Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online Movie: Ordinal Scale


Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online the Movie -Ordinal Scale-
Synonyms: Gekijouban Sword Art Online
Japanese: 劇場版 ソードアート・オンライン -オーディナル・スケール-

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 18, 2017
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 59 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 82,999 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #370
Members: 185,173
Favorites: 1,996

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 18, 2017
ZzLow96 (All reviews)
OK, this movie is stunning enough to make me write a review for the first time. I just came back from watching it. It was a full house at the cinema. It is rare to see a full house in my country when the theater is airing anime. This was a total shock!

Story: 10/10
The story is great. It is sort of like a mixture of tragedy, comedy and romance. Its sort like the mixture of SAO, ALO and GGO but mainly it revives that kind of feeling after you watch the original SAO. It makes me feel nostalgic.

Art: 9/10
For me, the art can read more
Feb 18, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
Going to keep this review spoiler free.
To make a clever analogy, Sword Art Online is similar to an apple that looks fresh on the outside but is all rotten inside. If you have ever heard of the "Rotten Apple" theory which states that one rotten apple can ruin an entire barrel, that is what I am affraid of.
Anime series similar to Sword Art Online will spread like mold in an old house, resulting in lowering the current set standards for a "good" show.

Intro:
Unfortunately the very premise of the show makes it hard to take seriously. A new innovative game "Ordinal Scale" is created and read more
Feb 18, 2017
DubstepKazoo (All reviews)
It's no secret by now that the SAO anime series was basically lackluster at best, combining lazy writing with shallow characters and only getting so much attention because of its brilliant character designs and astronomical production values. Ordinal Scale, though, was surprisingly good. Why?

Because for the first time, SAO became action-centric, rather than plot- or character-centric.

The TV anime focused heavily on its characters. The climax of the Aincrad arc was not Kirito beating the game (spoilers, I guess), but his last scene with Asuna. The Fairy Dance arc focused on its plot, and the Phantom Bullet and Mother's Rosario arcs were basically character studies. Since read more
Feb 18, 2017
Haoto_Akiyama (All reviews)
This was actually good, not disappointing I have to say...

Story: 7
The prologue isn't that good.. It starts off the end of their story. Which really doesn't give you any bad-thoughts such as someone dying or having the mood that it'll be like, meh.
You'll get to feel the tensity, but the answer to their "plot's" problem was obvious. But, I still like how they have a sad concept based on what it originally is. It brings everything back from the way it was like the SAO scenario.
And about Shino Asada. I liked the fact that she respected Kirito and Asuna as a couple even though she read more
Oct 8, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Nearing the end of the Summer of 2014, SAO’s Gun Gale Online Arc finally draws to a close. Dumbfounded and genuinely surprised at the story arc’s terrible writing, characters and overall aesthetic, I sat back and assessed Sword Art Online up to that point in time, and concluded there and then, that, for me at least anyway, the Gun Gale Online arc was the absolute lowest point the series had fallen, and, surely for how incredibly awful that arc was, there would be nothing else that could possibly be as bad, and as I witnessed the next two story arcs the series had to offer, read more
Feb 18, 2017
Jjlim (All reviews)
The movie wasnt hype without a reason and boy did they delivered it. I really liked how the story went. I liked everything about it because the movie was that good. That 1 year waiting was so worth it and now after watching it I just wanna download it and watch it again and again! I've never felt so much enjoyment before even when I was watching Kimi No Na Wa. Sure that movie became a class of its own but SAO Ordinal Scale just went above that level. Its only been less than 24 hrs and it alr has a 8.57 rating. This may read more
Feb 20, 2017
KuroHaruto (All reviews)
Great story, with EPIC/OP scenes, music from revious seasons included in movie, character development for the MC's. This is a must see for those who enjoyed the SAO anime. Also, there are a few scenes that you can understand the epicness only by having seen the 2 seasons of SAO.

For those who have seen SAO (and liked it), WATCH THIS MOVIE!!! Soo many scenes that relate to the previous SAO's. A big enjoyement, with Asuna and Kirito's relationship being important in the story. Great action scenes. Also, you re gonna get a lot of surprises while watching the movie, soo many that you re read more
Feb 18, 2017
ANGRY_CRITIC_BOY (All reviews)
There will be PROBABLY SOME MINI MINI MINI SPOILERS HERE so I'll do my BEST NOT TO SHOW ANYTHING WHICH IS CONSIDERED A SPOILER.
For your __SAfety__, DON'T READ MY REVIEW YET UNTIL YOU WATCH THE MOVIE!
If you already watched the MOVIE, Feel Free to READ!


Sword art online: Ordinal Scale was everything i expected from the Sword Art Online Series and much much more well. And i know people will be wondering is it worth watching, YES!!! YES!!! YAAS!!! YES! IT IS THE BEST MOVIE! SWORD ART ONLINE IS BACK IN AN AWESOMELY GOOD WAY!!

If we're gonna get Sword Art Online Season 3 read more
Feb 23, 2017
animeno (All reviews)
I'm not an avid fan of SAO nor do I despise the show however this movie was actually decent!
The Art and Sound were as expected of A1 and although the story and characterization weren't amazing for a movie it was actually enjoyable due to the simplistic plot that is engaging enough and fun to watch with an ample amount of action to distract from the lack of any coherent story.

