something I'm particularly fond of. This is mostly due to the lack of originality that comes with these works. To a novice, this idea may seem spectacular on it's own, but at this point, the same thing has been done over and over again and not once did I consider one of them to be good.

With that being said, I believe that this is quite close to the epitome of read more
Apr 4, 2016
Cinnamon_Pramma (All reviews)
Moderator Edit: This review contains spoilers.
--

(If you couldn’t give a tuna glass about this review and just want to know if you should watch this, skip all the way to the “What to expect and enjoyment” Either way, read this review if you want an insight of the flaws it had. This is my first review so don’t judge and give me a break lol. My usage of words might come off as wonky so sorry for that)

Grimgar is an anime that doesn’t necessarily bring anything distinctive to the tables. I personally believe that Grimgar was just an anime of progression, where we would read more
Apr 6, 2016
Heldengeist (All reviews)
The show of it's season that everybody likes despite it's pretty bad. We have a group of teens who gets into a world based on RPG ruleset and shortly after this, they forget their previous life... and that's all. We won't get to know who they are, why did they get there, what is that place anyways, why does it operates like a video game, what should they do there. They just live their everyday life, learning some new skills, killing the low level creatures for the loot which they use to cover their living expenses and equipment.

There are some conflict, they lose a teammate, read more
Mar 27, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar, I had some pretty mixed reactions and feelings with this series. It had its' moments in various episodes where character growth, or the story & plot would standout.. then a few moments later an episode it would do a 360. I don't want to call the show a roller-coaster though because I do not think that is the right term to describe.

Moving on from that though, considering where the Light novel left off and where the anime stopped, I think that A-1 Picture's team did a pretty good job with pacing. They were successfully able to cover read more
Mar 27, 2016
Hiroui (All reviews)
Mature version of any "rpg like shows" the done right.
I'll keep this short but informaive as I can.


Many misunderstand what the show is really about and what it's trying to be. They complain "just when will they get over with this and go start adventuring?!" and claim "nothing is happening bs!" what they didn't know is it's not aimed to be that. Grimgar is all about the group of people who have been thrown in a world they don't know, adapting their new environment bit by a bit. So as you can see, action is not the highlight of the show. It's how they adapt read more
Apr 6, 2016
pedrosp14 (All reviews)
[Spoiler Free Review}

Story (8):
Hai to Gensou no Grimar tells the story of a group of people who all of the sudden see themselves in a completely strange and fantastic world, with no memories of where they come from, or who they where. The only thing they can do is try to survive by forming parties and hunt down monsters to gain enough money to get through the day. The anime shows the struggles of the group in this world. There is nothing really new to this kind of story, but what stands out is the way the story is told. Compared to the light novel read more
Mar 31, 2016
CrayonMizhan (All reviews)
Here I am writing my first review. I am not an expert with writing a review but I will try my best to depict the selling points of this anime. I always give every element a 10 and then take a point off along with any setback I find in each of these aspects.

Story: 9. The story would have been a masterpiece if the first three episodes have been squeezed into one. Nothing much happened. It should have dedicated the second and third episodes to explaining a bit more about the characters' past. However, from episode 4 onward the plot keeps up with the audience's read more
Mar 27, 2016
_Hans_ (All reviews)
I enjoyed Grimgar! Did you or should you? Well take a look here to find out.

Pros
+ Exceptional Character development
+ Rich Character Interactions
+ Great approach to to the theme of Tragedy
+ Dark take on the "Trapped in a Video Game/Fantasy World"
+ Video Game world with Realism

Cons
- Easily bored or "Mindless Action" fellows may not like this show
- Very slow paced
- Insert Songs
- The character of Ranta (At times)
- Random and Unnecessary Ecchi

Overall, Grimgar of fantasy and Ash is a astounding take on the "trapped in a world" genre. I honestly can say it is one of the best if not THE best of the read more
Feb 27, 2018
netosolano98 (All reviews)
Sometimes slow pacing isn't good pacing.

Story 6 | Art 10 | Sound 10 | Character 7 | Enjoyment 7 | Overall: 8


So Hai to Gensou might have the best animation, ost, ending and opening I've heard in anime, and had me expecting more from it, since episode 1, it was cliched but promisng, what fails with this anime is the pacing. Even though I'm a fan of well build up characters, and slow pacing shows helps them do this very well, just like FMA Brotherhood.

The slow read more
Mar 27, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Getting transported to a game world with fantasy elements. You’ve heard of these type of stories before in recent years. From Log Horizon to the infamous No Game No Life, it’s a recycled idea that has becoming a growing trend. What’s different about Hai to Gensou no Grimgar? Nothing really at first until you look a bit into the show. Well it’s not vastly different anyways. In essence, this series crafts a refreshing fantasy show with some intruding ideas but also ones that are unbecoming.

