Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kizumonogatari II: Nekketsu-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Kizumonogatari Part 2: Nekketsu
Synonyms: Koyomi Vamp, Kizumonogatari Part 2
Japanese: 傷物語〈Ⅱ熱血篇〉

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 19, 2016
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 4 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.741 (scored by 46,649 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #775
Members: 96,799
Favorites: 553

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 10, 2016
DubstepKazoo (All reviews)
(Spoilers for the first movie, obviously.)

Shaft continues to adapt the best Monogatari story extremely well. I'm giving it a perfect ten out of ten, but it does have a problem: the way it was presented. Kizu should never have been split into three parts. It just doesn't work, for reasons I'll discuss below. But that's Aniplex's problem, not Kizu's. So I don't count that against this movie.

The animation continues to be amazing. There's no single moment as glorious as the "Araragi on fire" scene from the first movie, but a great many scenes look very neat. Additionally, the voice acting and soundtrack continue to be read more
Oct 23, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
So here I am with another review of an hour-long episode that I paid fifteen bucks to see. And once again, I happened to see another anime movie that same day for half the price (Miss Hokusai), and yet was structured way more like a movie than how Shaft has been handling this "totally not worth the wait" prequel, which still baffles me. I know Japan has a different culture to the West, but I'll never understand what it is they love about airing anime episodes in theatres and expecting their audience to pay full price for them. Was this how it was like to read more
Oct 22, 2016
crispyn64 (All reviews)
A Kizumonogatari: Nekketsu Review

Kizumonogatari really goes out of its way to look and feel different, doing so in a fashion so gratuitous yet overwhelmingly desirable that I can’t help but want more. Starting with the setting itself, Nekketsu follows up on Part 1 with its continued use of a 3D rendered setting. Normally you might expect the combination of 2D and 3D to not work out well, with either the characters or the environment feeling out of totally out of place. In this however, it’s an awe-inspiring mixture of extravagant animation and the skillful mimicking of live-action cinematography. Kizumonogatari makes use of this combination in read more
Oct 22, 2016
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari is back once again but this time on the form of Nekketsu-hen or "Hot Blood" meant to showcased different aspects of Kiss-Shot Acerola-Orion Heart-Under-Blade, the Iron Blooded, Hot Blooded yet Cold Blooded Vampire. It brings us the meat of the "Wound Tale" novel as it is called by "Vertical-Inc" , "Hot Blood" maybe I should say it is the backbone that leads us straight into the climax that is yet to approach us on the upcoming January 6th of 2017 for Reiketsu-hen or "Cold Blood". However did SHAFT managed the middle installment we've all been waiting for since February masterfully as they read more
Oct 25, 2016
AvidAnimeViewer (All reviews)
In anime, there are plenty of cases where the sequel is better than the first season, but does the same hold true with anime movies? In the case of Kizumonogatari, YES!

In my review of the first movie I broke down all the aspects of the new animation style and everything else fresh this trilogy brings to the franchise, but this is a totally different beast. Because this movie focuses on something near non-existent in the Monogatari series: fighting. In all of the Monogatari series, all seasons, specials, etc., there have probably been 4-5 fights ever. And fighting is different for lots of reasons. You need read more
Oct 24, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
Nekketsu-hen, similar to Tekketsu-hen, is quite a mess. Not because Kizumonogatari is split up into 3 films, nor because of the hour length, but because there's no premise, nor a theme, that carries the film. By the time the film ends, it's clear that there's an incredibly missed opportunity in this department, as the balance between man and monster and individual choice could have been incredibly interesting. After about an hour since seeing the film, I can concede to the idea that there is an attempt at crafting a theme, but it's so minor and weak that it comes across as unrelated characterization for people read more
Dec 25, 2016
Artrill (All reviews)
(7.0/10)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I'm very conflicted about this film. It leaves a very odd, half-empty feeling in my stomach. An open void that I can't really pinpoint the exact location of. Is it in my liver? My heart? My duodenum? I'm not sure. All I know is that this wasn't really the film I expected it to be.

That doesn't really mean it was bad though. As you can tell from the score, and I don't give that score easily, it was a very solid film with some very exceptional developements in it. That and I love the entire aesthetic and concept of the series it's based read more
Oct 26, 2016
ZeroFunkyJoe (All reviews)
As someone who has read through the Kizumonogatari novel multiple times, this film is to me personally is a damn near perfect adaptation.

First off, let me just start out on a side note by saying I have never had so much fun with a movie as I did seeing the premiere of this at Akibafest 2016. Seeing this in theaters was quite frankly unforgettable and as a super-fan of the monogatari series it was a thrill and I would like to thank Aniplex for being able to make that happen.

