Accel World: Infinite∞Burst

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: アクセル・ワールド INFINITE∞BURST(インフィニット・バースト)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 23, 2016
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, Sci-FiSci-Fi, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool
Duration: 1 hr. 22 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.671 (scored by 2256322,563 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #50292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2024
Members: 58,253
Favorites: 88
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2016
Tusjecht (All reviews)
Basically, most fans who have only watched the anime will be perplexed upon seeing Infinite Burst. Bewildered. Wildly confused. And instead of taking the time to answer them, Infinite Burst rolls on without going any deeper than it wants to, just so that it can deliver something that resembles an ending to its own haphazardly cut-down story. A

The Recap:
Taking up fully half of the film's running time, the recap is badly paced, boring, and fails to do what a recap is supposed to do: 'What are the important things that has happened, and who were involved in it?' You could say that it covered read more
Nov 19, 2016
moondragon84 (All reviews)
Dear lord, every time light novel is mentioned as a source for an anime i get a bad feeling about it and its for a reason. The latest in the trent of "read the light novel first" is here, Accel World: Infinite Burst. I wont be talking about characters and basics here since i figure you should know the stuff by now so i get straight to the point.

Accel World and the gap:

Accel World season 1 that aired back in 2012 covered the first 4 volumes of the LN material that began with "retun of the black king" and ended with "Dusktaker arc". After that read more
Aug 8, 2016
Inorichi (All reviews)
Overall: 7
This movie was fine all in all, very sunrise style I guess you could say. There was a lot of re-cap as the other review claims, however there is more than enough original content to split it evenly. Definitely not worthwhile watching in theaters due to the recap though, sorry Sunrise.

Story: 6
Discluding the re-cap the story for this movie was fine, and although it did lack character depth, the story worked out none the less. The original content in the movie was not long enough to be an entire arc, nor was it short enough to be an OVA, so it was more of read more
Nov 19, 2016
Graphite_Rav3n (All reviews)
I love accel world, and I gotta say this was awful. The recap imo was completely wasted on the fact that the story doesn't even start where the recap leaves off but rather several volumes past the anime. It would have been better if they gave a two minute recap of the anime and fill in the blanks between the anime and movie with the rest of the 35 minute recap. Otherwise how are people expected to know how Sky Rakker got her legs back or who Ardor Maiden is? Or they could have just made the whole Hermes Cord volume into a movie which read more
Oct 29, 2018
OryHara (All reviews)
It's basically just fanservice.

There's a lot more to say than that, but it sums up my overall position on Accel World: Infinite Burst.

The movie begins with an approximately 40 minute long recap of (mostly) the first half of the TV series. This is something I'm not a big fan of, but have seen before in anime movies tied into a TV series and I guess I can understand the intention if it's to bring the audience up to speed with the plot. I still don't agree with that choice, but I can understand it. But here it's immediately ruined by the fact that read more
Aug 25, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Accel World is probably LA's most favourite work from Reki Kawahara, that isn't an understatement by any means...so when Accel World announced it was getting a movie, LA was hyped to say the least.

However...Accel World: Infinite∞Burst like MANY other anime movies with an original story, recap of the anime series events and movie-only characters deterred into LA loving this movie.

Case in point the extremely long recap recalling the events of the anime series however even as a recap, it had some questionable layered problems. For one, the recap only goes into full detail only during the Cyan Pile and the Chrome Disaster events of the read more
Jun 27, 2017
Altrue (All reviews)
Jesus christ this was awful.

I usually am pretty happy to give high scores and derive a sincere enjoyment to even the most weird stories but this just went above and beyond to deliver the worst possible scenario and pacing I have ever seen.

Let's recap:

- We have a recap that takes half the movie, shows nothing of relevance, and is quite boring honestly.
- I have not read the LN and for the life of me couldn't understand half of what I saw, for a moment I was confused and thought that maybe there was a season 2 that I'd have missed or something, unbelievable. The story read more
Apr 18, 2017
ryanshultzy (All reviews)
6/10, watch if you already watched the series, but you won't miss out on much if you don't watch this movie.

Literally, the first half of the movie recaps the entire season, skip to the middle if you just binged the series.

The second half is new material, but they honestly could have just made it into an OVA instead of calling it a "movie".

Honestly, I didn't enjoy it all too much. I wasn't a huge fan of Accel World when I watched it years ago when it premiered, so this wasn't a big deal for me.

The most redeeming qualities are the animation/action and soundtrack.
The least redeeming read more
Aug 27, 2018
9sayaka (All reviews)
A great case study for what NOT to do in film making.

Why they took half the movie to recap the series is beyond me. It wasn't even a good recap, literally a clip show from the first half of the series.

The second half of the film, which is new content, based off of the light novels, was interesting and had fantastic action sequences. Too bad I had no idea who the hell any of the characters were and the plot was so rushed that it hardly could be called a cohesive story.

This shouldn't have been a feature length film. There was enough content read more
Aug 10, 2020
KonokoAsada (All reviews)
I rather tend to consider Infinite Burst movie not related to the series’ main story, as the characters- friends or foes- join their forces in order to protect the Burst Link world from an imminent new danger , while the purpose of the series is to get to the 10th level of Burst Link fighting the top level players (the 9th level kings). However, a big chunk of the movie covers the series recap. Well, that’s understandable, I thought to myself: while it’s difficult to develop the movie’s story without giving a background of the characters, their relations, read more