Adapted from the light novel of the same name, the series takes place in fantasy world of Grimgar. We don’t get read more
Mar 27, 2016
Sentelin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Lately I've been watching only handful anime shows, to be more precise for the past 3 months I finished only 3 and currently follow 2. Each one had to met my profound expectations and they are very strict.

When I chose to watch first episode, I didn't expect much , mostly because this kind of anime never has real plot and everything expected action and violence is put in second plan. First thing I noticed is how beautiful art is, I haven't had seen such good looking anime for a long time, later came I noticed good animation, voice acting, heck even though main characters read more
Mar 27, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Sometimes an anime will start very well and continue to be interesting for a while, but it ultimately falls apart when it’s time to wrap things up. In some less-common cases, an anime will start very well but fall on its face within minutes. I don’t know which of these categories are worse, but Grimgar is the latter. Grimgar gets you interested immediately, but things go downhill just within the first episode.

Grimgar starts with a fight scene; fight scenes at the very beginning of anything can often be bad since you don’t know anything and don’t care, but Grimgar’s is actually very good because it read more
Mar 30, 2016
maddanimeboyo (All reviews)
If you're looking for a slice of life anime with RPG/fantasy elements this is your show. It gives us a look into what life would actually be like in an RPG/fantasy world where the characters actually spill blood (their own and other creatures). It isn't exactly action packed and there is no definite end to the story, it's just about a group of people trying to survive in a new world that they were thrown into. My only gripe is that they mention a certain character too much.

Story: 8/10
I honestly like the story. There isn't exactly a goal that they are working towards read more
Mar 30, 2016
orosan (All reviews)
When first watching the first episode of it, i honestly found it quite boring, but i insisted maybe there's more to it, and yes there were.

the more you watch the more deep you go within the anime, the development is slow but enjoyable, and very easy to understand what's going on.

Artistically, the drawings is definately above average, maybe Too glossy for others, but doesnt bother me in any way.

Characters mostly we only got to see haruhiko and mary develope the most, the other didnt get enough screentime, but dispite only two developing characters it was still enjoyable to watch.

i definitly recommend this for people read more
May 3, 2016
GreyGaming (All reviews)
If I am being honest right now, I loved Hai to Gensou no Grimgar. To me, it was a fresh look into the Fantasy RPG genre, one which is overcrowded with absolutely god awful shows. It is one of the special shows in this genre in part due to its realism in storytelling in its genre and actual well developed characters.

Story: 8/10

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar tells the story of 7 characters in a world they have magically transported to. Many other characters have also been transported there for no apparent reason. This large group of people forms smaller groups to go and hunt read more
Mar 30, 2016
Minechi (All reviews)
well u know how all the foreplay and teasing can sometimes bore u out....
I mean for an anime with 12 episodes 85 % of it is goblin slaying to be put bluntly....
so why do i give it such a high rating.....

well like the anime i wont get to the point immediately :D

story:8
if put basically it is an anime that focuses on people stuck on a vmmorpg without knowing how they were put there..... Heard of it somewhere before?
yuss it will make u sleep in the first half... i mean can u see how many people dropped it at ep4... like ppl who drop girls bcuz read more
Apr 3, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I'm honestly not comfortable with reviewing something like Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash because it's one of those shows where every single one of my complaints can be countered with "well that's what the fans like about the show". Which is true for a lot of bad anime in general, but Grimgar is one of those shows that's specifically made to draw "feels" from the viewer without the structured story that ERASED used aka the main the reason why I cared for ERASED's cliched "feels drama" in the first place. So me saying it doesn't have a story as the main reason for not liking read more
Dec 22, 2016
Bugiboo (All reviews)
Oh, it'll be a hell of a ride. So fasten your seatbelts and enjoy my review. This review may include some mild spoilers; be warned.

1. Concept
The first thing must be said for Grimgar is it may be the best "being thrown into a game" story after good old Jumanji. Grimgar nails on details no other anime series of the same concept didn't even bother to mention. The best (in my opinion) detail Grimgar is the feel of being in an alien land. Our heroes and heroines have no idea about where they are and what they are supposed to do. They have no clue read more
Apr 6, 2016
Lanciare (All reviews)
Action, Adventure, Drama, Fantasy and after reading the summary, what are the things that comes into mind when these genres are mentioned?
One might think it could be an intensive and thrilling anime, where you might expect the cast of the anime to be constantly exploring new things and exposing themselves to danger. Or you could expect the main protagonist to be some sort of prodigy who develops himself at a rapid pace, becoming the only sole focus of the anime.

Well let me tell you, this anime isn't anything like those I've mentioned above.
Before I start with my review I will clarify that this anime read more