All in all it isn't the next makoto shinkai master class but it's got good enough sound art and action to distract from the fact.
8/10 probably wouldn't watch again but the music (the OP read more
Feb 19, 2017
Mysxek_Kiyuu (All reviews)
Hello SAO fans, haters and people alike, this a NON-SPOILER REVIEW of SAO: Ordinal Scale(so u know it came out earlier in my country and I just came out from watching it).
Before the actual review, I would like to emphasise a few of my concerns & "wishes" before I entered the cinema:
1. Make Kirito likeable-As an SAO fan(sorta), the one thing that tainted a bad image in my head for SAO besides the COUGH Fairy Dance arc COUGH...was Kirito; he lacked any REAL character development. To me, he was just 'there' to say for the plot to advance.
2. If Yui pulls a hax, read more
Mar 19, 2017
pakxenon (All reviews)
I'm going to analyze this movie with pros and cons in bullet point. THIS RA- REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

+Fantastic action in the first boss raid. There were gunners on the balconies, melee dps fighters taking shots, tanks tanking shots, sufficient logic of boss moves and specials, and they formulated a strategy towards the end of the fight considering they were ragtag players and not an actual raid party. Very fun!
+Good environmental destruction animation throughout. The flames, the rocks flying, the smoke, and all that stuff was well animated. I especially liked that scene where Klein jobbed, with the integration of his HUD heightening our emotional connection read more
Feb 19, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
The Sword Art Online curse continues on the series but not on this one.

Story 7 - Somewhat predictable but the executions were good enough to make the story plot stand out. They really improved their writing and put it in a logical way. But the story is not perfect ofc but it is good, not mediocre, it's above average I would say.

Art 10 - On this one A-1 pictures animation is pretty massive. They used the Clean 2d animation with the mix of CGI effects and the 1st thing comes into your mind is the Ufotable Strategy. Big production right here, like having the read more
Feb 23, 2017
metalrain_15 (All reviews)
Alright, I'll keep this review clean and as spoiler-free as much as possible since I haven't really written any new reviews for the past two months.

To begin, I must say that Ordinal Scale actually went above my expectations. It simply went off with a large bang and it really kept me at my wits end.

Since we're talking about Kawahara Reki-sensei here, expect awesome twists that really connects along all the dots. The story focuses on Asuna and Kirito's current relationship and it tests that connection to their limits. If you think about it, it's somehow generic, but the story build-up is spectacular and it really read more
Sep 25, 2017
Eni_Gma (All reviews)
story : 1
my little brother tell me
the movie is for kids . btw the story is fucking awful and bad and shocking and horrible and ..... .... ...
art : 1
this isn't art this is farce
sound : 1
i don't have an ear but ik all the sounds are bad .
charecter : 1
chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi chibi read more
Nov 11, 2017
Half-MagePrince (All reviews)
I love SAO!!!! Haters, mind your own business. The series were worth watching and enjoyable at the same time. Both Season 1 and 2 are pretty good but the second half of the second season left me with a disappointment. Then this movie came along.....

My favorite arc of the SAO series!!! Everything is almost perfect. The action scenes, animation and story is awesome!!! This is best arc so far. The MC (Kirito and Asuna) are pretty well developed in the story. Side characters like Sinon and Klein didn't have enough screentime but the last scene gave them a little spotlight. The final battle gave me read more
Feb 25, 2017
blurpotato (All reviews)
Just finished the movie half an hour ago; I'd like to write while my memory is still fresh.

I had watched the first season of SAO last year and it was, well, quite shit. Even though the concept had the potential to make the anime a masterpiece. The romance was flat, the story was a chockful of Deus Ex Machinas and the second arc was just plain bad. I decided not to watch SAO II, as I had read and heard that it was worse than the first season. But when the movie was primed to be released in my region, I just simply had to read more
Mar 10, 2017
ShaneM (All reviews)
Do you recall how you felt when the Sword Art Online series first begin to air? That fascination you had towards the entire concept of being trapped within a virtual reality; where death in the virtual world meant death in reality as well? Where you got to experience that unique sense of adventure, romance, and fantasy? If you do; then be well prepared to have this movie, Sword Art Online: OS, reintroduce that long-lost feeling to you.

As a fair prerequisite to this review I'll note that I watched this movie last night in the theater during the special "One Night Only!" showing promotion that seems read more
Mar 10, 2017
peachewire (All reviews)
Sword Art Online has never really been my type of anime but I can see the appeal for a lot of people. So when I was invited to see the movie, I walked in with low expectations and unfortunately lived up to them.

Story: 3
SAO never had the strongest of plots and this movie is no different. Kirito and friends are once again thrown into a new game which ends up another fight for their lives only this time, it takes place in the real world using augmented reality. Besides from being generic and predictable, most of it barely made any sense. SAO never fails read more
Feb 23, 2017
extremerazr (All reviews)
[I will be referencing a few other anime; they might be not on the same level as SAO and that depends on your own perspective of SAO and the other animes. I’m not saying that they are as same as SAO nor SAO OS copying them, it’s just in my opinion that OS reminds me of them. Forgive me as I like to reference. Speaking of which, Wagnaria Café from WWW.Working! cameos in the movie.]

[I will not be talking about the characters as it will causes me to spoil everything from the movie]

Ordinal Scale starts off explaining briefly read more
Nov 23, 2017
AnimeSpirits (All reviews)
Sword Art Online has came a very long way and it's finally time to write my review for it.

Sword Art Online itself deserves a rate of 8 or 9. Not because it's the very first anime I've ever watched and because it got be into anime. But because it has meaning into it and it really touches your heart whenever you watch it. But time for the review for Ordinal Scale

Story:9-10 The story was amazing. It's easy to understand, enjoyable, meaningful, and more. The story is about a Augmented Reality game where you got to fight bosses and level up. But here's where the story read more