While part 1 of Kizumonogatari took it's time to introduce the characters and general read more
Jul 14, 2017
DarkChaplain (All reviews)
This... was actually more garbage than the first movie. Wow.

The amount of changes, deviations and omissions from the novel was staggering. The lack of monologues tears this one to pieces because nothing gets the appropriate context and explanation to actually tie things together.

The CG animation was jarring as ever, even more so. In many scenes the exaggerated character animations actually made things look like old 90s attempts at having Disney-like 2D animation co-exist with live action actors in a live action world. Heck, they even put in a section that could be taken on its own, stripped of dialogue, and aired on TV read more
Dec 25, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Well what do you have to say about that movie? Holy fucking shit. That was just great, just fucking amazingly great. The cinematography was interesting and on point. The cinematic techniques of choice were critically creative and different. They put animation over intricate art design, or simply using a very interesting choice of art style from mediocre to substantially alluring artwork. And we finally get to see some semantic puns dude lmao. We finally get to see some witty dialogue from the original serie's style of attracting people to watch the anime, for its essence of a great dialogic attraction and ornate philosophical writing. And read more
Jan 26, 2017
varmala (All reviews)
In terms of enjoyment, Kizumono-Nekketsu-hen achieved a lot more than the previous installment, Tekketsu-hen.
The fleshing out of the villains (and the allies for that matter) is sub par. While they have great stage presence, they lack impact and purpose. I would like to know more on these guys. Why is the bi-racial vampire so self loathing? What is so problematic about exorcisms? and what makes the priest, who is fully human, nearly as strong as Kiss Shot herself?
Nekketsu-hen gives rise to more questions than it answers, very irritating but it's obviously intentional. I guess they really want me to read the book.
Watching Kiss Shot read more
Jan 2, 2017
red_yen-z (All reviews)
I'm pretty mixed on this one to be honest.. after the fantastic first movie and the long, LONG wait, kizumono 2 finally arrived. and oh boy what a ride it was, but was it a good ride? I think not. Stick to me if you wanna know why :)

to make this review and my overall feelings on this movie a bit more logical I'm gonna combine story and character, to juggle between those, since those are my main problems with the movie.

but to start off easy, let's start with art:

-the art was gorgeous. With Tatsuya Oishi returning to the monogatari series I read more
Jul 9, 2017
rapo1 (All reviews)
TL;DR: the problem with Kizumonogatari is that it was never a good story to adapt in the first place, and the studio's efforts to turn it into an interesting tale proved fruitless.

TL;DR2: "oh god this is awful" rant

While the animation and art can be soberb, there not much they could do to deviate from the source work, and just like it the movie is a colossal bad joke. The fact that the writer included a superpowered school manga gag into the story almost looks like he knows Kizumonogatari reads just like a boring, jaded and over the top shounen series, with nothing new in it read more
Sep 15, 2017
xSaiKOO (All reviews)
(No spoilers)
This movie has to be the best out of the 3 part trilogy by shaft.
The animation and charecter design was nothing like I had ever seen before in a movie.
The story was solid with the gags inbetween to keep veiwers entertained.
The best part is that the movie also has some amount of comedy in it rather then going full suspence mode.
They made Araragi look like a complete psycho in this part of the story.
I had lot of excitement for watching this movie and I waited so long just to see it and I have to say that it was Completely worth the wait..

Anyone read more
Jun 5, 2017
FuegoIndigo (All reviews)
I will make just a small review since I have reviewed the first movie and my impressions for both movies are similar. However, Kizumono II made more distinct its air of pretentiousness through its dialogue. It is weird and the topics are also, but that is what makes this series fun and pretentious at the same time. The animation got a bit messier on this film in comparison to the first one but it still looks gorgeous. soundtrack was more pronounced in this film and more memorable and it paid off. The story finally got more speed and started to evolve. Same opinion for characters read more
Mar 31, 2017
VivavideoUserJP (All reviews)
about a year from now,I wouldn't have seen myself overall enjoying this much of the monogatari series.
But after each series I enjoyed more and more of it and before I knew it, I was hooked. It was a HARD journey.Episodes and episodes of dialogue, confusion , and the use of wikipedia followed but the stories got better and I expected for the next series to get no better or worse. UNTIL I SAW THIS MOVIE

Kizumonogatari II is part of a trilogy of movies that takes place at the VERY VERY VERY beginning of everything in the monogatari universe; before Kanberu, before Mayoi , and even read more